面对现实吧。 五口之家或五口之家在为四人建造的住宿世界中旅行可能具有挑战性。 这一点我太清楚了。

当我的孩子们还小的时候,有可能——尽管从来都不是最好的——把三个孩子哄到一张床上。 现在最老的身高比我高,不是那么多。

多年来,我们已经获得了创意(租用房车进行公路旅行)并且很幸运(在苏格兰的连锁酒店中找到家庭房。)但是还有什么? 我去寻找让每个人都在同一个屋檐下的选择。

度假屋

“我最喜欢的东西之一是度假屋,”Maritime Travel 营销高级总监 Blair Jerrett 说。

“度假屋、联排别墅、公寓,任何自炊式都可以节省大量成本,”他说。 “你不必每顿饭都依赖餐馆。 你也在控制食物的质量。”

度假屋物超所值,特别是如果您获得负担得起的直飞航班,并配备酷炫的设施,通常包括您自己的私人游泳池。

基西米度假屋出租

租用度假屋是以实惠的价格拥有您所需的所有空间的好方法! 照片雪莱卡梅隆麦卡伦

“奥兰多的度假屋很受欢迎,我们越来越多地要求可容纳多达 16 人的大型房屋,”杰瑞特先生说,他的公司开展了大量的团体旅行,从多代家庭到婚礼、家庭团聚到运动队。

我知道上诉。 我们租了一套三居室高级度假屋 基西米 当它配备四间卧室、三间浴室、一个游泳池、热水浴缸和车库里的台球桌时,让我惊叹不已。

杰瑞特先生说联排别墅也是一个不错的选择。 它们是两层,非常适合父母,虽然它们不倾向于配备私人游泳池,但它们的设置就像一个度假村,并提供游泳池和电影院等公共设施,使其成为一个不错的选择,尤其是对于那些喜欢社交。

度假村的房间

寻找一个阳光明媚的加勒比度假胜地? 杰瑞特先生建议向旅行社询问他们喜欢的家庭推荐度假村以及原因。 许多度假村可​​以容纳五个或更多,一位优秀的顾问将能够找到满足您需求的一个。

具体说明您想要的家庭节目类型并根据您孩子的年龄和他们的需求选择一个地方是有帮助的,无论是对婴儿友好还是 青少年俱乐部.

好消息是,面向大家庭的产品正在上升。 “与五年前相比,新出现的数量更多,”他说。



巡航和旅游

游轮也是一个不错的选择,他们提升了游戏水平,包括一些带有家庭套房和优秀儿童节目的游轮。

“皇家加勒比在成为家庭友好型和训练有素的专业人士方面确实很棒,”他说,“而迪士尼邮轮公司将非常适合这一点。 这就是他们的设计目的,家庭度假。” 越来越多的企业似乎正在参与家庭游戏。

家庭游轮 - Norweigan Breakaway Cruises Ship 上的滑水道。 照片由 Norweigan Breakaway Cruises 提供

家庭游轮——Norweigan Breakaway 游轮上的滑水道。 照片由 Norweigan Breakaway Cruises 提供

“10 年前不存在的家庭旅行正在出现更多选择,”他说,并指出像 Trafalgar 和 Globus 这样的公司正在为家庭提供更多的旅行选择,甚至河流巡游也开始增加一些家庭选择。 Jerrett 先生说值得四处看看,因为市场上经常会出现促销活动,这些促销活动可以帮助降低成本,例如 孩子们留下来免费吃饭 或者孩子们自由飞翔。 “顾问们都知道。 找一位在预订家庭方面知识渊博的顾问。”

巴黎住宿

巴黎可以成为家庭度假的好去处,虽然价格昂贵,但不排除在城市逗留。 有选项。 我期待尝试的是公寓式酒店, 拉丁区的道本顿别墅,光之城最受欢迎的街区之一。 它提供 17 间大公寓,均配备厨房,让客人可以自己做饭,分为三种风格:两人一室公寓、四人公寓,以及最大的 75 平方米公寓,可容纳六人。

对我来说特别吸引人的是,Daubenton 别墅提供了两全其美的服务——配备人员的酒店接待处和住在公寓的自主权,包括 Netflix! 另一个好处是它是快乐文化酒店家族的一部分,这意味着客人可以在城市的其他快乐文化地点停下来为设备充电、打伞或喝咖啡加油。

巴黎快乐文化别墅 Daubenton

巴黎快乐文化别墅 Daubenton

然后是工作人员的友好,可以做的态度。

“在杜本顿别墅,我们相信让客人有宾至如归的感觉并在巴黎度过愉快而难忘的时光是非常重要的,”他们告诉我。 他们说,整个团队都在这里帮助确保一个美妙而完美的住宿。

帐篷、帐篷和小屋

另一个不错的选择,我们一次又一次地返回,是 加拿大公园假期. 为什么? 他们的住宿名单价格合理,很容易适应大家庭,展示文化和自然,而且很有趣。
我们在路易斯堡要塞国家历史遗址的旧式住宿中打盹,在布雷顿角岛上重现 1744 年的新法兰西,并在他们的标志性建筑中伸展开来 奥腾克斯,流行的部分帐篷,部分小屋风格的住宿在加拿大约有 400 家。

oTENTik 在 Rouge 国家城市公园 图片来源 Parks Canada Valerie Burke

oTENTik 在 Rouge National Urban Park 照片来源 Parks Canada Valerie Burke

“我们还提供独特的住宿,例如小帐篷或小屋,可以为您的家庭带来令人难以置信的体验,”加拿大公园游客体验总监 Ed Jager 说。

除了 oTENTiks 以及在布鲁斯半岛和芬迪国家公园发现的 15 个蒙古包外,一些漂亮的屋顶公园住宿包括位于艾伯塔省落基山屋国家历史遗址的 Métis Trapper Tents、Tipis 和 Trapline Cabins,露营费(tipi 为 58.50 美元)和帐篷,小木屋 120 美元)包括一个工具包,其中包括野牛皮、时代烹饪工具包、班诺克混合物和捕手茶等物品,帮助客人沉浸在毛皮贸易生活方式中,同时在帐篷里睡最多 XNUMX 人,在帐篷里睡 XNUMX 人,在帐篷里睡 XNUMX 人在小屋里。

游客们在他们照明的梅蒂斯捕兽人帐篷里闲逛,同时露营过夜。 落基山庄国家历史遗址。 Credit Parks Canada - Scott Munn

游客们在他们照明的梅蒂斯捕兽人帐篷里闲逛,同时露营过夜。 落基山庄国家历史遗址。 Credit Parks Canada – Scott Munn

在萨斯喀彻温省,家庭可以睡在苏式帐篷里,在草原国家公园的草原上度过一个夜晚。 小费每晚 45 美元,可让 XNUMX 人用婴儿床睡,最多 XNUMX 人用睡垫睡。 在魁北克的 La Mauricie 国家公园,您可以在 Le Chalet Wabenaki 和 La Maison Andrew 下榻,这里曾经是 Laurentian 俱乐部的一部分,这个著名的狩猎和钓鱼俱乐部曾经是美国富人(包括肯尼迪家族)经常光顾的俱乐部。

草原国家公园田野上的帐篷附近的野餐桌上的一家人。 加拿大信贷公园

草原国家公园田野上的帐篷附近的野餐桌上的一家人。 加拿大信贷公园

PEI小屋住宿

当家庭年复一年地回到一个地方时,您就会知道正在发生一些好事,这就是爱德华王子岛小屋度假的轻松自在。 在爱德华王子岛,别墅大小不一,所以是的,您也可以带上一个大家庭和祖父母。 我有! 租一两个星期的小屋的经济价值让我感到温暖。 大多数小屋都有完整的厨房,因此在杂货店、农贸市场或海鲜店稍作停留,就可以在小屋的野餐桌上轻松烧烤或煮龙虾。 但这仅仅是开始。 打开包装一次,看着孩子们在酒店周围愉快地打乒乓球,许多人在以前的农田里,许多人俯瞰大海,当您看着太阳从岛上的红色海岸上落下,而孩子们最后一次跑到海滩时,这是一种美妙的滋补品游泳池或晚上的篝火晚会。

PEI-Seashore-Photo-Shelley-Cameron-McCarron

PEI 海岸的日落。 照片雪莱卡梅隆 - 麦卡伦

爱德华王子岛旅游 提供了一个了不起的住宿搜索引擎,可让您在搜索完美小屋时输入细节。

多伦多挖掘

加拿大最大的酒店, 多伦多切尔西酒店,对家庭娱乐有所了解。 (“有史以来最好的酒店,”我最小的孩子在进入位于市中心的酒店几分钟后宣布 - 距离央街和登打士广场以及伊顿中心仅几步之遥 - 在被蜘蛛侠击掌并被机器人聊天之后。)他们的家庭娱乐套房宽敞,有两间卧室,其中一间配有大床,另一间配有双人墨菲床。 还有一个大号折叠沙发、一个设备齐全的厨房和一个带 XBOX 和 DVD 播放器的儿童角。

 

多伦多切尔西酒店儿童和青少年区

多伦多切尔西酒店儿童和青少年区

一位客人写道:“我们选择这家酒店有三个原因:1. 地理位置 2. 我们一家和三个儿子住在一个房间里,这在多伦多市并不常见。 3. 它似乎有一个出色的泳池区,有一个水滑梯,这对我们的男孩非常有吸引力。 对于有两个以上孩子的人来说,他们的家庭套房是一个合理的选择。” 的确。 此外,酒店还拥有儿童票——拥有自己的食品卡车和家庭娱乐区,其中可能是最酷的特色——“开瓶器”水滑梯。

苏格兰风

英国并不以其适合家庭的住宿而闻名,但一位同事的小费将我带到了 Premier Inn,这有助于节省一些巨额费用 全国高地狂欢. 我们在附近的商店购物的百万美元。 您可以看到大布坎南画廊购物中心和约翰刘易斯百货公司的入口。 这家 Premier Inn 酒店位置理想,步行即可到达巴士和铁路服务。

从 Premier Inn Glasgow Buchanan Gardens 查看。 照片雪莱卡梅隆麦卡伦

从 Premier Inn Glasgow Buchanan Gardens 查看。 照片雪莱卡梅隆麦卡伦

我们在爱丁堡、格拉斯哥和因弗内斯的连锁店预订了家庭房,发现每间房都经济、干净、员工超级友好,而且位于旅游景点、火车站和汽车站的中心位置。

Big Family? Here Are Some Unique and Affordable Accommodations for Big Broods!

Let’s face it. Travelling as a family of five or more in an accommodation world built for four can be challenging. I know this all too well.

When my kids were small, it was possible—though never preferable—to cajole the wee three into one bed. Now that the oldest tops me in height, not so much.

Over the years, we’ve gotten creative (renting RVs to road trip) and lucked out (finding family rooms in a hotel chain in Scotland.) But what else? I went looking for options to have everyone under the same roof.

Vacation home

“One of my favourite things are vacation homes,” says Blair Jerrett, senior director of marketing at Maritime Travel.

“Vacation homes, townhomes, condos, anything self-catering can offer great cost savings,” he says. “You’re not dependent on restaurants for every meal. You’re also controlling the quality of the food.”

Vacation homes offer great value, especially if you score affordable direct non-stop flights, and come with cool amenities, often including your own private pool.

Kissimmee Vacation home rental

Renting Vacation home is a great way to have all the space you need at an affordable price! Photos Shelley Cameron McCarron

“Vacation homes in Orlando are popular, and we’re getting more requests for larger homes that can accommodate up to 16 people,” says Mr Jerrett, whose company does a tremendous amount of group travel from multi-generational families to weddings, family reunions to sports teams.

I know the appeal. We rented a three-bedroom premium vacation home in Kissimmee and were wowed when it came with four bedrooms, three bathrooms, a swimming pool, hot tub and a pool table in the garage.

Mr Jerrett says townhomes can be a good option too. They’re two levels, great for parents, and while they don’t tend to come with a private pool, they are set up like a resort and offer communal amenities like pools and movie theatre, making it a good option especially for kids who like to socialize.

Room at the resort

Looking for a sunny Caribbean getaway? Mr Jerrett advises asking travel agents about family recommended resorts they like and why. Many resorts can accommodate five or more, and a good counsellor will be able to find one that meets your needs.

It’s helpful to be specific about the type of family programming you want and choose a place according to the ages of your children and their needs, be it baby friendly or teen clubs.

The good news is that offerings for larger families are on the upswing. “There are more emerging than there were five years ago,” he says.



Cruise and tour

Cruise ships can be a good choice too and they have upped their game, including some with family suites and excellent kids programming.

“Royal Caribbean is really great in terms of being family-friendly and trained professionals,” he says, “and Disney Cruise Line would be great for that. That’s what they’re designed for, the family vacation.” More and more, it seems businesses are getting in the family game.

Family Cruise - Waterslides aboard a Norweigan Breakaway Cruises Ship. Photo Courtesy Norweigan Breakaway Cruises

Family Cruise – Waterslides aboard a Norweigan Breakaway Cruises Ship. Photo Courtesy Norweigan Breakaway Cruises

“More options are emerging for family travel that didn’t exist 10 years ago,” he says, noting that companies like Trafalgar and Globus are offering more tour options for families, and even river cruising is starting to add some family options. Mr Jerrett says it’s worth looking around as there are often promotions in the market that pop up from time to time that can help with the cost such as kids stay and eat free or kids fly free.  “Counsellors are aware. Find a counsellor that’s knowledgeable in booking families.”

Parisian stay

Paris can be a great getaway for families, and while it can be pricey, don’t rule out a city stay. There are options. One that I’m looking forward to trying is an apartment-style hotel, Villa Daubenton in the Latin Quarter, one of the more popular neighbourhoods in the City of Light. It offers 17 big apartments, all equipped with a kitchen so that guests can cook their own meals, in three styles: a studio for two people, an apartment for four, and the biggest, a 75 square metre apartment that accommodates six people.

Particularly appealing to me is the fact Villa Daubenton offers the best of both worlds—a staffed hotel reception and the autonomy of staying in an apartment, complete with included Netflix! Another perk is that it’s part of the Happy Culture hotel family, meaning guests can stop into other Happy Culture locations across the city to charge a device, grab an umbrella or refuel with coffee.

Villa Daubenton by HappyCulture Paris

Villa Daubenton by HappyCulture Paris

Then there’s the staff’s friendly, can-do attitude.

“Here at the Villa Daubenton we believe that it is extremely important that the guests can feel like at home and enjoy a pleasant and unforgettable stay in Paris,” they tell me. The whole team is here to help to ensure a wonderful and perfect stay, they say.

Tipis, tents and lodges

Another good option, one we’ve returned to time and time again, is a Parks Canada vacation. Why? Their roster of accommodations are priced right, easily fit larger families, showcase culture and nature, and are just plain fun.
We’ve snoozed in period accommodations at Fortress Louisbourg National Historic Site, bringing to life 1744 New France on Cape Breton Island, and have stretched out in their signature oTENTiks, the popular part-tent, part-cabin style accommodations numbering about 400 across Canada.

oTENTik in Rouge National Urban Park Photo Credit Parks Canada  Valerie Burke

oTENTik in Rouge National Urban Park Photo Credit Parks Canada Valerie Burke

“We also offer unique accommodations such as tipis or lodges that can be part of an incredible experience for your family,” says Ed Jager, Director Visitor Experience at Parks Canada.

In addition to oTENTiks, and 15 yurts found in Bruce Peninsula and Fundy National Park, some nifty roofed Parks accommodations include the Métis Trapper Tents, Tipis and Trapline Cabins at Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site in Alberta, where the camping fee ($58.50 for tipi and tents and $120 for cabins) includes a kit with items like bison hide, period cooking kit, bannock mix and trapper’s tea, helping immerse guests in the fur trade lifestyle, while sleeping up to five in the tents, eight in the tipis and six in the cabins.

Visitors hang out in their illuminated Métis Trapper Tent while camping overnight. Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site. Credit Parks Canada - Scott Munn

Visitors hang out in their illuminated Métis Trapper Tent while camping overnight. Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site. Credit Parks Canada – Scott Munn

In Saskatchewan, families can bed down in a Sioux tipi to experience a night on the prairies at Grasslands National Park. The tipis, at $45 per night, sleep five people with cots and up to eight with sleeping mats. While in Quebec, at La Mauricie National Park, it’s possible to bunk in at Le Chalet Wabenaki and La Maison Andrew, which used to be part of the Laurentian Club, the prestigious hunting and fishing club once frequented by rich Americans, including the Kennedys.

A family at a picnic table near a tipi on a field, Grasslands National Park. Credit Parks Canada

A family at a picnic table near a tipi on a field, Grasslands National Park. Credit Parks Canada

PEI cottage stay

When families return to a place year after year, you know something good is going on, and that something is the ease of a Prince Edward Island cottage vacation. On PEI, cottages come in all sizes, so yes, you can take a big family and the grandparents too. I have! The economical value of renting a cottage for a week or two warms my heart. Most cottages have full kitchens so a stop at a grocery store, farmer’s market or seafood shop easily makes a BBQ or lobster boil happen right at your cottage picnic table. But that’s only the start. Unpack once and watch the kids happily ping-pong around the property, many in former farm fields and many overlooking the sea, a brilliant tonic come evening as you watch the sun sink over the island’s red shores while the kids make one last run to the pool or to an evening bonfire.

 PEI-Seashore-Photo-Shelley-Cameron-McCarron

Sunset on the PEI Seashore. Photo Shelley Cameron-McCarron

PEI Tourism offers a terrific accommodation search engine that allows you to key in specifics in your search for the perfect cottage.

Toronto digs

Canada’s largest hotel, the Chelsea Hotel in Toronto, knows a thing or two about family fun. (“Best hotel ever,” my youngest proclaimed minutes after entering the centrally located hotel—a short stroll from Yonge and Dundas Square and the Eaton Centre—after being high-fived by Spiderman and chatted up by a robot.) Their Family Fun Suites are roomy with two bedrooms, one with queen bed and the other with a twin and double Murphy bed. There’s also a queen pullout couch, a full kitchen and a Kid’s Corner with XBOX and DVD player.

 

Chelsea Hotel Toronto Kids and Teens Areas

Chelsea Hotel Toronto Kids and Teens Areas

Writes one guest: “We chose this hotel for three reasons: 1. Location 2. It accommodated our family with our three sons in one room, which was uncommon in the city of Toronto. 3. It appeared to have an outstanding pool area, with a water slide, which appealed greatly to our boys. Their family suite is a reasonable option for those with more than two children.” Indeed. Plus the hotel has kid cred—with its own food truck and a Family Fun Zone with perhaps the coolest feature of all, the ‘corkscrew’ water slide.

A Scottish fling

The U.K. is not exactly known for its family-friendly accommodations, but a tip from a colleague led me to the Premier Inn, which helped save some megabucks on a countrywide Highland fling. Megabucks that we spent shopping at the nearby shops. You can see the entrance to the big Buchanan Galleries shopping centre and to John Lewis Department store. This Premier Inn location is ideal, close walking distance to bus and rail service.

view from the Premier Inn Glasgow Buchanan Gardens. Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

View from the Premier Inn Glasgow Buchanan Gardens. Photo Shelley Cameron McCarron

We booked the family room in the chain’s locations in Edinburgh, Glasgow and Inverness and found each to be economical, clean, staffed by super friendly folk, and centrally located to tourist attractions and train and bus stations.

 



Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *