fbpx

为什么沃特顿湖国家公园应该列入您的家人名单

照片信用–我的沃特顿旅游

您是否曾经被目的地彻底震撼? 这是我最近一次前往沃特顿湖国家公园的经历。 阿尔伯塔(Alberta)的大草原突然坠落在落基山脉(Rocky Mountains)中,就连景色也悄悄溜到您身上,使您在各个方向上都能一览无余。

沃特顿湖国家公园常常被艾伯塔省较大的国家公园班夫和贾斯珀所遮盖。 实际上,即使从卡尔加里向南驱车3个小时,许多人(包括加拿大人)都从未听说过它。 但是,今年的本地旅行改变了这一现状,因为许多附近的加拿大人(例如我)都进行了首次访问。 根据我的发现,动手的沃特顿湖国家公园应该在您的家人中。

上水的理想场所

您可能已经猜到了,沃特顿湖国家公园有很多水。 沃特顿湖链包括100多公里的河流和80个湖泊。 这三个主要的湖泊很容易进行水上运动-镇场位于大型的上湖(横跨美国边界进入冰川国家公园),公园路沿中湖和下湖延伸。 翡翠湾美丽而宁静,而红雀湖则是另一个避风港。

凯特(Kate)在翡翠湾(Emerald Bay)的SUP上–凯特·罗伯森(Kate Robertson)

您可以在Pat's租用皮划艇或立式桨板 沃特顿,“旧加油站”(它们在翻新时保留了老式的水泵),现在被称为出租,纪念品和糖果类物品的“去处”(提示:您可以闻到新鲜的爆米花气味在城镇中飘荡,请在这里购买)。

沃特顿湖由于被雪堆喂养而很冷,这是一个很好的动力,如果您正在使用SUP,不要掉进去。 如果您或您的孩子是初学者,则最好租皮艇。

沃特顿湖国家公园的野生动物景点

鹿在沃特顿的主要街道上漫步–凯特·罗伯森(Kate Robertson)

由于草原在这里突然与落基山脉相遇,因此生物群落重叠,这使得沃特顿湖成为动物多样性的温床。 目击野生动物是常态,而不是偶然的机会,包括熊和驼鹿等大型哺乳动物。 鹿和大角羊经常在镇上漫游。 湖泊链也是250多种迁徙鸟类(包括天鹅和红雀)的重要停留地。

在落基山脉远足

俯瞰沃特顿市镇和上湖,进入蒙大拿州的冰川国家公园-凯特·罗伯森

沃特顿湖国家公园(Waterton Lakes National Park)拥有255公里的步道,每项能力都可以远足。 我真的很喜欢令人心跳加速的熊 驼峰步道,这是一次短暂的(直的)上下徒步旅行,对于城镇地区以及从上湖一直到蒙大纳州峰的景色,这都是值得的。 由于2017年大火席卷了山谷的这一侧,熊的驼峰步道直到今年初才被关闭以进行维修,而且由于大火烧毁了许多较大的树木,每一个发夹状转向都可以看到,包括标志性的威尔士亲王酒店的恒星景色。

在地穴湖步道上走出隧道的另一侧–凯特·罗伯森(Kate Robertson)

我也建议 地穴湖步道 (尽管您有年幼的孩子,但您可能无法到达顶部的湖泊),这是一天更长的徒步旅行,在许多不同的水平上都是独一无二的。 要到达小路,您需要乘船游览 沃特顿海岸线游轮公司 ($ 28.00包括往返旅程)。 这条小径可立即到达山顶,穿过郁郁葱葱的山林,然后到达亚高山地形,在那里您可以欣赏瀑布的壮丽景色,并沿着峡谷向下到达湖面。 在您到达山顶的湖泊之前,您需要蹲下一条天然隧道,爬上梯子并沿着狭窄的山脊行走,直到您挂在一根导丝上(听起来比以前更可怕)。 距这个障碍物路线不远,您便到达了地穴湖。

单车径

骑自行车停下来观看Kutenai Brown多用途步道上的野花–凯特·罗伯森(Kate Robertson)

公园里有一些奇妙的铺砌的多用途自行车道(帕特沃特顿有自行车租赁,包括电动自行车)。 我最喜欢的是 库特奈·布朗,一条铺设了6.9公里的多用途小径,与湖泊接壤,并穿过充满野花的草原。 沃特顿被誉为加拿大的野花之都(1,000月举行野花节)。 公园内有175多种维管植物,其中包括在艾伯塔省发现的所有野花物种的一半,其中XNUMX种列为稀有物种。 仅在沃特顿发现二十人。

骑马越野赛

骑在阿尔卑斯马St对面的山脊上–凯特·罗伯森(Kate Robertson)

位于公园大门内, 高山马able 拥有超过200公里的步道。 他们自1969年以来一直在运营,尽管在2017年大火之后由于重建马stable而关闭了几年。 拥有50匹高山马,这是一种无所不能的能力,因此,即使您的孩子从未骑过马,这也是一种完美的学习体验(适用于XNUMX岁以上)。

我的向导提供了大量信息,当我们沿着高速公路的山脊骑行时,强劲的风吹过我的马鬃,她指出了当地的地标和植物。

了解夜空

沃特顿已被公认为 黑暗天空公园 由国际黑暗天空协会(International Dark-Sky Association)提供,当您看到几乎没有光污染时,您很快就会明白原因。 您将需要与当地导游一起预订夜间徒步旅行 黑暗天空指南 谁会指出占星术的亮点。 如果您从未在黑暗中徒步旅行,我可以保证这是爆炸的事实(不用担心,您将获得大灯来帮助您导航!)。

沃特顿的夜空–克里斯·罗宾逊(Kris Robinson)-黑暗天空指南

夏天是观看银河系的最佳时机,但一年四季可见不同的星座,因此,只要它不多云,就可以肯定会看到一些有趣的东西。 Dark Sky Guides也正在公园大门外打开天文馆的过程,该馆将在未来几个月内开放。

显然,沃特顿湖为整个家庭开展了许多有趣的活动。 在这19天的COVID-XNUMX期间,户外活动是最安全的地方,这是否将是您下一次“本地旅行”之旅?

当你去:

我住的汽车旅馆–归功于Kate Robertson

对于一个小镇,这里有很多住宿选择 威尔斯亲王 到基本但很可爱的复古汽车旅馆, 熊山汽车旅馆,我住的地方。

用餐选择也是如此。 我可以在这里担保自制的玉米饼 塔可吧 (不过,如果您想要他们著名的鳄梨鳄梨酱,那就尽早到达那里-卖完了)。 和 湖畔扒房 有一个可以俯瞰湖景的有趣露台,提供美味的食物和美味的凯撒,这些凯撒的装饰就像一顿饭一样。

Lakeside Chophouse ca盛宴-凯特·罗伯森(Kate Robertson)

有关沃特顿湖国家公园的更多旅游信息,请访问 我的沃特顿.

沃特顿湖国家公园主持了作者。 他们没有审查这个故事。

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
一个响应
  1. 26年2020月XNUMX日

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Why Waterton Lakes National Park Should Be On Your Family Go-To List

Photo credit – My Waterton Tourism

Have you ever been completely blown away by a destination? That was my experience on a recent trip to Waterton Lakes National Park. Even the scenery sneaks up on you here, as the Alberta prairies abruptly crash into the Rocky Mountains, leaving you with jaw-dropping views in every direction.

Waterton Lakes National Park is often overshadowed by Alberta’s bigger national parks, Banff and Jasper. In fact, many people (including Canadians) have never even heard of it, even though it’s only a 3-hour drive south from Calgary. But this year of travel-local is changing that, as many nearby Canadians, like me, are making a first-time visit. From what I discovered, hands-down, Waterton Lakes National Park should be on your family go-to list.

The Perfect Place to Get Out On the Water

As you may have guessed, Waterton Lakes National Park has lots of water. The Waterton Lakes Chain consists of over 100 kilometres of rivers and 80 lakes. The three major lakes are easily accessible for water sports–the townsite is located on the large Upper Lake (which stretches across the US border into Glacier National Park), and the Park road runs along the Middle and Lower Lakes. Emerald Bay is beautiful and calm, and Linnet Lake is another sheltered choice.

Kate on the SUP in Emerald Bay – credit Kate Robertson

You can rent kayaks or stand-up paddleboards at Pat’s Waterton, the “old gas station” (they preserved the old-style pumps when they renovated), now known as the “go-to” place for rentals, souvenirs and confectionary items (tip: that fresh popcorn scent you can smell wafting through town, buy it here).

The Waterton Lakes are cold, due to being snowpack-fed, which is good motivation not to fall in if you’re on a SUP. If you or your kids are beginners, probably best to rent a kayak.

Wildlife Sightings in Waterton Lakes National Park

Deer strolling across the main street in Waterton – credit Kate Robertson

Because the prairie grasslands suddenly meet the Rockies here, there’s an overlap of biomes, which makes Waterton Lakes a hotbed of animal diversity. Wildlife sightings are the norm, rather than the off-chance, including large mammals like bears and moose. Deer and bighorn sheep often roam right through the townsite. The lake chain is also an essential stopover for over 250 species of migrating birds, including swans and rosy-finches.

Hiking in the Rocky Mountains

View over Waterton townsite and down Upper Lake, into Montana’s Glacier National Park – credit Kate Robertson

With 255 kilometres of trails in Waterton Lakes National Park, there’s a hike for every ability. I really liked the heart-pumping Bear’s Hump Trail, a short (straight) up and down hike which is well worth it for the views of the townsite and all the way down Upper Lake to the Montana peaks. Due to the 2017 fire that ravaged this side of the valley, Bear’s Hump trail was closed for repair until earlier this year,  but also due to the fire which burnt a lot of the bigger trees, there’s a view from every hairpin switchback, including a stellar view of the iconic Prince of Wales hotel.

Coming out the other side of the tunnel on the Crypt Lake trail hike – credit Kate Robertson

I also recommend the Crypt Lake Trail (although if you have young children, you might not make it to the lake at the top), a longer day hike, which is unique on a lot of different levels. To get to the trailhead, you need to take a boat ride with the Waterton Shoreline Cruise Co. ($28.00 covers the trip there and back). The trail immediately heads up-mountain, through lush mountain forest, before hitting sub-alpine terrain where you have some stunning views of waterfalls and down the canyon towards the lake. Before you get to the lake at the top, you need to crouch-walk your way through a natural tunnel, up a ladder and along a narrow ridge, as you hang on to a guidewire (it sounds scarier than it is). Just a short distance on from this obstacle course, you will arrive at Crypt Lake.

Cycling the Trails

A bike stop to view the wildflowers on the Kutenai Brown multi-use trail – credit Kate Robertson

There are some fantastic paved, multi-use cycling trails (Pat’s Waterton has bike rentals, including e-bikes) in the Park. My favourite was the Kutenai Brown, a paved 6.9-kilometre multi-use trail that borders the lakes and passes through grasslands filled with wildflowers. Waterton is known as the wildflower capital of Canada (they have a Wildflower Festival in June). There are more than 1,000 vascular plant species in the Park, including half of all the wildflower species found in Alberta, with 175 listed as rare. Twenty are found only in Waterton.

Horseback Trail Riding

Riding the ridge across from Alpine Stables – credit Kate Robertson

Located within the Park gates, Alpine Stables has access to over 200 kilometres of trails. They have been operating since 1969, although they were closed for a couple of years after the 2017 wildfire, as they rebuilt their stable. With a stock of 50 mountain horses, there’s one for any ability, so even if your child has never been riding, this is the perfect learning experience (for ages five and up).

My guide was a wealth of information, and as we rode along the ridge across the highway, with the strong wind blowing through my horse’s mane, she pointed out local landmarks and flora.

Learn About the Night Skies

Waterton has been recognized as a Dark Sky Park by the International Dark-Sky Association, and when you see how little light pollution there is, you will soon see why. You will want to book a night hike with a local guide from Dark Sky Guides who will point out the astrological highlights. If you’ve never hiked in the dark, I can vouch for the fact that it’s a blast (don’t worry–you’ll be provided with headlamps to help you navigate!).

Waterton night skies – credit Kris Robinson-Dark Sky Guides

Summer is the best time to see the Milky Way, but there are different constellations visible throughout the year, so as long as it’s not cloudy, it’s a certainty you’ll see something interesting. Dark Sky Guides is also in the process of opening a planetarium just outside the Park gates, which should be open within the next few months.

Clearly, Waterton Lakes has a ton of fun activities for the whole family. With the outdoors being one of the safest places to be during these COVID-19 days, could this be your next “travel-local” getaway?

When you go:

The motel where I stayed – credit Kate Robertson

For a small town, there are a lot of accommodation options here, from the historic Prince of Wales to the basic-but-cute retro motel, Bear Mountain Motel, where I stayed.

The same goes for dining choices.  I can vouch for the house-made tacos at The Taco Bar (get there as early as possible, though, if you want their famous guacamole—it sells out fast). And the Lakeside Chophouse has a fun patio overlooking the lake, good food and yummy caesars—the ones with a garnish that eats like a meal.

The hearty caesar at Lakeside Chophouse – credit Kate Robertson

For more Waterton Lakes National Park tourist info, go to My Waterton.

Waterton Lakes National Park hosted the author. They did not review this story.

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
One Response
  1. August 26, 2020

Leave a Reply

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.