Big Fun au Texas - frapper les faits saillants de Houston

Je craque pour Houston. Je veux dire, je reste dans un hôtel du centre-ville qui a une rivière paresseuse en forme de l'état Lone Star sur son toit (yup, une rivière ... dans la carte du Texas ... sur son toit!). Mes projets pour la seule journée d’aujourd’hui sont de nourrir les girafes au zoo de Houston, de me régaler de grillades au Texas et de faire le tour du tram de la NASA au Houston Space Center pour découvrir le contrôle original de la NASA.

Mais d'abord, les décisions. De grandes décisions. Dois-je 'Katfish & Grits' ou 'Wings & Waffles' pour le petit déjeuner?
"Wings & Waffles", conseille mes enfants sur les deux plats de signature au légendaire Le petit-déjeuner Klub, restaurant en partie, attraction touristique en partie, et toute la bonté culinaire. C'est l'endroit où Good Morning America a accueilli le meilleur petit déjeuner du pays, et l'extraordinaire native de H-Town, Beyoncé, serait un fan.

Voir, c'est la chose à propos de Houston, la quatrième ville la plus grande et la plus diversifiée des États-Unis. Ça surprend. Et pour s'amuser en famille, c'est crédible. Pendant quatre jours, nous avons tout dévoré des churros mexicains décadents au quartier des musées, bordé d'arbres et accessible aux piétons, où les enfants peuvent, en quelques blocs, rejoindre une ville gérée par des enfants, regarder des bains d'éléphants et déambuler dans une salle de dinosaures.


Pour frapper les faits saillants, un CityPASS Houston billet livret est un grand économiseur d'argent, offrant un passeport à presque moitié-épargne si vous visitez les cinq attractions incluses. Un livret pour adulte coûte $ 59 US, $ 49 pour les enfants. Avec les réductions d'admission, le programme CityPASS (disponible en 12 en Amérique du Nord) montre l'amour avec des avantages comme les choix à ne pas manquer dans chaque ville et en empruntant la route VIP, en sautant la plupart des lignes de billets d'entrée principale.

AVENTURE SOUS-MARINE

Battre les foules à l'Aquarium de Houston avec la ligne CityPass seulement - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Battre les foules à l'Aquarium de Houston avec la ligne CityPass seulement - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Confession. Je veux ma fête d'anniversaire au Aquarium du centre-ville. Au cours de notre visite, plusieurs soirées ont été organisées dans le restaurant Aquarium et chaque siège (délicieusement décoré de thèmes sous-marins) offrait une vue sur l'immense aquarium 150,000-gallon où nageaient des créatures marines de poissons-scies aux poissons-guitares. Bien sûr, le tirage principal ici est l'exposition 500,000-gallon Aquarium Adventure, qui abrite des milliers de poissons du monde entier. Avec quelques espèces de la vie marine 400-plus, les visiteurs peuvent admirer des affichages du marais de la Louisiane aux forêts tropicales, d'une tortue serpentine qui aime traîner près des troncs d'arbre à une exposition d'épave. Après avoir exploré à l'intérieur, vous voudrez peut-être errer dans les terres, la maison à des jeux, des manèges, et un train qui traverse la propriété, en s'arrêtant dans un tunnel sous un réservoir de requin.

HOME RUN HÔTEL

Houston Marriott Marquis vue sur la rivière paresseux de la chambre d'hôtel - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Houston Marriott Marquis paresseux vue sur la rivière de la chambre d'hôtel - Photo Shelley Cameron

McCarronConfession deux. Je venais à Houston pour dire que je flottais sur une rivière paresseuse en forme de Texas. Il fait partie du complexe de toit du sixième étage à la Marriott Marquis Houston, qui offre des vues panoramiques sur les toits de Houston, les cabanas, le bain à remous et la piscine à débordement. L'hôtel frappe un home-run - et je ne dis pas cela simplement parce que son spa et centre de remise en forme 5,000 pieds carrés donnent sur Minute Maid Park, qui abrite les Astros de Houston, 2017 World Series Champs. Je n'ai jamais connu un tel service. Je me promène dans Pure, le spa, et ils offrent une visite et des échantillons de produits. Je suis assis pour le petit déjeuner au Walker Street Kitchen (l'un des quatre restaurants de l'hôtel, y compris le Xochi buzzworthy, un restaurant mexicain fabuleux, et le bar sportif haut de gamme Biggio). Quand j'ai dit «Je suis prêt à commander», mon serveur pense que j'ai dit «Je suis triste» et me confie qu'elle allait m'offrir un cookie! Le personnel du hall d'accueil me salue chaque jour "agréable de vous revoir", même si l'hôtel dispose de chambres 1,000!

SOUL FOOD

Ailes et gaufres de Houston au petit déjeuner Klub - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Ailes et gaufres au petit déjeuner Klub - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Le meilleur petit déjeuner de Houston? Le susdit Le petit-déjeuner Klub apporte la magie. Les lignes tendent la porte comme les gens font la queue pour «katfish», gruau, œufs verts et jambon. Nous avons battu la bousculade tôt le dimanche matin et tombons instantanément amoureux de Mme Mary, une fine créature d'une hôtesse qui fouette au coin de la rue, les menus en main, et nous fait sourire avec humour. "Est-ce que vous vous êtes réveillé tout de suite?" Demande-t-elle à notre groupe de neuf personnes. Elle offre des instructions: passez votre commande, ramassez votre argenterie et prenez un café. "Nous avons du bon café, du café gourmet. Ça commence comme décaféiné et devient plus fort quand tu fais le bon chemin, le dernier fera dresser tes cheveux!

SECRETS DU MUSÉE

Musée des sciences naturelles de Houston extérieur - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Musée des sciences naturelles de Houston extérieur - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Si vous faites une chose à l'exceptionnel Musée des sciences naturelles, réserver un Circuit découverte et demandez "Jurassic James", ou James Washington III, un éducateur aimant, énergique et enthousiaste, qui pourrait facilement le faire en tant que comédien de stand-up. Il fait revivre le musée - un trésor de quatre étages composé de fossiles, de pierres précieuses, de merveilles égyptiennes anciennes, de la faune du Texas et de l'une des plus grandes salles de dinosaures des États-Unis. "Quel truc secret?" Crie James en demandant à notre groupe de se diriger vers la prochaine "science vraiment importante et vraiment cool".

Musée des sciences naturelles de Houston - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Musée des sciences naturelles de Houston - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

"C'est vraiment spécial. Je l'embrasserais, mais je serais viré », dit-il à l'exposition T-Rex avant de se lancer dans la science et de souligner des faits intéressants. Un autre conseil? Viens tôt. Il y a beaucoup à voir, et vous pourriez facilement passer la journée.

STYLINGS D'ART

Dessin à la poudre de Houston au Musée des Beaux-Arts - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Dessin à la poudre à canon au Musée des Beaux-Arts de Houston - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

L'art créé par la poudre à canon, dites-vous? Tu paries. "Odyssey", dans la galerie d'art chinoise au Musée des beaux-arts est un dessin de poudre à canon captivant et renversant, créé en combinant la poudre à canon, les couches de papier et la brique. C'est l'un des milliers de révélations fascinantes trouvées dans l'un des plus grands musées du centre des États-Unis. Le tunnel souterrain de lumière, "The Light Inside" de l'artiste James Turrell, relie les deux bâtiments du musée. Docteur Margaret Hansen. Après une matinée à explorer les jardins de sculptures et les galeries d'artistes, rendez-vous au Café MFA pour satisfaire les sandwiches et les salades, ou parcourir le Boutique MFA, peut-être ramasser quelques fournitures d'art pour votre créateur en herbe.

MUSÉE DES ENFANTS

Choisir la meilleure chose à propos des pieds carrés 90,000 de plaisir qui est le Musée des enfants de Houston est presque impossible. Il y a tellement de choses à faire. Les enfants de huit ans et plus peuvent s'enrôler dans SECRET, la seule expérience interactive d'espionnage numérique de Houston, et participer à des missions spéciales pour aider à sauver le musée. Oui, cela signifie que même les mamans comme moi peuvent manoeuvrer dans une pièce sombre, enjambant précautionneusement les lumières laser vertes jusqu'à ce que vous gagniez de l'argent ou que vous arriviez de l'autre côté. En bas, les enfants voudront peut-être le faire pour Kidtropolis, une ville pour et dirigée par des enfants, ou tester leur créativité à l'annexe Maker. D'une salle pour tout-petits à des stations scientifiques, le musée est mis en place pour que les enfants puissent explorer, inventer, grimper et créer. Le musée est populaire et les gens passent généralement plus de quatre heures. Les meilleurs conseils pour les parents? Portez des chaussures confortables et soyez patient lorsque vos enfants courent, découvrent et apprennent.

ZOO TIME

Arriver tôt est une bonne idée au Zoo de Houston. Si vous venez en début de matinée, les animaux sont les plus actifs, les foules ne sont pas aussi occupées, et vous pouvez regarder les bains d'éléphants à 10 am Le zoo, situé sur une propriété 55-acre, ouvert dans 1922 et l'un des Les bonnes choses à propos de cette longue histoire, c'est que beaucoup d'arbres sont sur 100 ans. Il est facile de passer des heures à apprendre sur les lions, les ours, les girafes et ces lions de mer! Consultez l'horaire quotidien pour les rencontres avec les animaux et les activités pratiques. Pour $ 7, vous pourriez même vouloir donner de la laitue aux girafes, une attraction favorite.

Bain d'éléphant de zoo de Houston - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Bain d'éléphant Zoo de Houston - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

ME VOLER À LA LUNE

Centre spatial de Houston - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Centre spatial de Houston - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Vous voulez toucher un rocher de la lune? Vous voyez la combinaison spatiale que l'astronaute Pete Conrad portait sur la lune? Ou même marcher sur la même plate-forme que ceux qui ont consacré leur vie à l'exploration spatiale? Les clients ont un accès fantastique à Centre spatial Houston, situé à environ 42 kilomètres au sud du centre-ville de Houston. Ici, c'est le vrai spectacle qui se joue au complexe d'enseignement 250,000, ouvert à 1992, qui attire annuellement plus d'un million de personnes. Inspiration peut être trouvée dans tous les coins et recoins et nulle part plus qu'au contrôle de mission historique au Centre spatial Johnson de la NASA où vous vous apercevez qu'il s'agissait de 90 pour cent et de technologie 10 pour cent qui a d'abord mis un homme sur la lune.

Mission de contrôle du centre spatial de Houston - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Salle de contrôle de la mission - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

FOODIE FUN

Houston Goode Co - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Goode Co fait d'excellentes tartes! - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

À Houston, il est facile de goûter la diversité du Texas à travers sa nourriture. Une des premières choses que vous devriez faire est de vous rendre à un barbecue Texas appétissant. Goode Co. sur Kirby Drive sert de la poitrine de poulet à la mesquite (sans parler des côtes, du poulet et des saucisses) depuis plus de 40, alors vous savez qu'ils font quelque chose de bien. «N'oublie pas une tranche de tarte aux noix de pécan», dit un serveur en passant par la ligne de la cafétéria, pour prendre place à l'extérieur avec mon repas aux tables de pique-nique communales. Non monsieur, je ne le ferai pas! Pour d'autres explorations savoureuses, réservez Visite gastronomique de goût de Houston à travers le quartier de Montrose.

Houston mexicaine faite à partir de zéro tarif mexicain - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Hugo est fait à partir de zéro des plats mexicains - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Les arrêts incluent BB's Café où le pudding au pain de Maw Maw (après la grand-mère du propriétaire Bob Bassler) est le seul dessert au menu car, pour lui, c'est le seul dessert, El Real Tex-Mex Café pour des tacos et des enchiladas étonnants et le facteur amusant d'être dans un ancien cinéma 1930s; et Hugo- où la devise est «pas de raccourcis». Le chef Hugo Ortego, le célèbre chef James Beard, a tout fabriqué dans ce restaurant mexicain. Il s'agit d'un chocolat chaud et de churros mexicains!

Voici d'autres articles que nous pensons que vous aimerez!

Bien que nous fassions de notre mieux pour vous fournir des informations précises, tous les détails de l'événement sont sujets à changement. S'il vous plaît contacter l'établissement pour éviter toute déception.

Big Fun In Texas – Hitting the Highlights of Houston

I’m crushing on Houston big time. I mean, I’m staying at a downtown hotel that has a lazy river in the shape of the Lone Star state on its roof (yup, a river…in the map of Texas…on its roof!). My plans for today alone include giraffe feeding at the Houston Zoo, feasting on Texas BBQ, and riding the NASA Tram Tour at the Houston Space Centre to see NASA’s original Mission Control.

But first, decisions. Big decisions. Do I have ‘Katfish & Grits’ or ‘Wings & Waffles’ for breakfast?
“Wings & Waffles,” advise my kids on the two signature dishes at the legendary The Breakfast Klub, part restaurant, part tourist attraction, and all culinary goodness. It’s the place Good Morning America once hailed as home to the country’s best breakfast, and H-Town native extraordinaire Beyoncé is said to be a fan.

See, that’s the thing about Houston, the U.S.’s fourth largest and most ethnically diverse city. It surprises. And for family fun, it’s got cred. Over four days, we devoured everything from decadent Mexican churros to the tree-lined, pedestrian-friendly Museum District, where, in mere blocks, kids can join a child-run city, watch elephant baths, and roam a dinosaur hall.


To hit up the highlights, a CityPASS Houston ticket booklet is a great money saver, providing a passport to almost half-off savings if visiting the five included attractions. An adult booklet costs $59 U.S., $49 for children. Along with admission discounts, the CityPASS program (available in 12 North American locations) shows the love with perks like must-see picks in each city and taking the VIP route, skipping most main-entrance ticket lines.

UNDERWATER ADVENTURE

Beat the crowds at the Houston Aquarium with the CityPass only line - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Beat the crowds at the Houston Aquarium with the CityPass only line – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Confession. I want my birthday party at the Downtown Aquarium. Several parties were set up in the Aquarium Restaurant during our visit, and every seat (delightfully decked out in underwater themes) had a view of the enormous 150,000-gallon aquarium where sea creatures from sawfish to shovel-nose guitarfish swam past. Of course, the main draw here is the 500,000-gallon Aquarium Adventure exhibit, home to thousands of fish from all over the world. With some 400-plus species of marine life, visitors can marvel at displays from the Louisiana swamp to the rainforests, from a snapping turtle that likes to hang out near the tree trunks to a shipwreck exhibit. After exploring inside, you may want to wander the grounds, home to games, rides, and a train that traverses the property, stopping in a tunnel below a shark tank.

HOME RUN HOTEL

Houston Marriott Marquis lazy river view from hotel room - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Houston Marriott Marquis lazy river view from hotel room – Photo Shelley Cameron

McCarronConfession two. I’d come to Houston to say I floated down a Texas-shaped lazy river. It’s part of the sixth-floor roof complex at the Marriott Marquis Houston, which wows with sweeping views of the Houston skyline, swish cabanas, a hot tub and infinity pool. The hotel hits a home run—and I don’t say that just because its 5,000-square-foot spa and fitness centre overlook Minute Maid Park, home to the Houston Astros, 2017 World Series Champs. I’ve never experienced such service. I wander into Pure, the spa, and they offer a tour and sample products. I sit for breakfast at Walker Street Kitchen (one of four hotel restaurants, including the buzzworthy Xochi, a fab Mexican restaurant, and bustling, upscale sports bar Biggio). When I said, “I’m set to order,” my server thinks I’ve said “I’m sad” and confides she was going to offer me a cookie! Lobby staff greet me each day “nice to see you again”—though the place has 1,000 rooms!

SOUL FOOD

Houston Wings & Waffles at The Breakfast Klub - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Wings & Waffles at The Breakfast Klub – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Houston’s best breakfast? The aforementioned The Breakfast Klub brings the magic. Lines stretch out the door as people queue for ‘katfish’, grits, green eggs and ham. We beat the rush early on a Sunday morning, and fall instantly in love with Ms Mary, a thin sprite of a greeter who whips around the corner, menus in hand, and puts a smile on our faces with her humour. “Did Y’all wake up at once?” she asks our gang of nine. She offers instructions: place your order, pick up your silverware and get some coffee. “We have good coffee, gourmet coffee. It starts as decaf and gets stronger as you make your way right, the last will make your hair stand up!”

MUSEUM SECRETS

Houston Museum of Natural Science exterior - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Houston Museum of Natural Science exterior – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

If you do one thing at the outstanding Museum of Natural Science, book a Discovery Tour and ask for “Jurassic James,” or James Washington III, a dinosaur loving, energetic, enthusiastic educator, who could easily make it as a stand-up comedian. He makes the museum—a four-floor treasure trove of fossils, gems, ancient Egyptian wonders, Texas wildlife, and one of the largest dinosaur halls in the U.S.—come alive. “What secret stuff?” James mock shouts to get our group to move along to look at the next “really important science and really cool fun thing.”

Houston Museum of Natural Science - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Houston Museum of Natural Science – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

“This is really special. I’d hug her, but I’d get fired,” he says at the T-Rex exhibit before going full-on science and pointing out cool facts. Another tip? Come early. There’s much to see, and you could easily spend the day.

ART STYLINGS

Houston gunpowder drawing at Museum of Fine Art - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Gunpowder drawing at Houston’s Museum of Fine Art – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Art created by gunpowder, you say? You bet. “Odyssey,” in the Chinese art gallery at the Museum of Fine Arts is a captivating and stunning gunpowder drawing, created by combining gunpowder, layers of paper, and brick. It is one of the thousands of fascinating revelations found inside one of the largest museums in the central U.S. The underground tunnel of light, “The Light Inside” by artist James Turrell connects the museum’s two buildings, and is what visitors remember most, says senior docent Margaret Hansen. After a morning exploring sculpture gardens and artist galleries, drop by the MFA Café for satisfying sandwiches and salads, or browse the MFA Shop, perhaps picking up some art supplies for your budding creator.

CHILDREN’S MUSEUM

Picking the best thing about the 90,000 square feet of fun that is the Children’s Museum of Houston is nearly impossible. There’s so much to do. Kids age eight and up can enlist in S.E.C.R.E.T, Houston’s only digital spy interactive experience, and go on special missions to help save the museum. Yes, that means even moms like me can manoeuvre through a darkened room, gingerly stepping over green laser lights until you cash in or make it to the other side. Downstairs, kids may want to beeline it for Kidtropolis, a city for and run by kids, or test their creativity at the Maker Annex. From a toddler room to science stations, the museum is set up so kids can explore, invent, climb and create. The museum is popular, and people typically spend over four hours. Best tips for parents? Wear comfortable shoes and be patient as your kids run, discover and learn.

ZOO TIME

Arriving early is a good idea at the Houston Zoo. If you come first thing in the morning, the animals are the most active, the crowds are not as busy, and you can watch the elephant baths at 10 a.m. The zoo, located on a 55-acre property, opened in 1922 and one of the nice things about this long history is a lot of the trees onsite are over 100 years old. It’s easy to spend hours learning about lions, bears, giraffes and those slick sea lions! Do check out the daily schedule for ‘meet the keeper’ animal encounters and hands-on activities. For $7, you may even want to feed lettuce to the giraffes, a favourite attraction.

Houston zoo elephant bath - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Houston Zoo elephant bath – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

 

FLY ME TO THE MOON

Houston space centre - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Houston space centre – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Want to touch a rock from the moon? See the spacesuit that astronaut Pete Conrad wore on the moon? Or even walk on the same platform as those who have dedicated their lives to space exploration? Guests have fantastic access at Space Centre Houston, located about 42 kilometres south of downtown Houston. Here it’s the real thing that stars at the 250,000 square foot education complex, opened in 1992, that annually attracts over one million people. Inspiration can be found in every nook and cranny and nowhere more so than at historic Mission Control at NASA Johnson Space Centre where you stand in awe realising it was about 90 percent brain power and only 10 percent technology that first put a man on the moon.

Houston Space Centre mission control - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Mission Control Room – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

FOODIE FUN

Houston Goode Co - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Goode Co makes excellent pies! – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

In Houston, it’s easy to taste Texas diversity through its food. One of the first things you should do is get yourself to a mouthwatering Texas BBQ. Goode Co. on Kirby Drive has been serving up mesquite-kissed brisket (not to mention ribs, chicken and sausage) for over 40 years, so you know they’re doing something right. “Don’t forget a slice of pecan pie,” says a server as I go through the busy cafeteria-style line to take a seat outside with my meal at the communal-style picnic tables. No sir, I won’t! For other tasty explorations, book a Taste of Houston Food Tour through the Montrose neighbourhood.

Houston Hugo's made from scratch mexican fare - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Hugo’s made from scratch Mexican fare – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Stops include BB’s Café where Maw Maw’s bread pudding (after owner Bob Bassler’s grandmother) is the only dessert on the menu because, for him, it is the only dessert, El Real Tex-Mex Café for amazing tacos and enchiladas and the fun factor of being in a former 1930s movie theatre; and Hugo’s—where the motto is ‘no shortcuts.’ Everything at this Mexican restaurant helmed by famed James Beard Chef Hugo Ortego is made from scratch, and, oh, that Mexican hot chocolate and churros!

 

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *