fbpx

多伦多与青少年? 是时候上城了!

在新开业的Hotel X Toronto酒店,我们像皇室一样被拂去,盯着近乎10米的天花板的大厅,华丽的地板马赛克瓷砖,超大的花盆,以及前台后面的植物令人难以置信的凉爽生活墙,我听到我十几岁的女儿惊叹道:“这样的地方有什么样的花哨的人?”

多伦多X酒店迷人的大堂和客厅墙 -  Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

多伦多X酒店迷人的大堂和客厅墙 - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

欢迎工作人员入住豪华图书馆酒店系列的第一家加拿大酒店,我的15岁可以理解,其中包括一个屋顶无边泳池,两个电影院和一个我们看到的体育场馆。加拿大网球明星米洛斯·拉奥尼斯练习他的比赛。

如果你认为很难打动一个青少年,那么我强烈建议多伦多的父母和孩子去度假。


在四天之内,我的孩子吃了所有的食物(我的意思是全部) - 从唐人街的点心到甜蜜的耶稣的实用价值,从珍贵的Ricarda's开心果的羊排到360的区域美食餐厅,CN塔的旋转餐厅。 孩子虽然价格昂贵但味道也很昂贵......她还对标志性的皇家安大略博物馆(ROM)放纵了她的好奇心,她的创造力,逃离了Mysterious Minds Escape Room,我们肩并肩坐在一起,目睹了Come From Away的魔力。 我们都有点喘不过气来。

以下是五个让你的青少年(以及你自己!)在多伦多度过时惊叹的好方法:

现场剧院

来自远离照片Shelley Cameron McCarron的Marquee

来自远离照片Shelley Cameron McCarron的Marquee

没有小睡,没有食物打架,没有早睡。 是的,和青少年一起旅行很酷。 这一点在我们与多伦多剧院约会时更为明显。 我们在城里参加热门节目, 来自客场,在9 / 11的悲惨事件之后,纽芬兰的热情好客和希望的非凡真实故事。 从开始到结束的高能量,Come From Away让你开怀大笑,哭泣,并且很高兴活着。 它也让你为成为加拿大人而感到骄傲,甚至更像是大西洋加拿大人。 我知道真实的Janice,小提琴手来自我丈夫的家乡,我们现在住在那里。 这部剧让我们大吃一惊,几周之后,我们用关键线条互相称呼,并谈论最喜欢的场景 - 这样一个甜蜜的纽带可以分享。

甜蜜的住宿

说实话? 多伦多X酒店 我们在屋顶无边泳池。 在参观位于Billy Bishop机场附近展览广场海滨的物业后,我们穿着长袍和拖鞋,穿上顶层,快速游泳,在梦幻般的海滨和多伦多城市天际线景观中享用饮品。阳台。 但酒店提供了更多。 这是巨大的,但有一个人民友好的座右铭,在工作人员中显示。

Hotel X Toronto酒店的屋顶游泳池 -  Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Hotel X Toronto酒店的屋顶游泳池 - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

我喜欢浏览整个酒店X的小图书馆,欣赏加拿大摄影师Neil Dankoff的引人注目的景观图像 - 它们分散在整个酒店,房间,走廊和现场艺术画廊中的800! 还有一个令人印象深刻的250座位电影院和56人放映室(你好的儿童友好电影之夜!),儿童中心,以及从星巴克到美食地中海餐厅Petros 82的美食选择。 它并不止于此。 新娘和新郎可以预订特别的房间准备仪式,并提供丰富的活动空间选择。 Ten X Toronto为酒店客人提供服务,包括四个室内网球场,壁球场,高尔夫模拟器,多种健身室选择,健身课程以及普​​拉提,旋转和瑜伽工作室。 虽然在我们访问期间没有打开,但这个词是一个小啤酒厂,第二个游泳池和水疗中心预计将在2019推出。

城市景点

当然,我们必须从市中心开始探索 里普利的加拿大水族馆 和它的100th Oddiversary:Curious Creatures Exhibit。 自2013开放以来,超过12,000平方米的水族馆一直是一个顶级的景点,游客应该预算至少两个小时,看看他们的金枪鱼的重量,凝视墙壁的果冻(在该地方拍摄最多的展品),尝试在加拿大水域观察伪装的章鱼,在危险的泻湖中骑行人行道,同时凝视着充满鲨鱼,海龟和海洋生物的水域。

多伦多里普利的危险泻湖 - 照片Shelley Cameron McCarron

里普利的危险泻湖 - 照片Shelley Cameron McCarron

在2018中,参观者还可以看到100th Oddiversary展览,追随已故罗伯特“信不信由你”的奇怪而辉煌的生活。漫画家,漫画家,探险家,记者,冒险家和收藏家在201年代前往35国家寻求奇怪而不寻常。 我立刻着迷并且被击退,与他收集的一个萎缩的头部面对面。

360餐厅的甜美甜点 -  Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

360餐厅的甜美甜点 - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

如果没有参观加拿大国家电视塔,你就不能去市中心。值得在这里预订午餐 360餐厅。 它不仅提供了“跳过线路”的入场许可,而且在553米上获得屡获殊荣的国家偶像标志性塔楼上用餐也非常令人印象深刻,看到城市天空经过。 如果你胆敢的话,不要离开前往着名的玻璃地板! 寻求刺激的人可以安排尝试EdgeWalk,这是世界上最高的“免提”步行,356m(116故事)。

这么多美食

与青少年一起旅行时,食物始终是必须的。 站在我们身边的是 唐人街+肯辛顿市场 食品之旅与烹饪冒险公司凯文德基和女儿泰勒带领我们穿过两个不拘一格的多伦多社区,肯辛顿市场 - 一个充满维多利亚风格的住宅,餐馆,食品和老式商店的国家历史遗址 - 以及北美最大的唐人街之一。 “这是非常随意的,”凯文谈到这次巡演。 “我们希望你觉得你和我们一起出去玩,”他说,他用有趣的故事加油对话,带领我们去他最喜欢的一些餐厅,包括品尝一些最好的烧烤猪肉和城里最好的康吉。 我们在墨西哥城风情的街头美食上大饱口福,并在天空中看到Wanda's Pie的迷你樱桃馅饼,让我立即回归。 (说真的,我需要更多馅饼!)

Wanda's Pie in the Sky樱桃馅饼在肯辛顿和唐人街的烹饪探险之旅 - 照片Shelley Cameron McCarron

Wanda's Pie in the Sky樱桃馅饼在肯辛顿和唐人街的美食探险之旅 - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

其他美食家亮点? 甜蜜耶稣冰淇淋值得炒作,特别是O'Hungry,我们最喜欢的餐厅必须是娱乐区彼得街上的优秀Ricarda餐厅,我仍然想到烤自由放养的康沃尔母鸡和美国加利福尼亚固体地面Pinot比诺。

令人难忘的康沃尔母鸡 - 照片Shelley Cameron McCarron

令人难忘的康沃尔母鸡 - 照片Shelley Cameron McCarron

作为一种特殊的享受,我们在Le Dolci签了一个烹饪课,这是一家专门提供定制蛋糕,马卡龙和蛋糕的烘焙店。 我们学会了用奶油蛋糕掩盖蛋糕并制作独角兽(比它听起来更狡猾!),涂上可食用的金,然后滚边鬃毛使用彩色糖霜。

即兴娱乐,逃脱房间和ROM

多伦多提供丰富的选择,以满足青少年。 在我们的四天里,我们在第二城市举办了一场下午的即兴演出,这是一场由观众建议和志愿者推动的获胜者全能喜剧对决。 我们喜欢它。

多伦多第二城市即兴表 - 照片Shelley Cameron McCarron

第二城市即兴表 - 照片Shelley Cameron McCarron

我们也喜欢从Bloor Street West的Mysterious Minds Escape Room逃离我们的创造力 - 是的,赢家,赢家,我们仍然谈论我们自己的实力! 也许最吸引我爱博物馆的孩子正在探索这个 皇家安大略博物馆,包括它的新展览,Spiders:Fear&Fascination,其座右铭是“学的越多,你就越害怕。” 我的女儿整天都在寻找在1914创立的ROM,并展示来自世界各地的艺术,文化和自然。 它是北美顶级的10文化机构之一,也是加拿大规模最大,最全面的博物馆之一,所以即使它并没有引起我所有人的兴趣,它也是如此,所以我不会拒绝更多时间探索。

之后,我们前往ROMWalks海滨,这是一个90分钟导览短途旅行,了解女王码头区,从工业和商业起源到最近的复兴。 周三晚上和周日下午散步是免费的,让我们欣赏一个我们自己从未见过的城市的一面,我很高兴看到一个青少年在我身边。

从房间窗口看X酒店 - 照片Shelley Cameron McCarron

从酒店X房间看多伦多 - 照片Shelley Cameron McCarron

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于COVID-19,加拿大政府拥有正式的全球旅行咨询服务:
避免在加拿大以外进行不必要的旅行,直到另行通知。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Toronto With Teen? Time to Take on the City!

As we’re whisked like royalty into the newly opened Hotel X Toronto, staring into a lobby of nearly 10-metre ceilings, gorgeous floor mosaic tiling, oversize flowerpots, and an impossibly cool living wall of plants taking pride of place behind the front desk, I hear my teenage daughter marvel: “What kind of fancy people stay in a place like this?”

At stunning lobby and living wall at Hotel X Toronto - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

At stunning lobby and living wall at Hotel X Toronto – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

My 15-year-old is understandably awed as we’re swept by welcoming staff into the first Canadian property of the posh Library Hotel Collection, that among its highlights includes a rooftop infinity pool, two movie theatres, and a sports complex where we saw Canadian tennis star Milos Raonic practising his game.

If you think it’s hard to impress a teenager, then I highly recommend a parent-and-child getaway to Toronto.


In four days, my teen ate all the food (and I do mean all)—from dim sum in Chinatown to Sweet Jesus’s insta-worthy soft serve, from the rack of lamb with pistachio crust at terrific Ricarda’s, to the regional delights at 360 Restaurant, the CN Tower’s revolving restaurant. The child has good, albeit expensive tastes… She also indulged her curiosity at the iconic Royal Ontario Museum (ROM), her creativity, escaping from Mysterious Minds Escape Room, and we sat side by side, witnessing the magic of Come From Away. We both came away a little breathless.

Here are five great ways to wow your teen (and yourself!) when taking on Toronto:

Live Theatre

The Marquee for Come From Away Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

The Marquee for Come From Away Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

No naps, no food fights, no early bedtimes. Yes, travelling with a teen is cool. And nowhere was this more evident than on our date with Toronto theatre. We were in town for the hit show, Come From Away, the remarkable true story of Newfoundland hospitality and hope after the tragic events of 9/11.  High energy from start to finish, Come From Away makes you laugh, and cry, and glad to be alive. It also makes you proud to be Canadian, and even more so, Atlantic Canadian—like us. I know the real-life Janice, and the fiddle player hails from my husband’s hometown, where we now live. The play so inspired us that for weeks later we regaled each other with key lines and talked about favourite scenes—such a sweet bond to share.

Sweet Stay

Honestly? Hotel X Toronto had us at rooftop infinity pool. Moments after checking in to the property located on the waterfront at Exhibition Place, near Billy Bishop Airport, we slipped on robes and slippers and padded off to the top floor for a quick swim and to drink in dreamy waterfront and Toronto city skyline views from the terrace. But the hotel offers so much more. It’s enormous but has a people-friendly motto which shows in the staff.

The rooftop pool at Hotel X Toronto - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

The rooftop pool at Hotel X Toronto – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

I loved browsing the little libraries located throughout Hotel X and admiring the striking landscape images by Canadian photographer Neil Dankoff—there are 800 of them scattered across the hotel, in rooms, hallways and an onsite art gallery! There’s also an impressive 250-seat cinema and 56-person screening room (hello kid-friendly movie nights!), a children’s centre, and food options ranging from Starbucks to the gourmet Mediterranean restaurant Petros 82. And it doesn’t stop there. Brides and grooms can book special rooms to prep for the ceremony, and there are event space options aplenty. Ten X Toronto extends its services to hotel guests including four indoor tennis courts, squash courts, a golf simulator, a number of workout room options, fitness classes and studios for Pilates, spinning and yoga. While not open during our visit, the word is a small brewery, and a second swimming pool and spa are expected to launch in 2019.

City Sights

Of course, we had to explore downtown, starting with Ripley’s Aquarium of Canada and its 100th Oddiversary: Curious Creatures Exhibit. Since opening in 2013, the over 12,000 square metre aquarium has been a top attraction where visitors should budget at least two hours to see what they weigh as a tuna, stare into a wall of jellies (the most photographed exhibit in the place), try to spot the camouflaged octopus in Canadian waters, and ride the moving sidewalk in the Dangerous Lagoon while gazing into waters filled with sharks, turtles and marine creatures.

Toronto Ripley's Dangerous Lagoon - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Ripley’s Dangerous Lagoon – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

In 2018, visitors can also see the 100th Oddiversary exhibit, following the strange and brilliant life of the late Robert “Believe it or Not” Ripley, cartoonist, explorer, reporter, adventurer, and collector who travelled to 201 countries in 35 years seeking the odd and unusual. I was at once fascinated and repulsed to come face to face with one of his collected shrunken heads.

Luscious dessert at 360 Restaurant - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Luscious dessert at 360 Restaurant – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

You can’t go downtown without visiting the CN Tower, where it’s worth it to book lunch at the 360 Restaurant. Not only does it give ‘skip the line’ admission privileges, but it’s also pretty impressive to dine atop the iconic tower, an award-winning national icon at 553 m, seeing the city skyscape pass by. Don’t leave before taking a step onto the famed Glass Floor, if you dare! Thrill-seekers can make arrangements to attempt the EdgeWalk, the world’s highest ‘hands-free’ walk, 356m (116 stories) above ground.

So Much Good Food

Food is always a must when travelling with a teen. Standing out for us was the Chinatown + Kensington Market food tour with Culinary Adventure Co. Kevin Durkee, and daughter Taylor led us through two eclectic Toronto neighbourhoods, Kensington Market—a National Historic Site filled with Victorian homes, restaurants, food and vintage shops—and Chinatown, one of North America’s largest. “It’s super casual,” Kevin says of the tour. “We want you to feel like you’re hanging out with us,” he says as he peppers the conversation with fun stories and leads us to some of his favourite restaurants, including sampling some of the best BBQ pork and the best congi in town. We feast too on Mexico City-inspired street food and find heaven with mini cherry pies from Wanda’s Pie in the Sky that immediately have me plotting to return. (Seriously, I need more pie!)

Wanda's Pie in the Sky cherry pies on culinary adventure tour of Kensington and Chinatown - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Wanda’s Pie in the Sky cherry pies on a culinary adventure tour of Kensington and Chinatown – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Other foodie highlights? Sweet Jesus Ice Cream is worth the hype, especially the O’Hungry, and our favourite restaurant had to be the excellent Ricarda’s on Peter Street in the entertainment district where I still think of the grilled free-range Cornish hen and delish California Solid Ground Pinot Noir.

Unforgettable cornish hen - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Unforgettable Cornish hen – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

As a special treat, we signed on for a cooking class at Le Dolci, a bake shop specialising in custom cakes, macarons and cupcakes. Donning matching aprons and taking side-by-side spots along a long table filled with eager bakers, we learned to mask a cake in buttercream and to create a unicorn horn (trickier than it sounds!), painting with edible gold, and piping a mane using coloured frostings.

Improv Fun, Escape Rooms and the ROM

Toronto offers a wealth of options to satisfy teens. Over our four days, we took seats for an afternoon Improv Showdown at Second City, in a winner-takes-all comedy showdown fuelled by audience suggestions and volunteers. We loved it.

Toronto Second City Improv - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Second City Improv – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

We also loved tasking our creativity escaping from Mysterious Minds Escape Room on Bloor Street West—and yes, winner, winner, we still talk about our own prowess! Perhaps what most appealed to my museum-loving kid was exploring the Royal Ontario Museum, including its new exhibit, Spiders: Fear & Fascination, where the motto is ‘the more you learn, the less you fear.’ My daughter would have spent all day looking around the ROM, founded in 1914, and showcasing art, culture and nature from around the world. It’s among the top 10 cultural institutions in North America, and Canada’s largest and most comprehensive museum, so even if it doesn’t quite hit all my interests, it does hers, so I’m not saying no to more time exploring.

Afterwards, we make our way to the waterfront for ROMWalks, a 90 minute guided jaunt to learn about the Queen’s Quay area, from its industrial and commercial origins to the recent revitalisation. The walk is free on Wednesday evenings and Sunday afternoons and gives us an appreciation for a side of the city we’d never see on our own, and one I’m glad to see with a teen at my side.

Hotel X view from room window - Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

View of Toronto from Hotel X room – Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *