用当地语言知道一些单词总是好的,但在约翰内斯堡这个拥有11官方语言的城市,这可能是一个挑战。 我们的指南, TK Motosogi来自 JMT之旅 建议我们学习一点祖鲁语,因为它是最广泛使用的。 所以我们学到了 sawubona 你好, ngiyacelangiyabonga 当我们从OR Tambo国际机场开车到我们位于桑顿地区的酒店时,请感谢并感谢您。

南非前总统纳尔逊曼德拉在约翰内斯堡的第一尊雕像 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

前南非总统纳尔逊·曼德拉在约翰内斯堡的第一尊雕像–照片黛布拉·史密斯

Sawubona约翰内斯堡

约翰内斯堡也被称为Jozi或Joberg,有4.4万人居住(如果包括大约翰内斯堡,则为10万人)。 它是豪登省的省会,被誉为“黄金之乡”。 正是1886年100,000年淘金热的震中吸引了40万人到该地区。 在某一时刻,矿山提供了全球全部黄金供应的XNUMX%。 主要是白人定居者和国际财富猎人的涌入导致了与英国的第二次布尔战争,后来导致了压迫性的政府政权。 南非首位黑人总统纳尔逊·曼德拉(Nelson Mandela)出狱后在此定居。 乔贝格(Joberg)是一座真正的国际城市,也是世界领先的金融中心之一。


2009年,联合国宣布18月2018日为纳尔逊·曼德拉纪念日,100年是特别的庆祝活动,因为这是他诞辰16周年。 这一天是从我们的社区开始,呼吁采取行动使世界变得更美好的地方。 前总统巴拉克·奥巴马(Barack Obama)将举行第XNUMX届年度纳尔逊·曼德拉(Nelson Mandela)演讲,而约翰内斯堡的三个博物馆则是南非新的曼德拉之路的一部分。

在曼德拉小径上

我们留下了桑顿现代化的高层建筑和办公大楼,并开始了45分钟的车程,前往索韦托绿树成荫的街道。 索韦托是西南乡镇的缩写,曾经是种族隔离政权的抵抗中心。 在6月的索韦托起义期间,1976居民拒绝在学校教授南非荷兰语而不是他们的母语,并且街头开始发生骚乱。 他们的抗议活动为1980的种族隔离制度的终结奠定了基础。

索韦托现在是一个受欢迎的旅游目的地。 约翰内斯堡约有四分之一的人口居住在这里,附近有264私立学校,一所大学,两所医院,14警察局和150教堂。

作为一次旅行的一部分,我们有幸参观了Phafogang中学,向工作人员展示了两台新电脑和一些学习用品。 像所有青少年一样,600学生很高兴能够按照他们惯常的时间表休息,有些人渴望与我们聊天并为照片摆出姿势。 我们随时欢迎向学校捐款,可以通过导游安排或在当地教堂下车。

索韦托Phafogang学校的学生 - 照片Debra Smith

索韦托Phafogang学校的学生–图片Debra Smith

我们在午餐时停下来吃午餐 Shakhumzi餐厅 然后走了几个门 曼德拉之家纳尔逊·曼德拉在监禁之前住的那个温和的家。 它充满了绘画,照片和个人纪念品,就像他从Sugar Ray Leonard那里收到的世界冠军摔跤带。 这个小砖房,曼德拉和他的妻子温妮住在一起,是一个向他的追随者致敬的地方。 “这是盛大的反面,但它是我自己的第一个真正的家,我感到非常自豪。 他在自己的书中写道,一个人在拥有自己的房子之前不是男人 漫长的自由之路.

曼德拉的卧室位于索韦托的纳尔逊曼德拉博物馆

索韦托纳尔逊·曼德拉博物馆的曼德拉卧室

为了深入了解曼德拉的私人和政治生活,我们参观了 纳尔逊曼德拉基金会记忆中心 最近已向公众开放。 通过电影,手工艺品和最先进的互动展览庆祝曼德拉的职业生涯。 例如,在Message 4 Mandiba电话亭,您可以听到人们留下来曼德拉或留下自己的衷心消息。 (曼迪巴(Mandiba)是他的科萨(Khosa)姓氏。)他倡导和平并与国际要人会面的办公室在他于2004年退休的那一天离开时一直保留着。

曼德拉的生活和事业在纳尔逊曼德拉基金会记忆中心探索 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

纳尔逊·曼德拉基金会纪念中心探讨了曼德拉的生活和职业生涯-图片Debra Smith

当我们到达时,太阳正将树木上的花边阴影投射到混凝土走道上 种族隔离博物馆。 致力于深入研究反种族隔离运动,这座新建筑通过其建筑和展览讲述其故事。 从您选择使用哪扇门进入建筑物(白人或非白人)的那一刻起,您就沉浸在为自由而奋斗的故事中。 22个永久性展览从文化,历史和政治的各个角度探索历史的黑暗时期。 时代的终结是1991年的《国家和平协议》和1994年的南非第一次民主选举,随后是1996年的真相与和解委员会。人工制品,照片,录音制品和录像带使冲突成为焦点,并突出了拥护者,反对种族隔离运动的黑白两面。

引人注目的约翰内斯堡种族隔离博物馆入口 - 照片黛布拉史密斯

约翰内斯堡种族隔离博物馆令人发人深省的入口–图片Debra Smith

至于学习祖鲁语,我认为传统知识正在拉动我们的脚步。 因为我们遇到的每个人都说英语,所以我们几乎没有利用我们新发现的语言技能。 它被无处不在,包括博物馆。

约翰内斯堡的便宜餐和高档食品

在索韦托: 热带地区的 Shakhumzi餐厅 自称是真正的Soweto体验,美味的自助餐不辜负其声誉。 它以传统食物为特色,例如样品(玉米和豆泥),炖羊肉,面包饺子和锦葵布丁作为甜点,这是当地人最喜欢的杏子热蛋糕,配以蛋ust。 一个充满民族气息的朝气蓬勃的舞蹈团会唱歌和跳舞。

在桑顿: 皮嘉尔这是纳尔逊曼德拉广场的高档用餐体验,擅长葡萄牙风味的菜肴和新鲜的海鲜以及无处不在的锦葵布丁。 在纳尔逊曼德拉的6仪表(20英尺)高青铜雕像的广场上拍照,这是南非第一个竖立的雕像。

在桑顿过夜

五星级 桑顿孙 拥有326间客房和套房,可俯瞰桑顿商业区茂密的郊区,提供“温和的奢华”。 Décor具有现代感,带有压花墙纸和灰色缎面装饰,并配有水晶吊灯。 宾客可享用全套迷你吧,纯平电视,奈斯派索咖啡机和USB插头,以及24小时客房送餐服务。 酒店非常适合商务人士,但很受家庭欢迎,拥有出色的自助早餐(可提供高脚椅)和巨大的户外露台。 那里有一个同样大的露台休息室,非常适合在夜晚度过美好的交谈和星空下的鸡尾酒。 购物者可以游览附属的桑顿市购物中心,该购物中心拥有300多家商店,包括路易威登,苹果,雨果博斯和Zara。 还有一个美食广场,几家餐厅和一个电影院。 从酒店到Gautrain到OR Tambo机场的班车是免费的。

这位作家是他的客人 南非旅游 而在南非。 一如既往,她的观点是她自己的。 有关约翰内斯堡的更多照片,请在Instagram @ where.to.lady上关注她

Mandela, Museums and Memories: Notes from Johannesburg, South Africa

It’s always good to know a few words in a local language, but that could be a challenge in Johannesburg, a city with 11 official languages. Our guide, T.K. Motosogi, from JMT Tours suggested that we learn a little Zulu, as it’s the most widely spoken. So we learned sawubona for hello, ngiyacela and ngiyabonga for please and thank you, as we drove in from OR Tambo International airport to our hotel in the Sandton area.

The first statue of former South African President Nelson Mandela in Johannesburg - photo Debra Smith

The first statue of former South African President Nelson Mandela in Johannesburg – photo Debra Smith

Sawubona Johannesburg

Also known as Jozi or Joberg, Johannesburg is home to 4.4 million people (10 million if you include Greater Johannesburg). It’s the capital of Gauteng province, known as “the place of gold”. It was the epicentre of the gold rush of 1886 that drew 100,000 people to the region over ten years.  At one point the mines delivered 40% of the world’s entire gold supply. The influx of mainly white settlers and international fortune hunters led to the Second Boer War with Britain, and later to oppressive government regimes. Nelson Mandela, South Africa’s first black President, made his home here after his release from prison. Joberg is a truly international city and one of the world’s leading financial centres.

In 2009, the United Nations declared July 18 Nelson Mandela Day and 2018 is a special celebration, as it marks the 100th anniversary of his birth. The day is a call to action to make the world a better place, starting in our communities.  Former President Barack Obama will deliver the 16th annual Nelson Mandela Lecture, and three museums in Johannesburg are part of the new Mandela Trail in South Africa.

On the Mandela Trail

We left behind the modern high-rises and office towers of Sandton and took a 45-minute drive to the leafy shaded streets of Soweto. An abbreviation of South West Townships, Soweto was once the centre of resistance to the apartheid regime. During the Soweto Uprising in June of 1976 residents refused to have Afrikaans taught in schools instead of their native languages and riots began in the streets. Their protests set the stage for the end of the apartheid system in the 1980’s.

Soweto is now a popular tourist destination. About a quarter of Johannesburg’s population lives here, and there are 264 private schools, a university, two hospitals, 14 police stations and 150 churches in the neighbourhood.

As part of a tour, we had the pleasure of visiting Phafogang Secondary School to present the staff with two new computers and some school supplies. Like all teenagers, the 600 students were happy to have a break from their usual schedule, and some were eager to chat with us and strike a pose for photographs. Donations to schools are always welcome and can be arranged through tour guides or dropped off at local churches.

Students at Phafogang School in Soweto - photo Debra Smith

Students at Phafogang School in Soweto – photo Debra Smith

We stopped for lunch at the Shakhumzi Restaurant and then walked a few doors down to Mandela House, the modest home where Nelson Mandela lived before his imprisonment. It’s full of paintings, photographs and personal mementoes, like the world champion wrestling belt he received from Sugar Ray Leonard. This small brick house, where Mandela lived with his wife Winnie, is a place of homage for his followers. “It was the opposite of grand, but it was my first true home of my own, and I was mightily proud. A man is not a man until he has a house of his own”, he wrote in his book The Long Walk to Freedom.

Mandela's bedroom at the Nelson Mandela Museum in Soweto

Mandela’s bedroom at the Nelson Mandela Museum in Soweto

For insights into Mandela’s private and political life, we visited the Nelson Mandela Foundation Center of Memory which has recently opened its doors to the public. Mandela’s career is celebrated through film, artefacts and state-of-the-art interactive exhibits.  At the Message 4 Mandiba phone booth, for instance, you can hear heartfelt messages that people have left for Mandela, or leave your own. (Mandiba was his Xhosa clan name.) The office where he advocated for peace and met with international dignitaries has been preserved as he left it on the day he retired in 2004.

The life and career of Mandela explored at the Nelson Mandela Foundation Centre for Memory - photo Debra Smith

The life and career of Mandela explored at the Nelson Mandela Foundation Centre for Memory – photo Debra Smith

The sun was casting lace shadows through the trees onto the concrete walkway when we arrived at the Apartheid Museum. Dedicated to an in-depth examination of the anti-apartheid movement, this new building tells its stories through its architecture as well as exhibitions.  From the moment you choose which door to use to enter the building, Whites or Non-Whites, you are immersed in the story of the struggle for freedom. The 22 permanent exhibitions explore this dark period in history from every angle: cultural, historical and political. The end of the era came with the National Peace Accord of 1991 and South Africa’s first democratic elections in 1994, followed by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, in 1996. Artefacts, photographs, recordings and video bring the conflict into focus and highlight the champions, both black and white, of the anti-apartheid movement.

The thought provoking entrance to the Apartheid Museum in Johannesburg - photo Debra Smith

The thought-provoking entrance to the Apartheid Museum in Johannesburg – photo Debra Smith

As for learning Zulu, I think T.K. was pulling our leg.  We hardly made use of our new found language skills since everyone we met spoke English. It’s used everywhere, including the museums.

Cheap Eats and Upscale Treats in Johannesburg

In Soweto: The Shakhumzi Restaurant bills itself as an authentic Soweto experience and the tasty buffet lives up to its reputation. It features traditional foods like samp, (mashed corn and beans), lamb stew, bread dumplings and malva pudding for dessert, an apricot based warm cake that’s a local favourite, served with custard.  An energetic dance troupe dressed in ethnic costumes entertains with songs and dances.

In Sandton: Pigalle, an upscale dining experience on Nelson Mandela Square, specialises in Portuguese inspired dishes and fresh seafood along with the ubiquitous malva pudding. Take a selfie in the square with the 6 metre (20 ft.) tall bronze statue of Nelson Mandela, the first one ever erected in South Africa.

Sleepover in Sandton

The five star Sandton Sun offers “gentle luxury” with 326 rooms and suites overlooking the tree-filled suburbs of the Sandton business district.  Décor is modern, with embossed wallpaper and accents of grey satin, complemented by crystal chandeliers. Guests will find a full mini-bar, flat screen TV, a Nespresso machine and USB plugs along with 24-hour room service. Perfect for business folk but popular with families, the hotel has an outstanding breakfast buffet, (high chairs are available) and a huge outdoor patio.  There’s an equally large patio lounge, perfect for nights spent with good conversation and cocktails under the stars. Shoppers can explore the attached Sandton City Shopping Centre featuring over 300 stores including Louis Vuitton, Apple, Hugo Boss and Zara. There is also a food court, several restaurants and a movie theatre. Connections from the hotel to OR Tambo airport by Gautrain are complimentary.

The writer was a guest of South African Tourism while in South Africa. As always, her opinions are her own. For more photographs of Johannesburg, follow her on Instagram @where.to.lady

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *