fbpx

气泡内:在费尔蒙班夫温泉住宿和安全地游玩

这是参观城堡的最佳时间吗? 精细的协议和额外的漫游空间可能使Fairmont Banff Springs成为当下的最佳去处。

城堡,从附近的弓瀑布(Bow Falls)看–图片Debra Smith

免责声明:希望有个暑假? 根据艾伯塔省重新启动战略的第二阶段,艾伯塔省人可以在省内任何地方旅行。 这是一个绝佳的机会,您可以出去享受我们的省级和国家公园的令人难以置信的自然风光,从而缓解被压抑的大流行性疾病。 不过,在前往省内任何地方旅行之前,请查看位于以下位置的艾伯塔省政府网站 艾伯塔省的冠状病毒信息艾伯塔卫生服务 网站。 并且不要放弃对Covid-19的警惕。 继续保持社交距离,即使在路上也要保持距离,经常洗手,并戴口罩保护自己和他人。

每个人,任何地方,保持安全

今年举办了许多活动,因此有机会在 费尔蒙班夫温泉 非常诱人。 这并不是说我对自己的预订没有保留。 如今,对冠状病毒的恐惧似乎笼罩在每次旅行决定中,无论是去山上还是去杂货店。 但是,那 班夫镇 在我们到达的那天,网站报告了零病例和四例康复病例,因此我感到放心。 这也有助于我与班夫温泉的酒店经理,负责实施雅高国际标准的负责人David Garcelon进行了深入讨论。 所有保持健康 程序。

客房服务可应要求提供泡沫和生日蛋糕–图片Debra Smith

“我们非常保护这里的小泡沫,因此在开放时我们非常谨慎。 我们要确保所有人的安全”,他告诉我。 其中包括超过500名现场员工。 进入酒店的每个人,客人和工作人员都要进行体温测量,每次进入时必须回答一系列有关Covid-19症状以及最近旅行的一系列问题。 在一周内,该酒店的运力约为其容量的一半,预订了350间客房,其余的则要休息48小时,然后工作人员才去打扫卫生。 Garcelon说:“强调高接触点,因此,诸如恒温器,电灯开关,门把手之类的东西以及电话和遥控器等您不会想到的东西。 我们在上面放了一个塑料盖,这样您仍然可以使用它,然后每天更换一次。 当然,床单每天都要更换。 我们真的在努力为客人和我们的员工提供尽可能安全的产品。”

过线–是否

我们对安全规程的介绍始于唯一的入口门,该入口将客人引导到宽敞的岩石衬砌大厅中。 服务员用我们手腕上的非接触式温度读取器进行了快速检查,并询问了任何症状以及我们来自何处。 这是重要的一点,因为许多人关注班夫的国际游客。 加塞隆特别想说说来自美国的游客。 “我们正在做的最重要的事情之一就是筛查。 而且,由于其车牌,我们已经标记了很少的数字,并且其中有些具有完全合理的理由。 他们已经在该国呆了一个月左右,那很好。 但是,如果他们来该国超过14天,我们将不让他们留在这里。 我们只是不愿意让任何人在这里隔离,即使他们愿意。”

感到放心,并准备探索城堡之后,我们进入接待处,在那里我们注册了Kipsu,这是该酒店的新在线短信服务,用于客房服务,餐厅预订,毛巾和一般非接触式愿望实现。 酒店所有公共区域均需要口罩,并且每个房间都提供带口罩,手套和洗手液的保健套件。

游泳时间

短暂的等待后,出现一条短信告诉我们我们的房间已经准备好了。 我们冲上楼去,发现一个舒适的套房,藏在屋檐下,可欣赏到弓箭谷和浪花谷的壮丽景色。 最重要的是,在我见过的最美味的巧克力蛋糕旁边放着一瓶气泡酒。 不过那要等到以后,因为我们要去参观Willow Stream水疗中心,这是由23年前开业以来一直在水疗中心工作的治疗师Paul Dixon提供的。

谈论一个可以欣赏到弓谷美景的房间–图片Debra Smith

迪克森告诉我们:“这是北美第一个欧式水疗中心,我们有来自各地的人们来研究它。” 最近的一项耗资3.5万美元的翻新工程创建了三个新的治疗室,包括豪华夫妻套房,个人按摩浴缸,新的接待区,沙龙和冥想休息室。 当我们参观设施时,迪克森解释说,艾伯塔省重新启动的第三阶段将开放温泉池,蒸汽浴室和水疗瀑布。 现在提供按摩和沙龙服务。 尽管闪烁的壁炉旁的深层组织按摩听起来像天堂般的幸福,但水疗理疗师还是将客人安全放在首位。 治疗师和客人在治疗前和治疗期间应进行温度检查,回答医学问题并戴口罩。 舒缓的泥浴和按摩浴缸将不得不等待一会儿。

Willow Stream Spa豪华情侣护理室配有壁炉和按摩浴缸– photo Fairmont

在室外温水游泳池中快速畅游(由工作人员在一定距离上进行监控)之后,我们前往了新近装修的Rundle Bar。 当我们进来时,吉他手正在第二层演奏,对于我们这些人来说,那是最初的大厅时,这是倒叙的时间。 卡尔加里的弗兰克设计(Frank Design)是装饰艺术主题的诱人空间(包括隐藏房间),并设有宽敞的户外露台,可欣赏芒特勒德山的景色。 我们用由Canmore的Wild Life Distillery酿制的Wild Life Rundle Bar Gin招牌鸡尾酒敬酒。 如果可以在鸡尾酒中捕捉黄昏时分的Rundle Mountain,那就是它。

吃下去

夜幕降临时,我们找到了通往Vermillion Room的路,这是班夫温泉(Banff Springs)这段安静的时间里经营的六家餐厅之一。 目前看起来有些不同。 餐具已被削减。 没有桌布,餐桌装饰或亚麻餐巾,但食物一如既往地精湛。 保持社交距离,并且可以通过QR码或一次性纸质菜单使用菜单。 如果您希望尽量减少互动,还可以选择客房服务。

Vermillion Room的用餐一如既往地美味,而在社交距离遥远的泡沫中–照片Debra Smith

班夫温泉(Banff Springs)有太多事情要做,以至于一夜未眠。 礼宾部有一份长达26页的夏季活动指南(可下载),该指南重点介绍了内部免费的带导游的自行车游览,荒野漫步,熊熊漫步和远足,更不用说两个高尔夫球场,网球和保龄球了(收费)。 酒店可以安排诸如骑马,乘船游览等场外活动。 艾伯塔省的居民有资格以最优惠的价格享受30%的折扣,使住宿变得更加负担得起,尤其是在周三。 对于来自卡尔加里及周边地区的我们来说,这些人习惯于争夺沿班夫大街(Banff Avenue)漫步的空间,现在是游览新的步行商场或在费尔蒙特(Fairmont)周围的任何步道远足的绝佳时机。 在这个安静的时期,野生动物正在蓬勃发展,如果采取适当的预防措施,这可能是一个完美的住所。 这绝对是我永远不会忘记的生日。

作家是一位客人 费尔蒙班夫温泉。 一如既往,她的意见是她自己的。 有关城堡和班夫的更多照片,请在Instagram上关注她 @ Where.To.Lady

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

fbpx

Inside the Bubble: Staying and Playing Safely at the Fairmont Banff Springs

Is this the perfect time to visit the Castle? Meticulous protocols and extra room to roam might make the Fairmont Banff Springs the best place to be right now.

The Castle, seen from nearby Bow Falls – photo Debra Smith

Disclaimer: Hoping for a summer getaway? Albertans can travel anywhere within the province under Stage 2 of Alberta’s relaunch strategy. This is an excellent opportunity to relieve some pent-up pandemic energy by getting out and enjoying the incredible natural beauty of our provincial and national parks. Before travelling anywhere in the province though, check out the Alberta government’s website page on Coronavirus info for Albertans and the Alberta Health Services website. And don’t drop your guard against Covid-19. Continue to observe social distancing, even on the trail, wash your hands frequently, and wear a mask to protect yourself and others.

Everyone, Everywhere, Staying Safe

So many events have been put on hold this year that the chance to celebrate my birthday at the Fairmont Banff Springs was very tempting. That’s not to say that I didn’t have reservations about my reservation. Fear of coronavirus seems to hover over every travel decision these days, whether it’s a trip to the mountains or a trip to the grocery store. However, the Town of Banff website reported zero cases and four recovered cases on the day we were arriving, so I felt reassured. It also helped that I’d had an in-depth discussion with David Garcelon, hotel manager at the Banff Springs and the man in charge of implementing the international standards of the Accor ALL Stay Well program.

Bubbly and birthday cake can be requested from room service – photo Debra Smith

“We’re very protective of our little bubble here, so we were very cautious when we opened up. We want to keep everybody safe”, he told me. This includes over 500 employees who live on-site. Everyone who enters the hotel, guests and staff, have their temperature taken and must answer a series of questions about any Covid-19 symptoms and any recent travel each time they enter. During the week, the hotel operates at about half its capacity, with 350 rooms booked and the others left to rest for 48 hours before staff go in to clean and sanitize. “There’s an emphasis on high touchpoints”, says Garcelon, “so things like the thermostat, light switches, doorknobs and just things that you wouldn’t think of like telephones and the remote control. We put a plastic cover over that, so you can still use it and then that’s changed out every day. Of course, the linens are changed every day. We’re really trying to make it as safe as possible, both for the guests and for our employees.”

Crossing the Line – Or Not

Our introduction to the safety protocols began at the sole entry door that funnels guests into the expansive rock-lined lobby. An attendant made a quick check with a contactless temperature reader at our wrists and inquired about any symptoms and where we were coming from. That’s an important point, as many people are concerned about international visitors in Banff. Garcelon had this to say about visitors from the US in particular. “One of the most important things we’re doing is screening for (them). And we’ve had a small number that have been flagged, usually due to their license plate, and some have perfectly legitimate reasons. They’ve been in the country for a month or so, and that’s fine. But if they’ve not been in the country for more than 14 days, we will not let them stay here. We’re just not interested in letting anyone quarantine here, even if they want to.”

Feeling reassured, and ready to explore the Castle, we made our way to reception where we signed up for Kipsu, the hotel’s new online text messaging service for room service, restaurant reservations, towels, and general contactless wish fulfilment. Masks are required in all public areas of the hotel, and a wellness kit with masks, gloves and hand sanitizer is provided in every room.

Pool Time

After a short wait, a text arrived to tell us our room was ready. We dashed upstairs to find a cosy suite tucked under the eaves with stunning views of both the Bow and Spray Valleys. To top it off, a bottle of bubbly was chilling next to the most delicious looking chocolate cake I have ever seen. That would have to wait until later though, because we were off for a tour of the Willow Stream Spa, courtesy of Paul Dixon, a therapist who has been with the spa since it opened, 23 years ago.

Talk about a room with a view, of the Bow Valley – photo Debra Smith

“This was the first European style spa in North America, and we had people coming from all over to study it”, Dixon told us. A recent $3.5 million renovation has created three new treatment rooms including a Deluxe Couples Suite, complete with personal Jacuzzi, a new reception area, salon, and a meditation lounge. As we toured the facilities, Dixon explained that the spa pool, steam rooms and hydrotherapy waterfalls would open during Stage 3 of Alberta’s relaunch. Massages and salon services are available now. Although a deep tissue massage beside a flickering fireplace sounds like heavenly bliss, spa therapists make guest safety their top priority. Therapists and guests have temperature checks, answer medical questions, and wear masks before and during treatments. Soothing mud baths and the Jacuzzi will have to wait a little while longer.

The Willow Stream Spa Deluxe Couples Treatment Room comes complete with fireplace and Jacuzzi – photo Fairmont

After a quick dip in the outdoor heated pool (socially distanced and monitored by staff), we headed for the newly renovated Rundle Bar. A guitarist was playing on the second level when we came in, and for those of us who remember when this was the original lobby, it was flashback time. The inviting art deco themed space (complete with hidden room) is by Calgary’s Frank Design, and there’s a spacious outdoor patio with a view of Mount Rundle. We toasted the view with a signature cocktail of Wild Life Rundle Bar Gin, made by Canmore’s Wild Life Distillery. If Rundle Mountain at twilight could be captured in a cocktail, this would be it.

The Eat Goes On

As night fell, we found our way to the Vermillion Room, one of six restaurants that are operating during this quieter time at the Banff Springs. It looks a bit different at the moment. The tableware has been pared down. There are no tablecloths, table décor or linen napkins, but the food is as superb as always. Social distancing is maintained, and the menu is available via QR code or disposable paper menus. Room service is also an option if you prefer to keep interactions to a minimum.

The Vermillion Room dining is as delicious as ever, while in your socially distanced bubble – photo Debra Smith

There is so much to do at the Banff Springs that an overnight stay flies by quickly. The concierge has a 26-page summer activity guide (downloadable) that highlights in-house free guided bike tours, wilderness walks, bear walks, and hikes, not to mention two golf courses, tennis, and bowling for a fee. Off-site activities like horseback riding, boat tours, and much more can be arranged through the hotel. Alberta residents are eligible for a 30% discount on best available rates, making a staycation all the more affordable, especially mid-week. For those of us from Calgary and surrounding areas, who are used to jockeying for space to walk along Banff Avenue, this is a fantastic time to visit the new pedestrian mall or to take a hike on any of the trails around the Fairmont. Wildlife is thriving in this quieter time, and with proper precautions, this could be a perfect staycation. This was definitely one birthday I’ll never forget.

The writer was a guest of the Fairmont Banff Springs. As always, her opinions are her own. For more photos of the Castle and Banff, follow her on Instagram @Where.To.Lady

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.