旅途中斷

我們將永遠不會再中斷一次公路旅行! 吉爾·富茨(Jill Footz)攝

“媽媽,我愛卡爾加里! 我希望我們可以住在這裡!” 我四歲半的女兒從華麗的24樓凝視著城市的核心時驚呼 卡爾加里市區/ Beltline區萬豪原住客棧.

旅途中斷

卡爾加里市中心/貝爾特琳萬豪原住客棧22樓的景觀。 吉爾·富茨(Jill Footz)攝影

不要誤會我的意思-我一直都喜歡卡爾加里,就像下一個人一樣-我只是沒想到在入住酒店後的片刻就如此崇高的敬業。 但事實是,這次逗留改變了我們家庭旅行計劃的未來幾年。 我們再也不會一口氣開車到最終目的地了,從現在開始,中斷公路旅行永遠是計劃的一部分。

在我們的孩子到達現場之前,我和我的丈夫總是會上路,開車去目的地,只不過是零星的洗手間。 有雙胞胎劫持了我們的計劃一段時間,但是一旦我們再次開始公路旅行,我們一定會始終在計劃中建立遊樂場停靠點,以至少使笨拙的人保持活動。

旅途中斷

房間寬敞,乾淨,現代。 吉爾·富茨(Jill Footz)攝影

去年夏天,我們的旅行把我們帶到了卑詩省-一天可以解決的路程-但我們也想通過參觀來使這些女孩感到驚訝 Calaway公園 一路上。 我們對選擇方案進行了辯論,但在不敬虔的時刻起床讓全體船員出門以便及時到達開張的想法對我們沒有吸引力。

旅途中斷

有廚房的酒店嗎? 是的,請! 吉爾·富茨(Jill Footz)攝

我們選擇前一天悠閒地前往卡爾加里,並預訂了一晚的房間。 就像這樣,出於方便而製定的簡單計劃變成了我們假期中最放縱的部分!

旅途中斷

他們想搬進去! 吉爾·富茨(Jill Footz)攝

首先,Residence Inn by Marriott酒店的客房寬敞,現代而華麗。 我的女兒建議住在那兒時不是在開玩笑–我們四口之家有足夠的空間。 我們需要一台公寓大小的冰箱來存放我們本週在卑詩省帶來的所有食物。 我們喜歡輕鬆地到達卡爾加里市中心的餐廳和公園,以及早上可以輕鬆到達卡拉威公園-最重要的是,我們喜歡豪華的豪華床鋪。

旅途中斷

我夢dream以求的酒店健身房! 吉爾·富茨(Jill Footz)攝

我第二天一大早醒來,參觀了酒店健身房,這將永遠毀了我的酒店健身房。 它分佈在2級別上,其設備和占地面積會令大多數商業健身中心感到吃驚。

旅途中斷

我聽到有人說這是卡爾加里最好的早餐。 我必須同意! 吉爾·富茨(Jill Footz)攝影

經過鍛煉和淋浴後,我們遇到了一點點阻力– Residence Inn by Marriott自助早餐。 包含在我們的住宿中,值得一遊的正是這種令人印象深刻的傳播。 如此眾多的冷熱美味選擇讓您可以停留一個星期而不花所有時間品嚐–再加上熱騰騰的星巴克咖啡。

旅途中斷

但是首先,咖啡! 吉爾·富茨(Jill Footz)攝

飯後,我給旅行杯加了咖啡以作開車用,但我幾乎沒有動過它,因為我們在15分鐘內到達了卡拉威公園。 當我的女兒們對在一家神話般的酒店住宿的興奮和對即將到來的樂趣的期待充滿嗡嗡聲時,我發誓永遠不要再中斷公路旅行了!

旅途中斷

這就是開心的路人的臉! 吉爾·富茨(Jill Footz)攝影

 

為什麼要分開公路旅行

  • 有時旅程是目的地
  • 到達刷新而不是匆忙
  • 驚喜! 您始終繞過的那個地方可能是很多樂趣的寶庫!
  • 減少假期準備壓力
  • 延長計劃的假期

本文作者是卡爾加里市區/ Beltline區萬豪原住客棧的客人。 她的意見是她自己的,萬豪沒有對此故事進行評論或編輯。

Destination Delayed – The Beauty of Interrupting a Family Road Trip

Interrupting road trip

We will never NOT interrupt a road trip again! Photo by Jill Footz

“Mommy, I LOVE CALGARY! I wish we could live here!” my four-and-a-half-year-old daughter exclaimed while staring out at the City’s core from the 24th floor of the gorgeous Residence Inn by Marriott Calgary Downtown/Beltline District.

Interrupting road trip

The view from the 22nd floor of the Residence Inn by Marriott Calgary Downtown/Beltline. Photo by Jill Footz

Don’t get me wrong – I’ve always liked Calgary just as much as the next person – I just didn’t expect such an exuberant profession of adoration mere moments after checking in to a hotel. But the truth is that this stay has altered the course of our family travel plans for years to come. Never again will we drive to our ultimate destination in one fell swoop – from here on in, interrupting a road trip will always be part of the plan.

Before our kids arrived on the scene, my husband and I would always hit the road and drive to our destination with little more than the odd bathroom break. Having twins hijacked our plans for a while, but once we started road tripping again, we’d be sure to always build playground stops into the schedule to at least keep the munchkins moving.

Interrupting road trip

Rooms are spacious, clean and modern. Photo by Jill Footz

This past summer, our travels took us into BC – a distance that could’ve been covered in a single day – but we also wanted to surprise the girls with a visit to Calaway Park along the way. We debated our options, but the idea of getting up at an ungodly hour to have the whole crew out the door in order to arrive in time for opening held no appeal to us.

Interrupting road trip

A hotel with a full kitchen? Yes, please! Photo by Jill Footz

We opted to make our way leisurely to Calgary the day before and booked a room for a single night. And just like that, a simple plan borne out of convenience turned into the most indulgent part of our vacation!

Interrupting road trip

They wanted to move in! Photo by Jill Footz

For starters, the rooms at the Residence Inn by Marriott are spacious, modern and gorgeous. My daughter wasn’t kidding when she suggested living there – there was ample space for our family of four. An apartment-sized fridge was exactly what we needed to store the cooler full of food we brought for our week in BC. We loved the easy access to the restaurants and parks in downtown Calgary, as well as to Calaway park in the morning – and most of all we loved the plush, luxurious beds.

Interrupting road trip

The hotel gym of my dreams! Photo by Jill Footz

I woke early the next morning and visited the hotel gym that will forever ruin me for hotel gyms. It is spread out over 2 levels, with equipment and floor space that would make most commercial fitness centres jealous.

Interrupting road trip

I overheard someone describe this as the best breakfast in Calgary. I have to agree! Photo by Jill Footz

After my workout and a shower, we encountered the piece de resistance – the Residence Inn by Marriott buffet breakfast. Included with our stay, it’s worth visiting just for this impressive spread. So many delicious hot and cold choices that you could stay a week and not sample everything – topped off with piping hot Starbucks coffee.

Interrupting road trip

But first, coffee! Photo by Jill Footz

At the end of our meal, I topped up my travel mug with coffee for the drive, but I barely touched it, as we arrived at Calaway Park inside 15 minutes. As my daughters buzzed with the excitement over a stay in a fabulous hotel and the anticipation of the fun to come, I vowed to never NOT interrupt a road trip again!

Interrupting road trip

This is the face of a happy road-tripper! Photo by Jill Footz

 

Why You Want to Break Up a Road Trip

  • Sometimes the journey is the destination
  • Arrive refreshed rather than rushed
  • Surprise! That place you always bypass might be a treasure trove of fun!
  • Cut down on the vacation preparation stress
  • Extend your planned vacation

The writer was a guest of the Residence Inn by Marriott Calgary Downtown/Beltline District. Her opinions are her own and Marriott did not review or edit this story. 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *