去奶奶营 - 当孩子们与祖父母在一起时,乐趣随之而来!

一个男人在早餐桌上面朝他年轻的孙子,一个晴朗的夏日早晨。 这是他们夏季访问的最后一天,是祖父母和孙子放纵心血的两周。

“我可以吃巧克力蛋糕吗,格兰普斯?”

那男人盯着那个男孩,斟满了这个不寻常的早餐要求,停了一会儿,在桌子上滑了一大块巧克力,告诫男孩“确保你喝了你的牛奶”。

男孩的父亲进入厨房,看着盘子上留下的可可涂片,并责怪他的父亲选择糟糕的早餐。 老人耸耸肩,回答:“我是祖父母。 你喂他水果,我会喂他的乐趣“。 这个男孩在他的祖父的耳边横射,因为他们分享阴谋诡计。

而这些人,就是为什么你应该让你的父母带走你的孩子,而不是偶尔的一夜之间。 作为一个健康的,亲爱的祖父母或外孙的关系,有几件事情是特别的,当他们分享一个星期左右的时间在一起而没有你监督他们时,神奇的记忆就会产生。

营祖母 - 为什么重要的是孩子们与祖父母一起旅行 - 爷爷和爷爷下棋

对于有工作的父母来说,在“Camp Grandma / Grandpa”中度过一周(或更长时间)的夏天是一种托儿所必需品。 对于所有的父母来说,满足家庭中多个人的需求可能是一个值得欢迎的喘息机会。 对于儿童来说,这可能是激光聚焦,家庭故事和新体验的时刻。

但它很少像亲吻你的孩子再见并在七天后捡起它们那么简单。 通过一点策划和极度开放的心态,您可以让您的孩子和您的父母为一生的冒险,无论是去野营,去迪斯尼乐园,还是只是呆在另一个城市的家中。

祖父母能胜任吗?

我的婆婆,从她的第一个孙子出生的那天开始,就说抚养孩子绝对是年轻人。 一些年长的祖父母可能不会拥有很多精力。 让一个听力困难的80-一岁的孩子离开一个星期并不符合任何人的最佳利益。 但是,如果精力充沛的60岁,如果精疲力尽,它可能会令人激动! 在您的孩子接受长期护理之前,请考虑您的父母年龄,健康状况以及行动/独立程度。 访问的持续时间是另一个重要的考虑因素 - 您的孩子会在3天内烧毁您的父母吗? 或者他们会持续一周? 在做出决定之前,请与父母讨论。

期望 - 你的和他们的!

有期望你可以亲吻再见 - 比如平衡的早餐或合理的睡觉时间。 但是还有其他一些你不能妥协的,比如纪律,安全和合理的清洁。 无论您的期望如何,请事先说出来。 如果你能够坚持“不要问,不要说”的政策,那么每个人都会玩得很开心。 如果有必要坚持的事情,请在离开家之前明确这些期望。

安全第一!

向您的孩子发送他们的自行车头盔,并确保您的父母知道他们必须使用它们(见上面的期望!)。 是的,我们幸存了70和80的完整但法律已经改变,在大多数司法管辖区,儿童必须在骑自行车或骑摩托车时使用头部保护。 同样,为您的父母提供适当的儿童座椅。 如果他们不熟悉您孩子的汽车安全座椅,请向他们提供说明手册并告诉他们如何正确安装和使用。

列出清单并检查两次!

年龄较大的孩子可以负责包装他们自己的游戏,书籍,电子产品和服装,但是制作一份清单适合所有年龄的人。 包括孩子们可能需要的所有物品,如最喜欢的闷,牙刷,吸管杯,玩具,拉ups,梳子,化妆品,睡前故事等等。你想避免从困扰的祖父母手中接到一个迟到的电话,试图让一个伤心的孩子睡觉没有爱! 该列表将帮助您组织能够让每个人都感到愉快的项目。 当你完成包装后,给爷爷奶奶一份复印件,让他们知道哪些物品可以退货!

文档,食品与健康

至少,为您的父母提供儿童保健卡,基本药物包(儿童对乙酰氨基酚,Benadryl等)和处方药列表以及剂量说明。 你希望他们不需要,但它会帮助祖父母自信地渡过任何健康问题。

同样,讨论饮食需求,过敏和食物偏好,以便照顾子女的祖父母将准备好你的孩子可以吃的食物。 你的美食烹饪母亲可能不得不拨回她的烹饪能力,并为普通碳水化合物的儿童和肉食女儿提供平淡的黄油面食。

如果他们将出国旅行,他们的护照,Nexus卡(如果适用)和同意通过边界的信也是必要的。 你可以找到提示和更多信息 国际旅行与孩子在这里.

营奶奶 - 为什么它对于与祖父母一起旅行的ID很重要 - 与奶奶一起阅读的孩子

整理睡眠安排

我的孩子,一个男孩和一个女孩,在旅行时愉快地睡在一起,直到我的女儿转向7并拒绝呼吸与她的弟弟相同的空气。 然后,如果另一个人在吐痰的距离内,它就会成为一场战斗,让他们中的任何一个上床睡觉。 事先讨论这些安排将有助于防止就寝时间崩溃。 它可以是同一个房间里的两张单人床,也可以是房子的独立翅膀上的睡袋,但是给祖父母所需的所有知识,让孙子们感到舒适。

金钱,亲爱的!

祖父母喜欢溺爱他们的孙辈,并会随时这样做。 我丈夫深情地说他的祖母是如何去书店买东西给他的 幸运的Starr太空游侠 她可以在一次夏季访问之前找到她的书。 用一些零用钱让你的孩子放松GP上的现金紧缩。 孩子们喜欢在他们的祖父母带他们去的任何奇妙的景点上买点零食和纪念品。 你也应该提供给你的父母钱来帮助支付招生,食物和其他费用,但你可能会发现他们嘲笑你并拒绝你的钱。

通过一些小心的计划和一些重要的对话,把你的孩子送给祖父母将是他们所有人的美妙体验。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
一个响应
  1. 25年2016月XNUMX日

Going to Camp Grandma – When kids stay with Grandparents, fun ensues!

A man faces his young grandson at the breakfast table one sunny summer morning. It’s the last day of their summer visit, two weeks in which grandparents and grandson got to indulge their whims.

“Can I have chocolate cake, Gramps?”

The man eyes the boy as he mulls this unusual breakfast request and after a pause, slides an ample slice of chocolatey goodness across the table, cautioning the boy “make sure you drink your milk too”.

The boy’s dad enters the kitchen, takes one look at the cocoa smears left on the plate and chastises his father for the poor breakfast choice. The older man shrugs and replies “I’m the grandparent. You feed him fruit, I’ll feed him fun”. The boy beams from ear-to-ear at his grandfather as they share a conspiratorial grin.

And this folks, is why you should let your parents take your children away for more than an occasional overnight visit. There are few things as special as a healthy, loving grandparent-grandchild relationship and when they get to share a week or so together without you overseeing them, magical memories are made.

Camp grandma - why its important for kids to travel with grandparents -granddaughter and grandpa playing chess

For working parents, a week (or more!) of summer at “Camp Grandma/Grandpa” is a childcare necessity.  For all parents, it can be a welcome respite from satisfying the needs of multiple people in a household. For children, it can be a time of laser focused attention, family stories and new experiences.

But it’s rarely as simple as kissing your child goodbye and picking them up seven days later.  With a little planning and an extremely open mind, you can set your children and your parents up for the adventure of a lifetime, whether they are going camping, going to Disneyland, or simply staying at home in another city.

Are the Grandparents up to it?

My mother in law, from the day her first grandchild was born, has said that raising children is definitely for the young. It takes a lot of energy that some older grandparents may not possess. Leaving a toddler with a hard-of-hearing 80-year-old for a week is not in anyone’s best interest. But with an energetic 60-year-old, it can be thrilling, if exhausting ride! Consider your parents age, their health and their level of mobility/independence before you commit your children to their long term care. The duration of the visit is another important consideration – will your kids burn out your parents in 3 days? Or will they last a week? Talk about it with your parents before you make a decision.

Expectations – Yours and theirs!

There are expectations you can kiss goodbye – like balanced breakfasts or sensible bedtimes. But there are others that you cannot compromise such as discipline, safety and reasonable cleanliness. Whatever your expectations, talk them out beforehand. If you can settle on a “don’t ask, don’t tell” policy, chances are, everyone will have a good time. If there are things that you must insist upon, make these expectations clear before they leave the house.

Safety First!

Send your kids with their bike helmets, and make sure your parents know that they must use them (see expectations above!). Yes, we survived the 70’s and 80’s intact but laws have changed and in most jurisdictions, children must use head protection while biking or riding scooters. Similarly, provide your parents with proper child seats for their vehicle. If they are unfamiliar with your child’s car seat, give them the instruction manual and show them how to install and use it correctly.

Make a list and check it twice!

Older kids can take responsibility for packing their own games, books, electronics and clothing but making a list is good planning for all ages. Include all the items children may need such as favourite stuffy, toothbrush, sippy cups, toys, pull ups, hairbrush, toiletries, bedtime story, etc. You want to avoid getting a late phone call from a distressed grandparent trying to put an inconsolable child to bed with no lovey! The list will help you organise the items that will make this experience enjoyable for everyone. When you are done packing, give a copy to the grandparents so they know which items to return!

Documentation, Food & Health

At a minimum, provide your parents with the children’s health care cards, a basic kit of medicines (Children’s acetaminophen, Benadryl, etc.) and a list of prescription medications with dosage instructions. You hope they are not needed but it will help Grandparents confidently sail through any health hiccups.

Similarly, discuss dietary needs, allergies and food preferences so grandparents as caregivers will be prepared with foods your children can and will eat. Your gourmet cooking mother may have to dial back her culinary prowess and serve plain buttered pasta to your carbs-only son and meat-eschewing daughter.

If they will be travelling internationally, their passports, Nexus cards (if applicable) and a letter of consent for crossing the border are also necessary. You can find tips and more information on international travel with children here.

Camp Grandma - Why its important for ids to travel with grandparents - kids reading with grandma

Sort out the sleeping arrangements

My children, a boy and a girl, happily slept together while travelling until my daughter turned 7 and refused to breathe the same air as her younger brother. Then it became a fight to the death to get either of them to bed if the other was within spitting distance. Discussing these arrangements beforehand will help prevent bedtime meltdowns. It can be twin beds in the same room, or sleeping bags on the floor in separate wings of the house but give the grandparents all the knowledge they need to make the grandkids comfortable.

Money, honey!

Grandparents love doting on their grandkids and will do so at every turn. My husband speaks fondly of how his grandmother went to the bookstore and bought him every single Lucky Starr the Space Ranger book she could find in advance of one summer visit. Send your kids with some pocket money to ease the cash crunch on the GP’s. Kids love having a bit of cash to buy treats and souvenirs at whatever wonderful attraction their grandparents take them to. You should also offer to give your parents money to help cover admissions, food and other expenses but you may find they scoff at you and reject your money.

With a little careful planning and some important conversations, sending your children off with their grandparents will be a wonderful experience for all of them.

 

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
One Response
  1. October 25, 2016