fbpx

在德克萨斯州的大乐趣 - 击中休斯顿的亮点

我在休斯敦的大牌时刻煞有介事。 我的意思是,我住在一个市中心的酒店,它的屋顶上有一个孤形星状的懒人河。哟,一条河......在得克萨斯州的地图上......在它的屋顶上!)。 我今天的计划包括在休斯顿动物园喂养的长颈鹿,在德克萨斯烧烤餐厅吃饭,以及在休斯顿太空中心乘坐NASA电车之旅,观看美国宇航局最初的任务控制。

但首先,决定。 重大决策。 早餐是否有'鲶鱼和G鱼'或'翅膀和华夫饼'?
“翅膀和华夫饼”,告诉我的孩子们在传说中的两个招牌菜 早餐Klub,部分餐厅,部分旅游景点以及所有美食。 这是早安美国曾被誉为该国最好的早餐的地方,据说H-Town当地非凡的Beyoncé是粉丝。

看,这就是美国第四大和种族最多样化的城市休斯敦。 它令人惊讶。 为了家庭的乐趣,它有信誉。 在四天的时间里,我们吃掉了从腐朽的墨西哥油条到绿树成荫的步行友好的博物馆区,在那里,孩子们可以参加一个儿童游行的城市,观看大象浴,漫游恐龙大厅。


为了突出重点,a CityPASS Houston 机票小册子是一个很好的省钱,如果访问五个包括景点提供护照几乎一半的节省。 成人小册子的费用为$ 59美元,儿童为$ 49。 随着入场折扣,CityPASS计划(在12北美地区提供)显示了每个城市必须看到的选择以及采取VIP路线等优惠,并跳过大多数主要入场券线路。

水下冒险

只有CityPass专线才能打败休斯顿水族馆的人群 - 照片Shelley Cameron McCarron

只有CityPass专线才能打败休斯顿水族馆的人群 - 照片Shelley Cameron McCarron

忏悔。 我想在我的生日派对上 市中心水族馆。 在我们访问期间,在水族馆餐厅中设立了几个派对,每个座位(以水下主题欣赏)都可以欣赏到巨大的150,000加仑水族馆,从锯fish到铲尖吉祥鱼的海洋生物都会游过去。 当然,这里主要的是500,000加仑水族馆冒险展,这里有数以千计的来自世界各地的鱼。 随着一些400 +海洋生物的种类,游客可以从路易斯安那沼泽到热带雨林的奇观,从喜欢在树干附近垂钓的鳄龟到海难展览。 在探索完内部之后,您可能需要漫步于游乐场,游乐设施和穿过酒店的火车的停车场,停在鲨鱼罐下方的隧道中。

主页运行酒店

休斯顿马奎斯万豪酒店从酒店房间慵懒河景 - 照片雪莱卡梅隆麦卡伦

休斯顿马奎斯万豪酒店从酒店房间慵懒的河景 - 照片雪莱卡梅伦

McCarronConfession二。 我来休斯顿说我漂浮在德克萨斯州的一条漂流河上。 这是该地区六楼屋顶综合体的一部分 马奎斯万豪酒店,它可欣赏到休斯顿天际线,嗖嗖的小屋,热水浴池和无边泳池的美景。 酒店打了一个本垒打 - 我不会说这只是因为它的5,000平方英尺的水疗中心和健身中心忽略了Minute Maid Park,休斯敦太空人队的所在地,2017世界系列赛冠军。 我从来没有经历过这样的服务。 我漫步到Pure,水疗中心,他们提供了一个旅游和样品产品。 我坐在沃克街厨房(四家餐厅之一,包括嗡嗡声的Xochi,一家fab墨西哥餐厅和繁华的高档体育酒吧Biggio)享用早餐。 当我说“我准备订购”时,我的服务器认为我说过“我很伤心”,并且向她保证她会给我一个饼干! 大厅的工作人员每天都会问候我,“很高兴再次见到你” - 尽管这个地方有1,000房间!

灵魂食物

早餐俱乐部的休斯顿之翼和华夫饼 - 照片雪莱卡梅隆麦卡伦

早餐俱乐部的翅膀和华夫饼 - 照片雪莱卡梅隆麦卡隆

休斯顿最好的早餐? 之前所提 早餐Klub 带来魔力。 当人们排列'k鱼',沙砾,绿色鸡蛋和火腿时,线条伸出门。 我们在星期天的早晨早早地冲过了高峰,立刻爱上了玛丽小姐,一个接待人员的瘦弱精灵,他们鞭打着拐角处,手中拿着菜单,用她的幽默微笑着对我们的脸。 “你们是否一下子醒过来?”她问我们这帮九人。 她提供说明:下订单,拿起你的银器,喝点咖啡。 “我们有很好的咖啡,美味的咖啡。 它起始于无咖啡因,随着你走向正确而变得更强壮,最后会使你的头发站起来!“

博物馆秘密

休斯顿自然科学博物馆外观 - 照片Shelley Cameron McCarron

休斯顿自然科学博物馆外观 - 照片Shelley Cameron McCarron

如果你在突出的事情上做了一件事 自然科学博物馆, 订一个 探索之旅 并要求“侏罗纪詹姆斯”,或詹姆斯华盛顿三世,一个热爱恐龙,精力充沛,热情高涨的教育家,他可以轻松地将其当作独立喜剧演员。 他让这座博物馆成为化石,宝石,古埃及奇迹,德克萨斯野生动物以及美国最大的恐龙大厅之一 - 四层宝库。 “什么秘密的东西?”詹姆斯模仿大声喊叫让我们的团队前进,看看下一个“真正重要的科学和非常酷的有趣的事情。”

休斯顿自然科学博物馆 - 照片雪莱卡梅隆麦卡伦

休斯顿自然科学博物馆 - 照片雪莱卡梅隆麦卡伦

“这真的很特别。 我会拥抱她,但我会被解雇的,“他在T-Rex展会上展示完全接受科学研究并指出了一些很酷的事实。 另一个提示? 早点来吧。 有很多要看的,你可以轻松地度过一天。

艺术风格

休斯敦火药画在美术馆 - 照片雪莱卡梅伦麦卡隆

火药画在休斯顿美术馆 - 照片雪莱卡梅伦麦卡隆

由火药创造的艺术,你说? 你打赌。 “奥德赛”在中国美术馆举行 美术博物馆 是一个迷人的和令人惊叹的火药图,由火药,纸层和砖块组合而成。 这是在美国中部最大的博物馆之一发现的数千个迷人的启示之一。艺术家James Turrell的地下光隧道“The Light Inside”连接了博物馆的两座建筑,并且是游客最记得的内容,玛格丽特汉森。 经过一个早上探索雕塑花园和艺术家画廊,下降了 MFA咖啡厅 为了满足三明治和沙拉,或浏览 MFA商店,也许为你的萌芽创作者提供一些艺术品。

儿童博物馆

选择90,000平方英尺的乐趣,这是最好的事情 休斯顿儿童博物馆 几乎是不可能的。 有很多事情要做。 8岁及以上的孩子可以参加休斯敦唯一的数字间谍互动体验SECRET,并参加特别任务以帮助保存博物馆。 是的,这意味着即使是像我这样的妈妈也可以在黑暗的房间里操作,小心翼翼地跨过绿色的激光灯,直到你现金或者到达另一边。 在楼下,孩子们可能希望直接通过Kidtropolis,一个供孩子们经营的城市,或者在Maker附件中测试他们的创造力。 从蹒跚学步的房间到科学站,博物馆成立,孩子们可以探索,发明,攀登和创造。 博物馆很受欢迎,人们通常花费四个多小时。 父母最好的提示? 穿着舒适的鞋子,耐心等待你的孩子跑步,发现和学习。

动物园时间

提早抵达是个好主意 休斯顿动物园。 如果你早上第一件事,动物是最活跃的,人群不是很忙,你可以看10的大象浴场。动物园位于55-英亩的物业上,在1922上开放,还有一个关于这段悠久的历史的好消息是,现场有很多树木都在100岁以上。 花几个小时学习狮子,熊,长颈鹿和那些光滑的海狮很容易! 检查每天的日程安排,以“迎接守护者”的动物遭遇和动手活动。 对于$ 7,您甚至可能想要将生菜喂给长颈鹿,这是最受欢迎的景点。

休斯顿动物园大象浴 - 照片Shelley Cameron McCarron

休斯顿动物园的大象浴 - 照片雪莱卡梅伦麦卡伦

让我飞向月球

休斯顿太空中心 - 照片雪莱卡梅隆麦卡伦

休斯顿太空中心 - 照片雪莱卡梅隆麦卡伦

想要触摸月球上的岩石? 宇航员皮特康拉德穿上太空服看月球? 甚至与那些为了太空探索献出生命的人一起走在同一个平台上? 客人有梦幻般的访问 太空中心休斯敦,位于休斯顿市中心以南的42公里处。 在250,000开幕的1992平方英尺教育中心,每年吸引超过一百万人的是明星。 在每一个角落都可以找到灵感,比在NASA约翰逊航天中心历史悠久的任务控制中更能体现出这一点,在那里你立即敬畏地认识到它是关于90百分之百的大脑能量和只有10百分比技术首先将人送上月球。

休斯顿航天中心任务控制 - 照片雪莱卡梅伦麦卡伦

Mission Control Room - 照片Shelley Cameron McCarron

FOODIE FUN

休斯顿古德公司 - 照片雪莱卡梅伦麦卡伦

古德公司制作出色的馅饼! - 照片Shelley Cameron McCarron

在休斯敦,通过食物来品尝德克萨斯州的多样性很容易。 你应该做的第一件事是让自己得到一个令人垂涎的德州烧烤。 古德公司 在Kirby Drive已经在40的年份里服务过被mesquite-kissed牛腩(更不用说排骨,鸡肉和香肠了),所以你知道他们正在做的事情是正确的。 “不要忘了一片山核桃饼,”一台服务器说,当我穿过忙碌的食堂式线路在外面坐在公共场所野餐桌旁吃饭时,我坐在外面。 不,先生,我不会! 对于其他美味的探索,预订一个 休斯顿美食之旅 通过蒙特罗斯街区。

休斯顿雨果从零开始墨西哥票价 - 照片雪莱卡梅伦麦卡伦

雨果的从头开始墨西哥票价 - 照片雪莱卡梅伦麦卡伦

停止包括 BB的咖啡厅 Maw Maw的面包布丁(主人Bob Bassler的祖母之后)是菜单上唯一的甜点,因为对他而言,它是唯一的甜点, El Real Tex-Mex咖啡厅 惊人的炸玉米饼和辣酱玉米饼馅饼,以及在前1930s电影院中的乐趣; 和 雨果的 - 座右铭是'没有捷径'。 这家墨西哥餐厅的所有东西都由着名的詹姆斯比尔德厨师Hugo Ortego掌控,从零开始制作,哦,那墨西哥热巧克力和油条!

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于COVID-19,加拿大政府拥有正式的全球旅行咨询服务:
避免在加拿大以外进行不必要的旅行,直到另行通知。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Big Fun In Texas – Hitting the Highlights of Houston

I’m crushing on Houston big time. I mean, I’m staying at a downtown hotel that has a lazy river in the shape of the Lone Star state on its roof (yup, a river…in the map of Texas…on its roof!). My plans for today alone include giraffe feeding at the Houston Zoo, feasting on Texas BBQ, and riding the NASA Tram Tour at the Houston Space Centre to see NASA’s original Mission Control.

But first, decisions. Big decisions. Do I have ‘Katfish & Grits’ or ‘Wings & Waffles’ for breakfast?
“Wings & Waffles,” advise my kids on the two signature dishes at the legendary The Breakfast Klub, part restaurant, part tourist attraction, and all culinary goodness. It’s the place Good Morning America once hailed as home to the country’s best breakfast, and H-Town native extraordinaire Beyoncé is said to be a fan.

See, that’s the thing about Houston, the U.S.’s fourth largest and most ethnically diverse city. It surprises. And for family fun, it’s got cred. Over four days, we devoured everything from decadent Mexican churros to the tree-lined, pedestrian-friendly Museum District, where, in mere blocks, kids can join a child-run city, watch elephant baths, and roam a dinosaur hall.


To hit up the highlights, a CityPASS Houston ticket booklet is a great money saver, providing a passport to almost half-off savings if visiting the five included attractions. An adult booklet costs $59 U.S., $49 for children. Along with admission discounts, the CityPASS program (available in 12 North American locations) shows the love with perks like must-see picks in each city and taking the VIP route, skipping most main-entrance ticket lines.

UNDERWATER ADVENTURE

Beat the crowds at the Houston Aquarium with the CityPass only line - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Beat the crowds at the Houston Aquarium with the CityPass only line – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Confession. I want my birthday party at the Downtown Aquarium. Several parties were set up in the Aquarium Restaurant during our visit, and every seat (delightfully decked out in underwater themes) had a view of the enormous 150,000-gallon aquarium where sea creatures from sawfish to shovel-nose guitarfish swam past. Of course, the main draw here is the 500,000-gallon Aquarium Adventure exhibit, home to thousands of fish from all over the world. With some 400-plus species of marine life, visitors can marvel at displays from the Louisiana swamp to the rainforests, from a snapping turtle that likes to hang out near the tree trunks to a shipwreck exhibit. After exploring inside, you may want to wander the grounds, home to games, rides, and a train that traverses the property, stopping in a tunnel below a shark tank.

HOME RUN HOTEL

Houston Marriott Marquis lazy river view from hotel room - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Houston Marriott Marquis lazy river view from hotel room – Photo Shelley Cameron

McCarronConfession two. I’d come to Houston to say I floated down a Texas-shaped lazy river. It’s part of the sixth-floor roof complex at the Marriott Marquis Houston, which wows with sweeping views of the Houston skyline, swish cabanas, a hot tub and infinity pool. The hotel hits a home run—and I don’t say that just because its 5,000-square-foot spa and fitness centre overlook Minute Maid Park, home to the Houston Astros, 2017 World Series Champs. I’ve never experienced such service. I wander into Pure, the spa, and they offer a tour and sample products. I sit for breakfast at Walker Street Kitchen (one of four hotel restaurants, including the buzzworthy Xochi, a fab Mexican restaurant, and bustling, upscale sports bar Biggio). When I said, “I’m set to order,” my server thinks I’ve said “I’m sad” and confides she was going to offer me a cookie! Lobby staff greet me each day “nice to see you again”—though the place has 1,000 rooms!

SOUL FOOD

Houston Wings & Waffles at The Breakfast Klub - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Wings & Waffles at The Breakfast Klub – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Houston’s best breakfast? The aforementioned The Breakfast Klub brings the magic. Lines stretch out the door as people queue for ‘katfish’, grits, green eggs and ham. We beat the rush early on a Sunday morning, and fall instantly in love with Ms Mary, a thin sprite of a greeter who whips around the corner, menus in hand, and puts a smile on our faces with her humour. “Did Y’all wake up at once?” she asks our gang of nine. She offers instructions: place your order, pick up your silverware and get some coffee. “We have good coffee, gourmet coffee. It starts as decaf and gets stronger as you make your way right, the last will make your hair stand up!”

MUSEUM SECRETS

Houston Museum of Natural Science exterior - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Houston Museum of Natural Science exterior – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

If you do one thing at the outstanding Museum of Natural Science, book a Discovery Tour and ask for “Jurassic James,” or James Washington III, a dinosaur loving, energetic, enthusiastic educator, who could easily make it as a stand-up comedian. He makes the museum—a four-floor treasure trove of fossils, gems, ancient Egyptian wonders, Texas wildlife, and one of the largest dinosaur halls in the U.S.—come alive. “What secret stuff?” James mock shouts to get our group to move along to look at the next “really important science and really cool fun thing.”

Houston Museum of Natural Science - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Houston Museum of Natural Science – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

“This is really special. I’d hug her, but I’d get fired,” he says at the T-Rex exhibit before going full-on science and pointing out cool facts. Another tip? Come early. There’s much to see, and you could easily spend the day.

ART STYLINGS

Houston gunpowder drawing at Museum of Fine Art - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Gunpowder drawing at Houston’s Museum of Fine Art – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Art created by gunpowder, you say? You bet. “Odyssey,” in the Chinese art gallery at the Museum of Fine Arts is a captivating and stunning gunpowder drawing, created by combining gunpowder, layers of paper, and brick. It is one of the thousands of fascinating revelations found inside one of the largest museums in the central U.S. The underground tunnel of light, “The Light Inside” by artist James Turrell connects the museum’s two buildings, and is what visitors remember most, says senior docent Margaret Hansen. After a morning exploring sculpture gardens and artist galleries, drop by the MFA Café for satisfying sandwiches and salads, or browse the MFA Shop, perhaps picking up some art supplies for your budding creator.

CHILDREN’S MUSEUM

Picking the best thing about the 90,000 square feet of fun that is the Children’s Museum of Houston is nearly impossible. There’s so much to do. Kids age eight and up can enlist in S.E.C.R.E.T, Houston’s only digital spy interactive experience, and go on special missions to help save the museum. Yes, that means even moms like me can manoeuvre through a darkened room, gingerly stepping over green laser lights until you cash in or make it to the other side. Downstairs, kids may want to beeline it for Kidtropolis, a city for and run by kids, or test their creativity at the Maker Annex. From a toddler room to science stations, the museum is set up so kids can explore, invent, climb and create. The museum is popular, and people typically spend over four hours. Best tips for parents? Wear comfortable shoes and be patient as your kids run, discover and learn.

ZOO TIME

Arriving early is a good idea at the Houston Zoo. If you come first thing in the morning, the animals are the most active, the crowds are not as busy, and you can watch the elephant baths at 10 a.m. The zoo, located on a 55-acre property, opened in 1922 and one of the nice things about this long history is a lot of the trees onsite are over 100 years old. It’s easy to spend hours learning about lions, bears, giraffes and those slick sea lions! Do check out the daily schedule for ‘meet the keeper’ animal encounters and hands-on activities. For $7, you may even want to feed lettuce to the giraffes, a favourite attraction.

Houston zoo elephant bath - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Houston Zoo elephant bath – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

 

FLY ME TO THE MOON

Houston space centre - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Houston space centre – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Want to touch a rock from the moon? See the spacesuit that astronaut Pete Conrad wore on the moon? Or even walk on the same platform as those who have dedicated their lives to space exploration? Guests have fantastic access at Space Centre Houston, located about 42 kilometres south of downtown Houston. Here it’s the real thing that stars at the 250,000 square foot education complex, opened in 1992, that annually attracts over one million people. Inspiration can be found in every nook and cranny and nowhere more so than at historic Mission Control at NASA Johnson Space Centre where you stand in awe realising it was about 90 percent brain power and only 10 percent technology that first put a man on the moon.

Houston Space Centre mission control - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Mission Control Room – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

FOODIE FUN

Houston Goode Co - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Goode Co makes excellent pies! – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

In Houston, it’s easy to taste Texas diversity through its food. One of the first things you should do is get yourself to a mouthwatering Texas BBQ. Goode Co. on Kirby Drive has been serving up mesquite-kissed brisket (not to mention ribs, chicken and sausage) for over 40 years, so you know they’re doing something right. “Don’t forget a slice of pecan pie,” says a server as I go through the busy cafeteria-style line to take a seat outside with my meal at the communal-style picnic tables. No sir, I won’t! For other tasty explorations, book a Taste of Houston Food Tour through the Montrose neighbourhood.

Houston Hugo's made from scratch mexican fare - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Hugo’s made from scratch Mexican fare – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Stops include BB’s Café where Maw Maw’s bread pudding (after owner Bob Bassler’s grandmother) is the only dessert on the menu because, for him, it is the only dessert, El Real Tex-Mex Café for amazing tacos and enchiladas and the fun factor of being in a former 1930s movie theatre; and Hugo’s—where the motto is ‘no shortcuts.’ Everything at this Mexican restaurant helmed by famed James Beard Chef Hugo Ortego is made from scratch, and, oh, that Mexican hot chocolate and churros!

 

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *