一月–一年中的那個時候,我們花時間回頭,提前計劃,甚至可能改變我們一些破舊的旅行習慣。 無論是計劃去探索科爾特斯海,還是在大峽谷中沉迷於一對深愛的親戚,2019年對於許多加拿大家庭遊旅行家庭來說都是充滿希望的。

雖然許多旅行媽媽可能會解決吃少量餅乾,節省更多錢或繼續他們一直在節省的夢想之旅,1月2019似乎是一個很好的時間來反思旅行,前瞻和“受教育”的時刻旅行。

12月,我決定利用我們加拿大家庭娛樂部的一些旅行抄寫員的智慧,讓他們反思2018的熱點並分享他們最好的家庭'aha時刻'。 從薩斯卡通(Saskatoon)到圭爾夫(Guelph),哈利法克斯(Halifax)到卡爾加里(Calgary),下面有一些很棒的家庭旅行提示和課程,從甜蜜到聰明。



旋律W –安大略省圭爾夫

最好2018的 –作為旅行撰稿人,我在2018年進行了許多旅行,其中包括一次穿越夏威夷群島的小型探險,真是太神奇了。 但是,我最喜歡的與家人的旅行離我住的地方並不遠。 這是在安大略省Bobcaygeon的湖邊小屋度過的美好一周。 之所以如此,是因為它的重點是湖上,我們所有人整天都穿著泳衣在湖上,附近或上面玩耍。 我為兩個孫子(5歲和2歲)買了水坑套頭衫,這給了他們兩個在水中暢遊的信心。 我們租了槳板,釣魚,劃皮艇和游泳。 我五歲的孫女每天早上約5:30叫醒我,“你醒了嗎,娜娜?” 我們會tip腳步入客廳,一起讀書幾個小時,讓她的父母盡可能長的睡眠。 儘管時間很早,但那是一個非常特殊的時刻,我什麼都不會交換。

啊哈! 家庭旅行小費– 2018最大的學習就是放棄我的期望。 處理小孩,我們必須始終保持靈活性。 我開始和孩子們一起做手工藝,並且考慮到了先入為主的結果,但是不得不放下我的想法,讓創造力流過孩子,讓他們玩得開心。

2019在哪裡? 我們乘坐的小型探險船穿過科爾特斯海,浮潛,划槳,皮划艇,我最期待的活動是與鯨鯊一起浮潛。

Jen Mallia –艾伯塔省埃德蒙頓

2018年度最佳– 我不得不說,我和孩子們最喜歡的一次旅行是今年夏天和我的孩子們一起去的 坎盧普斯 和太陽峰。 我從來沒去過任何一個地方,他們都充滿了有趣的東西讓我們一起探索。

啊哈! 家庭旅行提示 - 沒有配偶旅行可能會很艱難,但是有很多變通辦法,例如與另一個媽媽和他們的孩子結成對卡納納斯基斯的春假旅行,或者與坎盧普斯的超級有用的旅遊公司聯繫。 當我們去坎盧普斯(Kamloops)時,我丈夫無法加入我們,這帶來了一些挑戰,即,當您通常只能依靠伴侶時,獨自做父母會很累。 另外,我開車不多,所以提出了一些“創造機會”。 幸運的是,坎盧普斯(Kamloops)/太陽峰(Sun Peaks)地區有很棒的旅遊公司來幫我放鬆一下。

2019在哪裡? 我們正在為表弟的婚禮準備在拉斯維加斯和大峽谷舉行的春季婚禮,我的孩子們期待著幾乎令人擔憂的狂熱。 不要告訴我的孩子們,但我們也在考慮南加州主題公園,我40月將要XNUMX歲,所以我真的很想做一些健康旅行,以解決我的不那麼優雅的衰老過程。

安德里亞·米勒(Andrea Miller)–新斯科舍省哈利法克斯

2018年度最佳– 我最喜歡的2018年旅行是去牙買加。 通常,到島上要花一個星期或更短的時間,但是我們在牙買加待了兩個星期,所以我們真的得花點時間探索。 我對牙買加最喜歡的記憶之一是在Bluefield's Bay Villas的混蛋雞肉午餐,由經驗豐富的當地廚師James用多香果木醃製並烤製。 而且我喜歡我的丈夫和我在用餐時可以有一些成年時間,因為孩子由我們自己的私人保姆照顧,他們的住宿也包括了他們的服務。

Bluefields Bay Villas酒店是享用早晨咖啡的理想場所。 照片AdánCanoCabrera

Bluefields Bay Villas酒店是享用早晨咖啡的理想場所。 照片AdánCanoCabrera

啊哈! 家庭旅行小費– 當我帶著一個很小的孩子的家庭旅行時,我學到的是,我需要仔細考慮一下我們租用的Airbnb的佈局。 我們在墨西哥的Huatulco租了一個建築令人驚嘆的地方,但這對於孩子們來說是一個接一個的危險,因此我們無法放鬆。 樓梯和平台太多,沒有欄杆。

阿黛爾·保羅–薩斯卡通,薩斯喀徹溫

最好2018的 –今年,我真的學會了接受“輕鬆”的家庭旅行。 在我們孩子生命的早期,我們努力保持20年代初更加冒險的旅行事業。 我一直堅持這樣的想法,就是要有“脫離常規”的經歷,並希望讓我的孩子接觸到旅行中一些更具變革性的方面。 隨著時間的流逝,便利和睡眠需求削弱了這些意圖,我和丈夫和我發現自己的旅行目標更加適中(靠近家),並發現我們省了錢,在此過程中更加享受自己。 早期的旅行仍然很有趣,但是,由於所有的一切都帶著小孩子,所以這是很多工作。

 

今年是2018年,我們在薩斯喀徹溫省家附近的迪芬貝克湖(Lake Diefenbaker)租了一間小屋,這是一間帶空調和舒適床舖的小屋。 我們坐在沙灘椅上,嚼著吐痰,當……時,我在最新的沙灘上讀了30頁。 我有一個'啊哈的時刻。

Wanuskewin Tipi Sleepover

另一個靠近家庭旅行的人發現我們在Wanuskewin遺產公園的小屋裡睡覺。 照片阿黛爾保羅

啊哈! 家庭旅行小費– 在微妙的陽光下,腳趾放在沙灘上,使我想到,多年來我第一次真正在海灘上放鬆,假期終於又像是假期。 這個啟示是雙重的:我意識到為家庭假期選擇輕鬆舒適的目的地是可以的,而不是可以的,而且我的孩子可能已經到了我們可以重新發現並重新考慮我們更冒險的旅行目標的年齡了未來。 毫無疑問,育兒有很多課程,但是一遍又一遍浮出水面就是為了擁抱您所處的階段。 這與其他任何領域一樣適用於旅行。

2019在哪裡? 我們將進行一次夏威夷家庭之旅,並預訂了一些探險之旅,包括深海捕魚和潛水。 像這樣的活動已經超出我們的視野了幾年,對此我不感到遺憾。 但是,我有信心,我們已經進入了旅行冒險的另一階段,我等不及了……

Renee Tsang,卡爾加里,艾伯塔省

2018年度最佳– 作為一個旅行家庭,我們有機會在加拿大境內拜訪家人,並於2018年前往拉斯維加斯,瓦拉塔港,墨西哥和奧蘭多參觀奧蘭多環球影城和迪斯尼樂園。從加拿大西部到溫哥華的公路旅行和我到溫尼伯的東部永遠是我最喜歡和最喜歡的旅行時間,因為我們有機會出去玩,一起度過時光。 但是迪士尼始終是我們的最愛之一,我們充滿了魔幻,幸福和歡樂,我們永不厭倦參觀! 我們總是會帶著一點熟悉的心情返回,但是仍然有一些新的經驗值得我們去嘗試,我們總是嘗試尋找新的事物來檢查我們的訪問,所以這與以前從未一樣。

家庭選擇Grand Palladium Vallarta

Grand Palladium Vallarta酒店的家庭選擇私人泳池和海灘區

啊哈! 家庭旅行小費– 通過與孩子們一起旅行,我學到的是釋放所有期望並學會順其自然! 您事先可以做的所有計劃都可以提供幫助,但是旅行時可能會發生任何事情,因此很多事情完全不在您手中。 您只需要學習“不關心”所有細節,無論它們可能是什麼。 旅行中發生打ic。 孩子們被帶離了他們的舒適區,但是無論挑戰如何,您都在旅行,創造一些獨特的回憶,並分享一些很酷的故事。

2019在哪裡? 世界是我們的牡蠣! 沒有任何具體旅行計劃的美妙之處在於我們有機會去任何我們想要的地方! 我們還沒有決定,因為我們知道有很多地方想要去,但這將是一個機會出現的問題,我們今年想要享受的體驗以及如何適應這一切!

Jillian Footz,埃德蒙頓,艾伯塔省

2018年度最佳– 把我的雙胞胎女兒帶到南加州。 在2012,我在洛杉磯海岸發現了一個名為Oxnard的可愛小社區。 他們舉辦了一場精彩的聖誕跑步比賽,還有許多其他度假樂趣活動,如碼頭的遊船之光。 我們住在一個美麗的海濱度假勝地,附近有一個夢幻般的公園和遊樂場。 我在今年之前去過四次,我總是知道有一天我想把女兒帶到那裡,今年我能夠做到這一點!

追逐聖誕節到奧克斯納德加利福尼亞

加利福尼亞州奧克斯納德是草莓之鄉,這些美女盡可能甜美多汁! 攝影:Jill Footz。

 

啊哈! 家庭旅行小費– 我們在2018旅行的最大學習是,在四歲時,我們的女兒比以往任何時候都更容易旅行。 在今年十二月之前(就在他們的4th生日之後),我們帶他們的最後一次飛行是在13月份之前到夏威夷。 這是一場噩夢! 從航班延誤到飛機上尖叫的嬰兒到達我們在3的度假村:00 am的身體時鐘完全沒有打擊。 這次旅行很可愛,令人難忘,但這比留在家裡的工作要多得多。 現在,我們正處於一個女孩登上飛機的時代,並將自己設置為著色並連接點並觀看機上娛樂。 它們非常簡單,我可以拿出筆記本電腦做一些工作!

2019在哪裡? 自私的是,我最興奮的2019年旅行是我每年一次的西班牙馬略卡島春季旅行。 我是一個在島上舉辦訓練營的自行車隊的成員,而我的8天旅行不僅對我來說是一次測試冬季訓練的絕好機會,而且對我來說也是一次美好的假期,而這正是我的需要為在家工作的媽媽補充生命!

米蘭達郵報,夏洛特女王,BC

2018年度最佳– 從30年代初到40年代末,一群女朋友和我一起去Tofino衝浪,騎巡洋艦自行車,做可口的飯菜並住在美麗的海濱AirBnB中。 然後我們所有人結婚並開始生孩子。 旅行停止了,但是嚮往的渴望卻沒有。 我們中的一群人今年已經XNUMX歲了,所以我們決定儘早開始計劃,並在不列顛哥倫比亞省奧索尤斯預訂一些公寓,度過週末的品酒,飲食和遠足。 奧索尤斯(Osoyoos)之後,我從兒子的祖父母那裡接兒子,並在坎盧普斯(Kamloops)與家人和朋友會面,進行了一次母親兒子之行,同樣令人讚嘆。 我強烈建議像這樣的配對旅行-這是滿足兩個需求的好方法:家庭旅行和單人媽媽旅行都是一次旅行。

Haida Gwaii的北海灘上的海灘和嬰兒裝嘉豪。

啊哈! 2018年家庭旅行小費– 如果您用完了胡蘿蔔條,您的孩子不會死,而且他也不完全遵守常規。 當我們在家時,例行公事是我們家中的王者。 但是在休假時,尤其是從A點到B點時,該例程有時會飛出窗口。 原諒你自己。 您的孩子將生存,這是關於樂趣和創造回憶,而不是您跳過小睡並且是一個壞媽媽。

2019在哪裡? 我是棕櫚泉和約書亞樹國家公園的忠實粉絲。 雖然我在沒有兒子的情況下去過幾次,但我很高興今年冬天和他一起探索這個地區,享受陽光,徒步旅行和游泳池樂趣。

New Year, New Trips – Travellers Share Their Family Travel Tips for 2019

January – that time of year when we take time to look back, plan ahead and maybe even change some of our well-worn travel habits. Whether planning a trip to explore the Sea of Cortez or swoon over a pair of deeply-in-love relatives in the Grand Canyon, 2019 holds a lot of promise for many of the Family Fun Canada travel family.

While many travelling moms might be resolving to eat fewer cookies, save more money or go on that dream trip they’ve been saving for, January 2019 seems like a great time to reflect on trips taken, trips ahead and ‘teachable’ moments on these trips.

In December, I decided to tap into the wisdom of a few of our Family Fun Canada travel scribes and ask them to reflect on 2018’s hotspots and to share some of their best family ‘aha moments’. From Saskatoon to Guelph, Halifax to Calgary, there are some great family travel tips and lessons below that range from sweet to smart.



Melody Wren – Guelph, Ontario

Best of 2018 – As a travel writer, I had many trips in 2018 including being a small expedition through the Hawaiian islands that was amazing. However, my favourite trip with the family wasn’t far away from where I live; it was a wonderful week spent at a lakefront cottage in Bobcaygeon, Ontario. It was a favourite because the focus was on the lake and playing in, near or on it, all of us living in swimsuits all day long. I bought puddle jumpers for the two grandchildren (aged 5 and 2) which gave them both the confidence to play non stop in the water. We rented paddle boards, fished, kayaked and swam. My five-year-old grand-daughter woke me up about 5:30 every morning asking, “are you awake, Nana?” We would tiptoe into the living room and read books together for several hours, letting her parents sleep as long as possible. Even though it was early, that was a very special time that I wouldn’t trade for anything.

Aha! Family travel tip – The biggest learning of 2018 was to let go of my expectations. Dealing with small children we have to be uber-flexible at all times. I start doing crafts with the kids and have preconceived outcomes in mind, but have to let go of my ideas and just let the creativity flow through the kids and let them have fun with it.

Where to in 2019? We are travelling on a small expedition ship through the Sea of Cortes, snorkelling, paddleboarding, kayaking, and the activity I am most looking forward to is snorkelling with whale sharks.

Jen Mallia – Edmonton, Alberta

Best of 2018 – I would have to say one of my favourite trips with kids was this summer with my boys to Kamloops and Sun Peaks. I had never been to either spot, and they were both filled with fun stuff for us to explore together.

Aha! Family travel tiptravelling without a spouse can be tough, but there are lots of workarounds like pairing up with another mom and their kid a la spring break trip to Kananaskis or connecting with super helpful tour companies in Kamloops. My husband was unable to join us when we went to Kamloops which posed some challenges namely, parenting alone is exhausting when you have the luxury of usually relying on a partner. Also I don’t drive much so that presented some “opportunities for creativity”. Luckily there were great tour companies in the Kamloops/Sun Peaks area to pick up my slack and got us around.

Where to in 2019? We are looking at Las Vegas and the Grand Canyon for my cousin’s wedding this spring which my kids are looking forward to with an almost worrisome fervour. Don’t tell my kids but we are also considering Southern California theme parks, and I am turning 40 in September, so I really want to do some wellness trips to come to grips with my not-super-graceful ageing process.

Andrea Miller – Halifax, Nova Scotia

Best of 2018 – My favourite trip of 2018 was to Jamaica. Usually, when we go to the islands it’s for a week or less, but we stayed in Jamaica for two weeks, so we really got to take our time exploring. One of my favourite memories of Jamaica was the jerk chicken lunch at Bluefield’s Bay Villas which was marinated and grilled over pimento wood by James, a seasoned local chef. And I loved that my husband and I could have some adult time while we were feasting because the kids were being taken care of by our own private nanny whose services were included with our stay.

A perfect spot for a morning cup of coffee at Bluefields Bay Villas. Photo Adán Cano Cabrera

A perfect spot for a morning cup of coffee at Bluefields Bay Villas. Photo Adán Cano Cabrera

Aha! Family travel tip – What I’ve learned travelling as a family with very small children is that I need to think very carefully about the layout of the Airbnb’s we rent. We rented an architecturally stunning place in Huatulco, Mexico, but it was one danger after another for the kids so that we couldn’t relax. There were way too many stairs and landings without railings.

Adele Paul – Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Best of 2018 – This year I really learned to embrace ‘easy’ family travel. In the early years of our kid’s lives, we struggled to maintain the more adventurous travel endeavours of our early 20’s. I was stuck on the notion of wanting to have experiences ‘off the beaten path’, and wanting to expose my children to some of the more transformative aspects of travel. As the years passed, convenience and the need for sleep eroded these intentions, and my husband and I found ourselves with more modest travel goals–keeping close to home–and found we saved money and enjoyed ourselves more in the process. Travel in these early years was still enjoyable, but, as everything is with little ones in tow, it was a LOT of work.

 

This year in 2018, we rented a cabin at Lake Diefenbaker near our home in Saskatchewan – a cabin with air-conditioning and comfortable beds for all. We were sitting on our beach chairs, chewing spits, and I was 30 pages deep in my latest beach read when…. I had an ‘aha moment.

Wanuskewin Tipi Sleepover

Another close to home trip found us sleeping in a tipi at Wanuskewin Heritage Park. Photo Adele Paul

Aha! Family travel tip – In the exquisite dry heat of the sun, with my toes in the sand, it occurred to me that for the first time in years I was actually relaxed in a beach situation, that a holiday finally felt like a holiday again. This revelation was twofold: I realised that it was okay–better than okay–to choose easy, comfort destinations for our family holidays and also that my kids had probably reached the age where we might rediscover and reconsider our more adventurous travel goals in the near future. Parenting comes with its myriad of lessons, no doubt, but one that surfaces over and over again is just to embrace the phase you’re at. This applies as much in travel as in any other domain.

Where to in 2019? We are going on a family trip to Hawaii and have booked some adventure expeditions, including deep sea fishing and diving. Activities like these have been off our radar for some years, and I have no regrets about that. But, I am confident that we have moved into another phase of our lives regarding travel adventures, and I can’t wait…

Renee Tsang, Calgary, Alberta

Best of 2018 – As a travelling family, we have had the opportunity within Canada to visit family as well as travel to Las Vegas, Puerto Vallarta, Mexico and to Orlando to visit Universal Orlando and Walt Disney World in 2018. The road trips within Canada West to Vancouver and East to Winnipeg are always some of my most favourite and enjoyable travel times as we have the opportunity to hang out and just spend time together in the car. But Disney is always one of our favourites, and we never tire of visiting as it’s filled with magic, happiness and joy! We will always return with a little bit of familiarity but there is still something new to experience, and we always try to find new things to check out on our visits, so it’s never the same as before.

Family Selection Grand Palladium Vallarta

The view of private pool and beach area of Family Selection at Grand Palladium Vallarta

Aha! Family travel tip – What I’ve learned through travelling with kids is to release all expectations and learn to go with the flow! All the planning you can do in advance can help, but anything can happen when travelling, and so much of it is entirely out of your hands. You just have to learn to “not care” about all the details, whatever they might be. Hiccups in travel happen. Kids are taken out of their comfort zone, but whatever the challenge may be, you are travelling, creating some unique memories and will have some pretty cool stories to share.

Where to in 2019? The world is our oyster! The beauty of not having any specific travel plans yet is that we have the opportunity to go anywhere we want! We have not decided just yet as we know there are so many places we want to go, but it will be a matter of what opportunities arise, what experiences we want to enjoy this year and how to fit it all in!

Jillian Footz, Edmonton, Alberta

Best of 2018 – Taking my twin daughters to Southern California. In 2012, I discovered a lovely little community up the coast from Los Angeles called Oxnard. They host a fabulous Christmas running race, and have plenty of other holiday fun activities, like a boat parade of lights in the Marina. We stay at a beautiful waterfront resort, with a fantastic park and playground nearby. I have visited four times before this year, and I always knew I wanted to one day take my daughters there, and this year I was able to do just that!

Chasing Christmas to Oxnard California

Oxnard, California is strawberry country, and these beauties were as sweet and juicy as could be! Photo by Jill Footz.

 

Aha! Family travel tip – our biggest learning for travel in 2018 was that at age four our daughters are much easier to travel with than they ever have been. Before this December (just after their 4th birthday) the last flight we took with them was to Hawaii when they were 13 months old. It was a nightmare! From flight delays to screaming babies on a plane to arriving at our resort at 3:00 a.m. with body clocks that were totally out of whack. Taking that trip was lovely and memorable, but it was so much more work than staying home would have been. Now we are at an age where the girls boarded the plane, and set themselves up with colouring and connect the dots and watching in-flight entertainment. They were so easy that I was able to pull out my laptop and do some work!

Where to in 2019? Selfishly, the 2019 trip I’m most excited about is my annual spring trip to the Spanish Island of Mallorca. I’m part of a cycling group that hosts training camps on the island, and my 8-day trip is not just an excellent chance for me to test my winter training, but it’s a wonderful getaway that’s just for me, and exactly what I need to recharge for life as a work-at-home mom!

Miranda Post, Queen Charlotte, B.C.

Best of 2018 – From my early to late 30s, a gaggle of girlfriends and I would travel to Tofino to go ‘surfing’, ride cruiser bikes, make delicious meals and stay in gorgeous seaside AirBnBs. Then we all got married and started having kids. The trips stopped, but the yearning to get together did not. A bunch of us turned 40 this year, so we decided to start planning early and book a couple of condos in Osoyoos, B.C. for a weekend of wine tasting, eating and hiking. After Osoyoos, I picked up my son from his grandparents and met up with family and friends in Kamloops for a mother-son trip which was equally as awesome. I highly recommend pairing trips like this – it’s a great way to fill two needs: family travel and solo mama travel all in one trip.

Beaches and babywearing galore on Haida Gwaii’s North Beach.

Aha! Family travel tip of 2018 – Your kid will not die if you run out of carrot sticks and he doesn’t stick exactly to the routine. When we’re at home, a routine is king in our house. But on vacation, especially when transiting from point A to point B, the routine sometimes flies out the window. Forgive yourself. Your kid will survive, and this is about having fun and creating memories, not that you skipped a nap and are a bad mom.

Where to in 2019? I’m a huge fan of Palm Springs and Joshua Tree National Park. While I’ve been there a few times without my son, I’m super excited to explore the area with him this winter for some sunshine, hikes and pool play.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
9 Comments
  1. January 10, 2019
  2. January 10, 2019
  3. January 10, 2019
  4. January 10, 2019
  5. January 9, 2019
  6. January 8, 2019
  7. January 8, 2019
  8. January 7, 2019
  9. January 6, 2019

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *