以色列与以色列Cookalong一起在厨房里{Recipes}

这些天人们可能会在本地旅行更多,但是您仍然可以在舒适的家中发现其他文化的魔力。

借助Zoom上的实时厨师以色列烹饪库拉龙,您可以品尝到以色列,地中海和中东的旺盛风味。 开胃菜,沙拉,主菜和甜点都在Cookalong食谱列表中轮流旋转。 如果您具有基本的烹饪技能,则无需成为专业厨师即可加入。

以色列美食借鉴了许多烹饪传统,包括阿拉伯,欧洲和地中海美食,而以色列Cookalong则专注于地中海美食。 以色列的大部分气候与希腊以及意大利,法国,西班牙,马耳他和赛普拉斯的部分地区的气候相同。 以色列自由食品和旅游作家米里亚姆·克雷什(Miriam Kresh)说:“这些地中海国家的风土来自气候和土壤,”他于去年春天建立了以色列库拉隆。 “食谱可以很复杂,但并不困难。” 例如,当Cookalong的参与者煮熟杏tagine时,“制作起来并不难。 这是一道精致的菜,因为您会得到层层的风味-我们在一个半小时内完成了它。”

香菇烤鸡腿食谱在这里!

克雷什(Kresh)为 “耶路撒冷邮报”绿色先知,这是一本涵盖中东可持续新闻的在线出版物。 她以前的美食博客, 以色列厨房,已被《大自然新闻》网络收购,现已成为其出版物的一部分 从小道消息。 她 发起了以色列库加隆“作为与人联系的一种手段,因为每个人都感到如此孤立和孤独,这是第一次封锁。”

以色列Cookalong鸡蛋和鸡蛋信贷Miriam Kresh

幽默和鸡蛋Credit Miriam Kresh

整个夏天,Cookalong的参与者都制作了各种各样的沙拉-在以色列非常受欢迎-例如Maimonedes沙拉,其中有白菜和黄瓜。 “我爱它,所以我一直都在制作,它是如此简单,如此美味又便宜。” Kresh的姐姐Dina O'Meara说,她从卡尔加里的厨房参加了以色列Cookalong美食。 “我的伴侣弗雷德·布鲁姆(Fred Bloom)现在真的很喜欢周日,因为他得到了这种以前从未有过的非常美味的食物。 他真的很期待等待他的美食,因为他知道它们会变得非常好吃,而且与众不同。 而且他不必做饭。 其他人则烹饪他最喜欢的食物-他是一名贸易厨师,目前在食品行业工作。

“没有压力。 不是玛莎·斯图尔特。 它在您的厨房中,是家庭烹饪,但它是来自地中海的家庭烹饪。 它可以带您离开厨房和家庭烹饪,后者可能同样美味,但这是充满异国情调的,在以色列的小厨房里看到米里亚姆的魔力真是不可思议。 对我来说,这就是兴奋的一部分-别人如何在厨房而不是在这家高档餐厅或电视演播室做饭。 与其他人一起烹饪很有趣–感觉非常简单。”

以色列库拉隆(Israel Cookalong)使用的香料包括漆树漆(漆树漆)(一种流行的中东香料),扎阿塔尔(漆树漆树,牛至,百里香,芝麻籽和马郁兰的混合物)以及您自己的食品储藏室中可能已经有的物品,例如大蒜–大蒜-洋葱和牛至,” O'Meara指出。 “对我来说,库塔龙的魅力不仅在于美食,而且还知道来自世界各地的人们正在参与其中。 我只是喜欢她一直如何引入背景故事。 她分享她的导师。 她将向我们展示她真正喜欢的食谱,以供我们参考。

对于家庭来说,这是了解其他美食的好方法。 您可以与孩子一起做有趣的事情-这是一个非常友好的环境。 孩子们可以进出。 这是一项很棒的家庭活动–几乎就像烹饪之旅一样,因为我们从中东烹饪美食,而Miriam则在谈论它的来源以及气味,气味和质地。 而且没有花哨的设备或仅需使用一次的真正昂贵的东西。”

克雷什(Kresh)始终将故事纳入以色列库拉隆(Israel Cookalong)–从文化教育到历史的一切事物。 例如,在讨论食谱中日期的使用时,她讲述了一个有2,000年历史的枣坑的故事,该坑最近从死海上空的Masada堡垒的考古现场被发现后才萌芽,犹太人反抗罗马人的地方。 (马萨达现在是以色列国家公园和联合国教科文组织世界遗产)。

克雷什(Kresh)始终将食物置于文化氛围中。 她说:“以色列是一个很小的国家,我们一直无休止地相互接触,而不仅仅是在病毒方面。” “以色列人喜欢和陌生人聊天。 你去 (市场)或坐在公共汽车上,与以前从未见过的人进行完整的交谈后,离开公共汽车是完全正常的。 特别是在露天市场。 您可能会问某人,“您如何烹饪这些茄子?” 比五分钟前更加了解彼此和食物。”

Kresh指出,在以色列Cookalong的帮助下,“我们是一整群人,一起实时烹饪同一件事。” “这与独自站在厨房里观看视频真的不同。 当我离开会议时,与去参加一个好的聚会时一样,我会感到兴奋,满足和乐趣。 我们不仅建立了联系,这是我启动Cookalong时的主要目标,但在结束时,您会有一些可口的服务。 您可以将煮好的东西带到餐桌旁,然后送给家人。”

以色列Cookalong向任何人开放(您不必是犹太人即可参加)。 它于山区时间上午9点上线。 要参与,请通过以下方式与Kresh联系: miriamkresh1@gmail.com。 费用为每次课程10美元,可通过Paypal支付给Kresh。

食谱

 

 

蘑菇烤鸡腿

以色列Cookalong-鸡腿烤蘑菇。 信贷Miriam Kresh

鸡腿烤蘑菇。 信贷Miriam Kresh

这是一种喜庆却又方便又简单的鸡肉食谱。 准备整个过程需要15分钟,如果您用的是切菜刀,则只需10分钟。 鼓槌从烤箱中出来,多汁,并带有香草和香料的味道。 您还可以根据需要将食谱加倍或增加三倍。

供应6
准备时间:15分钟
库克:40分钟

成份:

6鸡腿
1汤匙辣椒粉
1茶匙孜然
1茶匙盐
1 / 2茶匙黑胡椒
2个大蒜瓣,切碎
1个中等大小的洋葱,切碎
1/2中柠檬汁
少数切碎的香菜,香菜或罗勒叶
1 1-2杯新鲜的纽扣或波多贝罗蘑菇,切成薄片,切成薄片后测量
1 / 4杯橄榄油

说明:

将烤箱预热至175C – 350F。

用辣椒粉,小茴香,盐,胡椒,大蒜,柠檬汁,洋葱和绿色药草擦鼓槌。

在室温下腌制15分钟,加盖。 提前提示: 要提前准备菜肴,请将腌好的鸡精腌紧,过夜。 只需去掉蘑菇和橄榄油,就可以在烤的时候加入。

将经验丰富的鼓槌放在烤盘或烤盘中,然后将切成薄片的蘑菇塞在它们下面和周围。

将橄榄油倒在所有东西上。 将纸盘放入预热的烤箱中。

20分钟后将鼓槌打浆。

继续烘烤20分钟或更长时间,直到用细刀戳进一个鼓槌中产生清澈的汁液为止。 放下之前,让鼓槌从烤箱中放出10分钟,用烤羊皮纸或箔纸松散地覆盖。

 

搅拌机中的新鲜鹰嘴豆泥

以色列Cookalong Humus信贷Miriam Kresh

新鲜鹰嘴豆泥信用Miriam Kresh

坐在以色列的任何一家餐馆里,女服务员都会在您点餐之前在桌子上放一盘鹰嘴豆泥和一些热的皮塔饼面包。 它的泥土风味,用大蒜和柠檬制成辛辣味,使其成为开胃菜。 作为一种主菜,上面放着豆类和一个煮熟的鸡蛋,并在旁边放沙拉,这是工人便宜又令人满意的午餐。 Humus非常容易在家里制作。 搅拌器负责大部分工作,尤其是当您使用鹰嘴豆罐头时。 (下面有使用干燥或冷冻鹰嘴豆的说明)。 一旦尝过这种自制鹰嘴豆泥,您将永远不会再回到商业上。

产量:2杯子

成份:

1 550克鹰嘴豆罐头,产生290克预煮鹰嘴豆。 或– 1 15盎司。 能够。
1/4杯(60毫升)新鲜柠檬汁(1个大柠檬)
1/4杯(60毫升)生芝麻酱(不是即食的芝麻酱)
1-2瓣切碎的大蒜,调味。
2汤匙(30毫升)特级初榨橄榄油,再加更多即可食用
1 / 2茶匙磨碎的小茴香
盐的味道
鹰嘴豆罐头中的2至3汤匙水

装饰用–撒上辣椒粉或小茴香。 好运的橄榄油。 切碎的新鲜欧芹或香菜。

说明:

在食品加工机或搅拌机中,将柠檬汁和芝麻酱混合。 直到完美结合-1-1 / 2分钟。

加入橄榄油,大蒜,小茴香和盐。 奇异的再次约半分钟。

刮擦混合物的侧面和底部,然后重新混合。 再过半分钟。

排干鹰嘴豆,最多保留1/4杯罐装水。

将沥干的鹰嘴豆与芝麻酱混合物加工或混合。 加入汤匙预留的鹰嘴豆罐头水,直到达到所需的稠度为止。 有些人更喜欢腐殖质; 有些人坚持绝对的平稳性。

品尝盐,必要时进行调整。

用鹰嘴豆干做鹰嘴豆泥:

冲洗1杯干鹰嘴豆,放在一个大碗中,并用清水盖上。 在室温下放置过夜。 鹰嘴豆会膨胀; 如果需要,添加更多的水。

排干鹰嘴豆,并用大量无盐的水煮熟,直到它们煮熟且柔软而不粘糊:45分钟至一个小时。 然后使用1杯鹰嘴豆继续食谱。

你会多余的。 将它们放入碗中,加蒜末,盐,胡椒粉,辣椒,柠檬汁,扎阿塔尔或小茴香调味,然后倒入橄榄油-不是洗澡,而是运球。 在室温下按时食用,作为另一种沙拉的一部分,或作为鹰嘴豆泥的装饰。

以色列食用鹰嘴豆泥的经典方法是用勺子将其涂在盘子上,形成一个边缘较粗,中心较薄的圆圈。 将辣椒粉和/或孜然粉撒在边缘上,并滴入橄榄油丝。 如果您还有多余的鹰嘴豆,可以在鹰嘴豆泥上加一些汤匙。 佐以煮熟的鸡蛋和大沙拉,佐以泡菜和/或辣酱。 新鲜面包(最好是皮塔饼)对于清除鹰嘴豆泥是必不可少的。

如果使用冷冻鹰嘴豆,请按照包装说明进行烹饪,然后按照食谱进行操作。

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

由于COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

fbpx

Israel in the Kitchen with Israel Cookalong {Recipes}

People may be travelling more locally these days, but you can still discover the magic of other cultures from the comfort of home.

With Israel Cookalong, a real-time cook-along over Zoom, you can taste the exuberant flavours of Israel, the Mediterranean and the Middle East. Appetizers, salads, main courses and desserts all rotate through the Cookalong recipe list. You don’t need to be an expert cook to join if you have basic cooking skills.

While Israeli cuisine draws from many culinary traditions – including Arabic, European and Mediterranean – Israel Cookalong focuses on Mediterranean cooking. Much of Israel’s climate is the same as the climate in Greece and parts of Italy, France, Spain, Malta and Cypress. “These Mediterranean countries have a terroir coming from the climate and the soil,” says Israel-based freelance food and travel writer, Miriam Kresh, who established Israel Cookalong this past spring. “The recipes can be sophisticated, but not difficult.” For example, when Cookalong participants cooked up apricot tagine, “it wasn’t hard to make. It’s a sophisticated dish because of the layers of flavour you get – and we did it inside of an hour-and-a-half.”

Recipes for Hummous and Roasted Chicken Drumsticks With Mushrooms Here!

Kresh writes for the Jerusalem Post and Green Prophet, an online publication covering sustainable news from the Middle East. Her former food blog, Israeli Kitchen, was acquired by Mother Nature News network and is now part of its publication From The Grapevine. She started the Israel Cookalong “as a means to connect with people because of the first lockdown when everybody was feeling so isolated and lonely.”

Israel Cookalong Choumous and eggs Credit Miriam Kresh

Houmous and eggs Credit Miriam Kresh

Over the summer, Cookalong participants made a great variety of salads – highly popular in Israel – such as Maimonedes salad, which has a base of cabbage and cucumber. “I love it, so I make it all the time now, and it’s so easy, so flavorful and cheap,” says Kresh’s sister, Dina O’Meara, who participates in the Israel Cookalong from her kitchen in Calgary. “My partner, Fred Bloom, really likes Sundays now, because he gets this really tasty food that he has probably never had before. He really looks forward to the culinary surprises that await him, because he knows they are going to be really tasty, and really different. And he hasn’t had to cook. Others cook his favourite food – he is a cook by trade, and now works in the food industry.

“There is no pressure. It’s not Martha Stewart. It’s in your kitchen, it’s home cooking – but it’s home cooking from the Mediterranean. It takes you away from your kitchen and your home cooking, which is probably just as delicious, but this is exotic, and there is that magic of seeing Miriam in her tiny kitchen in Israel. For me, that’s part of the thrill – how do other people cook in their kitchen, and not in this fancy restaurant or television studio. It’s fun to cook with other people – it feels so much easier.”

Israel Cookalong uses spices like sumac (a popular Middle Eastern spice), za’atar (a blend of sumac, oregano, thyme, sesame seeds and marjoram) as well as items you may already have in your own pantry, “like garlic – lots of garlic – and onions and oregano,” O’Meara notes. “And for me, the charm of the Cookalong is not just the food, but also knowing there are people from all over the world that are participating. And I just love how she’s always bringing in the backstory. She shares her mentors. She’ll show us cookbooks that she really enjoys, for us to look at as well.

“For families, this is a great way to get to know other cuisine. It’s something you can do with kids that’s fun – it’s a very welcoming environment. Kids can go in and out. It’s a great family activity – it’s almost like a culinary safari, because we’re cooking stuff from the Middle East, and Miriam is talking about where it comes from and the scents, the smells and the textures. And there’s no fancy equipment or things that are really expensive that you’ll only use once.”

Kresh always incorporates stories into the Israel Cookalong – everything from cultural education, to history. For example, while discussing the use of dates in a recipe, she recounted the story of a 2,000-year-old date pit that had recently sprouted, after being recovered from an archaeological site at the fortress of Masada, high above the Dead Sea, where the Jews had rebelled against the Romans. (Masada is now an Israeli national park and a UNESCO World Heritage site).

Kresh always puts food into a cultural context. “Israel is such a small country, we are all exposed to each other all the time – and not just in terms of the virus,” she says. “Israelis love to talk to strangers. You go to the shuk (market) or sit on a bus, and it is perfectly normal to get out of the bus having had a whole conversation with someone you had never seen before. And especially in open-air markets. You might ask someone, ‘How do you cook these eggplants?’ and come away knowing more about each other, and about the food, than you did five minutes before.”

With the Israel Cookalong, “we are a whole bunch of people cooking the same thing together in real-time,” Kresh notes. “That is really different than standing alone in your kitchen watching a video. When I get off the session, I have that same feeling of exhilaration, satisfaction and fun as when you’ve been to a good party. Not only are we connecting, which is the main goal when I started the Cookalong, but you have something delicious to serve at the end of it. You can go to the table with something you cooked, and serve it to your family.”

Israel Cookalong is open to anyone (you don’t need to be Jewish to take part). It goes live Sundays at 9 a.m. Mountain Time. To participate, contact Kresh at miriamkresh1@gmail.com. Cost is USD 10 per session, payable to Kresh through Paypal.

Recipes

 

 

Roasted Chicken Drumsticks With Mushrooms

Israeli Cookalong - Chicken drumsticks roasted with mushrooms. Credit Miriam Kresh

Chicken drumsticks roasted with mushrooms. Credit Miriam Kresh

Here’s a chicken recipe that’s festive, yet convenient and easy. It takes all of 15 minutes to prepare, and only 10 if you’re deft with the chopping knife. The drumsticks emerge from the oven juicy and flavorful with herbs and spices. You can also double or triple the recipe as needed.

Serves 6
Prep: 15 Minutes
Cook: 40 minutes

Ingredients:

6 chicken drumsticks
1 tablespoon paprika
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
2 large garlic cloves, crushed
1 medium onion, chopped fine
Juice of 1/2 medium lemon
A handful of cilantro, parsley, or basil leaves, chopped coarsely
1 1-2 cups fresh button or portobello mushrooms, thickly sliced and measured after slicing
1/4 cup olive oil

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 175C – 350 F.

Rub the drumsticks with paprika, cumin, salt, pepper, garlic, lemon juice, onion and green herbs.

Leave to marinate 15 minutes, covered, at room temperature. Do-ahead hint: To prepare the dish ahead of time, marinate the seasoned chicken, tightly covered, overnight. Just leave out the mushrooms and olive oil, adding them when it’s time to roast.

Place the seasoned drumsticks in a roasting pan or baking dish and tuck the sliced mushrooms under and around them.

Dribble olive oil over everything. Place the tray in the preheated oven.

Baste the drumsticks after 20 minutes.

Continue roasting 20 minutes longer or until a thin knife poked into one of the drumsticks yields clear juice. Let the drumsticks sit, loosely covered with baking parchment or a strip of foil, for 10 minutes out of the oven, before serving.

 

Fresh Hummus In The Blender

Israeli Cookalong Humus Credit Miriam Kresh

Fresh Hummus Credit Miriam Kresh

Sit down at any Israeli eatery and the waitress will put a plate of hummus and a couple of hot pita bread on the table before you’ve even ordered. Its earthy flavours, made piquant with garlic and lemon, make it a great appetizer. As a main dish, topped with beans and a hard-boiled egg, and salad on the side, it’s the working man’s inexpensive and satisfying lunch. Humus is surprisingly easy to make at home. The blender takes care of most of the work, especially if you’re using canned chickpeas. (There are instructions for using dried or frozen chickpeas below). Once you’ve tasted this home-made hummus, you’ll never go back to the commercial stuff again.

Yield: 2 cups

Ingredients:

1 550-gram can of chickpeas, which yields 290 grams pre-cooked chickpeas. Or – 1 15-oz. can.
1/4 cup (60 ml) fresh lemon juice (1 large lemon)
1/4 cup (60 ml) raw tahini paste (not ready-to-eat tahini)
1-2 chopped cloves garlic, to taste.
2 tablespoons (30 ml) extra-virgin olive oil, plus more for serving
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
Salt to taste
2 to 3 tablespoons of water from the chickpea can

For garnish – sprinkles of paprika or cumin. A good dribble of olive oil. Chopped fresh parsley or cilantro (Chinese parsley).

Instructions:

In a food processor or blender, combine the lemon juice and tahini paste. Whizz until well combined – 1-1/2 minute.

Add the olive oil, garlic, cumin and salt. Whizz again about half a minute.

Scrape the sides and bottom of the mix and reincorporate the mass. Whizz again another half minute.

Drain the chickpeas, reserving up to 1/4 cup of the canned water.

Process or blend the drained chickpeas with the tahini mixture. Add tablespoons of reserved chickpea-can water until you have your desired consistency. Some prefer humus a little rough; some insist on absolute smoothness.

Taste for salt and adjust if needed.

To make hummus from dried chickpeas:

Rinse 1 cup of dried chickpeas, place in a large bowl, and cover them with fresh water. Leave at room temperature overnight, covered. The chickpeas will swell; add more water if needed.

Drain the chickpeas and cook them in plenty of unsalted water until they’re cooked through and soft, but not mushy: 45 minutes to an hour. Then proceed with the recipe, using 1 cup of chickpeas.

You’ll have excess. Put them into a bowl, season with crushed garlic, salt, pepper, chilli, lemon juice, za’atar or cumin, and pour olive oil over – not a bath, but more than a dribble. Serve as is at room temp, as part of another salad, or as a garnish for your hummus.

The classic Israeli way to serve hummus is to smear it onto a plate with a spoon, creating a circle with thick edges and a thinner centre. Sprinkle paprika and/or ground cumin around the edges and dribble a thread of olive oil. If you have extra chickpeas, spoon some over the hummus. Serve with hard-boiled eggs and a big salad, with pickles and/or hot sauce on the side. Fresh bread, preferably pitta, is essential for mopping up the hummus.

If using frozen chickpeas, cook them according to package instructions and proceed with the recipe.

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.