多米尼加共和国萨马纳:冒险和放松的热带组合

当您的飞机下降到萨马纳机场时,您将看到明信片完美的自然天堂景观:连绵起伏的丘陵,郁郁葱葱的绿色森林压在无数公里的原始海滩上。 从多米尼加共和国北部海岸出发的萨马纳半岛(Samana Peninsula)距离多伦多或蒙特利尔约有4小时的直达航程,但却是整个家庭的世界性热带度假胜地。

Los Haitises国家公园鸟瞰图在Samana,多米尼加共和国。 照片来源多米尼加共和国旅游部

Los Haitises国家公园鸟瞰图在Samana,多米尼加共和国。 照片来源多米尼加共和国旅游部

部分由于其地理位置,Samana保留了其度假胜地姊妹城市的独特身份。 直到Samana高速公路在2009完工,距离圣多明各只有5个小时的车程,使该省与其他多米尼加人保持隔离。




现在距离首都2半小时车程,随着越来越多的航班进入加拿大,Samana已准备好迎接旅游业的独特地形和文化历史。

乘船游览多米尼加共和国萨马纳的Los Haitises国家公园。 照片来源Ivan Quintanilla

乘船游览多米尼加共和国萨马纳的Los Haitises国家公园。 照片来源Ivan Quintanilla

第一站: 洛杉矶海地国家公园。 想象一下一系列无人居住的岛屿如此狂野的植被,它被用作侏罗纪公园电影的场所。 从结晶水域突出的坚固树木的钥匙开始导游巡游。 在被周围环境的极端美丽所震撼的同时,你将学习Los Haitises在当地Taino人的语言中意为“丘陵之地”; 你会看到将公园称为家园的独特动物和濒临灭绝的鸟类,你会明白为什么旅行真的是最好的老师。 一旦在干燥的陆地上,您将有机会沿着红树林沼泽徒步旅行,下降到石灰岩洞穴,这里是蝙蝠和古代部落草图的家园。 对于任何好奇的孩子(即使是父母年龄段的孩子)来说,这是一个完美的冒险日!

Cayo Levantado是一个只能乘船到达多米尼加共和国萨马纳的海滩。 照片来源多米尼加共和国旅游部

Cayo Levantado是一个只能乘船到达多米尼加共和国萨马纳的海滩。 照片来源多米尼加共和国旅游部

经过一天的探索和身临其境的学习之后,您度过了一个轻松的下午。 搭乘渡轮前往 Cayo Levantado,一个只能乘船到达的专属海滩。 如果您渴望更多活动,可以使用皮划艇和水上运动; 或者你可以简单地躺在白色的沙滩上,手里拿着果味的朗姆酒饮料,享受夕阳。 如果你在1月到3月旅行,你可能会发现座头鲸因为它在萨马纳湾的冬天。

我们的作家Ivan Quintanilla骑马前往多米尼加共和国Samana的Salto el Limon。 照片来源Ivan Quintanilla

我们的作家Ivan Quintanilla骑马前往多米尼加共和国Samana的Salto el Limon。 照片来源Ivan Quintanilla

另一天,又一次冒险。 如果没有参观Salto El Limon瀑布,那么萨马纳之旅就不算完整。 指南在 跑步者冒险 酒店将安排酒店接客服务,带您穿越连绵起伏的乡村前往大本营。 在这里,您将适应所提供的靴子和头盔(安全第一!)并跳上马,这将带您进行20分钟的徒步旅行到瀑布。 每匹马都有一个徒步导游的导游,所以不需要马术技能(但考虑到岩石地形和一系列陡峭的楼梯,建议游览10及以上年龄)。 好像旅程还不够,照片般的收益是一个40米瀑布涌入一个华丽的自然浸水池。 带上你的泳衣冷静下来,然后回到你的四条腿朋友的营地。

Salto el Limon瀑布在Samana,多米尼加共和国。 照片来源多米尼加共和国旅游部。

Salto el Limon瀑布在Samana,多米尼加共和国。 照片来源多米尼加共和国旅游部。

在充满动感的日子里,您可以享受无忧无虑的住宿体验。 全包 Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Resort 我们的使命是为每个家庭成员提升家庭假期。

Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo度假村和周围的海滩和茂密的小山鸟瞰图。 照片来源Bahia Principe

Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo度假村和周围的海滩和茂密的小山鸟瞰图。 照片来源Bahia Principe

606-room度假酒店设有两个游泳池,六间餐厅和八间酒吧供父母享用。 孩子们有自己的水上乐园,迪斯科舞厅和巴伊亚童子军计划,全年为儿童4-16提供有组织的活动。 您可以充分利用度假村在僻静海滩上的位置,享受划桨冲浪,皮划艇和浮潜。 运动型家庭可以提供射击,甚至扣篮,可以打排球,射箭,网球,乒乓球和篮球。

Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Resort度假酒店的儿童游泳池和水上乐园。 照片来源Bahia Principe

Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Resort度假酒店的儿童游泳池和水上乐园。 照片来源Bahia Principe

晚上,娱乐活动包括当地舞蹈团和马戏表演者。 而且总有音乐 - 毕竟这是多米尼加共和国,萨尔萨舞,梅伦格舞和bachata是每日配乐。 您的家人可以享受完全多样化的假期,甚至不会离开度假村。 当然,如果您想在镇上度过一夜,Samana半岛最受欢迎的旅游城市Las Terrenas距离酒店仅有几分钟路程,那里拥有当地的餐馆,酒吧和夜总会。 如果您需要一些成人时间,Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo酒店为您提供保险,并提供夜间保姆服务。

Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Resort度假酒店的宽敞性质。 照片来源Bahia Principe

Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Resort度假酒店的宽敞性质。 照片来源Bahia Principe

这里有一个充满拉丁节拍,异国风情和一些最好的海滩的岛屿,距离酒店只有很短的车程。 随着加拿大所有主要城市连接多伦多和蒙特利尔的加拿大航空公司Rogue,Westjet和Air Transat的直飞航班,曾经偏远的地区从未如此便利。 将您的泳衣装在行李箱中,随身携带好奇心,并为冒险和放松做好准备,让您的每个家庭成员都感到高兴。

作者:Ivan Quintanilla

Ivan Quintanilla是一位居住在纽约市的演员和旅行作家。 他的文章发表在“纽约时报”,“华盛顿邮报”,“旅行者”和“旅游乡绅”以及他自己的网站上, TravelingIQ.com。 跟随伊万 Instagram,Twitter和 Facebook.

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

Samana, Dominican Republic: A Tropical Combination of Adventure and Relaxation

As your plane descends toward the Samana airport, you’ll see postcard-perfect views of a natural paradise: rolling hills of lush, green forests pressed against countless kilometres of pristine beaches. The Samana Peninsula, which juts from the northern coast of the Dominican Republic, is about a four-hour direct flight from Toronto or Montreal, but a worlds-away tropical escape for the entire family.

 

Aerial view of Los Haitises National Park in Samana, Dominican Republic. Photo credit Dominican Republic Ministry of Tourism

Aerial view of Los Haitises National Park in Samana, Dominican Republic. Photo credit Dominican Republic Ministry of Tourism

 

Partly because of its geographical positioning, Samana has retained a unique identity from its resort-packed sister cities. Up until the Samana Highway was finished in 2009, the five-hour drive from Santo Domingo kept the province isolated even from other Dominicans.

 


Now a 2½ hour drive from its capital and with increasing flight access to Canada, Samana is ready to welcome tourism to its unique topography and cultural history.

 

Boat tour to Los Haitises National Park in Samana, Dominican Republic. Photo credit Ivan Quintanilla

Boat tour to Los Haitises National Park in Samana, Dominican Republic. Photo credit Ivan Quintanilla

 

First stop: Los Haitises National Park. Imagine a series of uninhabited islands so wild with vegetation that it was used as a location for the Jurassic Park film. Embark on a guided cruise through ruggedly forested keys jutting from crystalline waters. While being bombarded by the extreme beauty of your surroundings, you’ll learn Los Haitises means “hilly land” in the language of the native Taino people; you’ll see unique animals and endangered birds who call the park home, and you’ll understand why travel truly is the best teacher. Once on dry land, you’ll have an opportunity to hike trails along mangrove swamps, descending into limestone caves that are home to bats and ancient tribal sketches. It’s a perfect day of adventure for any curious kid (even those of the parent-aged variety)!

 

Cayo Levantado is a beach reachable only by boat, in Samana, Dominican Republic. Photo credit Dominican Republic Ministry of Tourism

Cayo Levantado is a beach reachable only by boat, in Samana, Dominican Republic. Photo credit Dominican Republic Ministry of Tourism

 

After your day of exploration and immersive learning, you’ve earned a relaxing afternoon. Hop on a ferry to Cayo Levantado, an exclusive beach accessible only by boat. Should you crave more activity, kayaks and water sports are available; or you can simply lay on the white sand beach with a fruity rum drink in hand, enjoying the setting sun. If you’re travelling January to March, you might spot a humpback whale as it winters in the Samana Bay.

 

Our writer, Ivan Quintanilla, rides horseback to Salto el Limon in Samana, Dominican Republic. Photo credit Ivan Quintanilla

Our writer, Ivan Quintanilla, rides horseback to Salto el Limon in Samana, Dominican Republic. Photo credit Ivan Quintanilla

Another day, another adventure. No trip to Samana is complete without a visit to Salto El Limon Waterfall. The guides at Runners Adventures will arrange hotel pick-up and drive you through the rolling countryside to the base camp. Here you’ll suit up with the provided boots and helmet (safety first!) and hop on the horse that will take you on the 20-minute trek to the waterfall. Each horse has a guide on foot shepherding your way, so no equestrian skills are needed (but given the rocky terrain and a series of steep stairs, the tour is recommended for age 10 and above). As if the journey wasn’t enough, the photo-op payoff is a 40-metre waterfall gushing into a gorgeous natural dipping pool. Bring your bathing suit to cool off before heading back to camp on your four-legged friend.

Salto el Limon waterfall in Samana, Dominican Republic. Photo credit Dominican Republic Ministry of Tourism.

Salto el Limon waterfall in Samana, Dominican Republic. Photo credit Dominican Republic Ministry of Tourism.

With your action-packed days, you’ll want a worry-free stay. The all-inclusive Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Resort has made it their mission to elevate the family vacation for each member of the family.

 

Aerial view of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Resort and surrounding beach and lush hills. Photo credit Bahia Principe

Aerial view of Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Resort and surrounding beach and lush hills. Photo credit Bahia Principe

 

The 606-room resort has two pools, six restaurants and eight bars for the parents to enjoy. The kids have their own water park, disco and the Bahia Scouts program, with organised activities all day for children 4-16 years old. Take advantage of the resort’s location on a massive stretch of secluded beach and enjoy paddle surfing, kayaking and snorkelling. Sporty families can serve, shoot or even dunk, with access to volleyball, archery, tennis, table tennis and basketball.

The Children's pool and water park at the all-inclusive Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Resort. Photo credit Bahia Principe

The Children’s pool and water park at the all-inclusive Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Resort. Photo credit Bahia Principe

In the evening, the entertainment ranges from local dance troupes to circus performers. And there’s always music—this is, after all, the Dominican Republic, where salsa, merengue and bachata are the daily soundtracks. Your family can enjoy a completely diverse vacation and never even leave the resort. Of course, should you crave a night on the town, Las Terrenas, the Samana Peninsula’s most popular tourist town, has local restaurants, bars and nightclubs a few minutes away. And if you need some adult time, the Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo has you covered, with nighttime babysitting services at your disposal.

The expansive property of the all-inclusive Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Resort. Photo credit Bahia Principe

The expansive property of the all-inclusive Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo Resort. Photo credit Bahia Principe

There’s an island pulsing with Latin beats, exotic scenery and some of the best beaches on the planet, just a short plane ride away. With all major Canadian cities connecting to direct flights from Toronto and Montreal on Air Canada Rogue, Westjet and Air Transat, the once-remote region has never been more accessible. Pack your swimsuits in the suitcase and your curiosity in the carry-on, and prepare for a combination of adventure and relaxation that will please each member of your family.

 

By: Ivan Quintanilla

Ivan Quintanilla is an actor and travel writer living in New York City. His articles have been published in the New York Times, Washington Post, Out Traveler, and Travel Squire, as well as on his own website, TravelingIQ.com. Follow Ivan on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *