fbpx

通过卡尔加里四个自助糕点爬行

我即将在卡尔加里的LaBoulangerieBakeryCafé品尝我的第一块kouign-Amann,法国面包和绉纱店因其全黄油糕点而备受尊敬,其中包括来自法国布列塔尼地区的这种片状美食,当时店主Shosh Cohen告诉我人们众所周知,争夺这一款待的最后一块。

一口气,我祝贺自己花了一天的时间通过甜点去发现卡尔加里,包括通过自己动手做的糕点爬行来找到这家热闹的咖啡馆。 想要抓住孩子并塑造自己的踪迹? 这里有四个流口水的景点。

1。 LaBoulangerieBakeryCafé

关于kouign-amann的一切都在这个位于卡尔加里Mission区时尚4th街上的繁华咖啡馆特别,由Cohen和她的丈夫Navot Raz(Cordon Bleu毕业生)经营。 味道是纯黄油羊角面包和酥皮糕点之间的独特组合,所以它的脆脆和粘性同时在底部加入焦糖,就像糖果一样。 咖啡馆的其他亮点,给卡尔加里带来欢乐和一点点欧洲,是各种年龄段所钟爱的巧克力和黄油羊角面包,从辣妹到桥牌锦标赛组织者。

Calgary La Boulangerie面包 - 照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Calgary La Boulangerie面包 - 照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Cohen和Raz遵循两个原则:首先,他们只出售新鲜食品 - 一天的剩饭剩余物被捐赠并分成几个城市避难所。 其次,他们不会在配料上妥协,只使用黄油,新鲜鸡蛋,柠檬和苹果,真正的Callebaut巧克力,以及从头开始制作的所有东西。 “在一天结束时,人们用舌头投票。 你可以拥有美丽的糕点,但如果味道不好,人们就不会回来了,“科恩说道,他知道大多数顾客的名字,喜欢介绍和联系。 “对我们来说,当我们去上班时,我们是从心里做的,当你爱你所做的事情时,你可以在糕点中感受到它。”

2. Alforno面包店和咖啡厅

许多甜点带来了一大批顾客到沿着弓河的Eau Claire这个独立的咖啡馆,餐厅和面包店,但提拉米苏 - 来自一个传承了几代人的食谱 - 是这里和其他六个剧院中的一个项目一群餐馆。 这是总统达里奥·贝罗尼(Dario Berloni)的意大利奶奶的配方,这是一种在Berloni家中出名的甜点。 Alforno也可以说是这个城市最好的马卡龙之一,提供从越橘到s'mores不断变化的口味。 芝士蛋糕(去咸焦糖)和摩卡榛子蛋糕是其他必须尝试的。

卡尔加里 -  Alforno糕点 - 照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Alforno糕点 - 照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Alforno拥有现代简约的装饰,点缀其意大利传统,是一个Instagram的最爱,因为顾客在大型休息区,壁炉旁享用(它也是一个目的地餐厅,供应意大利面,沙拉,三明治,甚至是软冰淇淋)。 ,甚至可以在户外野外去Bow River野餐。 Alforno还为所有Teatro酒店提供新鲜出炉的面包,包括标志性的种子面包,近乎亲爱的。 Teatro的行政主厨Matthew Batey表示,为面包计划创建一个家是三年前启动Alforno的真正动力。 “我们以为我们正在建一家带有小糕点咖啡馆的面包店; 它变得如此受欢迎,我们开始在接缝处破裂。“

3。 会标咖啡

妈妈需要她的咖啡修理和更好的地方停止在糕点爬行加油比独立的亲爱的Monogram咖啡,有三个城市位置和授权激发美妙的咖啡体验。 无论您在咖啡旅行的哪个阶段,Java专家和联合创始人Ben Put(多次加拿大咖啡师冠军)Jeremy Ho和Justin Eyford都能为您提供平易近人的建议。 他们烤了所有的豆子,使过滤后的咖啡非常好,训练有素的工作人员像老板一样制作浓缩咖啡。

卡尔加里 - 会标咖啡咖啡吐司和羊角面包 - 照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron

会标咖啡咖啡,吐司和羊角面包 - 照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron

将您的饮料与创意,优雅和浓厚的吐司切片搭配,使用来自Sidewalk Citizen的酸面包制作的菜单夹具,包括您选择的馅料,从黄油或当地蜜饯到创意和梦幻般的组合,如中东酸奶,烤榛子和亲爱的。 他们从Butter Block&Co。出售的双层烤杏仁羊角面包也非常壮观。 如果你想快速喝杯,请在他们位于市中心第五大道广场的位置寻找荣誉吧。 何先生说:“这反映了它所在社区的能量,你可以喝咖啡而不必排队等候。”

4。 Pie Junkie

你知道,当你无法抗拒社交媒体写作时,一个地方已经抓住了你的心: “亲爱的Pie Junkie:我今天可能获得的19磅,我头发上的馅饼碎屑,完全值得。” 有了21类型的甜味和咸味馅饼(从澳大利亚牛肉到黄油鸡肉,咸味蜂蜜馅饼到苹果),您也可以带着对这款魅力者的赞赏而离开 两个卡尔加里的位置.

卡尔加里 -  Pie Junkie pie pic  - 照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Pie Junkie - 照片Shelley Cameron-McCarron

菜单冠军采用独特的木制馅饼圈制作而成的全酥皮糕点(从未猪油)。 “我们在这些戒指中建立了每个馅饼,”Pie Junkie在社交媒体帖子中解释道。 “它们就是为了这个目的而设计的。 它给我们一个更直接的馅饼,没有底部和糕点唇的深角切口。 它还允许我们在床单上烤,这样我们就可以看到每个馅饼的底部,所以我们知道它们是完美的。“酸樱桃是最畅销的,关键的酸橙馅饼粉丝会想要切成神圣的 - 从头开始切片。 令人印象深刻的咸味食品绝对不容忽视,包括用内部羊肉肩制成的牧羊人馅饼,以及混合了浅色和深色肉,土豆,胡萝卜,豌豆和珍珠洋葱的鸡肉馅饼。新鲜的龙蒿和全黄油糕点包裹。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于COVID-19,加拿大政府拥有正式的全球旅行咨询服务:
避免在加拿大以外进行不必要的旅行,直到另行通知。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

A Four Stop Do-It-Yourself Pastry Crawl Through Calgary

I’m about to sample my first piece of kouign-Amann at Calgary’s LaBoulangerie Bakery Café, the French bread and crepe shop revered for its all-butter pastries, including this flaky goodness inspired from France’s Brittany region, when owner Shosh Cohen tells me people have been known to fight over the last piece of this treat.

One bite and I’m congratulating myself for devoting a day to discovering Calgary through its desserts, including finding my way to this lively café on a do-it-yourself-style pastry crawl. Want to grab the kids and fashion your own trail? Here are four drool-worthy spots.

1. LaBoulangerie Bakery Café

Everything about the kouign-amann is special at this bustling café on trendy 4th street in Calgary’s Mission neighbourhood, run by Cohen and her husband Navot Raz, a Cordon Bleu graduate. The taste is a unique combination between plain butter croissant and puff pastry, so it’s crunchy and gooey at the same time with a twist of caramelised sugar in the bottom, just like candy. Other standouts at the café, bringing joy and a little piece of Europe to Calgary, are the pain au chocolate and butter croissant, beloved by all ages, from babes to bridge tournament organizers.

Calgary La Boulangerie breads - Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Calgary La Boulangerie breads – Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Cohen and Raz operate by two principles: First, they sell fresh items only—day-old leftovers are donated and divided between several city shelters. Second, they don’t compromise on ingredients, using butter only, and fresh eggs, lemons and apples, real Callebaut chocolate, and everything made from scratch. “At the end of the day, people vote with the tongue. You can have beautiful pastry but if it doesn’t taste good people won’t come back,” says Cohen, who knows most customers by name and likes to introduce and connect. “For us, when we go to work, we do it from the heart, and when you love what you do, you can feel it in the pastry.”

2. Alforno Bakery and Café

Scores of sweet treats bring in a stream of customers to this standalone café, restaurant and bakery in Eau Claire along the Bow River, but the tiramisu—from a recipe passed through the generations—is the one item found here and at all six other Teatro Group of restaurants. It’s president Dario Berloni’s Italian grandmother’s recipe, a dessert famous in the Berloni household. Alforno also makes arguably one of the city’s best macarons, serving ever-changing flavours from huckleberry to s’mores. The cheesecakes (go for the salted caramel) and the mocha hazelnut cake are other must-tries.

Calgary - Alforno pastries - Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Alforno pastries – Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

With modern, minimalist décor and nods to its Italian heritage, Alforno is an Instagram fave, as customers feast (it’s a destination restaurant too, serving pasta, salad, sandwiches, even soft serve ice cream) in the large seating area, by the fireplace, or even taking it al fresco to picnic by the Bow River. Alforno also supplies all Teatro properties with freshly baked bread, including the signature seed baguette, near and dear to many hearts. Teatro’s executive chef Matthew Batey says creating a home for the bread program was the real impetus to start Alforno three years ago. “We thought we were building a bakery with a small pastry café; it became so popular we’re starting to burst at the seams.”

3. Monogram Coffee

Momma needs her coffee fix and what better place to stop on a pastry crawl to refuel than at independent darling Monogram Coffee, with three city locations and a mandate to inspire wonderful coffee experiences. No matter where you’re at on your coffee journey, java experts and co-founders Ben Put (a several time Canadian Barista champ) Jeremy Ho and Justin Eyford have you covered with approachable to on-the-edge suggestions. They roast all their beans, making the filtered coffee very good and the well-trained staff make espresso-based drinks like a boss.

Calgary - Monogram Coffee coffee toasts and croissants - Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Monogram Coffee coffee, toasts and croissants – Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

Pair your drink with a creative, elegant and decadently thick slice of toast, a menu fixture made with sourdough bread from Sidewalk Citizen slathered with your choice of topping, from butter or local preserves to creative and dreamy combinations such as middle eastern yoghurt, toasted hazelnuts and honey. The double baked almond croissant they sell from Butter Block & Co. is also spectacular. And if you want your cup of joe fast, look for the honour bar at their downtown Fifth Avenue Place location. “It reflects the energy of the neighbourhood it’s in, you can grab a coffee and not have to wait in line,” says Mr Ho.

4. The Pie Junkie

You know a place has captured your heart when you can’t resist taking to social media to write: “Dear Pie Junkie: the 19 pounds I may have gained today, and pie crumbs in my hair, were totally worth it.” With 21 types of sweet and savoury pies (from Aussie beef to butter chicken, salted honey pie to apple), you too may leave with an appreciation for this charmer with two Calgary locations.

Calgary - the Pie Junkie pie pic - Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

The Pie Junkie – Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

The menu champions made-from-scratch, all-butter pastry (never lard) made in a distinctive wooden pie ring. “We build each pie in these rings,” the Pie Junkie explained in a social media post. “They are designed for just that purpose. It gives us a deeper pie straight down without the deep angled cut on the bottom and pastry lip. It also allows us to bake on sheets so we can peek at the bottom of each pie, so we know they are baked to perfection.” Sour cherry is a best seller, and key lime pie fans will want to cut into a divine made-from-scratch slice. The impressive savoury side of the business is definitely not to be overlooked, including shepherd’s pie, made with in-house ground lamb shoulder, and the chicken pot pie, blending light and dark meat, potato, carrots, peas and pearl onions, finished with fresh tarragon and wrapped in all-butter pastry.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *