大安斯海灘–格林納達旅遊局授信

一個熱帶小島是享受海灘所能提供的一切的理想場所:游泳並在海浪中嬉戲,在柔滑的白色沙灘上沐浴陽光,在聆聽微風吹拂的棕櫚樹時放鬆身心。


但是,如果您希望熱帶假期不僅僅是在海灘上度過的時間,那麼位於委內瑞拉以北160公里處的加勒比海格林納達島就是理想的選擇。 在格林納達,您可以通過世界一流的水上活動,戶外娛樂活動,甚至是一些美味的美食冒險活動來滿足您內在的冒險愛好者,這些都被34公里19公里的天堂所包圍。

探索雨林

莫娜猴子–格林納達旅遊局

冒險的第一步-出去探索。 火山噴發的結果,這個小島基本上是山區雨林,到處都是茂密的熱帶植物,如棕櫚樹和蘭花。 有許多不錯的遠足徑,例如Morne Gazo,距離聖喬治(島上的首府,多數酒店和海灘都位於此)僅15分鐘路程。 可以提供步道指南手冊,但更好的是,聘請一位當地嚮導,他們可以在當地民間傳說中教您有關動植物的知識。

大唐Etang國家公園和森林保護區是1,000公頃的公園,是12公頃的湖泊的所在地,是最受歡迎的遠足地點,其踪跡從半小時到數小時不等。 在島內山脈的高處,這裡的溫度保持涼爽,是觀看島上野生動物(如犰狳,負鼠,甚至是莫娜猴)的理想場所(當心,它們會偷走你的午餐)。

格林納達還是觀鳥者的天堂,至少有150種鳥類,例如捕蠅器,白鷺和瀕臨滅絕的格林納達鴿子,將其稱為該島的家園或將其用作中途停留地。 還有日落時那lovely的lovely叫聲? 不是鳥,而是小樹蛙。

在水里玩

在島上時,像島民一樣做—花時間在水中。 你是潛水員嗎? 附近有30多個潛水點,周圍的海洋常年保持26-28度的溫度,能見度高,很容易看到鯨魚,海豚,蝠man和海龜。

格林納達被譽為加勒比海的沉船跳水之都,附近有數艘沉船,包括 比安卡C,一艘600英尺長的豪華班輪,在1961年因爆炸而沉沒。在2018年,有意將兩艘舊船沉沒成了人造礁石。 如果您更喜歡浮潛,那麼在方便到達的地點,五顏六色的礁石魚,珊瑚和海洋生物將不會讓您失望。

水下雕塑公園–信貸格林納達旅遊局

水下雕塑公園是世界上第一個專門設計的人工礁,它是由100塊佈滿珊瑚的藝術品(支撐海洋生物)組成的,旨在幫助海洋生態系統在再生後再生在2004中被Ivan颶風損壞。

沙丘越野車時間

沙丘越野車時間–凱特·羅伯遜(Kate Robertson)

要重新整理一下,請預訂沙丘越野車之旅。 (我和我一起進行了三個小時的瀑布和森林探險之旅 太陽獵人)。 戴上頭盔並跳入兩人座越野車,這將帶您沿著哈特曼莊園,鳥類保護區和自然保護區的泥濘小路蹦蹦跳跳,穿過小村莊和聖喬治大街,一直到監視處可以看到群山錯落的色彩繽紛的房屋,以及遠在下方的水晶般藍色的海洋。

穿上泳衣–您將到達島上15個景點之一的安嫩代爾瀑布,步行不遠即可帶您經過當地果樹和郁鬱蔥蔥的綠色蕨類植物,直達30英尺的瀑布。 您很有可能會看到懸崖跳線爬上頂部,然後跳入下面的水池中-有一些方便的現金,這就是他們的謀生方式。

河上奔跑

河管–格林納達旅遊局

要真正使腎上腺素發揮作用,請註冊 島嶼路線 在Balthazar河(被稱為格林納達的大河)上進行冒險河管活動。 在幾位導遊的專心致志下,您將在岩石和急流周圍的水流中自旋和旋轉,經過繁茂的熱帶植被氾濫的河岸。 最後,您將有機會在溫暖的天然泳池中游泳。 提示:保持專業水平-事情發展很快。

美食大冒險

香料–信用格林納達旅遊局

格林納達(Grenada)上有很多美食冒險活動,您將需要花費一整天(或兩三天)來檢查一下。 格林納達有充分的理由被稱為香料島(香料實際上是它在17C殖民的原因,隨後被法國和英國人爭奪)-它是肉桂,丁香和其他香料的主要生產國著名的肉荳蔻。

首先參觀聖喬治繁華的街頭市場(目的是在周六上午,這是最活躍的市場),那裡的小販將爭奪向您出售新鮮農產品,香料和紀念品的機會。

島上也以巧克力著稱(5月甚至有一年一度的巧克力節,活動包括巧克力瑜伽課,美味)。 停在 巧克力屋,一家小型咖啡館,博物館和精品店,您可以在這裡學習有關巧克力的所有知識。 最好的部分? 您可以品嚐巧克力。 在Chocolateria咖啡廳,您還可以拉起其中一個像巧克力曲奇的可愛凳子,沉迷於可可注入的芝士蛋糕,布朗尼蛋糕和自製冰淇淋等糖果(需要我再說嗎?。

Belmont Estate的可可豆干燥–格林納達旅遊局

在距聖喬治一小時車程的聖帕特里克大教堂, 貝爾蒙特莊園,是該島上最古老的可可種植園,其歷史可追溯到1600年代後期。 在這裡,您可以了解可可豆的歷史,並在充滿蘭花的熱帶花園中漫步。 而且,您猜對了,您將品嚐更多的巧克力。 在前往Belmont的路上,停下來參觀Gouyave肉荳蔻加工合作社,這是一個寬敞的倉庫,裡面裝滿了麻布袋的肉荳蔻,成排的晾衣架和木製機器,工作人員在這里人工分揀,分級和包裝美味的香料。

經歷了所有這些冒險之後,可能是時候在Grand Anse海灘的白色絲滑沙灘上放鬆一下了,該海灘最近被Conde Nast評選為世界上最好的海灘之一。

作者於2019的7月前往格林納達。 她是格林納達旅遊局(Grenada Tourism Authority)的客人,但是,他們在發表之前沒有對此文章進行任何評論或編輯。

當你去:

加拿大航空有從多倫多飛往格林納達的直航。

有關該島的更多信息,請訪問 純格林納達.

有關豪華住宿選擇,請查看 香料島海灘度假酒店涼鞋格林納達 (當您入住涼鞋時,如果您擁有PADI認證,則包括在潛水費用中)。

對於適合家庭的預算選項,請嘗試 格林納達肉桂山酒店 or 藍色地平線花園度假酒店.

How to Have the Perfect Tropical Island Adventure on Grenada

Grand Anse Beach – credit Grenada Tourism Authority

A tropical island is the perfect place to enjoy everything that the beach has to offer: swim and splash in the waves, soak up the sun on silky, white sand and relax as you listen to the palm trees blowing in the breeze.


But if you want your tropical vacation to be more than just time on the beach, the Caribbean island of Grenada, located just 160 kilometres north of Venezuela is the perfect destination. On Grenada, you can cater to your inner adventure-lover with world-class water activities, outdoor fun, and even some delicious food adventures, all packed into 34 by 19 kilometres of island paradise.

Explore the Rainforests

A Mona monkey – credit Grenada Tourism Authority

Step one to adventure-time–get outside and explore.  The result of volcanic eruptions, this tiny island is essentially a mountainous rainforest, filled with lush tropical vegetation like palm trees and orchids. There are many good hiking trails, some, like Morne Gazo, as close as 15 minutes from St. George’s (the island’s capital, where most hotels and beaches are located). Trail guide brochures are available, but even better, hire a local guide who can fill you in on the local folklore as they teach you about the flora and fauna.

Grand Etang National Park and Forest Reserve, a 1,000 hectare park and home to a 12-hectare lake, is the most popular place for hiking, with marked trails from half hour to several hours long. High up in the mountains of the island’s interior, temperatures stay cool up here, and it’s the perfect spot to see the island’s wildlife, like armadillo, opossum, and even Mona monkeys (watch out, they’ll steal your lunch).

Grenada is also a birdwatcher’s paradise, with at least 150 species, like the flycatcher, egrets and the endangered Grenada dove, calling the island home or using it as a stopover. And that lovely, cacophony of chirping at sunset? It’s not the birds, that’s little tree frogs.

Play in the Water

When on an island, do as the islanders do—spend time in the water.  Are you a diver? There are 30-plus dive sites close by and the surrounding ocean maintains a year-round temperature between 26-28 degrees, with good visibility making it likely to see whales, dolphins, manta rays and sea turtles.

Known as the wreck-diving capital of the Caribbean, Grenada has several shipwrecks within close proximity, including Bianca C, a 600-foot luxury liner that was sunk by an explosion in 1961.  In 2018, two old ships were purposely sunk to become artificial reefs.  If snorkeling is more your style, you won’t be disappointed with the colourful reef fish, corals and marine creatures at easy-to-access spots.

Underwater Sculpture Park – credit Grenada Tourism Authority

A must-see whether diving or snorkelling, is the Underwater Sculpture Park, the world’s first specially-designed artificial reef, composed of over 100 pieces of art draped with coral (to support marine life), built to help the ocean ecosystem regenerate after being damaged by Hurricane Ivan in 2004.

Dune Buggy Time

Dune buggy time – credit Kate Robertson

To rev things up a bit, book a dune buggy tour. (I did the three-hour Waterfall and Forest Adventure Tour with Sun Hunters).  Gear up with helmets and hop in a two-seater buggy which will have you bouncing along the mud trails of Mount Hartman Estate, a bird sanctuary and nature reserve, through tiny villages and the streets of St. George’s, and up to lookouts where you can view the jumble of colourful houses perched on the side of the mountain and the crystal-blue ocean far below.

Wear your bathing suit–you’ll end up at Annandale Falls, one of 15 on the island, where a short walk takes you past local fruit trees and lush green ferns to a 30-foot cascading waterfall.  Chances are good you’ll see a cliff jumper climb up to the top and make the jump into the pool below—have some cash handy, this is how they make a living.

River Running

River Tubing – credit Grenada Tourism Authority

To really get the adrenaline going, sign-up with Island Routes for an Adventure River Tubing activity on the Balthazar River (known as Grenada’s Great River).  Under the attentive eye of several guides, you’ll spin and swirl in the currents around rocks and over rapids, past river banks overflowing with lush tropical vegetation.  At the end, you’ll get an opportunity to swim in the warm natural pools. Tip:  Take your go-pro—things move fast.

Food Adventures

Spices – credit Grenada Tourism Authority

There are so many food adventures on Grenada, that you will want to dedicate a full day (or two, or three) to checking them out.  Grenada is referred to as the Spice Island for good reason (spices were actually the reason it was colonized in the 17C, and was subsequently fought over by the French and the British)—it’s a leading producer of spices like cinnamon, cloves and its most famous—nutmeg.

Start with a visit to St. George’s bustling street market, (aim for Saturday morning—it’s at its most vibrant), where vendors will vie to sell you fresh produce, spices and souvenirs.

The island is famous for its chocolate as well (there’s even an annual chocolate festival in May, with activities like chocolate yoga classes, yummy). Stop at the House of Chocolate, a small café, museum and boutique, where you can learn everything you’ve ever wanted to know about chocolate. The best part? You get to sample chocolate. At the chocolateria café you can also pull up one of the cute stools shaped like a chocolate cookie and indulge in goodies like cocoa-infused cheesecakes, brownies and house-made ice creams (need I say more?.

Cocoa beans drying at Belmont Estate – credit Grenada Tourism Authority

At St. Patrick’s, an hour’s drive from St. George’s, check out Belmont Estate, the island’s oldest working cocoa plantation, dating back to the late 1600s.  Here you can learn the history of the cocoa bean and stroll the tropical gardens filled with orchids.  And, you guessed it, you’ll be sampling more chocolate. On the way to Belmont, stop in for a tour at Gouyave Nutmeg Processing Co-op, a large warehouse filled with burlap bags of nutmeg, rows of drying racks, and wooden machines, where workers manually sort, grade and package the tasty spice.

After all that adventure, it’s likely time to relax on the white silky sand of Grand Anse Beach, recently voted one of the best beaches in the world by Conde Nast.

The author travelled to Grenada in July of 2019. She was a guest of Grenada Tourism Authority, however, they did not review or edit this article before publication.

When you go:

Air Canada has direct flights from Toronto to Grenada.

For more info on the island go to Pure Grenada.

For luxury accommodation options, check out Spice Island Beach Resort and Sandals Grenada (when you stay at Sandals, diving, if you have your PADI certification, is included in the cost).

For family-friendly budget options, try Mount Cinnamon Grenada Hotel or Blue Horizons Garden Resort.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *