fbpx

新不伦瑞克省圣安德鲁斯海边的湿,野(和幽灵)冒险

距离圣约翰市一小时车程,距离美国边境仅一步之遥,这是一个色彩缤纷的海滨小镇 圣安德鲁斯海边新不伦瑞克省一直是富裕美国人的夏季游乐场。 阿冈昆度假村以其幽灵而闻名; 部落岛上迷人的Covehoven Estate以及一流的观鲸机会使St. Andrews-by-the-Sea成为家庭度假的绝佳去处。

鲸鱼在十二生肖上观看,远处有大马南渡轮/照片来源:Helen Earley

鲸鱼在Passamaquoddy湾的十二生肖上观看,远处有大马南渡轮/照片来源:Helen Earley

幽灵狩猎在圣安德鲁斯海边

让我们从怪异的东西开始吧。 盛大 阿冈昆度假村 多年来,他多次易手。 经常前往Maritimes的游客会认出模拟都铎式镶板,独特的红色屋顶和炮塔,就像它的酒店堂兄一样, Digby Pines,在新斯科舍省 - 与虚构的Overlook酒店不同,正如斯蒂芬金的着名着作“闪灵”中所描绘的那样。 这可能不是巧合 - 酒店工作人员说,斯蒂芬金在写完之前就住在这里(之后又回来了)。

阿冈昆信誉:利亚里纳尔多

阿冈昆酒店:豪华,绝对闹鬼/照片来源:Lia Rinaldo

Algonquin目前由Marriot拥有,因此,其大部分内部装修为现代,有光泽的灰色标准。 要看到“真正的”酒店,只需要请前台进行幽灵之旅。 当我们这样做时,世界上最开朗的酒店礼宾部将一小群客人带到酒店的服务电梯......然后进入世界上最可怕的酒店地下室。

Jacob Parent酒店礼宾部在Algonquin酒店(Ghost Tour)周围展示了一群客人

Kilted门房Jacob Parent带我们乘坐服务电梯...到幽灵般的酒店地下室/照片来源:Helen Earley

在黑暗中,我们走在一条长长的被遗忘的隧道中,蹲在铜管下。 我惊恐地摇晃着,听到了看门人钥匙的叮当声 - 正如所承诺的那样。 守夜人只是居住在酒店内的几个鬼魂中的一个,其中包括一位在走廊里迎接客人的门卫,最着名的是 - 473房间里一个哭泣,被抛弃的新娘的精神。

我们房间的景色......离哭泣的新娘/信用套房不远:Helen Earley

我们房间的景色......距离哭泣的新娘/照片来源不远:Helen Earley

Algonquin并不是唯一一个在圣安德鲁斯海边遇见超自然现象的地方。 在周五和周六晚上,在夏季,参观 幽灵徒步圣安德鲁斯海边来自夏洛特县档案馆的志愿者将在这个历史悠久的海滨小镇周围漫步但教育性的1-2小时漫步。

鲸鱼在芬迪湾观看

但是,除了酒店和食尸鬼之外,这个迷人的目的地还有更多 - 真正的冒险活动发生在您前往大海寻找北美一些最好的观鲸机会时。 在芬迪湾的温暖水域 - 这个世界上潮汐最高的地方 - 你几乎可以保证在6月到10月的喂食季节看到座头鲸,水貂以及其他小型哺乳动物和鸟类。
Jolly Breeze Adventures提供多种类型的体验,具体取决于您的冒险门槛!/ credit:Helen Earley

在圣安德鲁斯海边/照片提供许多观赏鲸鱼和水上冒险活动的选择:Helen Earley

赏鲸有几种选择。 欢乐微风历险记 提供了一艘高大的船,圣安德鲁斯的欢乐微风 - 72脚新西兰制造的切割机,船上有很多空间可以四处移动,进食和饮水(船上有一个持牌酒吧)。
JOlly Breeze高大的船鲸与孩子们在海边的圣安德鲁斯观看

圣安德鲁斯的欢乐微风非常适合儿童/照片礼貌 欢乐微风历险记

高船体验非常适合老年人或有孩子的家庭,他们可以轮流驾驶船只,并获得“船长证书”; 触摸海星,螃蟹,海葵,触摸罐中的贝壳; 查看鲸鱼,浮游生物和磷虾的样本 - 或者简单地打扮成海盗,并涂上他们的脸。
在Passamaquoddy海湾,看到故事灵感的灯塔:Pete's Dragon /照片来源:Helen Earley

在Passamaquoddy海湾,参观Head Harbour灯塔,这是新不伦瑞克省第二古老的灯塔,据说是该故事的灵感来源,Pete's Dragon /图片来源:Debbie Malaidack

Daredevils可以选择更快的骑行 - 一种33脚铝合金带壳的Zodiac Hurricane,以前由FBI使用。 这是一次公海探险,黄道带旅行需要你穿上完整的救生衣。 如果他们可以穿上西装,那么你的乖巧的孩子,9及以上,可以在十二生肖上使用。
海伦·厄利(Helen Earley)和黛比·马拉迪克(Debbie Malaidack)穿着救生服,不久前他们的喷射船冒险/照片来源:Helen Earle

海伦·厄利(Helen Earley)和黛比·玛丽达克(Debbie Malaidack)穿着救生衣,在他们的快乐微风喷射船冒险/照片之前不久:Helen Earley

说到舒适,Jolly Breeze拥有的船具有超级弹性液压座椅,可缓冲波浪的影响。 在我们走进波涛汹涌的水面之前,我不明白这一点的重要性 - 如果没有这种舒适度,我们都会带着疼痛的背部和底部回家。
芬迪群岛的冒险故事,海伦·厄利的故事,黛比·马拉达克的照片

有弹性的液压座椅受到了我们的船员/照片信用:Debbie Malaidack

这次旅行持续了大约两个半小时,让我们一睹鲸鱼观赏领地,为我们提供了大量接近鲸鱼的机会。 在我们参观的那天,它太热了,我们脱掉了救生衣,让我们的肩膀晒太阳。
摄影师Debbie Malaidack拍摄的Passamaquoddy照片上的鲸鱼尾巴

我们同意这是观看我们任何人经历过的最好的观鲸/照片来源:Debbie Malaidack

在回来的路上,我们的船长为我们每个人制作了一个热巧克力和一块饼干供我们享用,因为我们惊叹于我们看过多少只鲸鱼,以及它们有多接近。 我们小组的大多数成员都认为这是他们曾经拥有的最好和最令人满意的赏鲸体验。

我们值得信赖的船长兰迪非常了解鲸鱼的位置,以及幽默感/照片信誉:Helen Earley

探索部长岛的创新

现在我们已经谈到船如何 驾驶 在海底? 这正是你要前往的方式 部长岛,距离圣安德鲁斯镇中心只有几分钟的路程。 该岛上有一座名为Covenhoven的房子,这是CN铁路公司负责人William Van Horne的避暑别墅。 通过房屋和土地的游览证明了范霍恩不仅仅是一个“工业的上尉”。他是一位音乐家,画家,工程师,建筑师 - 一个聪明的头脑,通过修复庄园而不朽的激情。

部长岛,圣安德鲁斯海边,新不伦瑞克省Debbie Malaidack和海伦厄利

部长岛/照片来源:Helen Earley

当我们参观时,有很多导游带领我们参观了这个房产,让我们不仅能够描绘出铁路旅行全盛时期的生活,还能让我们深入了解其中一位伟大的人才。 20世纪。

在部长岛的约翰霍芬内

在Covenhoven内,部长岛/照片来源:Helen Earley

孩子们会对房子的庄严感到高兴,并对艺术作品着迷(Van Horne的孙子的房间特别迷人),但同样令人兴奋的是步行到圆形澡堂,田野和谷仓,Van Horne和后来,他的女儿艾迪一直保持着获奖的马匹和牛群。

Covenhoven内的令人难以置信的代尔夫特蓝色瓷砖:部长岛上许多意想不到的珍宝之一/照片来源:Helen Earley

Covenhoven内的令人难以置信的代尔夫特蓝色瓷砖:部长岛上许多意想不到的珍宝之一/照片来源:Helen Earley

事实上,在这么多英亩的土地上探索,部长岛是拥有热爱户外活力的munchkins家庭的完美景点。 提示:如果你去,看看潮汐。 通往部长岛的道路在一天中的某些时间处于水下。 如果你来不及,你会被困住!
巴斯之家部长岛

部长岛上的浴室,从庄园一直通向水 - 可能是您将看到的最精致的更衣室!/照片来源:Helen Earley

圣安德鲁斯 - 海边是一个独特的宝藏,每年都有来自加美边境两边的许多回归游客参观。 参观海边的圣安德鲁斯(St. Andrews by the the-sea)是为了回到更简单的海边生活......带着一些狂野的,怪异的惊险刺激。

旅游小贴士:新不伦瑞克省圣安德鲁斯海边

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于COVID-19,加拿大政府拥有正式的全球旅行咨询服务:
避免在加拿大以外进行不必要的旅行,直到另行通知。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Wet, Wild (and Spooky) Adventures in St. Andrews by-the-Sea, New Brunswick

An hour’s drive from the city of Saint John, and only a hop away from the American border, the colourful waterfront town of St. Andrews by-the-Sea, New Brunswick, has long been a summer playground for wealthy Americans. The Algonquin Resort, famous for its ghosts; the fascinating Covehoven Estate on Minister’s Island, and superb whale watching opportunities make St. Andrews-by-the-Sea a splendid holiday destination for families.

Whale watching aboard a Zodiac, with the Grand Manan ferry in the distance/photo credit: Helen Earley

Whale watching aboard a Zodiac on the Passamaquoddy Bay, with the Grand Manan ferry in the distance/photo credit: Helen Earley

Ghost Hunting in St. Andrews by-the-Sea

Let’s start with the spooky stuff. The grand Algonquin Resort has changed hands many times over the years. Frequent travellers to the Maritimes will recognise the mock-Tudor panelling, and distinctive red roof and turrets, much like its hotel-cousin, The Digby Pines, in Nova Scotia – and not unlike the fictional Overlook hotel, as portrayed in Stephen King’s famous book, The Shining. This might not be a coincidence – hotel staff say that Stephen King stayed here before it was written (and has returned since).

Algonquin credit: Lia Rinaldo

The Algonquin Hotel: luxurious, and definitely haunted/photo credit: Lia Rinaldo

The Algonquin is currently owned by Marriot, and as such, much of its interior was renovated to a modern, glossy-grey standard. To see the “real” hotel, just ask the front desk for a ghost tour. When we did, the world’s most cheerful hotel concierge took a small group of guests into the hotel’s service elevator….and then down into the world’s scariest hotel basement.

Jacob Parent hotel concierge shows a group of guests around the Algonquin hotel (Ghost Tour)

Kilted concierge Jacob Parent takes us for a ride in the service elevator…down to the spooky hotel basement/photo credit: Helen Earley

In the dark, walking in single file, crouching under copper pipes, we travelled through long-forgotten tunnels. Shaking with fear, I heard the jingle of a janitor’s keys – as promised. The night watchman is only one of several ghosts said to inhabit the property, including a bellman who greets guests in the corridors, and most famously – the spirit of a weeping, jilted bride in room 473.

The view from our room...not too far from the suite of the weeping bride/credit: Helen Earley

The view from our room…not too far from the suite of the weeping bride/photo credit: Helen Earley

The Algonquin isn’t the only place to meet the paranormal in St. Andrews by-the-Sea. On Friday and Saturday nights, during the summer, take a tour with Ghost Walks of St. Andrews by-the-Sea, where volunteers from the Charlotte County Archives will guide you on a creepy yet educational 1-2 hour walk around the historic spooky, waterfront town.

Whale Watching on the Bay of Fundy

But there’s more to this charming destination than hotels and ghouls – the real adventure happens when you take to the sea for some of the best whale watching opportunities in North America.  In the warm waters of the Bay of Fundy- which famously, has the highest tides in the world- you are almost guaranteed to see humpbacks, minkes, as well as other small mammals and birds during the feeding season, from June to October.
Jolly Breeze Adventures offers several types of experience, depending on your threshold for adventure!/credit: Helen Earley

There are many options for whale watching and aquatic adventures in St. Andrews by-the-sea/photo credit: Helen Earley

There are several options for whale watching.  Jolly Breeze Adventures offers a tall ship, The Jolly Breeze of St. Andrews – a 72 foot New Zealand-built cutter, with lots of space on board for moving around, eating and drinking (there is a licensed bar on board).
JOlly Breeze tall ship whale watching with kids St andrews by the sea

The Jolly Breeze of St. Andrews is perfect for children/photo courtesy of Jolly Breeze Adventures

The Tall Ship experience is perfect for seniors or families with children, who can take turns steering the vessel, and receive a ‘Captain’s certificate’; touch starfish, crabs, sea anemones, shells in a touch tank; check out samples of whale baleen, plankton and krill – or simply dress up like pirates and have their faces painted.
On the Passamaquoddy Bay, see the lighthouse that was the inspiration for the story: Pete's Dragon/photo credit: Helen Earley

On the Passamaquoddy Bay, see the Head Harbour light station, the second-oldest lighthouse in New Brunswick, said to be the inspiration for the story, Pete’s Dragon/photo credit: Debbie Malaidack

Daredevils can opt for a faster ride – a 33-foot aluminium hulled Zodiac Hurricane that was formerly used by the FBI. This is a high-seas adventure, and travel on the zodiac requires you to wear a full survival suit. If they can fit into a suit, then your well-behaved children, aged 9 and up, are permitted on the Zodiac.
Helen Earley and Debbie Malaidack in survival suits, shortly before their jet-boat adventure/photo credit: Helen Earle

Helen Earley and Debbie Malaidack in survival suits, shortly before their Jolly Breeze jet-boat adventure/photo credit: Helen Earley

Speaking of comfort, the boat owned by Jolly Breeze has super-bouncy hydraulic seats that cushion the impact of the waves. I didn’t understand the significance of this until we got out into the choppy water – without this level of comfort, we’d have all come home with sore backs and bottoms.
Adventures in the Fundy Isles, story by Helen Earley, photos by Debbie Malaidack

Bouncy hydraulic seats were a hit with our crew/photo credit: Debbie Malaidack

The tour, which lasts about two and a half hours, brought us to prime whale watching territory in a flash, giving us plenty of opportunities to get up close to the whales. On the day we visited, it was so hot, we peeled off our survival suits to get some sun on our shoulders.
Whale tail on the Passamaquoddy photo by photographer, Debbie Malaidack

We agreed that it was the best whale-watching any of us had experienced /photo credit: Debbie Malaidack

On the way back, our captain produced a thermos of hot chocolate and a cookie for each of us to enjoy as we marvelled over how many whales we had seen, and how close. Most of the members of our group agreed it was the best and most satisfying whale watching experience they’d ever had.

Our trusty Captain, Randy, had a great sense of where the whales were, as well as a magnificent sense of humour/photo credit: Helen Earley

Exploring Innovation on Minister’s Island

Now that we’ve talked about boats how about driving on the ocean floor? That’s exactly how you’re going to travel to Minister’s Island, only minutes from the town centre of St. Andrews. The island is home to a house called Covenhoven, the former summer home of CN rail chief William Van Horne. A tour through the house and lands proves that Van Horne was much more than merely a “captain of industry.” He was a musician, painter, engineer, architect – a brilliant mind, with numerous passions immortalised through the restoration of the estate.

Minister's Island, St. Andrews by-the-sea, New Brunswick Debbie Malaidack and Helen Earley

Minister’s Island/photo credit: Helen Earley

When we visited, there were plenty of guides on hand to lead us through a tour of the property, allowing us not only to picture what life was like in the heyday of rail travel but also to offer insight into one of the great minds of the 20th century.

Inside Covenhoven, Minister's Island

Inside Covenhoven, Minister’s Island/photo credit: Helen Earley

Children will be delighted with the grandeur of the house and fascinated by the works of art (Van Horne’s grandson’s room is especially charming), but just as exciting is a walk to the round bathhouse, the fields, and the barn, where Van Horne and later, his daughter Addie, kept prize-winning horses and cattle.

Incredible Delft Blue tiles inside Covenhoven: one of many unexpected treasures on Minister's Island/photo credit: Helen Earley

Incredible Delft Blue tiles inside Covenhoven: one of many unexpected treasures on Minister’s Island/photo credit: Helen Earley

In fact, with so many acres of grounds to explore, Minister’s Island is the perfect attraction for families with energetic munchkins who love the outdoors. Tip: If you go, watch the tides. The road to Minister’s Island is underwater at some times of the day. If you stay too late, you’ll get stuck!
Bath House Minister's Island

The bath house on Minister’s Island, leading from the Estate down to the water – probably the most elaborate changing room you’ll ever see!/photo credit: Helen Earley

St. Andrews-by the sea is a unique treasure, visited by many returning tourists from both sides of the Canada-US border every year. To visit St. Andrews by-the-Sea is to step back in time to a simpler seaside life…with a few wild, spooky thrills thrown in for good measure.

Travel Tips: St. Andrews by-the-sea, New Brunswick

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *