学习冲浪Fistral海滩纽基康沃尔

今天,菲斯特拉尔(Fistral)下雨了,但由于潮水滚滚,空气温暖,冲浪很美,留下了一片广阔的棕色光泽海滩。 水搅动着经常滚动的白浪,刚好适合新冲浪者。 由于是凌晨,所以沙滩上只有另外两所冲浪学校。 后来,水将变得完全拥挤,成为一群想冲浪的冲浪者-还有一些专业人士。

孩子们冲浪Fistral酒店

Fistral海滩与Headland Hotel的距离/照片由Headland Hotel提供

当我们在英格兰西南部度假时,我将我7岁的女儿和她的朋友带到康沃尔郡纽奎的Fistral海滩进行了第一次冲浪课程。 康沃尔郡有数百所冲浪学校,其中有几所可供选择。 我们决定去 冲浪保护区,一所用完了的私人冲浪学校 岬角酒店.
Helen Earley的Headland Hotel酒店

岬角(Headland)位于悬崖上,俯瞰海滩,可以说是纽奎(Newquay)最好的豪华家庭旅馆,也是1990年电影的拍摄地点, 巫婆.  Surf Sanctuary藏在酒店地下室,可俯瞰海滩。 该校由经验丰富的冲浪专业人士Dom Moore拥有,在冲浪,风筝冲浪,站立式划桨和海洋信心训练方面提供定制和小组课程。


我们的老师是19岁的贝蒂(Betsy),她一生中大部分时间都住在纽基(Newquay),从14岁起就开始冲浪。花了20分钟的时间帮助女孩们穿上潜水服(木板,潜水服和皮疹背心都包括在潜水服中)。价格),我看到这群孩子在Besty的指示下将冲浪板抬到海滩。

董事会在Fistral海滩纽基
在陆地上,孩子们学习如何划板,然后站起来。 他们记得这些步骤:1.鸡翅膀(肘部抬起,拇指放在腋下),2.弓起(拱起背部,准备站立起来),3.伸到一个膝盖上……然后4.抬起!

冲浪课Newquay Fistral Beach Kids

冲浪课程为时两小时:在陆地上一小时,在水中一小时。 为了给女孩带来一些独立感,我离开了海岸,在名人厨师里克·斯坦(Rick Stein)的海滨餐厅沉迷于传统的“培根肉”, 的Fistral。 加上一杯热气腾腾的茶,我什至无法开始告诉您在一个细雨的夏日早晨,这种三明治的味道如何。

Fistral瑞克斯坦培根buttie

一旦进入水里,女孩们就以惊人的速度和出奇的频率经常登上董事会。 Betsy会不时引导他们的董事会经历大潮,从而增加成功的机会。 每当女孩们成功地挥手时,成就感就会显现出来……但是即使是擦拭之后,也会露出笑容。

纽基冲浪的孩子

贝齐告诉我,就身体运动而言,冲浪与其他任何运动都不一样。 “过去我们这里有一些非常合适的军人,他们奋斗了”。 进行冲浪时,您会呼吸不规则,甚至会屏住呼吸,因此,与跑步等运动完全不同。 新的冲浪者很快就精疲力尽。

他们的确如此。 两个小时后,我的女儿和她的朋友完全变平了。 并且完全兴奋。 我骄傲自大。 我七岁可以冲浪!

学习在Fistral海滩冲浪

我们回到海德兰德酒店(Headland Hotel)的地下室,那里的冲浪保护区(Surf Sanctuary)有管道热水淋浴和干净的更衣室。 我注意到Dom的办公室在角落里有一把吉他。 他说:“有时我们会在枯燥的时刻把它带出来。” 他停顿了一下。 “但是实际上没有沉闷的时刻”。

办公室墙壁上装饰着各种证书:犯罪记录检查,清晰显示以及各种救生和冲浪教练资格。 Dom经过专门的儿科急救训练,可以找到 博客关于海滩和冲浪安全 –选择冲浪保护区的另一个很好的理由。

周围还挂着几个滑板。 Dom解释说,这些是针对人们开始学习如何转弯的(女孩们还没有准备好的技能)。 Dom说:“学会在水中冲浪就像学会在颤抖的地板上跳舞”,“您首先需要在干燥的土地上做所有事情”。

Betsy和Dom来自Surf Sanctuary

无论您的年龄或经验如何,冲浪都很棒,并且在Fistral海滩上,您可以一年四季随时都可以进行冲浪,即使是在寒冬中也是如此! 冲浪非常适合青少年:当地的康沃尔研究 波浪项目 已经证明 它对青少年健康和福祉的好处。 最后,冲浪可以打开风筝冲浪和站立式冲浪(SUP)等相关机会的世界。

我们绝对建议您在英格兰时冲浪,并且在康沃尔海岸当然也有很多机会。 但是,无论您身处世界何处,您都决定找到自己的冲浪腿,确保安全–并乐在其中!

想在Fistral海滩上冲浪吗?

岬角酒店: http://www.headlandhotel.co.uk
冲浪保护区: http://www.surfsanctuary.co.uk
Fistral Beach Surf Cam:  http://www.headlandhotel.co.uk/explore/fistral-beach-surfcam/
里克·斯坦(Rick Stein)的超赞餐厅: https://www.rickstein.com/eat-with-us/fistral/

Helen Earley的所有照片,除非另有说明

Cool Waves and a Hot Cup of Tea: Learning to Surf on Fistral Beach in Newquay, Southwest England

Learning to surf Fistral Beach Newquay Cornwall

Fistral is rainy today, but the air is warm and the surf is beautiful as it pulls out the tide, leaving a vast stretch of brown, glossy beach. The water churns regular rolling whitecaps, just perfect for the new surfer. Since it’s early in the morning, there are only about two other surf schools out on the sand. Later, the water will become totally congested with groups of wannabe surfers – and some pros too.

Kids Surfing Fistral Hotel

Fistral Beach with the Headland Hotel in the Distance/Photo courtesy of the Headland Hotel

I have brought my 7 year-old daughter and her friend to Fistral beach in Newquay, Cornwall for their first surf lesson, while we are on holiday in the SouthWest of England. There are hundreds of surf schools in Cornwall, and several to choose from on Fistral Beach. We decided to go with Surf Sanctuary, a private surf school that runs out of The Headland Hotel.
Headland Hotel by Helen Earley

The Headland, set on a cliff overlooking the beach,  is arguably the finest luxury family hotel in Newquay, and the filming location of the 1990 film, The Witches.  Surf Sanctuary is tucked away in the basement of the hotel, overlooking the beach. Owned by Veteran surf pro, Dom Moore, the school offers bespoke and group sessions in surfing, kitesurfing, standup paddle and ocean confidence training.


Our instructor is 19-year old Betsy, who has lived in Newquay most of her life, and has been surfing since she was 14.  After spending 20 minutes helping the girls shimmy into wetsuits (boards, wetsuits and rash vests are all included in the price of the lesson), I watch the group of kids carry  their surfboards down to the beach, under Besty’s instruction.

Boards on Fistral Beach Newquay
On land, the children learn how to paddle a board, and then get up to standing. They remember the steps: 1. Chicken wings (elbow up, thumbs under the armpits), 2. Arch up (arching your back, ready to move to standing), 3. Onto one knee…then 4. Up!

Surf Lessons Newquay Fistral Beach Kids

The surf lesson is two hours long: one hour on land, one hour in the water. To give the girls some independence, I leave the shore and indulge in a traditional “bacon buttie” at celebrity chef Rick Stein’s beachfront restaurant, Fistral. Paired with a steaming mug of tea, I can’t even begin to tell you how delicious this sandwich tastes, on a drizzly summer morning.

Fistral Rick Stein Bacon buttie

Once in the water, the girls are up on their boards surprisingly quickly and surprisingly often. From time to time, Betsy guides their boards through a swell, increasing their chances of success. The feeling of accomplishment is apparent every time the girls successfully catch a wave… but even the wipeouts are followed by a grin.

Newquay surfing kids

Betsy tells me that in terms of physical exertion, surfing is different from any other sport. “We’ve had some really fit army guys down here in the past, and they struggled”. With surfing, you are breathing irregularly, and even holding your breath some of time, so it’s a completely different type of exercise than something like running.  New surfers exhaust quickly.

And indeed they do. After two hours, my daughter and her friend are totally flattened. And completely exhilarated. And I am bursting with pride. My seven year old can surf!

Learning to Surf on Fistral Beach

We return to the basement of the Headland Hotel, where Surf Sanctuary has piping hot showers and clean changing rooms. I note that Dom’s office has a guitar in the corner. “We bring that out sometimes”, he says, “in  the dull moments”.  He pauses. “But actually there are no dull moments”.

The office walls are adorned with  a variety of certificates: a criminal records check, clearly displayed, and various lifeguarding and surf instructor qualifications. Dom is specially trained in paediatric first aid and can be found blogging about beach and surf safety – another good reason to choose Surf Sanctuary.

There are also a couple of  skateboards hanging around. Dom explains that these are for when people begin to learn how to turn (a skill the girls aren’t quite ready for). “Learning to surf in the water is like learning to dance on a wobbly floor”, says Dom, “you need to do everything on dry land first”.

Betsy and Dom from Surf Sanctuary

Surfing is awesome, no matter what your age or experience, and at Fistral beach, you can do it any time of year -even in the dead of winter!  Surfing is great for teens: local Cornish studies like The Wave Project have proven its benefits on adolescent health and well being. Finally, surfing can open up a world of related opportunities like kite-surfing and Stand-Up-Paddleboarding (SUP).

We definitely recommend surfing while you’re in England, and there are certainly plenty of opportunities on the Cornish coast. But wherever in the world you decide to find your surf-legs, be safe – and have fun!

Want to Surf on Fistral Beach?

Headland Hotel: http://www.headlandhotel.co.uk
Surf Sanctuary: http://www.surfsanctuary.co.uk
Fistral Beach Surf Cam:  http://www.headlandhotel.co.uk/explore/fistral-beach-surfcam/
Rick Stein’s Awesome Restaurant: https://www.rickstein.com/eat-with-us/fistral/

All photos by Helen Earley, unless noted otherwise

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates