您的家庭是否准备好英国运河假期?

英国运河隐藏在拥挤的现代铁路和高速公路系统后面,在“内陆水道”上提供宁静而又刺激的旅游体验 - 这是国际游客很少看到的英格兰的另类景观。

你的家人准备好英国运河船假期吗?

通过运河船穿越英国乡村是慢慢地推杆,随时停下来做早餐或冲泡一杯好茶。 它倾斜在你适度的船的一侧,与鸭子交往,或伸手触摸悬垂的柳树的叶子。 随着太阳落山,运河船的生活意味着停泊在当地的乡村酒吧,在当地美食上用餐,然后在黑暗中爬回你的船,快乐地落入你的铺位。

你的家人准备好英国运河船假期吗? narrowboat窗口

对于孩子们来说,周末度过一个狭窄的小船是一次令人兴奋的实践冒险:驾驶船只,记住在甲板上穿上你的救生衣,在可以想象的最小厨房桌子上玩乐高,或者只是享受慢慢移动的体验。

你的家人准备好英国运河船假期吗?

去年夏天,我们的家人花了一个周末的时间 麦克尔斯菲尔德运河 在英格兰北部,在一艘名为“流浪鸭”的69英尺狭窄船上,这是一个独特的“酒店船”或“浮动青年旅馆”,适合年轻人和家庭。 我们租用了整艘船,而不是与陌生人分享。

你的家人准备好英国运河船假期吗? 转向船

虽然周末的费用似乎很高(大约550,或1000加元),但这是一笔独特的旅行体验,我们知道这些孩子会安全。 许多年龄较大的孩子的家庭可能更喜欢自己租船,但作为9岁的新手和3岁的极其笨拙的新手,它让我们更加放心,让流浪鸭主人Lee Fogg和Roberta Saye周围船长并向我们展示绳索(字面意思!),同时我们让孩子们不要战斗,然后落到船外。

儿童在狭窄的船上的安全

我们的出发点 - 酒吧

在典型的英国时尚中,我们的旅程始于雨中,在酒吧里 女王的头 在彻斯顿,柴郡,我们有一些饮料和几袋薯片,直到我们预定的出发时间。

女王的头,康格尔顿

在酒吧后面,一系列陡峭的楼梯导致我们周末的住宿 - 宏伟 rakiraki - 流浪的鸭子。 我们熟悉了我们的东道主,把我们的行李放在铺位区,然后我们离开了!

内政部的一艘小船,孩子们玩乐高

运河船租赁有点像租用小屋。 寝具和燃料由公司提供,但你带上所有杂货。 在酒店船的情况下,一切都照顾到,让客人享受一个轻松,但令人兴奋的周末“切”。

旅行剪辑

屡获殊荣的旅行作家Helen Earley和所有优秀的女孩从Cheshire某处的桥下挥手致意

“切割”指的是运河本身,之所以如此命名,是因为英国2,000英里运河的每一英寸都是手工挖掘或“切割”。 虽然许多运河与主要河流和河口如泰晤士河相连,但运河本身并不是自然形成的。

工业革命的产品,这些狭窄的水道是为运输货物而生产的,如陶器,铁和煤。 在那些日子里,运河被沿着一条名为“牵引路”的小路上的马拉着,运河船的生活不过是假期。

一旦蒸汽火车和汽车的时代到来,运河基本上被遗忘,而铁路线和高速公路则建成,有时正好在运河旁边。 随着运河的船闸,桥梁和拖曳路径生锈,腐烂和破碎,水域本身(记住,没有电流!)充满了恶臭的污泥,甚至是家庭和工业废物。



在世界大战期间,使用船只运输货物再次引起了运河系统的短暂复兴。 然后,一对冒险的夫妇引发了运河船假期的当前趋势,沿着切口旅行 - 为了乐趣。

Narrowboat 由LTC Rolt

如果您对运河文化和历史感兴趣,我推荐1944书, Narrowboat,由Tom Rolt撰写。

这本书描述了Rolt和他的妻子Angela在1939上的朝圣 - 当时在运河上仍然有少数工作的“船夫”,但几乎没有人(除Rolts之外)乘船前往水域度假。

LTC Rol-Narrowboat  - 完美的旅行伴侣

通过本书的作者,Rolt引起了对运河系统衰落的关注。 后来,通过共同创建,他帮助运河恢复了生机 内河航运协会,一个致力于恢复和发展英国运河的慈善机构。

英格兰的另一种看法 - 你的家人是否准备好英国运河船的假期?

最近的运河划船热潮发生在我们自己的时代。 在1990中,彩票拨款为更多运河的修复注入了资金。 在2000中, 运河和水道 信任成立。

快速浏览一下他们的网站,可以发现一个美好的水边世界,你可能从来不知道这个世界,如果你正在计划和家人一起度假的话,这也是一个很好的起点。

公众停泊你的家庭是否准备好英国运河船假期?

在英国电视节目中寻找更多灵感 大运河之旅 (频道4) 英国漂浮 (BBC)最近引发了英格兰运河划船的普遍兴趣。 (如果您有VPN连接,这些可能会在加拿大观看。)

锁:重要,复杂和有点可怕

在我们运河船生活的第二天,我们醒来时发现了博斯利船闸的挑战 - 一艘12船闸在一英里内航行,它将通过112船脚提升我们的海拔。 在与运河(隧道,渡槽,高架桥,桥梁)有关的所有宏伟工程中,最重要的是锁。

博斯利锁

下面是我最好的解释:锁是如何工作的:英格兰不平坦,与天然河流不同,人造运河不能“顺其自然”。事实上,它们几乎没有电流。 所以想想吧。 你怎么能挖掘一个运河系统(基本上是一系列大型的壕沟),水可以上坡或下坡?

答:你建立一个空的和充满的系列大房间,当水被强制进出时,将船带到更高或更低的高度。 你可以想象一串锁作为一套“水楼梯”。

运河船假期锁

锁是运河度假的一大特色,也是冒险的地方。根据您所享用的运河系统,运河船假期可能意味着每天有一到十几个锁定或更多锁定。

如何操作锁? 简单地说,你的船在一个高度上进入锁。 最好有两个人操作,让孩子们在船内或安全地在拖车道上行驶。 (尽管运河很浅 - 关于深度的4船脚,每年在运河上发生的事故都是致命的,一些是由于船只在船闸中倾覆)。

你的家人准备好英国运河船假期吗? Rakiriki

一旦你的船在锁内,你关上你身后的大门,然后沿着拖曳路径运行到更高或更低的高程。 使用称为锚机的专用扳手,可以打开一组闸门(“闸门”)。

一旦这些开放,水就会很快流入或流出这个巨大的高墙浴缸,而你的小窄船会上下跳动到下一层。 在你继续之前,你关上大门,准备下一艘船。

害怕博斯利锁

它可怕吗? 是! 我的9岁女儿第一次经历了我们船上的运河水匆匆,她很害怕(我也是)。 但过了一段时间,运河船的操作变得简单,自然 - 甚至是乐趣。

在博斯利,在飞行到达顶部时有着巨大的成就感。

运河度假的家庭活动 - 从酒吧开始

在漫游鸭子的第二天晚上,我们的主人停泊在一座宏伟的前棉纺厂之外,并给了我们指示 Vale Inn酒店,一个屡获殊荣的酒吧在小镇Bollington。 请记住,英格兰的酒吧非常适合儿童,其中许多儿童餐价格优惠,甚至为孩子们提供娱乐场所。

牛排和啤酒馅饼和马什在Vale Inn,Bollington

对于晚餐,我们对待自己的牛排和麦芽馅饼,香肠和土豆泥和粘性太妃糖布丁。 淡水河谷没有游乐区,但我们在2的地方找到了一个当地的游乐场。 (为什么外国游乐场总是比在家玩的有趣两倍?)

Bollington游乐场

在我们冒险的最后一天,有一次更大的游览。 我们的主人给了我们一张简单的地图和一些书面的指示,并在我们的路上发送去参观 莱姆公园,令人印象深刻的国家信托财产

莱姆公园

莱姆公园/图片提供 访问英国

通过树林走下bo and,穿过简单的木门“后门”接近莱姆公园,这是一种刺激。 通常情况下,我们忽略了莱姆霍尔这个“沉浸在历史中”的庄严家园,而赞成另一个以庄园为理由的令人敬畏的操场。 (OK,也许在英格兰的游乐场 ,那恭喜你, 更好!)

莱姆公园的游乐场

回到土地上

MArple站

我们在一个叫Marple的地方结束了我们的旅程(阿加莎克里斯蒂角色,马普尔小姐以这个城镇命名),我们在那里下船,穿上我们的背包,坐火车去曼彻斯特。

巧合的是,在曼彻斯特,我们住在一个(非浮动的) 青年旅馆 忽略了,你猜对了 - 运河!

曼彻斯特的土豆码头,YHA的景色

我们花了3的时间慢慢地将马克斯菲尔德运河从康格尔顿运到马普尔 - 当你意识到这个旅程只需要乘坐45分钟的道路时就显着了。

运河船假期不仅仅是一种新奇的体验。 花一个周末“减产”真的会迫使你减速和呼吸。 用Tom Rolt的话来说:

“从一条繁忙的大道走到一条运河宁静的小径,即使是在一个小镇的中心地带,也要退一百年甚至更久,并以不同的,更平衡的视角看待事物。”

儿童反映信贷海伦Earley

考虑英国运河船假期?

尽管漫游鸭已经从酒店的船只生活中退休,但还有其他数百艘船只正在英格兰运河系统租用。 以下是一些可帮助您入门的链接:

运河和河流信托: www.canalrivertrust.org.uk

内陆水道协会: www.waterways.org.uk

水路假期: www.waterwaysholidays.com/england_canals.htm

运河假期: www.canalholidays.com

盎格鲁 - 威尔士假期: www.anglowelsh.co.uk

你的家人准备好英国运河船假期吗?

所有照片由 海伦·Earley除非另有说明。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

Is Your Family Ready for a British Canal Boat Holiday?

Hidden behind the congested modern rail and motorway system, British canals offer a tranquil, yet thrilling tourist experience on the “inland waterways” – an alternate view of England that international tourists rarely see. 

Is your family ready for a British canal boat holiday?

To travel through the British countryside by canal boat is to putter slowly, stopping whenever you please to make breakfast or brew a nice cup of tea. It is leaning over the side of your modest boat to socialise with ducks, or reaching up to touch the leaf of an overhanging willow tree. As the sun goes down, canal boat life means mooring up at a local village pub and dining on local fare before clambering your way back to your boat in the darkness, happily falling into your bunk.

Is your family ready for a British canal boat holiday? Window of narrowboat

For children, spending the weekend on a narrowboat is an exciting hands-on adventure: steering the boat, remembering to wear your life jacket on deck, playing LEGO on the tiniest kitchen table imaginable, or just enjoying the experience of moving slowly.

Is your family ready for a British canal boat holiday?

Last summer, our family spent a weekend on the Macclesfield Canal in Northern England, on a 69-foot narrowboat called the Wandering Duck, a  unique “hotel boat” or “floating youth hostel” that caters to young people and families. Rather than share with strangers, we chartered the entire boat.

Is your family ready for a British canal boat holiday? Steering the boat

Although the cost of the weekend seemed pricey (about £550, or 1000 Canadian dollars), it was money well-spent for a unique travel experience, where we knew the kids would be safe. Many families with older children might prefer to hire a boat on their own, but as newbie boaters with a 9-year old and an extremely rambunctious 3-year old, it gave us extra peace of mind to have Wandering Duck owners Lee Fogg and Roberta Saye around to skipper the boat and show us the ropes (literally!) while we kept the kids from fighting, and falling overboard.

children's safety on a narrowboat

Our starting point – the pub

In typical English fashion, our journey began in the rain, in a pub –  the Queen’s Head in Congleton, Cheshire, where we had some drinks and a few bags of crisps until our scheduled time of departure.

Queen's Head, Congleton

Behind the pub, a set of steep stairs led to our accommodation for the weekend – the magnificent Rakiraki, – the Wandering Duck. We acquainted ourselves with our hosts, stowed our baggage in the bunk area, and we were off!

Interior of a Narrowboat, kids playing LEGO

A canal boat hire is a bit like renting a cottage. Bedding and fuel are provided by the company, but you bring all your groceries. In the case of a hotel boat, everything is catered, allowing guests to enjoy a relaxed, yet thrilling weekend “on the cut”.

Travelling the cut

Helen Earley, award-winning travel writer and all round great girl, waving from under a bridge somewhere in Cheshire

“The cut” refers to the canal itself,  so named because every single inch of the 2,000 miles of canal in Britain are hand-dug, or “cut”. Although many canals link to major rivers and estuaries such as the Thames, the canals themselves are not naturally formed.

Products of the industrial revolution, these narrow waterways were created to transport goods, such as pottery, iron and coal. In those days, canals were pulled by horses who trotted along a path called the “towpath”, and canal boat life was anything but a holiday.

Canal

Photo courtesy of The Canal and River Trust

 Once the age of steam trains and motorcars arrived, canals were largely forgotten, with railway lines and motorways built instead, sometimes right alongside the canal. As the locks, bridges and towpaths of the canals rusted, rotted and crumbled away, the waters themselves (remember, no current!) became filled with foul-smelling sludge and even household and industrial waste.



It was a resurgence of the use of boats to transport goods during the world wars war that gave a brief revival to the canal system. Then, one adventurous couple sparked the current trend in canal boat holidays, by travelling along the cut – for pleasure.

Narrowboat by L.T.C Rolt

If you are interested in canal culture and history, I recommend the 1944 book, Narrowboat, by Tom Rolt.

The book describes a pilgrimage which Rolt and his wife Angela took in 1939 – a time when there were still a handful of working “boatmen” on the canals, but almost no one (apart from the Rolts) taking to the waters for their holidays.

Narrowboat by LTC Rolt- the perfect travel companion

Through the authorship of the book, Rolt brought attention to the decline of the canal system. Later, he was instrumental in bringing the canals back to life, by co-founding the Inland Waterways Association, a charity dedicated to restoring and developing British canals.

An alternative view of England - Is your family ready for a British canal boat holiday

The most recent canal boating craze has happened in our own time. In the 1990’s a lottery grant injected money into the restoration of more canals. In 2000, The Canals and Waterways trust was established.

A quick glance at their website reveals a wonderful waterside world that you probably never knew existed, and is another excellent starting point if you are planning a canal boat holiday with your family.

Public Moorings Is your family ready for a British canal boat holiday?

Find more inspiration in British TV shows like Great Canal Journeys (Channel 4) Britain Afloat (BBC), which have recently sparked a general interest in canal boating in England. (These may be available to watch in Canada if you have a VPN connection.)

Locks: essential, complicated and a little scary

On our second day of canal boat life, we woke up to the challenge of Bosley locks – a flight of 12 locks which, over the course of a mile, would raise our elevation by 112 feet. Of all the magnificent engineering associated with canals (tunnels, aqueducts, viaducts, bridges), the most essential is the lock.

Bosley Locks

Here’s my best explanation of how a lock works: England is not flat, and unlike a natural river, man-made canals cannot “go with the flow.” In fact, they have almost no current at all. So think about it. How can you dig a canal system (basically a series of large trenches) where water can travel up or downhill?

Answer: you build a series large chambers that empty and fill, bringing boats to a higher or lower elevation as water is forced in or out. You can imagine a flight of locks as a set of “water stairs.”

Canal boat holiday lock

Locks are a major feature of any canal holiday, and it’s where the adventure comes in. Depending on which canal system you are enjoying, a canal boat holiday can mean anywhere from one to a dozen or more locks to navigate each day.

How to operate a lock? Simply explained, your boat travels into the lock at one elevation. It’s best to have two people operating, keeping the kids either inside the boat or safely on the towpath. (Even though canals are shallow – about 4 feet in depth, there fatal are accidents every year on the canals, some due to boats capsizing in the locks.)

Is your family ready for a British canal boat holiday? Rakiriki

Once your boat is inside the lock, you close the gates behind you, then run along the towpath to the higher or lower elevation. Using a special wrench called a windlass, you wind open a set of floodgates (“sluice gates”).

Once these are open, water flows quite quickly in or out of this enormous high-walled bathtub, and your little narrowboat bobs up or down to its next level. Before you move on, you close the gates, ready for the next boater.

Scared at Bosley Lock

Is it scary? Yes! The first time my 9-year old daughter experienced the rush of canal water around our boat, she was terrified (and so was I). But after a while, the operation of the locks becomes easy, natural – and even a pleasure, for canal boaters.

At Bosley, there was an enormous sense of achievement in making it to the to top of a flight.

Family activities on a canal holiday – starting with the pub

On our second night on the Wandering Duck, our hosts moored up just beyond an imposing former cotton mill and gave us directions to a The Vale Inn, an award-winning pub in the small town of Bollington. Keep in mind that pubs in England are extremely child-friendly, many with excellently priced kids’ meals and even play areas for the kids.

Steak and Ale Pie and Mash at the Vale Inn, Bollington

For dinner, we treated ourselves on steak and ale pie, sausage and mash and sticky toffee puddings. There was no play area at the Vale, but we found a local playground about 2 steps away. (Why is it that a foreign playground is always twice as interesting as the ones back home?)

Bollington Playground

On the final day of our adventure, there was an even bigger excursion. Our hosts gave us a simple map and some written directions and sent on our way, to visit Lyme Park, an impressive National Trust property.

Lyme Park

Lyme Park/image courtesy of Visit England

It was a thrill to step off the booat and traipse through the woods to approach the Lyme Park through the “back door”, a simple wooden gate. Typically, we ignored the ‘steeped in history’ stately home that is Lyme Hall, in favour of another awesome playground set on the grounds of the estate. (OK- maybe playgrounds in England are better!)

Playground at Lyme Park

Getting back on land

MArple station

We ended our journey in a place called Marple (the Agatha Christie character, Miss Marple was named after this town), where we simply got off the boat, donned our backpacks and took a train to Manchester.

In Manchester, coincidentally, we stayed in a (non-floating) youth hostel which overlooked, you guessed it – a canal!

Potato Wharf, Manchester, view from YHA

It took us 3 days to slowly puttering along the Macclesfield Canal from Congleton to Marple – remarkable when you realize that the journey takes a mere 45 minutes by road.

A canal boat holiday is more than just a novel experience. Spending a weekend “on the cut” really does force you to slow down and breathe.  In the words of Tom Rolt:

“To step down from some busy thoroughfare on to the quiet tow-path of a canal, even in the heart of a town, is to step backward a hundred years or more and to see things in a different and perhaps more balanced perspective.”

Child reflecting credit Helen Earley

Thinking of taking a British canal boat holiday?

Although the Wandering Duck has retired from hotel boat life, there are hundreds of other boats for hire along England’s canal system. Here are some links to get you started:

Canal and River Trust: www.canalrivertrust.org.uk

Inland Waterways Association: www.waterways.org.uk

Waterways Holidays: www.waterwaysholidays.com/england_canals.htm

Canal Holidays: www.canalholidays.com

Anglo-Welsh Holidays: www.anglowelsh.co.uk

Is your family ready for a British canal boat holiday?

All photos by Helen Earley, unless noted otherwise.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *