伯利兹的圣伊格纳西奥度假酒店——适合女王

1994 年英国女王伊丽莎白二世访问伯利兹时,她选择了 圣伊格纳西奥度假酒店 为她留下。 这家位于伯利兹西北部的豪华酒店靠近古老的玛雅遗址和山松林保护区的自然美景,每位客人都享有皇室般的待遇。

山松林保护区伯利兹

有时间在山松林保护区的瀑布下畅游。 图片来源:黛布拉·史密斯

皇家欢迎

圣伊格纳西奥度假酒店坐落在圣伊格纳西奥和圣埃琳娜双城上方的一座小山上,距伯利兹市约一小时车程。 在开车去酒店的路上,我的导游指着公路边高耸的木棉树。 这些高达70米的巨人是古代玛雅人的圣物。 根据玛雅神话,灵魂来自冥界,象征着树根沿着树干光滑的树皮,代表日常生活,并在树冠上达到 13 层天堂。

圣伊加西奥度假酒店

圣伊格纳西奥度假村酒店的大理石地板、异国情调的硬木和热烈的欢迎恭候您的光临。 照片提供:圣伊格纳西奥度假酒店

我们驶入受西班牙影响的度假村的环形车道,并在门口迎接了一条受欢迎的冰毛巾和一杯甜瓜汁。 一个优雅的热带硬木和花花铁楼梯通向我在二楼的套房。 穿过桃花心木地板,我打开落地窗,呼吸着温暖的热带空气。 这家拥有 27 间客房的家庭经营精品度假村建在山坡上,可俯瞰 Macal 河和 17 英亩的原始森林,赢得了“镇上唯一丛林”的称号。

绿鬣蜥保护项目

绿鬣蜥保护项目受到孩子和家长的一致好评 照片由 San Ignacio Resort Hotel 提供

早鸟

第二天早上,当我走出宽敞的露台时,映入眼帘的是淡粉色的日出,半掩着棕榈树。 几只巨嘴鸟在波光粼粼的绿松石池周围的树上站了起来,鼓起它们黄色的乳房,摇晃着它们闪亮的黑色翅膀上的晨雾。 它们像风向标一样在绿色植物中转动它们独特的长喙。

伯利兹是“twitchers”的完美起点,因为业余观鸟者被称为。 每天早上 6 点从大堂开始为期两小时的观鸟介绍之旅。 认真的观鸟者可能会喜欢在 XNUMX 月一年一度的伯利兹观鸟节期间参观。 康奈尔大学鸟类学系组织讲座。 要收听来自世界各地的鸟叫声和信息,请查看他们的免费应用程序, eBird.

酒店周围的丛林中有数十只鸟类,包括巨嘴鸟。 照片由圣伊格纳西奥度假村提供

像我这样懒惰的观鸟者可以在度假村的 Running W 餐厅的户外露台上一边享用由新鲜水果、鸡蛋和咖啡组成的精美早餐,一边看着鸟儿飞来飞去。 我还学会了欣赏“油炸千斤顶”,伯利兹相当于 beignets,轻轻油炸的糕点枕头,撒上糖粉。 Running W 供应早餐、午餐和晚餐,并在国际菜单上供应业主附近牧场的牛肉。

圣伊格纳西奥度假村的 Running W 餐厅

San Ignacio Resort Hotel 酒店的 Running W 餐厅提供国际菜单并享有泳池的露天美景。 照片来源黛布拉史密斯

推向市场,推向市场

伯利兹在 1871 年至 1981 年获得独立时被称为英属洪都拉斯。 英语仍然是该国的官方语言。 大约 18,000 人居住在圣伊格纳西奥和圣埃伦娜,当地建筑融合了殖民、克里奥尔和西班牙的影响。 大多数家庭都在粉红色、黄色和酸绿色的色调中涂上色彩鲜艳的石膏墙。 传统的高跷房屋紧挨着两层楼的房屋,带有古典拱门和雕刻的木制阳台。 从度假村到河边的市场,一条蜿蜒曲折的道路从山上蜿蜒而下。

圣伊格纳西奥伯利兹

一场用壁画填满城墙的运动正在进行中,城镇周围出现了几个漂亮的例子。 照片来源黛布拉史密斯

每周六早上,市场上挤满了来自周边乡村的小贩,出售新鲜水果和蔬菜、椰子油、一袋袋香料以及三种经典的中美洲主食:豆类、大米和玉米。 桌子上堆满了金字塔形的农产品,周围是一袋袋洋葱和土豆。 这里有各种各样的摊位:服装、鞋子和化妆品,各种尺寸和颜色的吊床,以及一些展示当地艺术品、木雕和石刻的纪念品商店。

圣伊格纳西奥周六市场

每个人都喜欢在圣伊格纳西奥的周六市场购物。 图片来源:黛布拉·史密斯

价格标明,无需讨价还价。 汇率为 XNUMX 伯利兹元兑 XNUMX 美元,已被广泛接受。 零钱以伯利兹货币退还,因此无需两次兑换,尽管镇上有一家丰业银行。

离开市场向主要步行街伯恩斯大道漫步,冰淇淋专卖店诱惑我品尝甜美的冰淇淋。 当地风味很好吃。 欧洽塔 是用大米做的,而且 螃蟹 用小酸樱桃调味。

带我走

回到酒店后,我向礼宾部非凡的 Onil 登记了第二天的旅行。 圣伊格纳西奥排名第一的旅游就在度假村自己的财产上进行。 绿鬣蜥保护区深受儿童和成人的喜爱。 旅游团每小时整点出发,参观这些温顺、友好的生物。 根据我的向导克鲁兹的说法,它们中的许多都是救援动物,它们都有自己独特的个性。 有些人甚至喜欢炫耀一下,爬上游客拍照。 场地上的其他旅行将带客人沿着药用植物小径和“夜晚的小动物”散步。

山松林保护区

山松林保护区充满了异国情调的动植物,例如这种以冷凝为生的空气植物。 图片来源:黛布拉·史密斯

度假村的内部旅游公司 Cayo Gial 可以让您在热带雨林中滑索、穿过洞穴、沿着马卡尔河划独木舟或骑马前往玛雅遗址。 圣伊格纳西奥附近有两个古老的玛雅遗址。 两者都值得一游。 Cahal Pech 拥有超过 34 座建筑可供探索,而位于城镇以西 40 英里的 Xunantunich 则拥有一座 130 米(XNUMX 英尺)高的 El Castillo 神庙。 我选择在山松森林保护区参加中美洲最高的瀑布千足瀑布一日游,其中还包括参观巨大的石灰岩洞穴和在瀑布中畅游。

睡美人

我瞥了一眼伊丽莎白女王过夜的套房。 这是一间位于地面层的豪华客房,可俯瞰花园,但我会为家庭推荐新的河景和丛林景观套房。 他们每人最多可睡六位客人,宽敞的露台俯瞰着场地。 套房可以连接在一起以容纳大型团体,让您可以私人使用全天 24 小时开放的游泳池。 包括前往绿鬣蜥保护区和药用小径的免费导游。 皇室待遇也是如此。

 作家是嘉宾 圣伊格纳西奥度假酒店. 一如既往,她的意见是她自己的。 有关伯利兹 Cayo 区的更多照片,请在 Instagram 上关注她 @Where.To.Lady

fbpx

A Jungle Retreat Fit for a Queen – The San Ignacio Resort Hotel, Belize

The San Ignacio Resort Hotel in Belize – Fit for a Queen

When Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II toured Belize in 1994, she chose the San Ignacio Resort Hotel for her stay. Every guest is treated like royalty at this luxurious property in northwest Belize, close to ancient Maya sites and the natural beauty of the Mountain Pine Forest Reserve.

Mountain Pine Forest Reserve Belize

There was time for a dip at the falls in the Mountain Pine Forest Reserve. Photo Credit: Debra Smith

A Royal Welcome

The San Ignacio Resort Hotel sits high on a hill above the twin towns of San Ignacio and Santa Elena, about an hour by car from Belize City. On the drive to the hotel, my guide pointed out the towering Ceiba trees along the highway. These giants that grow up to 70 meters high were sacred to the ancient Mayan people. According to Mayan mythology, souls travelled from the underworld, symbolized by the tree’s roots along the smooth bark of the trunk, which represented the everyday world, and up to the 13 levels of heaven in the tree’s leafy crown.

San Igacio Resort Hotel

Marble floors exotic hardwoods and a warm welcome await you at the San Ignacio Resort Hotel. Photo Courtesy: San Ignacio Resort Hotel

We pulled into the circular drive of the Spanish-influenced resort and were greeted at the door with a welcome chilled towel and a glass of sweet melon juice. An elegant staircase of tropical hardwoods and curlicued iron led to my suite on the second floor. Crossing the mahogany floor I opened the floor-to-ceiling windows to breathe in the warm tropical air. This 27-room family-run boutique resort is built on a hillside that overlooks the Macal River and 17 acres of virgin forest, earning it the title of “the only jungle in town”.

The Green Iguana Conservation Project

The Green Iguana Conservation Project is a hit with kids and parents alike Photo Courtesy of San Ignacio Resort Hotel

Early Birding

The next morning I was greeted by a pale pink sunrise half-hidden by palm trees as I stepped out onto the spacious patio. Several toucans took up positions in the trees around the sparkling turquoise pool, puffing out their yellow breasts and shaking the morning mist from their shiny black wings. They swivelled their distinctive long beaks in the greenery like weathervanes.

Belize is a perfect starting point for “twitchers”, as amateur birdwatchers are called. A two-hour introductory birdwatching tour starts each morning at 6 a.m. from the lobby. Serious birdwatchers might like to visit during the annual Belize Birding Festival in October. Cornell University’s Ornithology Department organizes the lectures. To hear birdcalls and info from around the world, check out their free app, eBird.

There are dozens of birds in the jungle around the hotel including toucans. Photo Courtesy of San Ignacio Resort

Lazy bird watchers like myself can simply watch the birds come to them while enjoying a fine breakfast of fresh fruit, eggs and coffee on the outdoor patio of the resort’s Running W Restaurant. I also learned to appreciate “fry jacks”, the Belizean equivalent of beignets, lightly deep-fried pastry pillows, dusted with icing sugar. The Running W serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and features beef from the owners’ nearby ranch on the international menu.

The Running W Restaurant at the San Ignacio Resort

The Running W Restaurant at the San Ignacio Resort Hotel offers an international menu and open-air views of the pool. Photo Credit Debra Smith

To Market, to Market

Belize was known as British Honduras from 1871 until 1981 when it gained independence. English is still the country’s official language. About 18,000 people live in San Ignacio and Santa Elena where the local architecture is a mix of colonial, Creole and Spanish influences. Most homes sport colourfully painted plaster walls in shades of hot pink, yellow and acid green. Traditional houses on stilts nestle next to two storey homes with classical arches and carved wooden balconies. A winding road zigzags down the hill from the resort to the market by the river.

San Ignacio Belize

There’s a movement afoot to fill the town walls with murals and several beautiful examples have popped up around town. Photo Credit Debra Smith

Every Saturday morning, the market fills with vendors from the surrounding countryside selling fresh fruits and vegetables, coconut oil, bags of spices and that trio of classic Central American staples: beans, rice and corn. Tables are piled high with pyramids of produce and surrounded by sacks of onions and potatoes. There are stalls of all kinds: clothing, shoes, and makeup, hammocks in a variety of sizes and colours, and a few souvenir shops with local art, wood carvings and engraved stones on display.

San Ignacio Saturday Market

Everyone likes to do a little shopping at the Saturday market in San Ignacio. Photo Credit: Debra Smith

Prices are clearly marked, and haggling is unnecessary. The exchange rate is two Belize dollars to one US dollar, which is widely accepted. Change is returned in Belizean currency, so there’s no need to exchange money twice, although there is a Scotiabank in town.

Leaving the market to stroll towards Burns Avenue, the main pedestrian street, The Ice Cream Shoppe tempted me in for a sweet sample of ice cream.  The local flavours were delicious; horchata is made with rice, and craboo is flavoured with small sour cherries.

Take Me Away

Back at the hotel, I checked in with concierge extraordinaire Onil about tours for the next day. The number one rated tour in San Ignacio takes place right on the resort’s own property. The Green Iguana Reserve is a hit with kids and adults alike. Tours leave every hour on the hour to visit these tame, friendly creatures. According to Cruz, my guide, many of them are rescue animals and they all have their own distinct personalities. Some even like to showboat a little, climbing up on to visitors for photo ops. Other tours on the grounds take guests on a medicinal plant trail, and a “critter of the night” walk.

Mountain Pine Forest Reserve

The Mountain Pine Forest Reserve is full of exotic flora and fauna like this air plant that lives on condensation. Photo Credit: Debra Smith

The resort’s in-house tour company, Cayo Gial, can have you zip-lining through the rainforest, tubing through a cave, canoeing down the Macal River or horseback riding to Mayan ruins. There are two ancient Mayan sites very close to San Ignacio. Both are worth a visit. Cahal Pech has over 34 structures to explore, while Xunantunich, eight miles west of town, has El Castillo, a 40 meter (130 foot) tall temple. I chose to take a day trip to Thousand Foot Falls, the highest falls in Central America, in the Mountain Pine Forest Reserve, which also included a trip to a massive limestone cave and a refreshing dip in a waterfall.

Sleeping Beauty

I had a peek at the suite where Queen Elizabeth spent the night. It’s a luxurious room at ground level, overlooking the garden, but I would recommend the new River View and Jungle View suites for families. They each sleep up to six guests with spacious patios that overlook the grounds. The suites can be joined together to accommodate large groups, giving you private access to the pool, which is open 24 hours a day. Complimentary guided tours to the Green Iguana Reserve and the Medicinal Trail are included. So is the royal treatment.

 The writer was a guest of the San Ignacio Resort Hotel. As always, her opinions are her own. For more photos of the Cayo District of Belize, follow her on Instagram @Where.To.Lady

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.