充满活力的海滨,丰富的自然美景和丰富多彩的街景,难怪南非开普敦一直被评为最佳旅游目的地。

开普敦

非洲欢迎

水,到处都是水,但很快就可以喝了。 当我计划到达开普敦时,这就是两难的境地。 这个南大西洋港口城市正面临着零日挑战,因为它是饮用水用尽的日子。 良好的水管理,减少灌溉和典型的雨季相结合,已将日期推迟到2019年或更远。 希望干旱将结束,但就目前而言,水限制仍然存在。


希望游客为节水做出自己的贡献。 我的淋浴门在 Commodore Hotel酒店 有一个鸡蛋计时器,以跟踪建议的两分钟淋浴。 我知道开普敦的居民正在通过从水桶中取水并为他们的花园节约灰水来做到这一点,我遵守了。 Commodore Hotel酒店 是一家英国风格的豪华精品酒店,距离酒店有5分钟的步行路程 V&A海滨。 橡木横梁的大堂酒廊每天晚上提供大量的开胃小菜,还提供鸡尾酒。 当您听到“日落者”一词时,就表示是非洲的欢乐时光。

V&A海滨有个自拍照的地方-图片Debra Smith

V&A海滨有个自拍照的地方–图片Debra Smith

快速变化后,是时候出发了 金餐厅。 我们在14套餐中品尝了非洲的美味食物,在彩色陶器碗中供应家庭风格。 桌上摆满了鸵鸟沙拉,刚果炸鸡,纳米比亚跳羚(羚羊)炖菜和c等美味佳肴。hakalaka,一种辛辣的蔬菜味。 晚餐后,两名鼓手登上舞台,稳健地跳动。 身着红色和黄色蜡染长袍的舞者和比真人大的木偶在桌子上一直穿到舞台上,歌唱,拍手,为一个小时的非洲艺术表演表演奠定了基础。文化。 在纪念非洲皇后的表演中,神奇地撒上了“金尘”,这鼓励了一些人摆脱束缚,参加舞蹈。

金餐厅的表演者喜欢让人群参与其中 - 摄影Debra Smith

金牌餐厅表演者热衷于吸引人群参与–照片Debra Smith

旅游桌山国家公园

非常明亮,第二天早上我们试图击败人群到开普敦最知名的地标桌山顶。 即使在9上午,缆车也挤满了60其他自然爱好者。 缆车缓慢旋转,让每个人都可以看到山脉和城市的景色,因为5分钟的骑行几乎垂直地将我们抬起来。 Table Mountain是新的7自然奇观之一,其最高点是1,085 m(3,559 ft)。 桌湾,城市和桌山国家公园的海滩尽收眼底。 游骑兵队提供免费的游览活动,指出十二使徒岩和这个生物多样性世界遗产的动植物群。 还有一个免费的旅游应用程序,咖啡厅的免费无线网络连接和顶部商店的纪念品,它比下面的缆车出口处的商店更不拥挤。

桌山拥有壮丽的景色,这个dassie找到了完美的地方 - 照片Debra Smith

桌山(Table Mountain)拥有壮丽的景色,而这个dassie已找到了完美的拍摄地点–摄影Debra Smith

绕过海角

桌山国家公园也包括开普半岛,在一天的车程内,您可以轻松游览开普角灯塔,好望角和博尔德斯海滩的企鹅。

从开普敦(Cape Town)出发的风景秀丽的海滨大道带我们来到了好望角(The Cape of Good Hope)。 它并不是非洲最西南的一个点(那将是Agulhas角,向南150英里),但是对于它的狂野和岩石点周围的波涛汹涌的海洋来说,这是传奇。 葡萄牙探险家巴托洛缪·迪亚斯(Bartolomeu Dias)在1488年寻找通往印度的路线时将其称为“风暴之角”。他们设法绕过耳朵时的耳朵。

在开普敦灯塔,飞行荷兰人缆车把我们带到观景台,在那里可以看到历史悠久的灯塔和新灯塔紧贴着突入大西洋​​的陡峭土地。 这座新塔楼在非洲拥有最亮的灯光,取代了之前建造得如此之高以至于经常被雾覆盖的塔楼。 新灯塔更适合船只,但游客无法进入。

在Boulders海滩看看企鹅 - 照片Debra Smith

在巨石滩检查企鹅–图片Debra Smith

企鹅大混乱

到中午我们准备在露台上吃午饭了 锡福斯 Restaurant,Seaforth Beach海滩上的家庭友好餐厅。 从甲板上,我们可以看到黑色和白色的非洲企鹅滑入岸边,无畏地蹒跚地走向海滩上的人们。 我不得不承认,我们冲过我们的鱼和薯条冲到附近的Boulders海滩上的企鹅栖息地。

凸起的木板路到处都是老少咸宜的人,下面的沙子上点缀着成千上万个60厘米(2英尺)高的企鹅,守护着鸡蛋,甩掉了海面的飞沫,或者大步奔跑着做一些企鹅生意。 花了一分钟时间专注于一两个,然后看着他们打扮,修饰他们的幼小或在岩石上跳来跳去。 他们没有采取任何浮华的举动,但他们同样着迷于观看。 企鹅爱好者迷失了方向。

数百只非洲企鹅在Boulders海滩上拍摄可爱的姿势 - 照片Debra Smith

数百只非洲企鹅在巨石海滩上摆出可爱的姿势–黛布拉·史密斯摄

一个小夜音乐

那天晚上,回到开普敦,我们参加了一些娱乐活动 开普敦国际爵士音乐节。 每年三月举行的这项壮观的活动吸引了来自世界各地的表演者,探索爵士乐的许多方面和声音。 那是一个高档的夜晚,人们可以看到并看到它。 当地名人穿着亮片和皮草游行,周围是成群的手机抢购迷。 乐队在大型开普敦国际会议中心的室内和室外进行了多个阶段的表演。 那天晚上,新奥尔良的传奇儿子特洛伊·安德鲁斯(Troy Andrews)(又名长号矮个子)为我们揭开序幕,他的乐队在舞台上将其撕裂,他们的喇叭声重重,塞满了长大的果酱。 最后以巴西音乐家Seu Jorge的单曲平静的声音结束,这首歌是向David Bowie献唱的《 Life Aquatic / Tribute》,其中包括Bowie葡萄牙语的音乐。 他奇异而空灵的风格是对鲍伊逝世的痛苦和纪念。

一年一度的开普敦爵士音乐节吸引了来自世界各地的艺术家,如来自新​​奥尔良的Trombone Shorty  - 照片Debra Smith

一年一度的开普敦爵士音乐节吸引了来自世界各地的艺术家,例如来自新奥尔良的长号矮子-图片Debra Smith

购买它

开普敦到处都是购物选择。 该 V&A海滨 我们提供各种纪念品,从小雕刻的大象和令人惊叹的纺织品到真人大小的木制短吻鳄。 尝试在飞机上获得它! 在码头附近的商店和街头艺人和餐馆一起玩逛逛很有趣 两洋水族馆,150的设计师和工匠的展位 分水岭,维多利亚码头购物中心和巨大的Cape Wheel。 在更远的地方,你会发现数十个露天摊位出售手工制作的珠宝和皮革制品,儿童玩具,手工制作的巧克力,手工杜松子酒和定制刀具。 老饼干磨坊,以及农民的市场。 千万不要错过长街及其独特的铸铁阳台,让人想起新奥尔良,以及Bo-Kapp地区色彩缤纷的房屋和鹅卵石街道。

开普敦的长街拥有独特的建筑组合 - 照片Debra Smith

开普敦的长街具有独特的建筑风格–图片Debra Smith

这位作家是他的客人 南非旅游 而在南非。 一如既往,她的观点是她自己的。 有关开普敦的更多照片,请在Instagram @ where.to.lady上关注她

Get Away to Cape Town’s Vibrant Waterfront, Natural Beauty and Colourful Streetscapes

With a vibrant waterfront, abundant natural beauty and colourful streetscapes it’s no wonder that Cape Town, South Africa is consistently rated as a top tourist destination.

Cape Town

An African Welcome

Water, water, everywhere but soon, not a drop to drink.  That was the dilemma confronting Cape Town when I was scheduled to arrive.  This port city on the South Atlantic Ocean was making headlines as it faced Day Zero – the day it would run out of potable water. A combination of good water management, cutbacks to irrigation and a typical rainy season have pushed the date to 2019, or further. Hopefully the drought will end, but for now, water restrictions remain in place.


Tourists are expected to do their part for water conservation.  My shower door in The Commodore Hotel had an egg timer attached to it, to keep track of the suggested two-minute showers. Knowing that residents of Cape Town were making do by doling water out of buckets and saving the grey water for their gardens, I complied. The Commodore Hotel is an English inspired luxury boutique hotel a five-minute walk from the V&A Waterfront. The oak-beamed lobby lounge serves a lavish spread of hors-d’oeuvres every evening along with cocktails. When you hear the term “sundowners”, it means it’s African happy hour.

The V&A Waterfront has a place for your selfie - photo Debra Smith

The V&A Waterfront has a place for your selfie – photo Debra Smith

After a quick change, it was time to head out to GOLD Restaurant. We sampled the delicious foods of Africa in a 14-course meal, served family style in colourful pottery bowls. The table was full of delicacies like ostrich salad, Congo fried chicken, Namibian springbok (antelope) stew and chakalaka, a spicy vegetable relish.  Following dinner, two drummers came onstage and laid down a steady beat. A line of dancers and larger-than-life-size puppets, dressed in red and yellow batik robes wound their way through the tables and up to the stage, singing and clapping and setting the stage for an hour-long performance of African arts and culture. A magical sprinkle of “gold dust” during the show honouring the queens of Africa encouraged some folks to shed their inhibitions and join the dance.

Gold Restaurant performers love to get the crowd involved - photo Debra Smith

Gold Restaurant performers love to get the crowd involved – photo Debra Smith

Touring Table Mountain National Park

Very bright and early the next morning we attempted to beat the crowds to the top of Table Mountain, Cape Town’s most recognisable landmark. Even at 9 am, the cable car was packed with 60 other nature lovers. The cable cars rotated slowly, giving everyone a view of the mountains and the city as the 5-minute ride lifted us almost vertically up the cliff face. One of the New 7 Wonders of Nature, Table Mountain is 1,085 m (3,559 ft) at its highest point. The panoramic view of the beaches of Table Bay, the city and Table Mountain National Park are spectacular. Rangers offer free tours of the site, pointing out outcrops like the Twelve Apostles and flora and fauna of this biodiverse World Heritage Site. There’s also a free tour app, free Wi-Fi at the café and souvenirs at the Shop at the Top, which is less crowded than the stores at the cable car exit below.

Table Mountain has stunning views and this dassie has found the perfect spot - photo Debra Smith

Table Mountain has stunning views, and this dassie has found the perfect spot – photo Debra Smith

Rounding the Cape

Table Mountain National Park also encompasses the Cape Peninsula, and it’s easy to visit the Cape Point lighthouse, the Cape of Good Hope and the penguins at Boulders Beach all in a day’s drive.

The scenic oceanside drive from Cape Town led us to The Cape of Good Hope.  It’s not quite the most south-western point of Africa, (that would be Cape Agulhas, 150 miles further south), but is legendary for the rough seas around its wild and rocky point.  It was called the Cape of Storms by the Portuguese explorer Bartolomeu Dias who rounded it while searching for a route to India in 1488. It’s now known simply known as “The Cape” and sailors in days gone by would get a small blue star tattoo on their ear when they managed to sail around it.

At the Cape Town Lighthouse, Flying Dutchman Funicular took us to the viewing platform where both the historic lighthouse and the new lighthouse can be seen clinging to a steep point of land that juts into the Atlantic. The new tower, which has the brightest light in Africa, replaced the previous one that was built so high that it was often covered in fog. The new lighthouse is better for ships, but inaccessible to visitors.

Checking out the penguins at Boulders Beach - photo Debra Smith

Checking out the penguins at Boulders Beach – photo Debra Smith

Penguin Pandemonium

By noon we were ready for lunch on the patio at the Seaforth Restaurant, a family-friendly restaurant on Seaforth Beach. From the deck, we could watch black and white African penguins sliding into shore and fearlessly waddling up to people on the beach. I have to admit we rushed through our fish and chips to dash to the nearby penguin colony on Boulders Beach.

The raised boardwalk was swarming with people of all ages and the sand below was dotted with thousands of 60 cm (2 ft) tall penguins, guarding eggs, shaking off droplets from an ocean dip or striding with determination on some penguin business. It took a minute to focus in on one or two and watch them preen, groom their young or hop around on the rocks.  They weren’t making any flashy moves, but they were fascinating to watch all the same. Penguin lovers were losing their minds.

Hundreds of African penguins striking cute poses on Boulders Beach - photo Debra Smith

Hundreds of African penguins striking cute poses on Boulders Beach – photo Debra Smith

A Little Night Music

Later that evening, back in Cape Town, we took in some of the entertainment at the Cape Town International Jazz Festival.  Held every year in March, this spectacular event features performers from around the world, exploring the many sides and sounds of jazz.  It was an upscale, see and be seen kind of evening.  Local celebrities paraded past in sequins and fur, surrounded by flocks of cell phone snapping fans.  Bands performed on several stages indoors and outside of the massive Cape Town International Convention Centre. The evening kicked off for us with New Orleans’ legendary son Troy Andrews, aka Trombone Shorty, tearing it up onstage with his band, their horn-heavy set blazing with extended jams. It ended with the serene sounds of Brazillian musician Seu Jorge’s solo performance of The Life Aquatic/A Tribute to David Bowie, covering Bowie’s music in Portuguese. His singular, ethereal style was a bittersweet commemoration of Bowie’s passing.

The annual Cape Town Jazz Festival draws artists from around the world like Trombone Shorty from New Orleans - photo Debra Smith

The annual Cape Town Jazz Festival draws artists from around the world like Trombone Shorty from New Orleans – photo Debra Smith

Shop It Up

Cape Town is full of shopping options. The V&A Waterfront has everything to offer in the way of souvenirs from tiny carved elephants and stunning textiles, to life-size wooden alligators. Try getting that on the plane! It’s fun to window shop around the marina with its buskers and restaurants and check out the Two Oceans Aquarium, the 150 designers and artisans booths at Watershed, the Victoria Wharf Shopping Centre and the giant Cape Wheel. Farther afield, you’ll find dozens of open-air stalls selling handmade jewellery and leather goods, children’s toys, handcrafted chocolate, artisanal gin and custom knives at The Old Biscuit Mill, along with a farmer’s market. Don’t miss Long Street with its distinctive cast-iron balconies, reminiscent of New Orleans, and the colourful houses and cobbled streets of the Bo-Kapp area.

Long Street in Cape Town has an unique mix of architecture - photo Debra Smith

Long Street in Cape Town has a unique mix of architecture – photo Debra Smith

The writer was a guest of South African Tourism while in South Africa. As always, her opinions are her own. For more photographs of Cape Town, follow her on Instagram @where.to.lady

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *