一对一的周末? 把你的孩子送到波士顿

“想去看看波士顿的二十一名飞行员吗?”我问我13岁的女儿。 答案对音乐会来说是一个响亮的回答,但对目的地犹豫不决。 “我在波士顿有什么想做的吗?”她问道。 我向她保证,她会喜欢做很多事情,我绝对不辜负我的意思。

当你有小孩时,很容易创建旅行路线。 游玩场所,儿童友好博物馆,酒店和餐馆都会引起您的注意。 可能更具挑战性的是找到足够有趣的地方,让你的孩子在几个小时内无处不在。



幸运的是,Beantown有很多适合补间和青少年活动的活动。

该怎么办

鉴于波士顿是美国最古老的城市之一,在我们的旅行中加入一点教育是有道理的(毕竟她缺少了几天的学校)。 自1700s和历史悠久的昆西市场购物中心以来,我们参观了Faneuil Hall,一个会议厅和市场。 在近300岁的建筑物中购买最新的服装款式是超现实的。 这是其中一站 自由之路,您可以参加许多不同主题的历史徒步旅行之一。 提前检查 - 我们想参加革命女性主题之旅,但它只在3月份提供。 在夏天,海盗和爱国者之旅是青少年的热门话题。

遵循教育主题,我们参加了哈佛大学的免费游览,由现在的学生提供 深红色的关键社会。 我们花了一个小时在哈佛大学附近散步,看到宿舍和图书馆,了解这个机构的历史和今天的学生生活。 我们不得不在之间做出选择 自然史博物馆哈佛美术博物馆,博物馆更符合我女儿的兴趣。 他们的小熊维尼展览非常精致,是我们两个人怀旧的童年时光。

波士顿美术博物馆

波士顿美术博物馆

我们给了自己一个两小时的窗口去游览 新英格兰水族馆,事实证明它太短了。 我们花了将近五个小时的时间观察海豹的训练计划,查看触摸水箱,观察企鹅的喂食时间,以及探索数十辆坦克。 漫游口译员提供了额外的信息,并有机会握住和触摸各种模型甚至一桶小水母。

新英格兰水族馆

新英格兰水族馆

在我们城市的最后一天,我们参观了 人行天桥 在保德信中心。 事后看来,我们应该在第一天抽出时间。 整个55th楼层提供令人难以置信的城市和海港景观,您可以使用设备让您聆听建筑物和您正在观看的区域的历史。 我们待了好几个小时,听了所有的录音,并将自己定位于城市。 还有一些互动展品和大量的展示。

波士顿天空步道

波士顿天空步道

我们做了一个深夜跋涉 三叉戟书店和咖啡厅。 打开午夜,这个时髦的聚会对我的书虫来说是一个有趣的最后一站。

住哪里

想要在我们的第一个晚上在哈佛附近的地方,我们住在非常酷 Studio Allston Hotel 在Allston。 每个房间都是由不同的艺术家设计的艺术品 - 定制艺术,时髦的家具和其他家具是拍照的完美背景。 它距离7-11和Trader Joe只有一个街区,我们在很大程度上储存了我们在加拿大买不到的美国糖果。

我们还在市中心的中心度过了几个晚上 公园广场酒店。 距离中央地铁站仅有几步之遥,周围环绕着购物场所,餐厅,历史悠久的教堂和Boston Commons城市公园。 淡季的访问意味着我们无法在公园内乘坐天鹅船,但如果船只开放,它将成为我们要做的事情的首选。

工大餐厅

波士顿不乏凉爽的地方吃饭 - 尽管我挑食,但一些较高端的餐厅已经不在运行中(“太喜欢!”)。 ParishCafé提示点击房间 结合了时尚的装饰和美妙的食物,这对我的地铁三明治爱孩子来说并不是太前卫。 我们特别停止流行 凯恩的甜甜圈 并品尝了波士顿奶油馅饼甜甜圈和史诗般的奥利奥甜甜圈。 这些巨大的,新鲜的烤箱甜甜圈具有过度口味,是必须尝试的。

凯恩的甜甜圈

想在波士顿寻找更多与孩子们有趣的事情吗? 查看 14在波士顿为孩子们做的很棒的事情.

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

One on One Weekend Away? Take Your Teen to Boston

“Wanna go see Twenty One Pilots in Boston?” I asked my 13-year-old daughter. The answer was a resounding yes to the concert, but hesitation over the destination. “Is there anything I’d like to do in Boston?” she asked. I assured her there would be plenty of things to do that she’d enjoy, and I definitely lived up to my word.

It’s easy to create travel itineraries when you have young kids. Play places, kid-friendly museums, and hotels and restaurants clamour for your attention. It can be more challenging find places fun enough to get your teen off their ubiquitous tech for a few hours.



Luckily, Beantown has plenty of activities perfect for the tween and teen set.

What to Do

Given that Boston is one of the oldest cities in the United States, it made sense to incorporate a little education into our trip (she was missing a few days of school after all). We visited Faneuil Hall, a meeting hall and marketplace since the 1700s and the historic Quincy Market shopping complex. It was surreal to shop for the latest clothing styles in a building nearly 300 years old. It was one of the stops on the Freedom Trail, and you can take one of many historic walking tours with different themes. Check ahead – we wanted to take the Revolutionary Women themed tour, but it’s only offered in March. In the summer, the Pirates and Patriots tour is a big hit with teens.

Keeping with the educational theme, we joined a free tour at Harvard, offered by current students through the Crimson Key Society. We spent an hour walking around Harvard, seeing residence halls and libraries and learning about both the history of the institution and student life today. We had to choose between the Harvard Museum of Natural History and the Museum of Fine Arts, and the museum was a better fit with my daughter’s interests. Their Winnie the Pooh exhibit was incredibly detailed, and a nostalgic walk through her childhood for both of us.

Boston Museum of Fine Arts

Boston Museum of Fine Arts

We gave ourselves a two-hour window to tour the New England Aquarium, and it proved to be way too short. We spent nearly five hours watching the seals go through their training program, checking out the touch tank, watching penguin feeding time, and exploring the dozens of tanks. Roaming interpreters provided additional information and the opportunity to hold and touch various models and even a tub of tiny jellyfish.

New England Aquarium

New England Aquarium

On our last day in the city, we visited the Skywalk at the Prudential Center. In hindsight, we should have made time for it on our first day. The entire 55th floor offers incredible views of the city and harbour, and you walk the perimeter of the floor with a device that allows you to listen to the history of the buildings and areas you’re viewing. We stayed for hours, listening to all the recordings, and orientating ourselves to the city. There are also some interactive exhibits and plenty of displays.

Boston Skywalk

Boston Skywalk

We made a late night trek to Trident Booksellers & Café. Open to midnight, this hip hangout was a fun final stop for my bookworm.

Where to Stay

Wanting a spot near Harvard for our first night, we stayed at the incredibly cool Studio Allston Hotel in Allston. Each room is an art piece designed by a different artist – the custom art, funky furniture and other furnishings were the perfect backdrop for selfie-taking. It’s just a block from a 7-11 and a Trader Joe’s, and we stocked up heavily on American candy we can’t buy in Canada.

We also spent a few nights in the heart of downtown at the Park Plaza Hotel. It’s just a few steps from a central subway stop and surrounded by shopping, restaurants, historic churches and the Boston Commons urban park. Visiting off-season meant we couldn’t ride the Swan Boats in the park, but it would have topped our list of things to do had the boats been open.

Where to Eat

Boston has no shortage of cool places to eat – with my picky eater in tow though, some of the higher end restaurants were out of the running (“Too fancy!). Parish Café and Tip Tap Room combined trendy décor with fantastic food that wasn’t too avant-garde for my Subway sandwich-loving kid. We made a special stop to popular Kane’s Donuts and sampled the Boston Cream Pie doughnut and an epic Oreo doughnut. These huge, fresh-from-the-oven doughnuts with over-the-top flavours are must-try.

Kane's Donuts

Looking for more fun things to do with kids in Boston? Check out 14 Awesome Things to Do With Kids in Boston.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *