fbpx

Une retraite dans la jungle digne d'une reine - The San Ignacio Resort Hotel, Belize

L'hôtel San Ignacio Resort au Belize - Fit for a Queen

Lorsque Sa Majesté la reine Elizabeth II a visité le Belize en 1994, elle a choisi le Hôtel San Ignacio Resort pour son séjour. Chaque client est traité comme des rois dans cette luxueuse propriété du nord-ouest du Belize, à proximité d'anciens sites mayas et de la beauté naturelle de la réserve forestière de Mountain Pine.

Réserve de forêt de pins de montagne Belize

Il était temps de plonger aux chutes de la réserve forestière de Pine Mountain. Crédit photo: Debra Smith

Un accueil royal

Le San Ignacio Resort Hotel est situé sur une colline au-dessus des villes jumelles de San Ignacio et Santa Elena, à environ une heure en voiture de Belize City. Sur le chemin de l'hôtel, mon guide m'a montré les imposants arbres Ceiba le long de l'autoroute. Ces géants qui atteignent 70 mètres de haut étaient sacrés pour les anciens Mayas. Selon la mythologie maya, les âmes ont voyagé du monde souterrain, symbolisé par les racines de l'arbre le long de l'écorce lisse du tronc, qui représentait le monde quotidien, et jusqu'aux 13 niveaux du ciel dans la couronne feuillue de l'arbre.

Hôtel San Igacio Resort

Des sols en marbre, des bois exotiques et un accueil chaleureux vous attendent au San Ignacio Resort Hotel. Photo gracieuseté: San Ignacio Resort Hotel

Nous nous sommes arrêtés dans l'allée circulaire de la station balnéaire d'influence espagnole et avons été accueillis à la porte avec une serviette fraîche de bienvenue et un verre de jus de melon sucré. Un élégant escalier de bois tropicaux et de fer à repasser conduisait à ma suite au deuxième étage. En traversant le sol en acajou, j'ai ouvert les fenêtres du sol au plafond pour respirer l'air tropical chaud. Ce complexe de charme familial de 27 chambres est construit sur une colline qui surplombe la rivière Macal et 17 acres de forêt vierge, ce qui lui vaut le titre de "la seule jungle de la ville".

Le projet de conservation des iguanes verts

Le projet de conservation de l'iguane vert est un succès auprès des enfants et des parents Photo gracieuseté de San Ignacio Resort Hotel

Early Birding

Le lendemain matin, j'ai été accueilli par un lever de soleil rose pâle à moitié caché par des palmiers alors que je sortais sur la terrasse spacieuse. Plusieurs toucans ont pris position dans les arbres autour de la piscine turquoise étincelante, gonflant leurs seins jaunes et secouant la brume matinale de leurs ailes noires brillantes. Ils ont fait pivoter leurs longs becs distinctifs dans la verdure comme des girouettes.

Le Belize est un point de départ parfait pour les «secoueurs», comme on appelle les ornithologues amateurs. Une visite d'observation des oiseaux de deux heures commence chaque matin à 6 heures du hall. Les ornithologues amateurs sérieux pourraient aimer visiter pendant le festival annuel des oiseaux du Belize en octobre. Le Département d'ornithologie de l'Université Cornell organise les conférences. Pour entendre des appels d'oiseaux et des informations du monde entier, consultez leur application gratuite, eBird.

Il y a des dizaines d'oiseaux dans la jungle autour de l'hôtel, y compris des toucans. Photo gracieuseté de San Ignacio Resort

Les ornithologues amateurs paresseux comme moi peuvent simplement regarder les oiseaux venir vers eux tout en dégustant un bon petit-déjeuner composé de fruits frais, d'œufs et de café sur la terrasse extérieure du restaurant Running W du complexe. J'ai aussi appris à apprécier les «fry jacks», l'équivalent bélizien des beignets, des coussins de pâtisserie légèrement frits, saupoudrés de sucre glace. Le Running W sert le petit-déjeuner, le déjeuner et le dîner, et propose du bœuf du ranch voisin des propriétaires dans le menu international.

Le restaurant Running W au San Ignacio Resort

Le restaurant Running W du San Ignacio Resort Hotel propose un menu international et une vue sur la piscine en plein air. Crédit photo Debra Smith

Au marché, au marché

Le Belize était connu sous le nom de Honduras britannique de 1871 à 1981, date à laquelle il a accédé à l'indépendance. L'anglais est toujours la langue officielle du pays. Environ 18,000 XNUMX personnes vivent à San Ignacio et Santa Elena où l'architecture locale est un mélange d'influences coloniales, créoles et espagnoles. La plupart des maisons arborent des murs de plâtre peints de couleurs vives dans des tons de rose chaud, jaune et vert acide. Des maisons traditionnelles sur pilotis se nichent à côté de maisons à deux étages avec des arches classiques et des balcons en bois sculpté. Une route sinueuse zigzague le long de la colline de la station au marché au bord de la rivière.

San Ignacio Belize

Il y a un mouvement en cours pour remplir les murs de la ville de peintures murales et plusieurs beaux exemples ont surgi dans la ville. Crédit photo Debra Smith

Chaque samedi matin, le marché se remplit de vendeurs de la campagne environnante vendant des fruits et légumes frais, de l'huile de coco, des sacs d'épices et ce trio d'agrafes classiques d'Amérique centrale: haricots, riz et maïs. Les tables sont empilées de pyramides de produits et entourées de sacs d'oignons et de pommes de terre. Il y a des stands de toutes sortes: vêtements, chaussures et maquillage, hamacs dans une variété de tailles et de couleurs, et quelques boutiques de souvenirs avec de l'art local, des sculptures sur bois et des pierres gravées exposées.

Marché du samedi de San Ignacio

Tout le monde aime faire un peu de shopping au marché du samedi à San Ignacio. Crédit photo: Debra Smith

Les prix sont clairement indiqués et le marchandage n'est pas nécessaire. Le taux de change est de deux dollars du Belize pour un dollar américain, ce qui est largement accepté. La monnaie est retournée en monnaie bélizienne, il n'est donc pas nécessaire d'échanger de l'argent deux fois, bien qu'il y ait une Banque Scotia en ville.

En quittant le marché pour me promener vers Burns Avenue, la principale rue piétonne, The Ice Cream Shoppe m'a tenté de goûter un bon échantillon de crème glacée. Les saveurs locales étaient délicieuses; horchata est fait avec du riz, et craboo est aromatisé avec de petites cerises acides.

Emmène moi ailleurs

De retour à l'hôtel, je me suis enregistré avec le concierge extraordinaire Onil à propos des visites pour le lendemain. La visite classée numéro un à San Ignacio a lieu directement sur la propriété du complexe. La réserve d'iguanes verts est un succès auprès des enfants et des adultes. Les visites partent toutes les heures pour visiter ces créatures amies et apprivoisées. Selon Cruz, mon guide, beaucoup d'entre eux sont des animaux de sauvetage et ils ont tous leur propre personnalité. Certains aiment même faire un showboat un peu, grimpant sur les visiteurs pour des séances de photos. D'autres visites sur le terrain emmènent les clients sur un sentier de plantes médicinales et une promenade «bestiole de la nuit».

Réserve de forêt de pins de montagne

La réserve de forêt de pins de montagne regorge de flore et de faune exotiques comme cette plante aérienne qui vit de la condensation. Crédit photo: Debra Smith

La société d'excursions sur place du complexe, Cayo Gial, peut vous proposer des tyroliennes à travers la forêt tropicale, des tubes dans une grotte, du canoë sur la rivière Macal ou de l'équitation jusqu'aux ruines mayas. Il existe deux anciens sites mayas très proches de San Ignacio. Les deux méritent une visite. Cahal Pech a plus de 34 structures à explorer, tandis que Xunantunich, à 40 km à l'ouest de la ville, possède El Castillo, un temple de 130 mètres (XNUMX pieds) de hauteur. J'ai choisi de faire une excursion d'une journée à Thousand Foot Falls, les plus hautes chutes d'Amérique centrale, dans la réserve forestière de Mountain Pine, qui comprenait également une excursion dans une grotte de calcaire massive et une baignade rafraîchissante dans une cascade.

Belle au Bois Dormant

J'ai jeté un coup d'œil à la suite où la reine Elizabeth a passé la nuit. C'est une chambre luxueuse au rez-de-chaussée, donnant sur le jardin, mais je recommanderais les nouvelles suites River View et Jungle View pour les familles. Ils peuvent chacun accueillir jusqu'à six personnes avec des terrasses spacieuses qui donnent sur le parc. Les suites peuvent être réunies pour accueillir de grands groupes, vous donnant un accès privé à la piscine, qui est ouverte 24h / XNUMX. Des visites guidées gratuites de la réserve d'iguanes verts et du sentier médicinal sont incluses. Tout comme le traitement royal.

L'écrivain était l'invité du Hôtel San Ignacio Resort. Comme toujours, ses opinions sont les siennes. Pour plus de photos du district de Cayo au Belize, suivez-la sur Instagram @ Où.To.Lady

Voici d'autres articles que nous pensons que vous aimerez!

Bien que nous fassions de notre mieux pour vous fournir des informations précises, tous les détails de l'événement sont sujets à changement. S'il vous plaît contacter l'établissement pour éviter toute déception.

Laissez un commentaire

Votre adresse email n'apparaitra pas. Les champs obligatoires sont marqués *

En raison de COVID-19, voyager n'est plus ce qu'il était. Il est conseillé de respecter les exigences de distance physique, d'assurer un lavage fréquent des mains et de porter un masque à l'intérieur lorsqu'il n'est pas possible de maintenir des distances. Voir www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories pour plus de détails.

fbpx

A Jungle Retreat Fit for a Queen – The San Ignacio Resort Hotel, Belize

The San Ignacio Resort Hotel in Belize – Fit for a Queen

When Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II toured Belize in 1994, she chose the San Ignacio Resort Hotel for her stay. Every guest is treated like royalty at this luxurious property in northwest Belize, close to ancient Maya sites and the natural beauty of the Mountain Pine Forest Reserve.

Mountain Pine Forest Reserve Belize

There was time for a dip at the falls in the Mountain Pine Forest Reserve. Photo Credit: Debra Smith

A Royal Welcome

The San Ignacio Resort Hotel sits high on a hill above the twin towns of San Ignacio and Santa Elena, about an hour by car from Belize City. On the drive to the hotel, my guide pointed out the towering Ceiba trees along the highway. These giants that grow up to 70 meters high were sacred to the ancient Mayan people. According to Mayan mythology, souls travelled from the underworld, symbolized by the tree’s roots along the smooth bark of the trunk, which represented the everyday world, and up to the 13 levels of heaven in the tree’s leafy crown.

San Igacio Resort Hotel

Marble floors exotic hardwoods and a warm welcome await you at the San Ignacio Resort Hotel. Photo Courtesy: San Ignacio Resort Hotel

We pulled into the circular drive of the Spanish-influenced resort and were greeted at the door with a welcome chilled towel and a glass of sweet melon juice. An elegant staircase of tropical hardwoods and curlicued iron led to my suite on the second floor. Crossing the mahogany floor I opened the floor-to-ceiling windows to breathe in the warm tropical air. This 27-room family-run boutique resort is built on a hillside that overlooks the Macal River and 17 acres of virgin forest, earning it the title of “the only jungle in town”.

The Green Iguana Conservation Project

The Green Iguana Conservation Project is a hit with kids and parents alike Photo Courtesy of San Ignacio Resort Hotel

Early Birding

The next morning I was greeted by a pale pink sunrise half-hidden by palm trees as I stepped out onto the spacious patio. Several toucans took up positions in the trees around the sparkling turquoise pool, puffing out their yellow breasts and shaking the morning mist from their shiny black wings. They swivelled their distinctive long beaks in the greenery like weathervanes.

Belize is a perfect starting point for “twitchers”, as amateur birdwatchers are called. A two-hour introductory birdwatching tour starts each morning at 6 a.m. from the lobby. Serious birdwatchers might like to visit during the annual Belize Birding Festival in October. Cornell University’s Ornithology Department organizes the lectures. To hear birdcalls and info from around the world, check out their free app, eBird.

There are dozens of birds in the jungle around the hotel including toucans. Photo Courtesy of San Ignacio Resort

Lazy bird watchers like myself can simply watch the birds come to them while enjoying a fine breakfast of fresh fruit, eggs and coffee on the outdoor patio of the resort’s Running W Restaurant. I also learned to appreciate “fry jacks”, the Belizean equivalent of beignets, lightly deep-fried pastry pillows, dusted with icing sugar. The Running W serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and features beef from the owners’ nearby ranch on the international menu.

The Running W Restaurant at the San Ignacio Resort

The Running W Restaurant at the San Ignacio Resort Hotel offers an international menu and open-air views of the pool. Photo Credit Debra Smith

To Market, to Market

Belize was known as British Honduras from 1871 until 1981 when it gained independence. English is still the country’s official language. About 18,000 people live in San Ignacio and Santa Elena where the local architecture is a mix of colonial, Creole and Spanish influences. Most homes sport colourfully painted plaster walls in shades of hot pink, yellow and acid green. Traditional houses on stilts nestle next to two storey homes with classical arches and carved wooden balconies. A winding road zigzags down the hill from the resort to the market by the river.

San Ignacio Belize

There’s a movement afoot to fill the town walls with murals and several beautiful examples have popped up around town. Photo Credit Debra Smith

Every Saturday morning, the market fills with vendors from the surrounding countryside selling fresh fruits and vegetables, coconut oil, bags of spices and that trio of classic Central American staples: beans, rice and corn. Tables are piled high with pyramids of produce and surrounded by sacks of onions and potatoes. There are stalls of all kinds: clothing, shoes, and makeup, hammocks in a variety of sizes and colours, and a few souvenir shops with local art, wood carvings and engraved stones on display.

San Ignacio Saturday Market

Everyone likes to do a little shopping at the Saturday market in San Ignacio. Photo Credit: Debra Smith

Prices are clearly marked, and haggling is unnecessary. The exchange rate is two Belize dollars to one US dollar, which is widely accepted. Change is returned in Belizean currency, so there’s no need to exchange money twice, although there is a Scotiabank in town.

Leaving the market to stroll towards Burns Avenue, the main pedestrian street, The Ice Cream Shoppe tempted me in for a sweet sample of ice cream.  The local flavours were delicious; horchata is made with rice, and craboo is flavoured with small sour cherries.

Take Me Away

Back at the hotel, I checked in with concierge extraordinaire Onil about tours for the next day. The number one rated tour in San Ignacio takes place right on the resort’s own property. The Green Iguana Reserve is a hit with kids and adults alike. Tours leave every hour on the hour to visit these tame, friendly creatures. According to Cruz, my guide, many of them are rescue animals and they all have their own distinct personalities. Some even like to showboat a little, climbing up on to visitors for photo ops. Other tours on the grounds take guests on a medicinal plant trail, and a “critter of the night” walk.

Mountain Pine Forest Reserve

The Mountain Pine Forest Reserve is full of exotic flora and fauna like this air plant that lives on condensation. Photo Credit: Debra Smith

The resort’s in-house tour company, Cayo Gial, can have you zip-lining through the rainforest, tubing through a cave, canoeing down the Macal River or horseback riding to Mayan ruins. There are two ancient Mayan sites very close to San Ignacio. Both are worth a visit. Cahal Pech has over 34 structures to explore, while Xunantunich, eight miles west of town, has El Castillo, a 40 meter (130 foot) tall temple. I chose to take a day trip to Thousand Foot Falls, the highest falls in Central America, in the Mountain Pine Forest Reserve, which also included a trip to a massive limestone cave and a refreshing dip in a waterfall.

Sleeping Beauty

I had a peek at the suite where Queen Elizabeth spent the night. It’s a luxurious room at ground level, overlooking the garden, but I would recommend the new River View and Jungle View suites for families. They each sleep up to six guests with spacious patios that overlook the grounds. The suites can be joined together to accommodate large groups, giving you private access to the pool, which is open 24 hours a day. Complimentary guided tours to the Green Iguana Reserve and the Medicinal Trail are included. So is the royal treatment.

 The writer was a guest of the San Ignacio Resort Hotel. As always, her opinions are her own. For more photos of the Cayo District of Belize, follow her on Instagram @Where.To.Lady

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.