巴黎地下墓穴

巴黎下方的大腸深處是一座看不見的城市。 久違的市民的骨頭構成了錯綜複雜的建築,是令人著迷的巴黎地下墓穴。 入口處有一個標誌:“阿雷特! Céestici l'empire de la Mort”(“停止! 這是死者帝國”)

不是最熱情的歡迎,但在設定令人毛骨悚然的語氣方面,我自己無法讓自己變得更好。

在1700年代後期,巴黎的墓地已經滿負荷使用,其中一些手段使那些已死的人的屍體解散(最古老的墓地可追溯到5世紀的羅馬時代!),然後將其堆放在屋頂上或堆放骨頭以騰出空間已故者。 甚至連這些最終都容納不了,墓地也面臨混亂和不衛生的狀況。 通過了將墓地遷出巴黎市中心的法律。 墓地被倒空,骨頭在隧道和礦井中找到了一個新的地下房屋,這些隧道和礦井已經在光明之城下蜿蜒前進。

牧師用黑布包裹的骨頭車在每晚舉行的遊行中為死者高呼喊服,為時兩年,這是清空這座城市大部分墓地的時間。

巴黎地下墓穴

Les Catacombes©巴黎旅遊局–攝影師:Henri Garat

到了那個世紀之交,地下墓穴基本上就是一堆被扔在豎井上的骨頭,而巴黎礦務局局長決定對人類遺骸給予一定程度的尊嚴。 他是由頭骨和股骨創造的許多牆壁和設計以及戲劇性的銘文的負責人。

它成為一個可怕的興趣點,在法國社會上層梯隊訪問之前,1850開始允許公眾開放限制訪問權,即使使用音樂會的優秀音響效果。 在最近的時間裡,地下墓穴是納粹掩體,也是法國抵抗的秘密路線。 隧道在2007和2008中進行了重大修復。 在2009遭到破壞後,地下墓穴已關閉,但不久後又重新開放。

在2015, Les Catacombes 週二至週日開放,10是 - 8pm。 行動不便的人不能進入(計劃行走約兩公里,加上入口和出口處的樓梯)。14下的兒童必須由成人陪同,不建議兒童使用。

巴黎地下墓穴

禮貌的Airbnb

Spooky, Spectacular Paris Catacombs

Paris Catacombs

Deep in the bowels beneath Paris lies a city unseen. The bones of citizens long dead form an intricate architecture that is the chilling and fascinating Paris catacombs. A sign marks the entrance: “Arrête! C’est ici l’empire de la Mort” (“Stop! This is the Empire of the Dead”)

Not the most hospitable of welcomes, but in terms of setting the creepy tone, I couldn’t have put it better myself.

In the late 1700s, Parisian cemeteries were reaching capacity, with some resorting to disinterring the bodies of those long dead (the oldest cemeteries date from Roman times in the 5th century!) and piling them on roofs or creating piles of bones to make room for the more recently deceased. Even these eventually could hold no more and the cemeteries faced disarray and unsanitary conditions. Laws were passed to move cemeteries out of central Paris. The cemeteries were emptied and the bones found a new underground home in the tunnels and mines that were already winding their way under the City of Light.

Carts of bones draped in black cloth were led by priests chanting a service for the dead in a procession held nightly for two years: the time it took to empty most of the city’s cemeteries.

Paris Catacombs

Les Catacombes © Paris Tourist Office – Photographer : Henri Garat

By the turn of that century the catacombs were basically piles of bones that had been thrown down a shaft, and the director of Paris mine inspection decided to put some order and dignity to the human remains. He is the one responsible for many of the walls and designs created from skulls and femurs, as well as the dramatic inscriptions.

It became a macabre point of interest, visited by the upper echelon of French society before restricted access was granted to the public beginning in 1850, even using the excellent acoustics of the space for concerts. In more recent times the catacombs served as Nazi bunkers as well as clandestine routes for the French Resistance. The tunnels underwent a major restoration in 2007 and 2008. Following a bout of vandalism in 2009, the Catacombs were closed, but re-opened shortly after.

In 2015, Les Catacombes are open Tuesday-Sunday, 10 am – 8pm. They are not accessible for people with reduced mobility (plan on walking about two kilometres, plus the stairs at the entrance and exit.) Children under 14 must be accompanied by an adult, and the site is not recommended for young children.

Paris Catacombs

courtesy of Airbnb

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
One Response
  1. May 17, 2018

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *