我应该带孩子度假吗?

几年前的华丽 白点海滩小屋在新斯科舍省,我们决定将14个月大的行李放在平房的陶瓷浴缸中(当然是空的),然后从车上取下行李箱。 尽管他有蹒跚学步的能力,但他的腿还不够长,无法熟练地逃脱洗澡,因此我们认为这是防止他在给婴儿打样之前破坏房间的一种安全方法。 我们回到了这一点:

与幼儿安全白点海滩小屋旅行

您以为我们已经学到了教训,但是在最近的一次英格兰旅行中,我们让孩子们在这个退役的电话亭里玩耍,这个电话亭是我们在户外找到的。 康沃尔酒吧。 再次,围堵是游戏的名称。 我们认为,当他在盒子里玩耍时,我们也许可以暂时欣赏海景。 当他出现时,我们的儿子闻起来像是在厕所里玩……本质上就是。 谢谢康沃尔的喝酒者!带着蹒跚学步的电话盒旅行Bowgie Inn在这些场合,我们感到有些不负责任,但我们笑了起来,放松了眉头,让那个小家伙通过另一次迷你冒险。 但是当我感到无助的时候,还有其他的假期时刻,我哭了。

我的大孩子是一个可怕的传单,当婴儿在我们穿越大西洋的旅程中会连续尖叫4-6个小时。 有一次,当她大约三岁的时候,我们把她留在都柏林一家租车处的地板上静静地玩,同时我们填写了一些文书工作。 她在飞机上吃了一些俗气的零食,这一定是她敏感的消化系统众所周知的转折点。 当我从出租柜台转身看到我漂亮的小卷发小孩躺在她的背上时,我仍然能听到尖叫的回声,她快乐地在瓷砖地板上制作便便角。

我仍然可以听到我尖叫的回声,当时我从出租柜台转身回头看看我漂亮的卷发小孩,她愉快地躺在汽车租赁办公室的瓷砖地上躺着。

在他的旅行博客中 我的小游牧民族 戴维·罗伯特·霍格(David Robert Hogg)鼓励所有父母旅行,但警告这并不总是一帆风顺的:“这绝不是你生孩子之前的旅行。 这将需要很多人。 您必须一直处于开机状态。 您必须计划。 当您想停止时,您必须去;而当您想停止时,则必须停止”。

安妮·安德烈(AnnieAndré)和布莱克·埃尔德(Blake Elder)同意。 他们是一对美国夫妇,他们带着三个孩子搬到法国一年了……再也没有离开过。 在他们的文章中 10原因为什么你应该与你的孩子一起旅行,即使他们不记得,他们驳斥了普遍的观点,即与幼儿一起旅行是浪费时间,因为他们不记得了。 安德烈说:“经验是使我们成为我们自己的基石”,“我们是否全都记得他们”。

携带婴儿或幼儿旅行

安妮安德雷写道 AnnieAndre.com为旅行和搬到法国的家庭提供建议

从The获得灵感 Flashpacker家族:Bethaney,Lee,Reuben和婴儿Hazel,他们目前在世界范围内的不限成员名额家庭度假中。 尽管他们将自己描述为“在我们裤子类型的座位旁飞”,但他们的博客揭示了对养育子女的认真负责的看法。

在她的博客中, 与孩子长期旅行:我们如何做到这一点?,Bethaney描述了在一个位置旅行4-6周,然后旅行4-6周的模式。 她每天平均花费一小时的旅行计划。 她的网站致力于帮助其他家庭寻找冒险,并提供旅行提示和 关于福利的励志故事或与小孩旅行。 她对和孩子一起飞行的建议? “它很可能会吮吸”!

在欧洲与一个蹒跚学步的孩子一起旅行

常规产品的 Flashpacker家族 在西班牙一跳下车

但是我们其余的人呢? 像大多数加拿大在职家庭一样,我的家庭也不是“快速包装工”。 我们像其他人一样为假期节省开支,而旅行时,这是因为我们需要休息或希望与亲朋好友建立联系。

但是,就像专业旅行者一样,我们不会推迟冒险,直到我们的孩子“足够大以至于无法记住”或度过脾气暴躁/流鼻涕的大便阶段。 为什么? 因为每个假期,假期或周末都会给您留下难忘的回忆……包括不幸和不幸在内!

和英国露营的孩子一起旅行

这是我们的家人在英格兰科茨沃尔德实际上是一场灾难性的野营之旅

带小孩旅行并不容易。 蹒跚学步的孩子不会去睡觉或排尿,因此,与蹒跚学步的孩子一起旅行的关键是放松身心,避免排挤的日程表,并始终将计划B留给自己。

以下是一些小孩旅行的更多提示:

  1. 分而治之:一位父母拿行李; 另一位家长带着孩子们
  2. 如果您是负责孩子的父母,请收起相机和iPhone。 焦点。
  3. 饭店的午睡是崇高的,所以不要对下午睡觉感到内gui。 景点可以等待。
  4. 准备好融化,通常是当你计划了一些特别的东西时。
  5. 买最好的旅行保险,你可以得到; 仔细选择你的政策
  6. 保持灵活性,并准备更改您的计划。 购买火车和公共汽车的公开票或弹性通票。
  7. 预订带冰箱或小厨房的客房
  8. 对于本地体验,请尝试通过度假租赁 航空住宿加早餐旅馆 or Flipkey.
  9. 不要过度包装:到达那里后,您可以购买尿布和湿巾。
  10. 使平凡与众不同。 在新的地方乘坐当地的公共汽车,去杂货店购物或看电影……

您是否有带小孩旅行的狂野或美好回忆? 请在评论中告诉我们有关它们的信息!

Travelling With a Toddler… You Can Do It!

Should I take my toddler on vacation?

A couple of years ago at the gorgeous White Point Beach Lodge in Nova Scotia, we  decided to place our 14-month old in the cottage’s ceramic bathtub (empty, of course) while we took our suitcases in from the car. Although he was capable of toddling, his legs weren’t quite long enough to master the bath-escape, so we figured it was a safe way to keep him from wrecking the room before we baby-proofed it. We came back to this:

Travelling with Toddler safety White Point Beach cottage

You’d have thought we’d have learned our lesson, but on a recent trip to England, we allowed our toddler to play in this decommissioned telephone box that we found outside a Cornish pub. Again, containment was the name of the game. We figured that while he played inside the box, we might be able to enjoy the sea views for a moment. When he emerged, our son smelled like he had been playing in a toilet… which, in essence, he had. Thank you, Cornish drinkers!travelling with toddler phone box Bowgie InnOn these occasions, we felt slightly irresponsible but we laughed and wiped our brows with relief that the little had guy made it through another mini-adventure. But there have been other vacation moments when I felt so helpless, I cried.

My older child was a terrible flyer, and as an infant would scream for 4-6  hours straight during our journeys across the Atlantic.  Once, when she was about three years old, we left  her to play quietly on the floor of a car rental office in Dublin while we filled out some paperwork. She had eaten some cheesy snacks on the plane over, which must have been the proverbial tipping point for her sensitive digestive system.  I can still hear the echo of my scream when I turned back from the rental desk to see my gorgeous little curly-haired toddler, lying on her back, happily making poo-angels on the tiled floor.

I can still hear the echo of my scream when I turned back from the rental desk to see my gorgeous little curly-haired toddler, lying on her back happily making poo-angels on the tiled floor of the car rental office.

In his travel blog My Little Nomads David Robert Hogg encourages all parents to travel but warns that it’s not always going to be plain sailing: “It’s not going to be the trip you had before you had kids. It’s going to demand a lot of you. You’ve got to be ON all the time. You’ve got to plan. You’ve got to Go when you want to Stop and Stop when you want to Go”.

Annie André and Blake Elder agree. They are an American couple who moved to France with their three kids for a year…and never left. In their article, 10 Reasons Why You should Travel With Your Kids Even If They Won’t Remember, they refute the common argument that travelling with toddlers is a waste of time because they won’t remember. “Experiences are the building blocks that make us who we are”, says André, “whether we remember them all or not”.

Travelling with a baby or toddler

Annie André writes at AnnieAndre.com, with advice for families travelling and moving to France

Gain inspiration from The Flashpacker Family: Bethaney, Lee, Reuben and baby Hazel, who are currently on an open-ended family holiday around the world. Although they describe themselves as “fly by the seat of our pants types”, their blog reveals a careful and responsible outlook to parenting.

In her blog entry, Long Term Travel with Kids: How do We Do It?, Bethaney describes a pattern of 4-6 weeks travelling followed by 4-6 weeks in one location. She spends on average one hour per day travel-planning. Her website is dedicatedto helping other families find adventure, with travel tips and inspirational stories about the benefits or travelling with young kids. Her advice on flying with kids? “It will most likely suck”!

Travelling with a toddler in Europe

The Flashpacker Family on a hop on hop off bus in Spain

But what about the rest of us? Like most working Canadian families, My family are not “flash packers”. We save up for our vacations just like everyone else, and when we travel, it’s because we need a break or wish to connect with friends and relatives.

But like the professional travellers, we’re not delaying our adventures until our kids are “old enough to remember” or have passed the temper tantrums/runny poo stage. Why? because every vacation, stay-cation or weekend is an opportunity to make memories…mishaps and misadventures included!

Travelling with kids in England camping

Here is our family on what was actually a disastrous camping trip in the Cotswolds, England

Travelling with young kids is not easy. A toddler will not eat sleep or poop to your holiday schedule, so the key to  travelling with a toddler is to relax, avoid jam-packed schedules, and  always leave yourself a plan B.

Here are some more tips for travelling with a toddler:

  1. Divide and Conquer: one parent takes the luggage; the other parent takes the kids
  2. If you’re the parent in charge of the kids,  put the camera and iPhone away. Focus.
  3. Hotel naps are sublime, so don’t feel guilty about sleeping in the afternoon. The attractions can wait.
  4. Be prepared for melt-downs, usually when you have planned something special.
  5. Buy the best travel insurance you can get; choose your policy carefully
  6. Be flexible, and ready to change your plans. Buy open tickets or flexi-passes for trains and buses.
  7. Book hotel rooms that have a fridge or a kitchenette
  8. For a local experience, try a holiday rental through Air B&B or Flipkey.
  9. Don’t overpack: you can buy diapers and wipes when you get there.
  10. Make the ordinary extraordinary. Take a local bus, go grocery shopping or see a movie… in a new place.

Do you have any wild or wonderful memories of travelling with young kids? Please tell us about them in the comments!

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
2 Comments
  1. March 8, 2016
    • March 8, 2016