与孩子站起来冲浪

站在加拿大的Paddleboarding

站起来Paddleboarding(SUP)是目前世界上增长最快的运动,有充分的理由。 这很容易,学习曲线很低,大多数人都可以在第一次参加棋盘时没有以前的经验或教训。 这也是一项伟大的家庭运动,因为父母可以在水上玩耍的同时孩子们在沙滩上玩耍。 一旦你建立了一点信心,你也可以开始带着你的孩子在你的板子上。 第一次尝试SUP的15分钟内,我可以和我的儿子坐在板子前面划桨,我们喜欢在浅水区游泳。 学龄儿童和青少年也可以尝试在较短的棋盘上自己划球,使SUP成为全家一起参加的绝佳体育项目。

在您访问您的第一个湖或跑到最近的海滩之前,您需要让自己配备板,桨和PFD。 选择板子作为新手的基本经验法则越大越好。 板越宽越长,您将会越稳定,您将可以安全地放置在棋盘上的重量越多。 尽管10的棋盘可能足够容纳一个较小的成年人,但它可能没有足够的浮力,无法让额外的家庭成员与您一起骑行,或者有更大的配偶轮流使用棋盘。 我建议在第一次开始时,将一块至少为11的电路板放在12'中,宽度为31-33“。

第一次尝试SUP的地方:

  • 从您所在城市的其中一个户外故事中租一个周末的板子,并在附近的湖泊露营。 保证你将成为海滩上最受欢迎的家庭,因为每个人都想借用该板并带孩子去游泳区游览。 即使是孩子们也会乞求尝试在棋盘上划球,并且可能会让你惊讶于他们的平衡和技巧。
  • 寻找在当地附近的湖泊或海滩租用SUP套餐的当地户外用品。 这是迄今为止最简单的选择,因为它消除了小型车家庭的运输因素。
  • 联系您的城市公园部门,了解哪些城市湖泊允许划船和站立桨板。
  • 寻找提供课程,小组课程和导游的户外故事。 这是一个很好的方式来结识新的划船伙伴,以及让当地人喜欢SUP的内部新闻。
  • 无论你选择哪个桨板,都知道早晨是划桨的最佳时间,下午强风会起作用。 建议您在平静的一天尝试使用平衡和划桨技术时尝试SUP。 许多湖泊还有机动船的交通,因此建议在湖上学习或与儿童一起划船时,靠近岸边。

祝你好运,享受水上乐趣,作为一个全家人尝试一种简单而有趣的新运动!

这里有一些SUP资源的链接和SUP的地方 卡尔加里, 温哥华埃德蒙顿.

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

fbpx

Stand Up Paddleboarding with Kids

Stand up Paddleboarding in Canada

Stand up Paddleboarding (SUP) is the fastest growing sport around the world right now for good reason. It’s easy, there’s a low learning curve, and most people can jump on a board their first time out with no previous experience or lessons. It’s also a great family sport because parents can take turns out on the water while the children play at the beach. Once you build up a bit of confidence, you can also start taking the kids out with you on your board. I was able to paddle with my son sitting on the front of my board within 15 minutes of trying SUP for the first time and we enjoy paddling together around shallow swimming areas. School-aged kids and teens will also be able to try paddling by themselves on a shorter board making SUP a great sport for the whole family to participate in together.

Before you visit your first lake or run to the closest beach, you’ll need to get yourself equipped with a board, paddle, and PFD. The basic rule of thumb for choosing a board as a novice paddler, is the bigger the better. The wider and longer your board, the more stable you will be and the more weight you will be able to safely place on your board. While a 10’ board may be big enough for a smaller adult, it might not have enough buoyancy for an additional family member riding with you or a larger spouse taking turns with the board. I recommend getting a board that’s at least 11 to 12’ in length and 31-33” in center width when you first get started.

Where to try SUP for the first time:

  • Rent a board for a weekend from one of the outdoor stories in your city, and go camping at a nearby lake. Guaranteed you will be the most popular family on the beach as everybody wants to borrow the board and take the kids for tours around the swimming area. Even the kids will be begging to try their hand at paddling on the board and may surprise you at their balance and skill.
  • Look for local outfitters that rent SUP packages on-site at nearby lakes or beaches. This is by far the easiest option as it eliminates the transportation factor for families with small cars.
  • Contact your City’s Parks Department to find out which city lakes permit boating and stand up Paddleboarding.
  • Look for outdoor stories offering lessons, group classes, and guided tours. This is a great way to meet new paddling partners as well as to get the inside scoop on where locals like to SUP.
  • Wherever you choose to paddle, know that mornings are always the best time to paddle and that strong winds can pick up in the afternoon. It is recommended that you try SUP on a calm day when you are first trying to work on your balance and paddling technique. Many lakes also see motor boat traffic so it is advised to stick close to shore when learning or paddling with children on a lake.

Good luck and have fun on the water as a whole family trying a new sport that’s easy and fun!

Here are some links to SUP resources and places to SUP in Calgary, Vancouver and Edmonton.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

The Government of Canada has an official global travel advisory in effect due to COVID-19:
Avoid non-essential travel outside Canada until further notice. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.