我们开车的时候是傍晚 YHA Wilderhope,这是一座位于什罗普郡乡村中间的伊丽莎白时代的庄园,靠近历史悠久的铁桥镇和布里奇诺斯。 云彩来自一幅康斯特布尔的绘画作品,每一座山丘都是不同的颜色:一些浓郁的绿色,另一些则是深色茶叶的颜色,随着光线的变化而变化。

最后一段公路是一条单车道轨道,带有盲曲线。 鼠标从灌木丛中惊醒,跑到我们的车前。 然后,我们与一辆大型运输卡车面对面,然后面对一头牛,最后,通过一个牛网格的嘈杂叮当,我们到达我们的目的地。

YHA英格兰和威尔士Wilderhope Shropshire

YHA Wilderhope,什罗普郡/照片:Helen Earley

“它出没了!” 4岁和9岁的孩子尖叫着,在这个过去的巨大黑暗遗迹中过夜,感到既高兴又害怕。 与旅馆经理签到后,我们爬上了一个令人眼花open乱的开放式螺旋楼梯,进入我们的顶层房间:吉百利套房。 楼梯使我感到我们身处费舍尔·普赖斯城堡的真人大小副本中。


这个房间有四张床,两个供孩子们使用的折叠床,以及带爪足浴盆的连接浴室,让我觉得自己像个公主。 那天晚上,蝙蝠在窗户外面扑来,我们把爸爸亲王放到了一个露营床上,而我和孩子们则在大床上抱在一起……以防万一有鬼。

Wilderhope YHA的吉百利套房四柱床

Wilderhope YHA的吉百利套房/照片:Helen Earley

什么是YHA?

英格兰和威尔士青年旅舍协会是一个慈善机构,与宗教社会之友有着密切联系,被称为 贵格会。 它的目标之一是“改善身心健康和青年”的目标,否则他们可能无法进入户外活动。 曾经是繁重的会员俱乐部,许多人都记得青年旅舍(YHA)是一个禁止宵禁和单性宿舍的地方,每个人都必须分担家务。

伊拉姆厅

伊拉姆大厅与背景中的德比郡山峰/照片:海伦·Earley

在过去的十年中,为了实现现代化,该慈善机构投入了数百万英镑来重振YHA品牌,使其看起来更像经济型酒店。 150个地点中的每个地点都提供舒适的床,明亮的绿色羽绒被,USB充电站,餐厅,咖啡厅或酒吧,甚至还提供各种YHA品牌的水瓶,手电筒,钢笔和腕带。 最重要的是,该慈善机构开始向像我们这样的非会员提供住宿。

重塑品牌的努力获得了回报。 2014年,青年旅舍协会(YHA)荣获“最佳酒店” 监护人和读者旅行奖,击败了Marriot和Radisson连锁酒店。

YHA品牌产品:水壶,腕带等

现代YHA赃物。 我们最喜欢的是护照,在每个地点加盖/照片:Helen Earley

一个伟大的好奇心加上节省钱的愿望(私人套间家庭房只是酒店价格的一小部分),我们决定在我们为期两周的通过英格兰,爱尔兰和威尔士的家庭旅行中,我们会探索六个独特的英国青年旅舍属性,从历史上的盛大到彻底的古怪。

地图显示了高速公路,渡轮和青年旅舍的行程:通过英格兰和威尔士进行的家庭旅行,食物和旅行作家Helen Earley

该地图显示了我们一家人的夏季行程(请注意,我们没有住在爱尔兰的任何旅馆)。

在Wilderhope享用丰盛的自助早餐,然后在牛场短暂漫步,我们开始前往下一个目的地:峰区国家公园。

YHA伊拉姆厅

伊拉姆厅 是建于1700年代的哥特式庄园。 自1937年以来,它就一直是一家青年旅馆。对我们来说,伊兰比维尔德霍普拥有更多的冒险经历。 英格兰的学校假期刚刚开始,这个地方到处都是孩子。

YHA在Dovedale的Ilam Hall举行会议,授予Helen Earley

YHA Ilam的照片:Helen Earley的连带家庭间

我们的第一站是旅馆的厨房,我准备一些培根三明治。 规则:带上自己的食物,并标上姓名和离开日期(大多数旅馆提供钢笔和贴纸),并随身携带。

甜品来自另一个家庭的捐赠形式:“我们正在用花生酱做煎饼,您想要一些吗?” 就这样,我们交了朋友。

几分钟内,我们新组建的小组开始了林地远足。 就这样,在离开汽车不到半小时的时候,我发现自己爬上了一个泥泞的小山,而来自彼得伯勒附近的一位妈妈艾莉森鼓励地喊道:“你可以做到!”

YHA Ilam的孩子们在树林里跑过来,声称Helen Earley

在Ilam YHA结识朋友/照片:Helen Earley

晚餐时,我们在YHA餐厅点餐(比萨饼,香肠和土豆泥,玉米片),并用YHA酒吧的一瓶葡萄酒冲净。 到晚上7:30时,所有木乃伊和爸爸正在休息室喝酒,而孩子们则在新墙纸的娱乐室玩桌上足球和乒乓球。 现在,我们感觉就像在度假!

Ilam Hall YHA游戏室

Ilam Hall青年旅舍的游戏室/照片:Helen Earley

早晨,我们徒步前往附近的Dovedale,穿越著名的垫脚石,穿越英格兰最冷的河流之一。 下午的冒险结束于一个售货亭,为妈妈和爸爸喝杯热茶,为孩子们提供冰淇淋。 (关于英格兰的一件大事是,无论多么遥远,您距一杯热茶的距离都不会超过5分钟。)

穿过Dovedale垫脚石与妈妈,从YHA:家庭之旅穿过英格兰和威尔士的食物和旅行作家Helen Earley

Dovedale的垫脚石,英格兰最冷的河流之一/照片:Helen Earley

YHA曼城

获得我们的护照在友好的现代曼彻斯特青年旅舍加盖

获得我们的护照在友好的现代曼彻斯特YHA /照片:Helen Earley上加盖

在经历了如此多的绿色和愉悦之后,曼彻斯特对我的9岁的年轻人来说是一种文化冲击,他从皮卡迪利车站出来后,观察到醉酒男子和公交车司机之间的争吵。 气氛在  曼彻斯特城YHA 就像一个大到足以成为孩子的祖父的孩子一样,他跌跌撞撞地走入门口,着自己的登机口。

但是旅馆很现代很干净。 在孩子们近距离接触的情况下,我们玩棋盘游戏,从旅馆的酒吧订购饮品,并享用美味的意大利肉酱面,然后安顿入夜。

YHA曼彻斯特酒吧和海伦Earley的咖啡馆照片

YHA曼彻斯特酒吧和咖啡馆/照片:Helen Earley

第二天早晨,乐趣在恢复 科学和工业博物馆,距青年旅舍仅一箭之遥。 孩子们忘却了记录棉花行业创新和痛苦的迷人展览,而当我们发现今天的免费活动是“打造自己的烦恼纺纱厂”时,孩子们认为他们已经死去了天堂。

YHA康威,威尔士

康威城堡,YHA:家庭旅行通过英格兰和威尔士由食物和旅行作家Helen Earley

康威城堡:我们没有足够的时间来正常参观/照片:海伦·厄利(Helen Earley)

向西进入威尔士,我们花了整整一天在展览场地上 兰迪德诺码头, 在这里住一晚之前 YHA康威.

虽然这只是一个进站,所以我们可以赶上 从霍利黑德到都柏林的清晨渡轮,我们在旅馆的饭厅里放松了一下,在那儿,我遇到了来自巴西的卡罗琳(Caroline),她正与丈夫和三个小孩一起乘火车在英国旅行。 我们聊天时,我4岁的儿子与巴西同伴交了朋友。 在会场上赢得了一系列的弓箭,他们从一天中消耗掉了最后的能量,然后回到了我们现在熟悉的亮绿色的铺位上。

YHA Manrobier,彭布罗克郡,威尔士

花了一些时间在爱尔兰(都柏林,穆林加尔和戈尔韦)探访家人后,从罗斯莱尔乘船四小时的路程将我们带到了一个我很想去的地方:彭布罗克郡海岸。

食物和旅行作家海伦Earley通过英格兰和威尔士的家庭之旅

就像是“迷失”中的东西:前皇家空军的掩体,在威尔士的马诺比尔(Manorbier)制作了青年旅舍(YHA),照片:

坐落在悬崖顶上, YHA Manorbier 装在波纹钢结构中,可以很容易地从电视连续剧的背景中失去',具有凉爽,冲浪的氛围。 下午5:00办理入住手续后,我们几乎要整整一天都要杀人,因此我们决定在旅馆内部的浇水坑,Skrinkle Cafe和酒吧放松一下。

我的儿子在我们穿过爱尔兰旅行时,已经购置了一个装满塑料拖拉机的背包,立即和一个名叫詹姆斯的四岁小朋友结交朋友,他们一起愉快地玩,一边重新咖啡。

休息之后,我们探索一个名叫Church Doors的海湾,只有5分钟的步行路程,沿着一条小径和一组陡峭的钢台阶走。 在这里,我们四个人在这个几乎荒废的海滩上度过了一个下午。 令人印象深刻的岩层,清澈的浅水和柔软的棕色沙滩,这些令人愉快的无所事事的时光毫无疑问,是整个夏季最令人愉快和放松的时刻。

家庭之旅:Skrinkle Cove Pembrokshire威尔士的教堂门照片授予Helen Earley

正是在厨房里做晚饭的时候,我们遇到了我们第一个粗鲁的旅馆经历:一个在西班牙橄榄塑料容器上sc草的便条:“贴上您的食物!”

他们不是我们的橄榄(上帝保佑,我会的 决不要 做这样的事情),但很明显是谁写了笔记。 一位60多岁的女士正试图读一本书,自从我们到达厨房以来,她就一直对着我吵闹的孩子开着匕首。 咯咯笑,找到一家旅馆韦尔多我几乎放心了。 如果没有,那就太完美了。

YHA街

通过英格兰和威尔士的家庭之旅:YHA街

我们的最后一站是 YHA街,位于格拉斯顿伯里郊外的萨默塞特。 它是YHA中最小的,最安静,最不现代的,并且由于所有这些原因,它可能是最重要的。

它成立于1931年,是仍在运营的最古老的YHA青年旅馆,尽管有一些新的绿色羽绒被,但该酒店并没有太大改变。 没有无线网络,房间的天花板和蜘蛛网低。 厨房很舒适,还有室外厕所。 我们真的感觉自己已经飞回了“旧时代”。

YHA的精神

但是这家旅馆实际上是在YHA之前进行的,并提供了有关它的开始的重要信息。 在餐厅的一个玻璃陈列柜里,有一封信告诉了他建筑本身的故事,建在1914中,并作为朋友协会(The Quakers)赠予公众的礼物,

“为度假提供设施,为任何需要度假的人提供休养所,特别是为那些财力有限的人提供休养所,偏爱街边居民和附近居民。”

这封信体现了青年旅社和英格兰和威尔士青年旅社的精神,对游客来说很重要。

在鲜绿色的羽绒被和品牌重塑下,对于需要放松和放松的人们有坚定的承诺:从未见过山的小学生,从未远足的少年……或有退休金的领取者在有人遗弃的西班牙橄榄上写了一个令人讨厌的笔记,只是想安静地坐着,看书,窗外有新鲜的空气。

傍晚时分,棕褐色的小木屋中的尘埃流淌着棕褐色的宁静小溪,我去厨房为自己喝杯茶。 在冰箱里,我发现以下贴在塑料纸箱上的便笺:“请喝我们的牛奶。 我们现在回家了。 再见! ””

我微笑着,在我的茶中倒入一些。

YHA关于牛奶的注意事项:用YHA探索英国

 


留在英国YHA的小贴士:

  • 带上您的护照办理登机手续。
  • 带上自己的毛巾和洗浴用品
  • 如果YHA有酒吧,你必须购买他们的葡萄酒和啤酒; 如果不是,BYOB
  • 在厨房里,使用正确的彩色菜板,随时清洗
  • 用你的姓和出发日期标记你自己的食物。
  • 请注意入住和退房时间,这可能因旅馆而异
  • 保持你的孩子关闭
  • 不要害怕交朋友!

海伦和她的家人是英格兰和威尔士青年旅舍的客人,他们没有审查或批准这篇社论。

Exploring Britain with the YHA: A Family Road Trip Through England and Wales

It is early evening as we drive toward YHA Wilderhope, an imposing Elizabethan manor house in the middle of the Shropshire countryside, close to the historic towns of Ironbridge, and Bridgnorth. The clouds are from a Constable painting, and each rolling hill is a different colour: some rich green, others the colour of dark tea, changing every moment with the light.

The last stretch of road is a brambly mile of single lane track with blind curves. A mouse startles from the bushes and runs in front of our car. Then we come face to face with a massive delivery truck, next, a cow and finally, passing over the noisy clang of a cattle grid, we reach our destination.

YHA England and Wales Wilderhope Shropshire

YHA Wilderhope, Shropshire/Photo: Helen Earley

“It’s haunted!” scream the kids, aged 4 and 9, both delighted and terrified at spending the night in this enormous, dark relic from the past. After checking in with the hostel manager, we clamber up a dizzying open spiral staircase to our top floor room: the Cadbury Suite. The stairs makes me feel like we are in a life-sized replica of the Fisher Price castle.


The room, with a four-poster bed, two fold-up camp beds for the kids, and an en-suite bathroom with claw-foot tub, makes me feel like a princess. That night, with bats swooping outside the window, we relegate Prince Daddy to a camp bed, while the kids and I cuddle up together in the big bed…just in case of ghosts.

Four poster bed in The Cadbury Suite at Wilderhope YHA

The Cadbury Suite at Wilderhope YHA/Photo: Helen Earley

What is the YHA?

The Youth Hostel Association of England and Wales is a charity with close links to the Religious Society of Friends, known as The Quakers. Among its goals is the aim of  “improving physical and mental health and wellbeing” of youth who might otherwise not get into the great outdoors. Once a rule-heavy members club, many remember the YHA as a place with a lights-out curfew and single-sex dorms, where everyone had to share chores.

Ilam Hall

Ilam Hall with the Derbyshire peaks in the background/Photo: Helen Earley

Over the past decade, in an effort to modernize, the charity has pumped millions of pounds into revitalizing the YHA brand to appear more like  budget hotels. Each of the 150 locations offer comfortable beds, bright green duvets, USB charging stations, a restaurant, cafe or bar – and even a variety of YHA-branded water bottles, flashlights, pens and wristbands. Most significantly, the charity began offering accommodation to non-members like us.

The re-branding effort paid off. In 2014 the YHA won “best hotel” in the Guardian and Readers’ Travel Awards, beating out the Marriot and Radisson hotel chains.

YHA-branded items: water bottles, wristbands etc.

Modern YHA swag. Our favourite was the passport, stamped at each location/Photo: Helen Earley

A great curiosity, combined with the desire to save money (private en-suite family rooms are a fraction of the price of a hotel), we decided that on our two-week family road trip through England, Ireland and Wales, we would make a point of exploring six unique British YHA properties, ranging from historically grand to the downright quirky.

Map showing itinerary for Motorways, Ferries and Youth Hostels: A Family Road Trip Through England and Wales by food and travel writer Helen Earley

Map showing our family’s summer itinerary (note that we did not stay in any hostels in Ireland).

After a hearty buffet breakfast in Wilderhope, and a short ramble through a cow field, we set off to our next destination: The Peak District National Park.

YHA Ilam Hall

Ilam Hall is a gothic manor built in the 1700’s. It’s been a youth hostel since 1937. For us, Ilam holds much more adventure than Wilderhope. School holidays have just started in England, and the place is teeming with children.

YHA bunks at Ilam Hall, Dovedale, credit Helen Earley

En-suite family room at YHA Ilam/Photo: Helen Earley

Our first stop is the hostel kitchen, where I prepare some bacon sandwiches.  Rules: bring your own food, labelled with name and date of departure (most hostels have pens and stickers provided), and clean up as you go.

Dessert comes in the form of a donation from another family: “we’re making pancakes with Nutella, would you like some?” and just like that, we’ve made friends.

Within minutes, our newly formed group has embarked on a woodland hike. This is how, less than half an hour after getting out of the car, I find myself clambering up a muddy hill, while Alison, a single Mum from nearby Peterborough, shouts encouragingly, “you can do it!”

YHA Ilam kids running through the woods credit Helen Earley

Making friends at  Ilam YHA/Photo: Helen Earley

For supper, we order meals in the YHA restaurant (pizza, bangers and mash, nachos) washed down with a  bottle of wine from the YHA bar.  By 7:30 pm, all the mummies and daddies are sipping wine in the lounge while the kids play foosball and ping-pong in a freshly wallpapered recreation room. Now, we feel like we’re on vacation!

Games room at Ilam Hall YHA

Games room at Ilam Hall YHA/Photo: Helen Earley

In the morning, we hike to nearby Dovedale, crossing the famous stepping stones over one of the coldest rivers in England.  The  afternoon’s adventure ends at a kiosk, with a hot cup of tea for Mum and Dad and an ice cream for the kids. (One of the great things about England, is that no matter how remote, you’re never more than 5 minutes away from a hot cup of tea.)

Crossing the Dovedale stepping stones with Mum, from YHA: A Family Road Trip Through England and Wales by food and travel writer Helen Earley

Stepping stones at Dovedale, one of England’s coldest rivers/Photo: Helen Earley

YHA Manchester City

Getting our passport stamped at the friendly, modern Manchester YHA

Getting our passport stamped at the friendly, modern Manchester YHA/Photo: Helen Earley

After so much green and pleasantness, Manchester is a culture shock for my 9-year old, who on exit from Piccadilly station, observes an altercation between a drunk man and a bus driver. The vibe at  Manchester City YHA is equally as raw, as as a man old enough to be the kids’ grandfather stumbles in the door and slurs his way through check-in.

But the hostel is modern and clean. With the kids at close reach, we play a board game, order drinks from the hostel bar, and enjoy  a good meal of spaghetti bolognese, before settling in for an early night.

YHA manchester bar and cafe photo by Helen Earley

YHA Manchester bar and cafe/ photo: Helen Earley

The next morning, fun resumes at the Museum of Science and Industry, located just a stone’s throw from the YHA. Oblivious to the fascinating exhibits that document the innovation and pain of the cotton industry, the kids think they’ve died and gone to heaven when we discover that today’s free activity is “build your own fidget spinner.”

YHA Conwy, Wales

Conwy Castle, YHA: A Family Road Trip Through England and Wales by food and travel writer Helen Earley

Conwy Castle: we didn’t leave enough time to visit properly/Photo: Helen Earley

Going westward into Wales, we spend the entire day at a fairground on Llandudno pier, before spending staying one night at YHA Conwy.

Although this is just a pit stop so that we can catch the early morning ferry from Holyhead to Dublin, we find a few moments to relax in the hostel’s dining room, where I meet Caroline from Brazil, who is travelling around Britain by train, with her husband and three young children. While we chat, my 4-year old son makes friends with his Brazilian counterpart. With a set of bow and arrows won at the fairground, they burn off the last of their energy from the day, before we return to our now familiar, bright green bunks.

YHA Manrobier, Pembrokshire, Wales

After spending some time visiting family in Ireland (Dublin, Mullingar and Galway),a four-hour ferry journey from Rosslare brings us to a place I have long wished to visit: The Pembrokshire Coast.

A Family Road Trip Through England and Wales by food and travel writer Helen Earley

Like something out of ‘Lost’: the former RAF bunker, made YHA at Manorbier, Wales/Photo: Helen Earley

Set atop a cliff, YHA Manorbier , housed in a corrugated steel structure that could easily be from the set of the TV series ‘Lost‘, has a cool, surfy vibe. With check-in at 5:00 pm, we have nearly the whole day to kill, so we decide to chill out at the hostels in-house watering-hole, Skrinkle Cafe and bar.

My son, who on our travels through Ireland, has acquired a backpack full of plastic tractors, makes friends immediately with a fellow four-year old named James, and they play together happily while we re-caffeinate.

After our rest, we explore a cove called Church Doors, only 5 minutes’ walk from the hostel, down a path and a steep set of steel steps. Here, the four of us spend an afternoon on the nearly deserted beach. With impressive rock formations, clear shallow water, and soft brown sand, these pleasant do-nothing hours were without a doubt, the most enjoyable and relaxing of our entire summer.

A family road trip: Church doors at Skrinkle Cove Pembrokshire Wales photo credit to Helen Earley

It is in the kitchen, making supper, that we encounter our first rude hostel experience: an angrily scrawled note on a plastic container of Spanish Olives: “LABEL YOUR FOOD!”

They are not our Olives (God forbid, I would never do such a thing), but it’s clear who wrote the note. There’s a lady in her 60’s who is Trying To Read a Book, and has been shooting daggers at my noisy kids since we arrived in the kitchen. Chuckling, I’m almost relieved to find a hostel-weirdo. If I hadn’t, it would all have been just too perfect.

YHA Street

A Family Road Trip Through England and Wales: YHA Street

Our final stop is YHA Street, in Somerset, just outside of Glastonbury. It is the smallest of the YHAs, the quietest, the least modern, and for all these reasons, it is perhaps the most important.

Opened in 1931, it is the oldest YHA hostel still in operation, and despite a few new green duvets, the property hasn’t changed much at all. There is no Wifi, the rooms have low ceilings and cobwebs. The kitchen is cozy, there are outdoor toilets.  We truly feel like we’ve been catapulted back to the ‘olden days’.

The Spirit of the YHA

But this hostel actually pre-dates the YHA, and gives important information about its beginnings. In a glass display case in the dining room, there is a letter that tells ithe story of the building itself, built in 1914 and given as a gift from the Society of Friends (The Quakers) to the public,

“to provide facilities for holidays, rest of convalescence for any person requiring them, but more particularly for persons of limited means, preference being given to inhabitants of Street and the immediate neighbourhood.”

The letter embodies the spirit of the YHA and the Youth Hostel movement in England and Wales, and it’s important for visitors to appreciate.

Underneath the bright green duvets and re-branding there is a strong commitment to leisure and relaxation for those who need it: the school child who has never seen a mountain, the teenager who has never been on a hike…or the pensioner who, having scrawled a nasty note on somebody’s abandoned Spanish olives, simply wants to sit quietly and read a book with some fresh air coming in the window.

As evening falls, and quiet streams of sepia light stream through the dust in this old, wooden chalet, I go to the kitchen to make myself a cup of tea. In the fridge, I find the the following post-it attached to a plastic carton: “Please have our milk. We have gone home now. Bye! 🙂 ”

I smile, and pour some in my tea.

YHA note on milk: Exploring Britain with the YHA

 


Tips for Staying in a British YHA:

  • Bring your passport to check-in.
  • Bring your own towels and toiletries
  • If the YHA has a bar, you must buy their wine and beer; if no, BYOB
  • In the kitchen, use the correct coloured chopping board and wash up as you go
  • Label your own food with your surname and the date of departure.
  • Observe check-in and check-out times, which may differ by hostel
  • Keep your children close
  • Don’t be afraid to make friends!

Helen and her family were guests of the YHA England and Wales, which did not review or approve this editorial. 



Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
One Response
  1. April 20, 2018

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *