fbpx

进出芝加哥的环路

你听说过“The Loop”吗? 芝加哥的许多必看景点都位于市中心的八五街区 - 包括剧院区。 在2019的庆祝活动中享受从当前的百老汇热门歌曲到精彩复兴的一切 芝加哥剧院年。 在The Loop外面找到一个神奇的地下酒吧,一个巨大的照明摩天轮和正宗的深盘披萨。


在循环中 - 徒步之旅

就在千禧公园南边,那里是豆形的Anish Kapoor雕塑 云门 反映天空,双石狮子守卫庄严 芝加哥艺术学院。 其中一个主要景点 CityPASS芝加哥,AIC拥有世界上最伟大的印象派,欧洲和美国艺术收藏品之一。 不要错过较低楼层的Thorne微型客房。 孩子们和成年人都会被这些经过精心研究和重建的历史悠久的房间的娃娃屋大小的模型所吸引。 你甚至可能遇到电影导演韦斯安德森。 他是粉丝。

芝加哥建筑中心是模特爱好者的圣地 - 照片Debra Smith

芝加哥建筑中心是模特爱好者的圣地 - 照片Debra Smith

向北走向河,你会发现新开的 芝加哥建筑中心。 在摩天大楼画廊,建筑高层展览中的23模型耸立在参观者之上,甚至是1:91规模。 五个型号的建筑物在当时是世界上最高的建筑物,包括:家庭保险大楼(世界上第一座在芝加哥1885建造的现代化摩天大楼); 纽约克莱斯勒大厦; 108故事威利斯大厦(原来只有几个街区); 马来西亚的双子塔和即将完工的沙特阿拉伯吉达塔(超过1,000米)。 在主楼层是芝加哥市中心的交互式1:50比例模型,这是世界上最大的3D印刷迷你城市。 按下按钮使LED灯在街景上闪烁,重现1871的Great Chicago Fire并照亮现代地标。

芝加哥火灾在芝加哥建筑中心栩栩如生 - 照片Debra Smith

芝加哥火灾在芝加哥建筑中心栩栩如生 - 照片Debra Smith

CAC还提供超过85芝加哥的不同步行游览,以及精湛的90分钟讲解 水上巡航。 作为敞篷船 第一夫人 在许多37可移动的桥梁下躲避闪闪发光的芝加哥河,您将听到标志性的芝加哥建筑的背景故事以及Louis Sullivan,Frank Lloyd Wright和Mies van der Rohe等建筑师的传记。 了解如何通过建筑物追踪商业帝国的兴衰,并了解如何以及为何将芝加哥河设计为从密歇根州的密歇根湖向后流动 - 这是芝加哥的第一个。

散步后饿了吗? The Loop有很多餐饮选择。 从捅到肉馅饼的各种各样的东西,在休闲的长农舍桌子上拉一把椅子 复兴食堂。 它位于一栋经过修复的1907 Daniel Burnham建筑内。 在 迪尔伯恩酒馆 偎依在复古风格的皮革展台上,让姐妹Amy和Clodagh Lawless为您提供热情的爱尔兰式欢迎,享受美味,重新设想的美式经典菜肴,如John Dory鱼片,兔子tagine和中西部炸鸡。

复兴食品大厅有很棒的食物和一个小小的乙烯基咖啡馆 - 照片Debra Smith

复兴食品大厅有很棒的食物和一个小小的乙烯基咖啡馆 - 照片Debra Smith

用餐后,您可以在剧院区欣赏表演。 查看 百老汇在芝加哥最热门节目门票的网站如 性怪癖靴, 亲爱的埃文·汉森 (2月12到3月10,2019)和杰出的制作 汉密尔顿 (运行到7月21,2019)。

芝加哥年剧院有许多百老汇作品 - 照片Debra Smith

芝加哥年剧院有许多百老汇作品 - 照片Debra Smith

芝加哥剧院周一年一度的活动,每年2月提供一周价值的门票到无数的制作,包括(在2019) 妈妈咪呀小妇人。 芝加哥有超过250影院,从福音到全球都有喜剧,即兴,舞蹈,歌剧,木偶和音乐,舞台上总有一些有趣的东西。 “很多工作都是由来自不同背景的剧作家完成的,他们专注于接触更广泛的观众”,芝加哥联盟剧院执行董事Deb Clapp说。

The Loop以北的社区

在芝加哥河以北冒险,您会发现充满活力的社区,拥有一系列独特的场所。 就在河对岸的是斯特里特维尔(Streeterville),它是60仪表(200英尺)高百年摩天轮(芝加哥发明)的所在地。 海军码头。 芝加哥儿童博物馆和芝加哥莎士比亚剧院也都在这里,都提供大量的儿童节目。 沿着高档购物,前往华丽一英里的廉价商店,然后前往老城区享受一夜的喜剧表演 第二城市 或音乐剧 Porchlight音乐剧院.

魔术和音乐让您在芝加哥魔术休息室度过一个有趣的夜晚 - 照片Debra Smith

魔术和音乐让您在芝加哥魔术休息室度过一个有趣的夜晚 - 照片Debra Smith

对于一个真正神奇的夜晚,通过“洗衣店”进入,隐藏了入口 Chicago Magic Lounge和一个近距离的手,音乐和笑声的夜晚。 手表卡消失,鸡尾酒在Art Deco Performance Bar中同样轻松出现,然后加入Harry Blackstone Cabaret中的魔术师。 当你享受美味的小盘子和家庭爵士乐队时,他们会在你的餐桌上表演惊人的壮举。 私人654俱乐部房间里的魔术师有更多的伎俩。

Labriola推出了真正的芝加哥深盘披萨 - 照片Debra Smith

Labriola推出了真正的芝加哥深盘披萨 - 照片Debra Smith

如果你一直渴望深盘披萨,你会发现它是宽敞的小酒馆风格 Labriola咖啡厅以及其他意大利特色菜。 有意义的晚餐,试试吧 河烤社会之家。 James Beard屡获殊荣的厨师Tony Mantuano的团队将以他们的雕刻技巧和烹饪方式为您带来惊艳。 在观看河流交通的同时享用一杯葡萄酒。

沿着芝加哥河漂流是游览伟大建筑的最简单方式 - 照片Debra Smith

沿着芝加哥河漂流是游览伟大建筑的最简单方式 - 照片Debra Smith

住哪里

酒店地理位置优越,步行即可抵达The Loop,Riverwalk和Magnificent Mile, 洛伊斯芝加哥酒店 享有绝佳的城市和湖泊美景,提供现代化的豪华设施和家庭友好的氛围。 孩子们可以获得带有Loew's Loves Kids计划的Urban Explorer背包或柔软的野营帐篷以及冬季套餐的热巧克力。 酒店令人印象深刻的建筑在芝加哥建筑中心的River Cruise之旅中提到。 在ETA餐厅+酒吧开始您的“多风之城”之旅,其菜单远远超过常规的酒店美食。 受芝加哥历史的启发,Executive Sous Chef Matt Lange汇集了一份本地采购菜单,让您回归更多。

这位作家是他的客人 选择芝加哥。 一如既往,她的观点是她自己的。 有关芝加哥的更多照片,请在Instagram上关注她 @ where.to.lady

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于COVID-19,加拿大政府拥有正式的全球旅行咨询服务:
避免在加拿大以外进行不必要的旅行,直到另行通知。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

In and Out of The Loop in Chicago

Have you heard of “The Loop”? Many of Chicago’s must-see sights are found in this eight by five block area in the heart of downtown – including the Theatre District. Enjoy everything from current Broadway hits to spirited revivals during 2019’s celebration of The Year of Chicago Theatre.  Venture outside The Loop to find a magical speakeasy, a giant illuminated Ferris wheel and authentic deep-dish pizza.


In The Loop – A Walking Tour

Just south of Millennium Park, where the bean-shaped Anish Kapoor sculpture Cloud Gate reflects the sky, twin stone lions guard the stately Art Institute of Chicago. One of the top attractions featured on CityPASS Chicago, the AIC houses one of the world’s great collections of Impressionist, European and American art. Don’t miss the Thorne Miniature Rooms on the lower level. Kids and adults alike will be fascinated by these doll-house-size models of meticulously researched and recreated historical rooms. You may even run into Wes Anderson, the film director. He’s a fan.

The Chicago Architecture Center is a mecca for model lovers - photo Debra Smith

The Chicago Architecture Center is a mecca for model lovers – photo Debra Smith

Walking north towards the river you’ll find the newly opened Chicago Architecture Center. In the Skyscraper Gallery, 23 models in the Building Tall exhibition tower over visitors, even at 1:91 scale. Five models feature buildings that were, in their time, the tallest building in the world including: The Home Insurance Building, (the world’s first modern skyscraper built in 1885 in Chicago); the Chrysler Building in New York; the 108 story Willis Tower (the original is just a few blocks away); the twin Petronas Towers in Malaysia and the soon to be completed Jeddah Tower in Saudi Arabia (over 1,000 meters). On the main floor is an interactive 1:50 scale model of downtown Chicago, the world’s largest 3D printed mini-city. Push a button to make the LED lights flicker over the streetscape to recreate the Great Chicago Fire of 1871 and illuminate modern landmarks.

The Chicago Fire leaps into life at the Chicago Architecture Center - photo Debra Smith

The Chicago Fire leaps into life at the Chicago Architecture Center – photo Debra Smith

The CAC also offers over 85 different walking tours of Chicago, and a superb 90-minute docent narrated river cruise. As the open top boat First Lady ducks under many of the 37 moveable bridges that lace up the shining Chicago River, you’ll hear the backstories of iconic Chicago buildings and the biographies of architects like Louis Sullivan, Frank Lloyd Wright, and Mies van der Rohe. Learn how to trace the rise and fall of business empires by their buildings, and discover how and why the Chicago River was engineered to flow backwards from Lake Michigan in 1900 – another Chicago first.

Hungry after your walk? There are great dining options in The Loop. For everything from poke to empanadas, pull up a chair at one of the long farmhouse tables in the casual Revival Food Hall. It’s set in a restored 1907 Daniel Burnham building. At The Dearborn Tavern snuggle into a vintage-inspired leather booth and let sisters Amy and Clodagh Lawless give you a warm Irish welcome as you enjoy their delicious, reimagined American classic dishes like John Dory fillets, rabbit tagine and Midwest fried chicken.

The Revival Food Hall has great eats plus a tiny vinyl cafe - photo Debra Smith

The Revival Food Hall has great eats plus a tiny vinyl cafe – photo Debra Smith

After dining, take your pick from performances in the Theatre District. Check out Broadway in Chicago’s website for tickets to the hottest shows like Kinky Boots, Dear Evan Hansen (February 12 to March 10, 2019) and the outstanding production of Hamilton (running until July 21, 2019).

The Year of Chicago Theatre features lots of Broadway productions - photo Debra Smith

The Year of Chicago Theatre features lots of Broadway productions – photo Debra Smith

Chicago Theatre Week, an annual event, offers value-priced tickets for a week each February to a myriad of productions including (in 2019) Mama Mia and Little Women. With over 250 theatres in Chicago that present comedy, improv, dance, opera, puppetry and music from gospel to global, there’s always something entertaining on stage. “A lot of the work is being done by playwrights from very diverse backgrounds who are focused on reaching a wider audience”, says Deb Clapp, Executive Director of the League of Chicago Theatres.

Neighborhoods North of The Loop

Venture north of the Chicago River and you’ll find vibrant neighbourhoods with an amazing array of unique venues.  Just across the river is Streeterville, home of the 60 metre (200 ft) tall Centennial Ferris Wheel (a Chicago invention) on Navy Pier. The Chicago Children’s Museum and Chicago Shakespeare Theatre are also located here and both offer boatloads of children’s programming.  Shop your way along the upscale to bargain-filled stores of the Magnificent Mile before heading up to Old Town for a night of comedy improv at The Second City or a musical at Porchlight Music Theatre.

Magic and music make for a fun night out at The Chicago Magic Lounge - photo Debra Smith

Magic and music make for a fun night out at The Chicago Magic Lounge – photo Debra Smith

For a truly magical evening, pop in through the “laundromat”, that hides the entrance to the Chicago Magic Lounge, and a night of close up sleight of hand, music and laughter. Watch cards disappear and cocktails appear with equal ease in the Art Deco Performance Bar, then join the magicians in the Harry Blackstone Cabaret. They’ll perform astounding feats at your table while you enjoy tasty small plates and the house jazz band. The magicians in the private 654 Club room have even more tricks up their sleeves.

Labriola presents a real Chicago deep dish pizza - photo Debra Smith

Labriola presents a real Chicago deep dish pizza – photo Debra Smith

If you’ve been craving deep dish pizza, you’ll find it at the spacious, taverna-style Labriola Cafe, along with other Italian specialties. For dinner with a view, try River Roast Social House.  James Beard award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano’s team will dazzle you tableside with their carving skills and culinary chops. Enjoy a glass of wine while you watch the river traffic float by.

Floating down the Chicago River is the easiest way to tour great architecture - photo Debra Smith

Floating down the Chicago River is the easiest way to tour great architecture – photo Debra Smith

Where to Stay

In a prime location, within walking distance of The Loop, the Riverwalk and the Magnificent Mile, Loews Chicago Hotel offers excellent city and lake views, modern luxury and a family-friendly atmosphere. Kids receive an Urban Explorer backpack with the Loew’s Loves Kids program or a soft camping tent and hot chocolate with winter packages.  The hotel’s impressive architecture rates a mention on the Chicago Architecture Center’s River Cruise tour.  Start your tour of “the windy city” at the ETA Restaurant + Bar with a menu that far exceeds routine hotel fare. Inspired by Chicago’s history, Executive Sous Chef Matt Lange has put together a locally sourced menu that will have you coming back for more.

The writer was a guest of Choose Chicago. As always, her opinions are her own. For more photographs of Chicago, follow her on Instagram @where.to.lady

 

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *