fbpx

Easy Ontario Escapes:来自416的Road Trippin'

安大略省之旅

听说过这个词,我认为自己的后院是理所当然的吗? 你可能可以退休,你曾经说过或听说过的每一美元。 这是因为作为安大略人,我们倾向于离开我们自己的环境,寻找温暖的天气,很棒的景点,鸡尾酒大师,烹饪天才和家庭友好的选择。

好吧,如果我告诉你,在距离多伦多很短的几个小时的车程里,你能找到以上所有内容吗? 仅在该省有超过250,000湖泊(约占世界淡水供应量的五分之一),这里只有几个选项供您和您的家人探索安大略省,无论是白天还是周末:

Day Trippin':Peterborough和The Kawarthas

Peterborough&The Kawartha酒店位于安大略省中部,拥有一些最隐蔽和最迷人的湖泊,如彼得堡的Rice,Chemong和Belmont以及Kawarthas的Scugog,Sturgeon和Four Mile。 只有140km(或1hour和40分钟)从多伦多开车,你会发现整个家庭的活动过多。

我把它缩小到三级,但随便看看你每个赛季可以计划的所有活动 选购:

加拿大独木舟博物馆:

拥有世界上最大的独木舟,皮划艇和划桨船只,为所有年龄段的人提供引人入胜的互动活动。 查看他们在每个月的最后一个星期六举办的儿童Drop-In活动。 十月的特色:编织一个过山车,孩子们可以在感恩节晚餐桌上装饰。 在2022,加拿大独木舟博物馆将搬到历史悠久的地方 彼得伯勒电梯锁 但是仍然有充足的时间来了解这座迷人博物馆的重要故事。

彼得伯勒独木舟博物馆 - 照片Sabrina Pirillo

彼得伯勒独木舟博物馆 - 照片Sabrina Pirillo

印度河爬行动物园:

蛇,蜥蜴和鳄鱼,哦,我的! 印度河爬行动物园不仅仅是400爬行动物的家园。 动物园是被遗弃的爬行动物和政府查获走私爬行动物的避难所,其中百分之九十五是救援。 它也是加拿大唯一一个鳄鱼在夏季可以到外面的动物园,如果它们像我们加拿大人一样,我们会尽我们所能去外面。

一定要看到新的Croc-Walk,包括数十只短吻鳄和鳄鱼。 小家伙也可以乘坐Giant Gator Slide(一定要带袜子)并参加Dig In The Bone Yard,如果他们找到了骨头,他们就可以把它带回家。

全家人都可以在大自然中漫步,参观真人大小的恐龙表演。 教育和乐趣,你会觉得你在自己的侏罗纪公园版本!

此外,您还可以在新的独家设计18-hole迷你高尔夫球场打一场高尔夫球。

爬行动物园彼得堡 - 照片Sabrina Pirillo

爬行动物园彼得堡 - 照片Sabrina Pirillo

BELMONT Lake Brewery

对于妈妈和爸爸来说,这是一件特别的东西,一个加拿大风格的英式手工啤酒厂如何在乡村中间崭露头角? 不用说,这个隐藏的宝石正处于贝尔蒙特湖的第三个夏天。 作为湖上唯一的啤酒厂,人们在夏季会乘坐船只,独木舟和桨板,冬天会穿着雪鞋,滑雪板来品尝一品脱啤酒。 每月酿造1200升啤酒,并采用5-6不同种类的啤酒,均以周边地区命名,如最受欢迎的啤酒克罗河。

Norrie和Julie来自英格兰,非常喜欢贝尔蒙特湖,他们放弃了在英格兰的家,实现梦想; 在一个僻静的小岛上做他们喜欢做的事。

虽然成年人正在享受冲泡,但是孩子们可以在湖中游泳,或者与爱德华和弗兰克这些友好可爱的狗一起玩耍。

安大略小屋乡村公路旅行 - 贝尔蒙特湖卡瓦萨 - 照片Sabrina Pirillo

Belmont Lake Kawarthas - 照片Sabrina Pirillo

保持更长时间:多代马斯科卡

现在很难将整个家庭聚集在一起。 特别是大家庭,每个人都有如此繁忙的日程安排,并试图找到一个适合孩子,成人加奶奶和爷爷的地方。 好吧,我找到了这个地方。 马斯科卡灵魂 酒店位于马斯科卡湖(Lake Muskoka)岸边,距离多伦多(Toronto)仅有2小时车程。 Cliff Bay酒店拥有两间可供您最好的小屋出租服务,可容纳2-12人士,专为2-92年龄段的客人而设。

令人惊叹的建筑设有大窗户,可欣赏到壮丽的景色和宁静的环境。 装潢舒适而现代,适合与家人一起享受轻松的住宿。 你会发现六个卧室,其中一个在一楼,你可以预留的格兰特和格拉姆斯很可能是第一个醒来享受甲板和马斯科卡房间听鸟儿唧唧喳喳和花栗鼠收集坚果。 Great Room设有四间浴室,配有舒适的沙发,钢琴和吉他供音乐爱好者使用,还设有带电视和棋盘游戏的媒体室。 设计华丽的巨型厨房设施齐全,配有您入住期间所需的一切设施,旁边还有一张桌子,您只能看到带有家庭聚会和笑脸的商业广告。 你会找到一个用于烤火山口和观星的火坑,哦,你站在马斯科卡湖上的神话般的码头。 观看孩子们在湖边游泳,同时坐在甲板上享用当地的美食和饮料,如Sawdust City Brewing。

安大略乡村乡村公路旅行 - 悬崖湾马斯科卡 - 照片萨布丽娜皮里洛

马斯科卡悬崖湾小屋 - 照片Sabrina Pirillo

Gravenhurst酒店距离悬崖湾(Cliff Bay)不到10分钟车程,您可以选择购买各种新鲜制作的三明治,卷饼,沙拉或一些手工面包,卷或来自The Bakery的世界着名的切尔西包子。

想要享受真正的家庭美食,请从Muskoka Catering招来主厨Don Potter,他一定会迎合每个人的味蕾。 这就像将高端餐厅带到您的家门口。 Don主厨可以准备从品尝菜单到7套餐的一切,提供所有必要的组件,所以您必须做的就是坐下来享受!

安大略小屋乡村公路旅行 - 主厨Don Muskoka  - 照片Sabrina Pirillo

厨师唐 - 照片Sabrina Pirillo

活动:

随着一切都在您的家门口,您的整个家庭可以选择,包括参观城镇,参观当地的商店,如艺术在阿尔比恩,或计划访问码头和检查马斯科卡造船厂市场。 为23提供不同的供应商,其中大多数是本地的,以及巴里以北的第一家星巴克。 从那里,您可以登上马斯科卡湾的1913 Minett发射船,与Gary Campbell的登陆码头一起游览。

一个适合孩子们(和成年人一样):参观马斯科卡蒸汽船探索中心,在那里您可以找到独一无二的互动家庭体验,探索马斯科卡的历史,包括Steamship Segwun,查看分水岭奇观展览,包括互动虚拟水族馆。 KidZone是KidZone的最新成员,具有多感官和亲身体验的家庭乐趣。

安大略小屋乡村公路旅行 - 探索中心马斯科卡 - 照片Sabrina Pirillo

马斯科卡探索中心 - Photo Sabrina Pirillo

请务必向Muskoka Soul询问您在入住期间可以进行的活动的建议。 这是让某人满足您家庭特定需求的额外感受。 你最后一次参加清道夫狩猎是什么时候? 嗯,这是他们可以帮助的东西。 Brydons Bay Trail是一条适合家庭居住的小径,沿2.3km新手环路行驶,终点是日落的完美地点。 或者为了更轻松的活动,将家庭聚集在码头上,与Freedom Yoga Muskoka一起享受早晨瑜伽体验。

无论您和家人决定探索美丽的安大略省,无论您的原因是什么,接受这一切都是它的全部。 当你拥有一个充满美丽的后院时,你唯一的工作就是享受它。

安大略小屋乡村公路旅行 - 马斯科卡日落 - 照片萨布丽娜皮里洛

Muskoka日落 - 照片Sabrina Pirillo

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Easy Ontario Escapes: Road Trippin’ from the 416

Ontario Road Trip

Ever hear of the term, I take my own backyard for granted? You could probably retire on every dollar you’ve ever said or heard that saying. That’s because as Ontarians we tend to want to go away from our own surroundings to find warmer weather, great attractions, cocktail masters, culinary geniuses and family-friendly options.

Well, what if I told you that within a few short hours of driving distance from Toronto, you could find all the above? With over 250,000 lakes in the province alone, (containing approximately one-fifth of the world’s fresh water supply) here are just a couple of options for you and your family to explore Ontario, either for the day or a weekend:

Day Trippin’: Peterborough & The Kawarthas

Located in Central Ontario, Peterborough & The Kawartha’s feature some of the most secluded and stunning lakes such as Rice, Chemong and Belmont in Peterborough and Scugog, Sturgeon and Four Mile in the Kawarthas.  Only a 140km (or 1hour and 40 min.)  drive from Toronto you’ll find a plethora of activities for the whole family.

I’ve narrowed it down to three, but feel free to check out all the activities you can plan for every season here:

Canadian Canoe Museum:

Featuring the world’s largest collection of canoes, kayaks, and paddled watercraft with engaging and interactive activities for all ages. Check out their Drop-In activities for kids, which takes place on the last Saturday of every month. October’s feature: Weave a coaster that the kids can decorate for the Thanksgiving dinner table. In 2022, The Canadian Canoe Museum will be moving to the historic Peterborough Lift Lock but there’s still plenty of time to learn about the stories of significance from this fascinating museum.

Peterborough Canoe Museum - Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Peterborough Canoe Museum – Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Indian River Reptile Zoo:

Snakes, lizards and crocs, oh my! The Indian River Reptile Zoo is home to more than 400 reptiles. The zoo acts as a sanctuary for abandoned reptiles and government seized smuggled reptiles, ninety-five percent of them being rescues. It’s also the only zoo in Canada where crocodiles can get outside during the summer months, and if they’re like us Canadians, we’ll do anything to get outside while we can.

Be sure to see the new Croc-Walk, featuring dozens of alligators and crocodiles. The little ones can also ride the Giant Gator Slide (be sure to bring socks) and take part in a Dig In The Bone Yard, where if they find a bone they get to take it home with them.

The whole family can enjoy walking through the nature trail and visiting the Life-Size Dinosaurs exhibit. Educational and fun, you’ll feel like you’re in your own version of Jurassic Park!

Plus, you can play a round of golf on your way out with the new exclusive design 18-hole mini-golf.

Reptile Zoo Peterbrough - Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Reptile Zoo Peterbrough – Photo Sabrina Pirillo

BELMONT Lake Brewery

A little something special for mom and dad, how about an English style craft brewery with a Canadian twist plunked right in the middle of cottage country? No seriously, this hidden gem is in its third summer of production on Belmont Lake. Being the only brewery on the lake, people come on boats, canoes and paddle boards in the summer months and snowshoes, skidoos in the winter to grab a pint. Brewing about 1200 liters of beer per month and featuring 5-6 different kind of brews, all named after surrounding areas, like their most popular brew, Croe River.

Originally from England, Norrie and Julie enjoyed Belmont Lake so much that they gave up their home in England to live the dream; on a secluded island doing what they love to do.

Whilst the adults are enjoying a brew, the kiddies can swim in the lake or play with the ever so friendly and adorable dogs, Eddy and Frank.

Ontario Cottage Country Road Trip - Belmont Lake Kawarthas - Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Belmont Lake Kawarthas – Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Stay a little longer: Multi-Generational Muskoka

It’s difficult nowadays to get the entire family together. Especially extended family with everyone having such busy schedules and trying to find a place to suite the kids, adults plus grandma and grandpa. Well, I’ve found just the place. Muskoka Soul is situated on the shores of Lake Muskoka, just a two-hour drive from Toronto. With two cottage rental properties to best serve you, the Cliff Bay location accommodates 2-12 people and is built for accessibility from ages 2-92.

The stunning architecture features big windows to see out to the remarkable views and tranquil settings. The décor is cozy and modern and suited for a relaxing stay with the family. You’ll find six bedrooms including two on the first floor which you could reserve for gran and gramps whom will likely be the first one’s awake enjoying the deck and Muskoka room listening to birds chirping and chipmunks gathering nuts. There’s four bathrooms, the Great Room which features comfortable couches and a piano and guitar for the music enthusiasts, as well as a media room with TV and board games.  The gorgeously designed giant kitchen is fully-equipped with everything you’ll need during your stay, along side a table setting you only see in commercials with family gatherings and smiling faces. You’ll find a fire-pit for roasting smores and star gazing, and oh ya, the fabulous dock that sits right on Lake Muskoka. Watch the kids swim in the lake whilst sitting on the deck and enjoying some local eats and drinks, like Sawdust City Brewing.

Ontario Cottage Country Road Trip - Cliff Bay Muskoka - Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Cliff Bay Cottage in Muskoka – Photo Sabrina Pirillo

With Gravenhurst being less than a ten-minute drive from Cliff Bay, the option is yours whether you want to pick up groceries or something from Relish Real Food featuring all kinds of freshly made sandwiches, wraps, and salads or some artisan bread, rolls or world-famous Chelsea Buns from The Bakery.

For a real family treat, bring in Chef Don Potter from Muskoka Catering and he’ll be sure to cater to everyone’s taste buds. It’s like bringing a high-end restaurant right to your doorstep. Chef Don can prepare everything from a tasting menu to a 7-course meal providing all the necessary components so all you must do is sit and enjoy!

Ontario Cottage Country Road Trip - Chef Don Muskoka - Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Chef Don – Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Activities:

With everything at your doorstep, your entire family has options to choose from including a trip into town to visit local shops like Arts at The Albion or plan a visit to The Wharf and check out the Muskoka Shipyards marketplace. Housing 23 different vendors, most of them local, as well as the first Starbucks north of Barrie.  From there, you can board a 1913 Minett launch boat at Muskoka Bay for a tour with Gary Campbell’s Landing Marina.

One for the kids (and adults alike): A visit to The Muskoka Steamships Discovery Centre where you’ll find a one-of-a-kind interactive family experience as you discover the history of Muskoka including the Steamship Segwun, check out the Watershed Wonders exhibit, including an interactive virtual Aquarium. The newest addition is the KidZone featuring multi-sensory and hands-on family fun.

Ontario Cottage Country Road Trip - Discovery Centre Muskoka - Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Discovery Centre Muskoka – Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Be sure to ask Muskoka Soul for recommendations on what activities you can do during your stay. It’s the added touch of having someone cater to your family’s specific needs. When was the last time you took part in a scavenger hunt? Well, that’s something they can help with. Brydons Bay Trail is a family-friendly trail that runs a 2.3km novice loop, ending at the perfect spot for sunset. Or for a more relaxed activity, bring the fam together on the dock for a morning yoga experience with Freedom Yoga Muskoka.

Regardless of your reasons you and the family decide to explore the beautiful province of Ontario, taking in the moment is what it’s all about. And when you have a backyard filled with so much beauty, the only job you have is to enjoy it.

Ontario Cottage Country Road Trip - Muskoka Sunset - Photo Sabrina Pirillo

Muskoka Sunset – Photo Sabrina Pirillo

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *