青少年历史课 - 穿越中欧

通过书籍或历史课程学习无法与第一手旅行体验相比。 在2018的夏天,使用欧洲令人惊叹的铁路系统,我们能够前往中欧进行为期三周的访问,访问四个国家和四个世界首都。 这是一堂历史课,不像我们两个十几岁的儿子以前经历的那样。

东欧与青少年 - 柏林墙 - 照片丽莎约翰斯顿

柏林墙 - 照片丽莎约翰斯顿

我们的旅程始于德国首都柏林。 在1989听到共产主义的终结和柏林墙的倒塌时,他们从未完全理解这一重要性,直到站在隔离墙的纪念部分旁边。 一旦跨越177公里,隔离墙将东柏林和西柏林 - 甚至家庭 - 分开超过28年。 今天,柏林是一个充满活力的年轻城市,具有鲜明的优势。 虽然正式东柏林的许多建筑仍然拥有简单的灰色共产主义建筑,但是墙壁上的墙壁增添了独特的氛围,繁华的商店,咖啡馆和市场也是如此。


我们的历史课包括前往斯塔西博物馆的旅行,该博物馆曾是东柏林秘密警察的总部; 查理检查站,是冷战期间双方盟军和外国人唯一的官方过境点; 还有欧洲被害犹太人纪念碑,这是一片深灰色街区,就在着名的勃兰登堡门(Brandenburg Gate)的街道上。 然而,最引起共鸣的是两排砖块,沿着道路向下穿过人行道,指示柏林墙曾经站在哪里。 几乎没有想到,我们在标记之间来回穿过而没有注意到,除非我们向下看,这是几年前不可能只有30的东西。

所有历史课程都应该包括当地美食的味道。 在柏林,我们最喜欢的是咖喱香肠,采用香肠香肠和炸薯条(今天我们家的主食晚餐)拍摄鱼和薯条。

查看从德累斯顿的圣母教堂 - 照片丽莎约翰斯顿

查看从德累斯顿的圣母教堂 - 照片丽莎约翰斯顿

离开柏林,我们搭乘火车前往德累斯顿。 2月1945在第二次世界大战结束时被盟军轰炸,超过3,900吨炸药摧毁了1,600市中心的土地并杀死了超过25,000的人。 今天的德累斯顿已完全重建为昔日的辉煌,一砖一瓦,居民和志愿者。 这是一个标志性的地标,圣母教堂,在接近50年的时候躺在一堆瓦砾中,直到德国统一后在1994重建开始。 我们男孩们的一个亮点是爬上教堂穹顶顶部的67米,在那里可以欣赏到旧中心的壮丽景色。 一旦回到地面,在许多德国巧克力制造商之一停下来恢复了我们的能量。

布拉格 - 从圣维特大教堂顶部查看 - 照片丽莎约翰斯顿

布拉格 - 从圣维特大教堂顶部查看 - 照片丽莎约翰斯顿

旧布拉格的鹅卵石街道及其红色屋顶让我们感觉我们已经从火车上下来进入一个中世纪的童话故事。 布拉格在第二次世界大战结束时遭受的轻微破坏几乎没有受到影响,因为德国军队相对无人地进入首都。 我们的历史课包括参观旧城中心和漫步于着名的查理大桥,我们将我们带到伏尔塔瓦河西侧的布拉格城堡。 我们的男孩们可以通过各种旅游探索城堡及其场地,选择在287 C夏季高温上攀登35步骤的圣维特大教堂。 这是一场我没有赢过的比赛,但布拉格,桥梁和河流的壮丽景色使得这次旅行非常值得付出努力,就像最后的奖励一样:吃trdelnik(一个甜甜圈冰淇淋蛋筒)并听着一个小提琴四重奏播放绿色日的摇滚音乐,聚集在广场周围的各个年龄段的人群中。

维也纳的颐和园 - 照片Lisa Johnston

维也纳的颐和园 - 照片Lisa Johnston

虽然不是苏维埃政权的一部分,但奥地利在1938被并入纳粹德国。 维多利亚拥有白色粉刷的街道和建筑,与黑暗的布拉格有着截然不同的感觉。 对于青少年着迷的宫殿,维也纳提供了两个 - 夏宫和冬宫,哈布斯堡王朝统治到1918。 同样令人印象深刻的是站在圣斯蒂芬大教堂的基地,该大教堂一直守望着这座城市超过700年。 想要品尝或啜饮奥地利文化,必须停下来是遍布整个城市的百年咖啡店之一。 奥地利咖啡一边供应一杯水,虽然不一定吸引青少年,但经过漫长的一天观光后,即使是父母也应该休息。

布达佩斯的Gerbeaud Bakery  -  Photo Lisa Johnston

布达佩斯的Gerbeaud Bakery - Photo Lisa Johnston

最后的行程是匈牙利首都布达佩斯市。 布达佩斯距离共产党的控制更远一点,这导致更多的自由,充满活力的城市以购物,摇滚音乐会和铁幕以东的第一家麦当劳而闻名。 Gerbeaud是一家面包店和咖啡馆,建立了1858,提供其他共产主义城市所没有的美食,今天仍然是当地人和游客的热门地点,促使我们停下来参加匈牙利巧克力蛋糕历史课。 对于喜欢幻想电影的青少年男孩来说,参观城堡山上的渔人堡垒绝对是一个亮点,就像沿着多瑙河的晚上河游船一样,沿着海滨的建筑物在明亮的灯光下闪闪发光。

我们疲惫不堪,脚痛,但丰富了我们的经验,更加欣赏世界上不同的文化,创造了今天存在的卓越目的地和国家。

Lisa Johnston是一名传播顾问,并担任国家贸易杂志“Canadian Funeral News”的编辑。 她还是多家加拿大杂志的自由撰稿人和编辑,如果不在她的办公桌前,她喜欢和家人一起环游世界。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

A History Lesson With Teens – Travelling Through Central Europe

Learning through books or a history class cannot compare to a first-hand travel experience. In the summer of 2018, using Europe’s amazing rail system, we were able to take a three-week trip to Central Europe to visit four countries and four world capitals. It was a history lesson, unlike anything our two teenage sons had experienced before.

Eastern Europe with Teens -Berlin Wall - Photo Lisa Johnston

Berlin Wall – Photo Lisa Johnston

Our journey began in Germany’s capital city of Berlin. Hearing about the end of Communism and the collapse of the Berlin Wall in 1989, they never fully understood the significance until standing beside a memorial section of the wall. Once spanning 177 kilometres, the wall separated East and West Berlin – and even families – for more than 28 years. Today, Berlin is a vibrant, young city with a distinct edge. Although many of the buildings in what was formally East Berlin still boast simple grey Communist architecture, the graffitied walls add a unique atmosphere as do the bustling shops, cafés and markets.


Our history lesson included a trip to the Stasi Museum, a building that formerly served as the headquarters of the Eastern Berlin secret police; Checkpoint Charlie, the only official crossing point for Allied troops and foreigners between the two sides during the Cold War; and the Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe, a field of dark-grey blocks just down the street from the famed Brandenburg Gate. However, what resonated the most was the two rows of bricks, running down roads and across sidewalks indicating where the Berlin Wall once stood. With hardly a thought, we crossed back and forth over the marker without noticing unless we looked down, something impossible only 30 short years ago.

All history lessons should include a taste of the local fare. In Berlin, our favourite was currywurst, a take on fish and chips using bratwurst sausages and french fries (a staple dinner in our home today).

View from Dresden's Church of Our Lady - Photo Lisa Johnston

View from Dresden’s Church of Our Lady – Photo Lisa Johnston

Leaving Berlin, we hopped on a train to Dresden. Bombed by the Allies in February 1945 near the end of the Second World War, more than 3,900 tons of explosives destroyed 1,600 acres of the city centre and killed more than 25,000 people. The Dresden of today has been completely rebuilt to its former glory, brick by brick, by residents and volunteers. It’s signature landmark, the Church of Our Lady, lay in a pile of rubble for close to 50 years until reconstruction began in 1994 following the reunification of Germany. A highlight for our boys was the climb 67 metres to the top of the church dome where a platform allowed for breathtaking views of the old centre. Once back down to the ground, a stop at one of many German chocolatiers restored our energy.

Prague - View from the top of St Vitus Cathedral - Photo Lisa Johnston

Prague – View from the top of St Vitus Cathedral – Photo Lisa Johnston

The cobblestone streets of old Prague and its red roofs made us feel we had stepped off a train into a medieval fairy tale. Suffering only minor damage at the very end of the Second World War, Prague was virtually untouched as German forces marched relatively unopposed into the capital city. Our history lesson included a visit to the old town centre and a stroll across the famous Charles Bridge which led us to Prague Castle on the west side of the Vltava River. With a variety of tours available to explore the castle and its grounds, our boys chose to climb the 287-step St. Vitus Cathedral in 35 C summer heat. It was a race I did not win, but the stunning view of Prague, the bridge and the river beyond made the journey well worth the effort as did the reward at the end: eating trdelnik (a donut ice-cream cone) and listening to a violin quartet play the rock music of Green Day to a crowd of all ages gathered around the square.

Vienna's Summer Palace - Photo Lisa Johnston

Vienna’s Summer Palace – Photo Lisa Johnston

While not part of the Soviet regime, Austria was annexed into Nazi Germany in 1938. With its whitewashed streets and buildings, Vienna has a strikingly different feel than dark Prague. For teens fascinated with palaces, Vienna offers two – the summer palace and the winter palace where the Habsburg dynasty ruled until 1918. Just as impressive was standing at the base of St. Stephen’s Cathedral, which has kept watch over the city for more than 700 years. Wanting a taste – or sip – of Austrian culture, a must-stop was one of the century-old coffee shops located throughout the city. Austrian coffee is served with a glass of water on the side, and while not necessarily appealing to teenagers, even parents deserve a break after a long day of sightseeing.

The Gerbeaud Bakery in Budapest- Photo Lisa Johnston

The Gerbeaud Bakery in Budapest- Photo Lisa Johnston

Last on the itinerary was the city of Budapest, Hungary’s capital city. Budapest was a little further removed from Communist control which resulted in more freedom, and the vibrant city became known for shopping, rock concerts and the first McDonald’s east of the Iron Curtain. Gerbeaud, a bakery and coffee house established 1858, served treats not available in other Communist cities, and today remains a popular spot for locals and tourists, prompting us to stop for a history lesson in Hungarian chocolate cake. For teen boys who like fantasy movies, a visit to Fisherman’s Bastion on Castle Hill was definitely a highlight as was the evening river cruise down the Danube where buildings along the waterfront shimmered in bright lights.

We came home tired and with sore feet but enriched by our experience and more appreciative of different cultures of the world which have created the remarkable destinations and countries that exist today.

Lisa Johnston is a communications consultant and serves as editor of the national trade magazine Canadian Funeral News. She is also a freelance writer and editor for several Canadian magazines and when not at her desk, enjoys travelling the world with her family.

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *