fbpx

旅游保险:大流行期间会发生什么?

这些谁 跟着我 on 家庭乐趣加拿大家庭乐趣埃德蒙顿 知道我是一个坚定的信徒 旅游保险。 只需支付几美分,这就是明智的安心之举,并且可以防止在国外生病或遭遇不幸时造成财务损失。 但是在大流行期间您的旅行保险会怎样? 对于我们这个全球互联的世界来说,这是前所未有的时期,许多旅行者正在寻找答案,以了解他们的旅行保险是否涵盖必须取消的旅行,或者在危机期间决定旅行会发生什么。 该博客将帮助您提供所需的答案。

旅行取消保险

如果您在预订旅行或度假时购买了旅行取消保险,并且现在必须在出发前取消,则期望承保人遵守这些条款。 如果您没有购买旅行保险,而是使用信用卡预订了旅行,请检查所使用的卡是否具有旅行取消保险作为内置福利。



但是,此处的精美印刷非常关键。 提出索赔时,请确保拨打正确的电话号码并遵循正确的程序。 您的信用卡或旅行保险文件将在您的网站或小册子中列出您需要遵循的步骤。

旅行中断保险

每个提供旅行保险的承保人都有自己的一套条件。 声称因大流行中断您的旅行而受益,将取决于这些条款。 但是,从广义上讲,大多数承销商不仅愿意,有能力而且愿意兑现条件,有些承保人正在超越并帮助加拿大人回家。

例如,宏利(Manulife)发布了 声明 总结他们对旅行保险客户的帮助。 他们的帮助包括为那些试图返回加拿大的被延误者提供帮助。 有关您的保单的详细信息,请访问保险公司的网站。 与COVID-19相关的特殊信息放置在网站上易于查找的位置,以确保可以快速告知每个人。

立即预订旅行

如果您在想:“嘿,由于超低的价格,这是一个预订假期的好时机,”再想一想。 除了明显的不负责任的帮助 传播病毒,您不会-我重申-您 不会 如果您在旅行咨询有效时预订假期,则可购买旅行保险,以解决与COVID-19相关的任何问题。

蓝十字 只是这样的一家保险公司发出了严厉的警告,即“如果您乘坐带有COVID-19相关旅行建议的国家旅行,则与先前发布的正式旅行建议有关的医疗紧急情况将不包括福利。到您的出发日期。”

虽然您可能会感到既年轻又健康,并准备好挑选那些甜蜜的旅行,但请重新考虑。 如果您因COVID-19而生病或延误,您自己和他人都将承担极大的风险,并承担全部财务责任。

精美印刷品更新

蓝十字会还指出:“如果您在12年2020月19日或之后购买旅行取消,中断和行李保险,则与COVID-12相关的索赔将不予承保-无论在此之前是否发布了旅行禁令或咨询意见旅行。 从2020年19月19日开始,COVID-XNUMX不再被视为未知风险。 COVID-XNUMX现在被认为是“已知问题”。”

可能会收到其他旅游保险公司的类似警告。 保险是要承担未知风险。 COVID-19现在被认为是已知风险,因此不受承保范围的影响。

随着COVID-19的到来,旅游保险正在迅速发展

自从通话结束 加拿大人返回家园,旅游保险公司反应迅速。 一些更改包括如果您延迟退货会丢失旅行保险,并且如上所述,许多更改现在将COVID-19列为已知风险。

如何找到您需要的信息

致电保险公司可能会使您的电话等待时间较长。 获取有关您的特定保单及其任何更改的信息的最快方法是访问保险公司的网站。 另外,在Facebook上关注您的保险公司。 信息被发布在他们的提要上。

保持安全

世界瞬息万变,虽然可能很难放弃您目前和计划中的旅行,但请记住,为了保护您,您的亲人和最脆弱的人群,限制措施已经到位。 我们所有人尽早采取行动来限制旅行,我们就可以越早击败COVID-19并回到国外冒险。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

COVID-19的情况正在迅速改变。 加拿大政府拥有正式的全球旅行咨询服务:
避免在加拿大以外进行不必要的旅行,直到另行通知。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

fbpx

Travel Insurance: What Happens During a Pandemic?

Those who follow me on Family Fun Canada and Family Fun Edmonton  know that I’m a big believer in travel insurance. It’s sensible peace of mind for just pennies on the dollar and can prevent financial ruin should you get sick or have a misadventure while abroad. But what happens to your travel insurance during a pandemic? These are unprecedented times for our globally connected world, and many travellers are searching for answers about if their travel insurance will cover trips they must cancel, or what happens if they decide to travel during the crisis. This blog will help provide the answers you need.

Trip Cancellation Insurance

If you purchased trip cancellation insurance when you booked your trip or vacation and now must cancel before embarking, expect the terms to be honoured by the underwriter. If you did not buy travel insurance but booked your trip using a credit card, check to see if the card you used has trip cancellation insurance as a built-in perk.



However, fine print is very key here. Ensure you call the right numbers and follow the right procedures when making your claim. Your credit card or travel insurance documents will have the steps you need to follow listed on their website or in a pamphlet.

Trip Interruption Insurance

Every underwriter that offers travel insurance has their own set of conditions. Claiming a benefit for having your trip interrupted by the pandemic will depend on those terms. Broadly speaking, however, the majority of underwriters are not only willing, able, and ready to honour the terms, some are going above and beyond to help Canadians get home.

For example, Manulife has released a statement summarizing their assistance for their travel insurance customers. Their assistance includes help for those delayed as they try to return to Canada. For details on your policy, check your insurance company’s website. Special COVID-19 related information is placed in easy-to-find locations on the site to ensure everyone can be quickly informed.

Booking Travel Now

If you are thinking, “Hey, this is a great time to book a vacation thanks to super low prices,” think again. Apart from the obvious irresponsibility of helping to spread the virus, you will not – and I reiterate – you will not be covered by travel insurance for any COVID-19 related issues should you book a vacation while the travel advisories are in effect.

Blue Cross is just one such insurer issuing a stern warning that “If you are travelling to a country with a COVID-19-related travel advisory, benefits will not be covered for a medical emergency that is related to a published formal travel advisory that is issued prior to your departure date.”

While you may feel young and healthy and ready to scoop up those sweet, sweet travel deals, please reconsider. You put yourself and others at great risk and will incur all the financial liability if you get sick or delayed due to COVID-19.

Fine Print Updates

Blue Cross also states, “If you purchase trip cancellation, interruption and baggage insurance on or after March 12, 2020, you will not have coverage for claims related to COVID-19—regardless of whether there was a travel ban or advisory published prior to travel. Effective March 12, 2020, COVID-19 is no longer being considered an unknown risk. COVID-19 is now considered a ‘known issue.’”

Expect similar warnings from other travel insurance companies. Insurance is about defraying unknown risks. COVID-19 is now considered a known risk, and therefore not subject to coverage.

Travel Insurance is Rapidly Evolving in the Wake of COVID-19

Since the call went out for Canadians to return home, travel insurance companies are reacting quickly. Some changes include losing travel insurance if you delay your return, and as mentioned above, many are now listing COVID-19 as a known risk.

How to Find the Information You Need

Calling your insurer could leave you with long wait times on the phone. The fastest way to get information on your specific policy and any changes to it is to visit the insurance company’s website. Also, follow your insurance company on Facebook. Information is being posted on their feeds.

Stay Safe Out There

The world has changed rapidly and while it may be hard to give up your current and planned trips, remember that the restrictions are in place to protect you, your loved ones, and the population’s most vulnerable. The sooner we all do our part in restricting our travel, the sooner we can beat COVID-19 and return to having adventures abroad.

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.