驾驶东开普省的后街

“当您查看农舍时,您会看到什么?” 问我们的司机和向导Velile Ndlumbini,我们驶过东非Qunu绵延起伏的翠绿色山丘时。 高高的玉米架延伸到地平线,旁边是葱郁的牧场。 牛,羊,山羊和偶有的驴子在田野里混杂在一起,或在红色的土路上徘徊。 山坡上铺有灰褐色,淡淡灰泥,粉红色和黄色阴影的朴素的单层房屋,有些以传统的茅草屋顶为冠,有些则用金属。 他们都有几个附属建筑。 Velile指出:“每个房子至少有一个圆形小屋”,“因为年轻人必须睡在一个小屋里才能与祖先的灵魂交流。” 得益于Velile的这些见解 艾蒙蒂之旅 我们的旅行团了解到圆形小屋不仅仅是一种建筑风格,它们是东非文化不可分割的一部分。

南非东开普省的山丘上覆盖着田野和农田 - 照片Debra Smith

东开普省的丘陵覆盖着田野和农田–图片Debra Smith

我们的第一个目的地是Qunu,童年的家和祖传的农场 纳尔逊·曼德拉,广受好评的反种族隔离领导人,以及南非第一位民主选举产生的黑人总统。 自2009,7月18th 作为Nelson Mandela Day和2018在国际上庆祝,以表彰100th 他的出生周年纪念日,他的墓地正准备进行公众访问。 它俯瞰着小镇Qunu和他长大的山谷的平缓山坡。 在争取自由的斗争和27多年作为政治犯的过程中,这种谦逊的民主图标回归了他的根源。



在中国、德国、意大利、韩国和美国的 纳尔逊曼德拉博物馆 在附近的玛塔莎(Mthatha),我们遇到了曼德拉(Mandela)的孙子曼尼(Pmiko Mandela),他是与博物馆相关的青年与遗产教育中心的负责人。 展示柜上陈列着纳尔逊·曼德拉(Nelson Mandela)的奖项,个人物品和来自世界各国领导人的礼物。 墙上挂着著名艺术家和当地学童画的感人肖像,以及曼德拉的照片和语录。 很明显,他既是世界领袖,又是当地英雄,在这里受到崇敬。

曼德拉出生于科萨氏族,并命名为Rolihlahla,意为“麻烦制造者”。 为了深入了解他的家族的文化历史被保留的方式,我们停止了 ICAMAGU研究所 在Dutywa会见了Nokuzola Mndende博士和她的儿子Andile。 他们的农舍由曼德拉长大的那种圆形的茅草小屋组成。当我们享用玉米和豆类的科萨典型餐食时,Mndende博士让我们感到宾至如归( SAMP)和炉膛烤鸡。 之后,安迪尔给我们做了一次巡演,其中包括对科萨氏族狩猎和家用器具的演示。 他还向我们展示了如何准备一个特殊的根,在需要指导时调用梦。 像他的母亲一样,他接受传统科萨占卜和宗教研究的训练,并将他的知识传授给下一代。

海边的日落小径

在下午晚些时候,我们到达了 摩根湾酒店 印度洋的无尽海滩在我们面前延伸。 从这里我们可以步行回到北方,在5天,6夜间沿着沙滩和Sundowner Trail的岩石峭壁进行导游徒步旅行时加入其他“松弛的”。 徒步旅行者在沿途的特定酒店度过夜晚,而他们的行李将在前方转移。 这听起来很棒,但是我们不得不继续前往东伦敦的Nahoon海滩,那里有另一位更古老的徒步旅行者。

南非东开普省 - 印度洋触及Nahoon Point,那里发现了世界上最古老的足迹 - 照片Debra Smith

印度洋碰触了发现世界上最古老足迹的那鸿角–图片Debra Smith

在124,000大约几年前,一个孩子沿着Nahoon海滩散步。 他们留下的脚印是在洞穴中发现的,在脚形中可以找到它们的铸件 Nahoon Point自然保护区 游客中心。 它们是现存最古老的人类足迹。

我们沿着这条令人惊叹的2公里长的海岸线在海滩上创造了自己的脚步。 冲浪者,鲸鱼和海豚可以从广阔的凸起木板路的观景平台上看到,还有可爱的雏鸟(蹄兔),一种类似于小型无尾海狸的毛茸茸的哺乳动物。 事实上,它们与大象和海牛有关,只在非洲和中东发现。

论风格的Safari

我们返回东伦敦乘坐短途航班前往伊丽莎白港,急于开车一小时 Amakhala Safari Lodge。 我们的入住体验无非是令人叹为观止。

我们第一次来自诺曼大象在Amakhala Safari Lodge  - 照片Debra Smith

我们首次从诺曼(Norman)大象访问Amakhala Safari Lodge –图片Debra Smith

仿佛从山谷边缘看到的壮丽景色还不够,一条巨大的雄象正在沿着谷底慢慢地向我们走来,在前往附近的一个水坑的路上。 “哦,你见过诺曼”,我们的导游马丁·布朗克霍斯特笑着说,“他是从阿多来到我们这里的”。 阿多大象国家公园 距离山林小屋仅有半小时车程,但提供美味的餐点,每日两次的游戏活动和私人小型游泳池,我们不想离开。 Safari Lodge酒店可容纳24人员入住11私人豪华帐篷套房,配有休息区,户外淋浴和带俯瞰山谷的窗户的全套浴室。 每间套房均配有一张带浪漫蚊帐的大号床,但保护区不含疟疾。

Amakhala在保护区内有十个营地,周围环绕着75公里的电围栏。 Hlosi Lodge 是一个全包式住宿,非常适合家庭娱乐,儿童游猎以及射箭,观星和丛林漫步等活动。 6岁及以上的孩子可以玩游戏,而6岁以下的孩子可以使用家庭游戏。 如果父母想在独具特色的茅草屋顶套房中度过美好时光,并可以欣赏草原草地,可以提供保姆服务。

位于Shamwari的The Born Free Big Cat救援和教育中心的狮子和豹子距离Amakhala保护区仅有15分钟车程,他们欢迎游客,但预订必须通过预先安排 animalcare@shamwari.com。 每天有两个早上的旅行,一个在8:15和11:00 for R100(约$ 10 CAD)每人。

一群长颈鹿被称为旅程,即使它们没有移动 - 照片Debra Smith

一群长颈鹿即使不走也被称为旅程-摄影Debra Smith

多亏了马丁,我们在Amakhala看到了许多大小的生物。 实际上,马丁以敏锐的眼光经常停下吉普车,将小型托基甲虫从我们的路上移开,同时一直在寻找水牛角,牛羚和白尾牛羚。 我们很幸运地看到,长颈鹿在我们的第一个早晨游戏旅程中,伴随着黑背的jack狼,白尾的牛羚和几只牛羚,经历了一段旅程。 在接下来的几天里,我们会看到疣猪在草原上奔跑,成群的斑马接管道路,还有许多羚羊,黑斑羚和and羚(因其能够迅速融化到灌木丛中而被称为非洲的灰色鬼魂) 。 鸟类数量同样丰富。 秘书鸟,鹌鹑,夜鹰,红颈弗兰克林和许多其他鸟飞过灌木丛。 翠鸟,埃及鸭和蓝鹤(南非的国鸟)沿着河岸筑巢。

Martin Bronkhorst喜欢所有大大小小的生物,比如这个tok-toki  - 照片Debra Smith

马丁·布朗霍斯特(Martin Bronkhorst)喜欢所有大小的生物,例如这只tok-toki –图片Debra Smith

在我们最后的早晨比赛中,我们以最快的速度起飞,躲开坑洼,掠过斑马,寻找流浪者在保护区尽头发现的狮子和母狮。 分钟和英里过去了,直到我们终于找到了他们,两人一边欣赏日出,一边俯瞰着自己郁郁葱葱的山谷look望台。 尽管我们与他们在一起的时间很短,但这很宝贵。 是时候回约翰内斯堡了。

成为Amakhala保护区的国王 - 和女王 - 很高兴 - 照片Debra Smith

成为Amakhala保护区的国王和王后很好–照片Debra Smith

这位作家是他的客人 南非旅游 而在南非。 一如既往,她的观点是她自己的。 有关东开普省的更多照片,请在Instagram @ where.to.lady上关注她

Backroads, Beaches and Bush: the Eastern Cape of South Africa

Driving the Backroads of the Eastern Cape

“When you look at the farmhouses, what do you see?” asks our driver and guide Velile Ndlumbini as we drive through the rolling emerald hills of Qunu, in East Africa.  Tall stands of corn stretch to the horizon next to carpets of lush grazing land. Cattle, sheep, goats and the occasional donkey mingle together in the fields or wander across the red dirt road.  Modest, plaster-covered one-story homes in shades of pale orange, pink and yellow dot the hillsides, some crowned with a traditional thatched roof, some with metal. All of them have several outbuildings. “Each house has at least one round hut”, Velile points out, “because the young men must sleep in one to commune with the spirits of the ancestors.” Thanks to insights like these from Velile of Imonti Tours our tour group learns that round huts are more than a building style, they are an integral part of the culture of East Africa.

The hills of the Eastern Cape of South Africa are covered with fields and farmland - photo Debra Smith

The hills of the Eastern Cape are covered with fields and farmland – photo Debra Smith

Our first destination is Qunu, the childhood home and ancestral farm of Nelson Mandela, the acclaimed anti-apartheid leader, and South Africa’s first democratically elected black president. Since 2009, July 18th has been celebrated internationally as Nelson Mandela Day and in 2018, in recognition of the 100th anniversary of his birth, his gravesite is being prepared for public visits. It overlooks the tiny town of Qunu and the gentle slopes of the valley where he grew up. This humble icon of democracy circled back to his roots after a lifetime of service in the struggle for freedom and 27 years spent as a political prisoner.



At the Nelson Mandela Museum in nearby Mthatha, we met Pmiko Mandela, Mandela’s grandson, who is a leader at the educational Youth & Heritage Centre associated with the museum. Display cases hold Nelson Mandela’s awards, personal items and gifts from world leaders.  Touching portraits painted by famous artists and local schoolchildren line the walls, along with photographs and quotations by Mandela.  It’s clear how much he is revered here both as a world leader and a local hero.

Mandela was born into the Xhosa clan and given the name Rolihlahla which means “troublemaker”. For insights into the way that the cultural history of his clan is being preserved, we stopped at the ICAMAGU Institute in Dutywa and met Dr. Nokuzola Mndende and her son Andile.  Their compound is made up of the same kind of round, thatched huts that Mandela grew up in.  Dr. Mndende made us feel right at home while we enjoyed a typical Xhosa meal of corn and beans (called samp) and hearth grilled chicken. Afterwards, Andile gave us a tour that included a demonstration of the Xhosa clan’s hunting and household implements. He also showed us how to prepare a special root that invokes dreams when guidance is needed. Like his mother, he is trained in traditional Xhosa divination and religious studies and is passing down his knowledge to the next generation.

The Sundowner Trail by the Sea

In the late afternoon, we reached the Morgan Bay Hotel where endless beaches of the Indian Ocean stretched out before us. From here we could have circled back north on foot, joining other “slackpakers” on a 5-day, 6-night guided walking tour along the sandy beaches and rocky cliffs of the Sundowner Trail. Hikers spend evenings at selected hotels along the route, while their bags are transferred ahead. It sounded wonderful, but we had to push on to Nahoon Beach in East London where another, more ancient, hiker left their mark.

Eastern Cape of South Africa -The Indian Ocean touches Nahoon Point where the world's oldest footprints were found - photo Debra Smith

The Indian Ocean touches Nahoon Point where the world’s oldest footprints were found – photo Debra Smith

Around 124,000 years ago a child was walking along the shore of Nahoon Beach. The footprints they left behind were discovered here in a cave, and a cast of them can be found at the foot-shaped Nahoon Point Nature Reserve visitors centre. They are the oldest human footprints in existence.

We made our own footsteps on the beach along this amazing 2-kilometre stretch of coastline. Surfers, whales and dolphins can be seen from the viewing platforms of the extensive raised boardwalk, along with adorable dassies (hyraxes), a furry mammal that resembles a small, tailless beaver. They are, in fact, related to elephants and manatees and only found in Africa and the Middle East.

On Safari in Style

We headed back to East London for a short flight to Port Elizabeth, eager to make the one-hour drive to Amakhala Safari Lodge.  Our check-in experience was nothing less than breathtaking.

Our first visit from Norman the elephant at Amakhala Safari Lodge - photo Debra Smith

Our first visit from Norman the elephant at Amakhala Safari Lodge – photo Debra Smith

As if the stunning view from the valley’s edge wasn’t enough, a gigantic male elephant was slowly plodding along the valley floor coming right towards us, on his way to a nearby watering hole. “Oh, you’ve met Norman”, said our guide, Martin Bronkhorst with a chuckle, “he came to us from Addo”. Addo Elephant National Park is only a half-hour drive from the lodge, although, with delicious meals, twice daily game drives and personal plunge pools we weren’t tempted to leave. The Safari Lodge can host up to 24 people in 11 private luxury tented suites complete with sitting areas, outdoor showers and full baths with windows that overlook the valley. Each suite has a queen bed swathed in a romantic mosquito net, but the reserve is malaria free.

Amakhala has ten camps on the reserve surrounded by 75 kilometres of electric fence. Hlosi Lodge is an all-inclusive that is perfect for families, with children’s safaris and activities like archery, stargazing and bush walks. Children 6 and up can go on game drives, while the under-6 set are allowed on family drives.  There is babysitting available if parents would like some alone time in their luxurious thatch-roofed suites, complete with a view of the grasslands of the veld.

The lions and leopards at The Born Free Big Cat Rescue and Education Centres at Shamwari are just a 15-minute drive away from the Amakhala Reserve, and they welcome visitors, but bookings must be pre-arranged through animalcare@shamwari.com. There are two morning tours daily, one at 8:15 and 11:00 for R100 (about $10 CAD) per person.

A group of giraffes is called a journey even when they're not moving along - photo Debra Smith

A group of giraffes is called a journey even when they’re not moving along – photo Debra Smith

Thanks to Martin, we saw many creatures at Amakhala, great and small.  In fact, with his keen eye, Martin often stopped the jeep to move small tok-toki beetles out of our path while staying on the lookout for cape buffalo, wildebeest and white-tailed gnu. We were lucky to see a journey of giraffes on our first morning game drive, along with a black-backed jackal, white-tailed gnu and several wildebeest. Over the next few days, we’d see lines of warthogs trotting off across the grassland, herds of zebras taking over the road and many antelope, impala and kudu (called the Grey Ghost of Africa for its ability to quickly melt into the bush). The birdlife was equally abundant. Secretary birds, quail, nightjars, red-necked francolin and many others flitted through the bush. Kingfishers, Egyptian duck, and blue crane (the national bird of South Africa) nested along the riverbank.

Martin Bronkhorst likes all creatures great and small, like this tok-toki - photo Debra Smith

Martin Bronkhorst likes all creatures great and small, like this tok-toki – photo Debra Smith

On our final morning game drive, we took off at top speed, dodging potholes and edging past zebras to look for a lion and lioness that the Rangers had spotted at the far end of the reserve. The minutes and miles flew by until we finally found them, the pair enjoying the sunrise overlooking their own lush valley lookout. Although our time with them was short, it was precious.  It was time to circle back to Johannesburg.

It's good to be the king - and the queen - of the Amakhala reserve - photo Debra Smith

It’s good to be the king – and the queen – of the Amakhala reserve – photo Debra Smith

The writer was a guest of South African Tourism while in South Africa. As always, her opinions are her own. For more photographs of the Eastern Cape, follow her on Instagram @where.to.lady

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *