fbpx

怀特霍斯和道森的育空故事

在温尼伯长大,我知道感冒了,我讨厌它。 但我对从育空地区茁壮成长的人们的故事着迷,皮埃尔·伯顿关于克朗代克淘金热到伦敦杰克的书籍 野性的呼唤。 我甚至记住了Robert Service的诗 Sam McGee的火葬。 所以,今年夏天,当我有机会参观怀特霍斯和道森时,我的包包比淘金热的Stampeder更快。 就像他们一样,我发现Yukon比我想象的要多。

像皮埃尔·伯顿(Pierre Berton)这样的着名名人的青铜色半身像在怀特霍斯(Whitehorse)的街道上 - 照片Debra Smith

像皮埃尔·伯顿(Pierre Berton)这样的着名名人的青铜色半身像在怀特霍斯(Whitehorse)的街道上 - 照片Debra Smith

育空地区,由数字

克朗代克淘金热开始于7月10,1897,当消息最终到达旧金山时,前一年在Bonanza Creek发现了黄金。 一百万绝望的男人发誓,他们将前往北方,以逃避压抑美国经济的萧条。 十万人开始了,但是只有三万人进入了道森的金矿区,只有十分之一的人及时赶到了那里获得了回报。

(Adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || [])推({});

怀特霍斯以英里峡谷(Miles Canyon)的急流而得名,育空河(Yukon River)像充电马的鬃毛一样起泡。 在乘船前往道森的途中,有些人失去了他们所有的财产,其他人则在旋转的水中丧生。 今天有一座横跨河流的木制吊桥,每天两次(周二至周六)两个小时的徒步旅行,在夏季由 育空保护协会.

依然屹立

怀特霍斯充满惊喜,就像隐藏在后街的壁画一样 - 黛布拉史密斯拍摄的照片

怀特霍斯充满惊喜,就像隐藏在后街的壁画一样 - 黛布拉史密斯拍摄的照片

怀特霍斯是一个繁荣的城市,也是育空地区的首府。 25,000居民为他们的城市遗产感到非常自豪,他们的社区精神令人鼓舞。 城镇周围的公告牌有两层深的公告,包括音乐会,自然漫步,年度蝙蝠计数,铁人三项等。

麦克布赖德育空历史博物馆我遇到了执行董事Patricia Cunning。 她决心向全世界展示白马的精华,就像她在2016访问时为威廉王子和凯特米德尔顿所做的那样。 最先进的建筑环绕着1900镇的原始电报局,现在是电信展。 您可以看看真正的Sam McGee的小屋,了解阿拉斯加高速公路的建设,孩子们可以在Discovery Room玩水牛皮和羽毛帽子。 在Yukon哺乳动物和鸟类画廊中有一系列令人印象深刻的动物标本,新的区域,如重建的沙龙,正在开放,因为他们填补了收购。 Cunning目前正在寻找马匹镶嵌在Whitehorse Hotel酒店舞厅的木质镶嵌。 在材料稀缺的地方,几乎所有的东西,包括酒店房间的墙壁,窗户和地板都被回收利用,所以它很有可能会出现。 她在每月免费演讲者的演讲和徒步旅行中传播这个词。 “抬起你的地毯”,她说,“它可能在你的房子里。”

新的麦克布莱德育空博物馆庇护着该镇的第一个电报局一个巨大的铜块坐落在角落 - 摄影:Debra Smith

新的麦克布莱德育空博物馆庇护着该镇的第一个电报局一个巨大的铜块坐落在角落 - 摄影:Debra Smith

博物馆对面就是北端画廊。 他们携带诱人的各种优质艺术品和当地艺术家创作的手工艺品。 拿起一对形状像乌鸦的耳环(那些巨大的智能黑鹂在育空地区到处都是),我在拐角处的BakedCafé露台停下来拿一杯拿铁和蓝莓松饼提神。 然后是时候登上在育空河旁边运行的经过修复的1925木制手推车,以便参观一个sternwheeler,SS Klondike的国家历史遗址。 在铁路到达之前的淘金热期间,这些巨大的船只是生命线。 Parks Canada指南在白天提供免费旅行,不要错过纪录片,在扶轮公园附近的帐篷附近有帐篷档案。

SS Klondike,一个巨大的淘金时代河船,用于运输货物直到1950的 - 照片Debra Smith

SS Klondike,一个巨大的淘金时代河船,用于运输货物直到1950的 - 照片Debra Smith

在河边滚动

当从Skagway向北行驶并从Whitehorse向南行驶的铁路线在1900的Carcross镇相遇时,淘金热几乎已经过去了。 就像“平底锅中的闪光”一样,它已经完成,探矿者们正在阿拉斯加追逐黄金。 该 白色通道和育空铁路 仍然存在,我在Carcross度过了愉快的一个小时,然后登上了与车站附近的一些当地工匠聊天。

The Maple Rush的老板Richard Beaudoir将来自魁北克的枫糖浆在威士忌酒桶中陈酿,制作出美味的金色糖浆。 “人们需要知道枫糖浆有很多种,比如精美的葡萄酒”,他告诉我,“但你只能在育空地区找到这种糖浆”。 当Kate Middleton在2016访问Carcross并购买了一对传统因纽特刀形状的耳环时,珠宝设计师Shelley MacDonald宣布了这一消息。 麦当劳的最新设计是由银,黄铜,水貂皮和海狸皮制成的手镯。 他们曾在英国伦敦时装周的时装秀上亮相。 “接近我的人甚至都不知道凯特曾经来过这里”,她说,“我不知道我们中哪一个更感到惊讶。”

(Adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || [])推({});

当哨声响起时,我乘坐43座位的历史性木制座椅WP&Y铁路前往阿拉斯加史凯威,与Stampeders使用的路线相同。 我会在卑诗省的弗雷泽登陆,然后回到怀特霍斯,但是还有许多其他的选择,适合徒步旅行者和一日游。 天空是灰色的,云杉覆盖的山顶被笼罩在云层中,我们在贝内特湖的水银色波浪旁边穿过偶尔的小屋和绿色的小木屋遗骸。 在Bennett有一个45分钟的停留时间,足够的时间跑过博物馆,沿着沙地小路跋涉到山顶,并且有勇气踏上Chilkoot Trail。 生锈的铁制煎锅,火炉和不可弯曲的扭曲金属条仍然存放在100多年前丢弃的地方。 在班纳特湖,男人和女人一次又一次越过陡峭,积雪覆盖的奇尔库特小道,在他们的背上移动了一大堆物资,加入了那些用马和牛穿越白色通道的人。 来自世界各地的人们,其中大多数人从未建造过一艘船,他们制造了一个船队向东漂浮到道森。 我所要做的只是击中了克朗代克高速公路。

Bennett湖在​​7000 Stampeders开始沿着弗雷泽河漂流到道森 - 摄影:Debra Smith

Bennett湖在​​7000 Stampeders开始沿着弗雷泽河漂流到道森 - 摄影:Debra Smith

道森的白天

我没有为道森的热浪做好准备。 温度达到30度,这个城镇的空调很少见,还有地下室,人行道和电梯,所有这些都是由于零下50摄氏度的冬天和永久冻土制成的地面。 地面的不断冻结和融化以慢动作抛出建筑物。 因此,人行道由木板制成,建筑物在春天通过汽车千斤顶升降。 除了West Dawson,完全没有电力或自来水,或者(恐怖!)互联网从冻结到破裂,道森的生活是社区事务。 在7月,平均有19小时的白天,人们可以使用所有这些小时。

这些建筑物一直倾向于向游客讲述道森的永久冻土带的危害 - 照片Debra Smith

这些建筑物一直倾向于向游客讲述道森的永久冻土带的危害 - 照片Debra Smith

从11的道森城音乐节回家:00 pm,我在暮色的天空下的一个操场上发现了孩子,好像是在中午。 孩子们也很高兴地在整个节日场地独自游荡,而像老人Luedacke,Skye Wallace和Elliott Brood这样的表演者走上舞台,但是,如果按照说法,需要一个村庄抚养孩子,Dawson(人口,1,375) )是这个村庄的一个完美的例子,孩子们从来都不是一个友善的面孔。

孩子父母和小狗在Dawson的一个炽热的天享用冰淇凌 - 照片Debra史密斯

孩子父母和小狗在Dawson的一个炽热的天享用冰淇凌 - 照片Debra史密斯

道森拥有24建筑,构成了历史建筑群和国家历史遗址,但实际上,整个城镇看起来就像西方电影中的场景。 加拿大公园徒步旅行非常好,我去了其中三个。 在英国北美银行,我发现黄金比我想象的要重,我希望我能回到Red Feather Saloon,这是加拿大第一家带电灯的酒吧。 我会享受世纪之交的鸡尾酒,减去防腐的脚趾。 市区酒店 在道森以其“酸趾鸡尾酒”仪式而闻名,是的,这是一个真正的脚趾。

克朗代克艺术与文化学院举办了由国际知名艺术家Emily Jan举办的展览,展览神秘而美丽,值得任何大型画廊参展。 Diamond Tooth Gertie's Gambling Hall是加拿大最古老的赌场,它可以在深夜演出中将can-can舞蹈演绎到另一个相当现代化的舞台。 餐饮是道森的另一个惊喜,有许多一流的餐厅。 我推荐The Drunken Goat Taverna为羊肉和Sourdough Joe's餐厅提供出色的鱼类菜肴。

有一个真正的Sam McGee和他的小屋在MacBride博物馆 - 摄影:Debra Smith

有一个真正的Sam McGee和他的小屋在MacBride博物馆 - 摄影:Debra Smith

最后,我有机会看到那些让我对育空地区着迷的作家生活在哪里。 我参观了皮埃尔·伯顿(Pierre Berton)长大的温和家园(现在是加拿大艺术委员会(Canada Council for the Arts)的一个作家的静修处); 罗伯特服务的小屋(所有小木屋都应该是,它有阳光明媚的前廊,大肚炉和很好用的写字台); 杰克伦敦小屋的一半(另一半在加利福尼亚州) - 但这是一个育空故事,将不得不等待另一次。

这位作家是他的客人 旅游育空。 一如既往,她的观点是她自己的。 欲了解育空地区的更多照片,请在Instagram @ where.to.lady上关注她

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Yukon Tales from Whitehorse and Dawson

Growing up in Winnipeg, I knew about being cold, and I hated it. But I was fascinated by stories of folks who thrived in the Yukon, from Pierre Berton’s books about the Klondike gold rush to Jack London’s The Call of the Wild. I even memorised Robert Service’s poem The Cremation of Sam McGee. So, when I had the chance to visit Whitehouse and Dawson this summer, I packed my bags faster than a gold rush Stampeder. And just like them, I found the Yukon was more than I ever expected.

Bronze busts of famous celebrities like Pierre Berton line the street in Whitehorse - photo Debra Smith

Bronze busts of famous celebrities like Pierre Berton line the street in Whitehorse – photo Debra Smith

The Yukon, By the Numbers

The Klondike Gold Rush began on July 10, 1897, when news finally reached San Francisco that gold had been discovered the year before at Bonanza Creek. A million desperate men swore they’d make the trip North to escape the depression that was crushing the American economy. One hundred thousand started, but only thirty thousand made it to the gold fields of Dawson and only a tenth of those got there in time to stake a claim that paid off.


Whitehorse is named for the rapids at Miles Canyon where the Yukon River foamed like the manes of charging horses. On their way down to Dawson by boat, some people lost all their possessions, and others lost their lives in the swirling water. Today there’s a wooden suspension bridge across the river and free two-hour walking tours twice a day (Tuesday to Saturday) during the summer months led by the Yukon Conservation Society.

Still Standing

Whitehorse is full of surprises, like murals hidden on the back streets - photo by Debra Smith

Whitehorse is full of surprises, like murals hidden on the back streets – photo by Debra Smith

Whitehorse is a thriving city and the capital of the Yukon. The 25,000 residents are fiercely proud of their city’s heritage, and their community spirit is inspiring.  Bulletin boards around town are two layers deep in announcements for concerts, nature walks, annual bat counts, triathlons and the like.

At the MacBride Museum of Yukon History, I met Executive Director Patricia Cunning. She is determined to showcase the best of Whitehorse to the world, as she did for Prince William and Kate Middleton when they visited in 2016. The state of the art building wraps around the town’s original telegraph office from 1900, which is now a telecommunications exhibit. You can take a peek into the cabin of the real Sam McGee, learn about the building of the Alaska Highway and the kids can play dress up in buffalo coats and feathered hats in the Discovery Room. There’s an impressive collection of taxidermy in the Yukon Mammals & Birds Gallery and new areas, like a recreated saloon, are being opened as they fill up with acquisitions. Cunning is currently on the lookout for the wooden inlay of a horse that graced the Whitehorse Hotel ballroom floor. In a place where materials are scarce, nearly everything including hotel room walls, windows and floors have been recycled, so there’s a good chance it will turn up. She spreads the word at the monthly free speakers’ presentations and walking tours. “Lift up your carpets”, she says, “It might be in your house.”

 

The new MacBride Museum of the Yukon shelters the town's first telegraph office A giant chunk of copper sits on the corner - photo by Debra Smith

The new MacBride Museum of the Yukon shelters the town’s first telegraph office A giant chunk of copper sits on the corner – photo by Debra Smith

 

Right across from the museum is the North End Gallery. They carry a tempting variety of quality artworks and handicrafts created by local artists. After picking up a pair of earrings shaped like ravens (those huge, intelligent blackbirds are everywhere in the Yukon), I stopped at the Baked Café patio around the corner for a latte and blueberry muffin pick-me-up. Then it was time to board the restored 1925 wooden trolley car that runs beside the Yukon River on my way to visit the National Historic site of a sternwheeler, the S.S. Klondike. These huge boats were a lifeline during the gold rush before the railroads arrived. Parks Canada guides offer free tours during the day and don’t miss the documentary film with archival footage in the tent near the boat at Rotary Park.

 

The SS Klondike, one of the massive gold rush era riverboats used to transport goods until the 1950's - photo Debra Smith

The SS Klondike, one of the massive gold rush era riverboats used to transport goods until the 1950’s – photo Debra Smith

 

Rolling by the River

By the time a railroad line that ran north from Skagway and south from Whitehorse met in the town of Carcross in 1900, the gold rush had almost run its course. Like a “flash in a pan”, it was done, and prospectors were off chasing gold in Alaska.  The White Pass & Yukon Route Railway still exists, and I spent a pleasant hour in Carcross before boarding chatting with some local artisans near the station.

Richard Beaudoir, owner of The Maple Rush, ages maple syrup from Quebec in whiskey barrels to produce a tasty golden syrup. “People need to know that maple syrup comes in many varieties, like fine wine”, he told me, “but you will only find this one in the Yukon”. Jewellery designer Shelley MacDonald made the news when Kate Middleton visited Carcross in 2016 and purchased a pair of her earrings, made in the shape of a traditional Inuit knife. MacDonald’s latest designs are bracelets made of silver, brass, mink and beaver fur. They’ve been featured at on the catwalk at London, England’s Fashion Week. “The people that approached me didn’t even know that Kate had been here”, she said, “I don’t know which of us was more surprised.”


When the whistle sounded, I was aboard a 43-seater historic wooden seated WP&Y railway headed for Skagway, Alaska, upon the same route used by the Stampeders. I would disembark at Fraser, B.C. and head back to Whitehorse but there are many other options for hikers and day-trippers on the line. The sky was grey, and the tops of the spruce-covered mountains were shrouded in clouds as we barreled alongside the mercury coloured waves of Lake Bennett, past the occasional cottage and the green, tumbled remains of log cabins. There was a 45-minute stop at Bennett, just enough time to race past the museum and trudge to the top of the hill along a sandy path and get bragging rights to having set foot on the Chilkoot Trail. Rusting, iron frying pans, stoves and undefinable bars of twisted metal still lay where they were discarded over 100 years ago. At Bennet Lake, men and women who had crossed the steep, snow-covered Chilkoot Trail, again and again, to move a mandated ton of supplies on their backs, joined those who had crossed via White Pass using horses and oxen. People from every walk of life, from all over the world, most of whom had never built a boat, fashioned a flotilla to float north to Dawson. All I had to do was hit the Klondike Highway.

Bennett Lake where over 7000 Stampeders began their float down the Fraser River to Dawson - photo by Debra Smith

Bennett Lake where over 7000 Stampeders began their float down the Fraser River to Dawson – photo by Debra Smith

Daytime in Dawson

I wasn’t prepared for the heat wave in Dawson. Temperatures reached 30 degrees and air conditioning is a rarity in this town, along with basements, sidewalks and elevators, all due to the minus 50-degree Celsius winters and a ground made of permafrost. The constant freezing and thawing of the ground tosses buildings around in slow motion. So sidewalks are made of boards and buildings are raised and lowered by car jacks in the spring.  Except for West Dawson, which is completely off the grid with no electricity or running water or (horrors!) internet from freeze up to break up, life in Dawson is a community affair. In July, there are 19 hours of daylight, on average and people make use of all of them.

These buildings have been left to lean to teach visitors about the hazards of permafrost in Dawson - photo Debra Smith

These buildings have been left to lean to teach visitors about the hazards of permafrost in Dawson – photo Debra Smith

Walking home from the Dawson City Music Festival at 11:00 p.m., I spotted children in a playground under the twilight sky, as if was the middle of the day. Kids were happily wandering alone all over the festival grounds too, while performers like Old Man Luedacke, Skye Wallace and Elliott Brood took to the stage, but if, as it’s said, it takes a village to raise a child, Dawson (population, 1,375) is a perfect example of that village and the kids were never far from a friendly face.

Kids parents and pups enjoying an ice cream on a blazing hot day in Dawson - photo Debra Smith

Kids parents and pups enjoying an ice cream on a blazing hot day in Dawson – photo Debra Smith

Dawson has 24 buildings that make up the Historical Complex and National Historic Site, but in reality, the entire town looks like the set from a western movie. The Parks Canada walking tours are so good that I went on three of them.  At the Bank of British North America, I discovered that gold is heavier than I ever imagined, and I wished I was back in time at the Red Feather Saloon, the first western Canadian bar with electric lights. I would have enjoyed a turn of the century cocktail, minus the embalmed toe. The Downtown Hotel in Dawson is famous for its “sour toe cocktail” ritual and yes, it’s a real toe.

The Klondike Institute of Art & Culture had an exhibition by the internationally known artist Emily Jan that was mysterious and beautiful and worthy of any major gallery. Diamond Tooth Gertie’s Gambling Hall, Canada’s oldest casino, took can-can dancing to a whole other, quite modern, level for the late-night show. Dining was another pleasant surprise in Dawson with a number of excellent restaurants. I’d recommend The Drunken Goat Taverna for lamb and Sourdough Joe’s Restaurant for outstanding fish dishes.

There was a real Sam McGee and his cabin is in the MacBride Museum - photo by Debra Smith

There was a real Sam McGee and his cabin is in the MacBride Museum – photo by Debra Smith

Finally, I had the chance to see where the writers who fed my fascination with the Yukon lived. I visited the modest home where Pierre Berton grew up (it’s now a writer’s retreat run by the Canada Council for the Arts); Robert Service’s cabin (everything a log cabin should be, with its sunny front porch, pot-bellied stove and well-used writing desk); and half of Jack London’s cabin (the other half is in California) – but that’s a Yukon tale that will have to wait for another time.

The writer was a guest of Travel Yukon. As always, her opinions are her own. For more photographs of the Yukon, follow her on Instagram @where.to.lady

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *