在新斯科舍省南海岸寻宝

宝藏,与背景中的橡树岛

“妈妈,我想我 发现 东西!” 我的女儿庄严地举起了她在我们沿着海滨的码头散步时发现的铁g的残余物。 Atlantica橡树岛度假村和会议中心,一家家庭旅馆,可俯瞰新斯科舍省外著名的橡树岛 马宏湾。 她的“稀有发现”可能是烧烤炉盖或旧的下水道格栅,但她的想像力已经扎根:“您认为它可能是宝藏的一部分吗?”

对于有小孩的家庭, 橡树岛之谜 是一个有趣的和可访问的难题,可以在访问期间探索 新斯科舍省的南岸。 尽管您的孩子实际上无法在橡树岛上挖掘宝藏(看到附带的诅咒,您也不希望他们这么做!),但是有很多方法可以让您沉浸在加拿大最伟大的寻宝活动之一中时间。 也许您的家人会在证据中发现一个明显的人工制品或线索-所有其他寻宝者都没有注意到!

奥克岛大西洋酒店的奥秘

大西洋橡树岛度假村和码头(在前台的海滨小屋)

一切始于1795年,当时一个叫丹尼尔·麦金尼斯(Daniel McGinnis)的男孩在他位于橡树岛(Oak Island)的家附近探索时,遇到了地面上一个奇怪的洼地。 当他和他的朋友们挖得更深时,他们发现了堆积成层的泥土,原木和椰子纤维,堆积成竖井内部的平台。 他们坚信自己已经找到了海盗宝藏-这是一个不大可能的前景,因为这是在海盗袭击后不久。 海盗的黄金时代 在新斯科舍省。

奥克岛的奥秘

橡树岛,看到 谷歌地图,可能2016

自从第一个夏天以来,寻宝从未停止过,问题也越来越多。 为什么在通常不种植橡树的岛上种植橡树? 长杆被称为“钱坑”的目的是什么? 谁建造了精心制作的诱杀装置,使猎人每次挖掘都充满海水? 当最近的椰子树在两千公里之外时,椰子纤维是如何在这个人造坑内深处找到的呢?

关于海底世界的理论比比皆是,包括海盗金,圣杯,甚至威廉·莎士比亚的作品集! 这些年来,已经有无数关于该主题的书籍。

孩子们最好的书之一是 橡树岛和寻找埋藏的宝藏 Joan-Hamilton Barry着:一本简单明了的书,附有精美的照片和图形,可以让您的孩子的想象力加速他们对南海岸的访问。

橡树岛的奥秘为孩子写的很棒的书

琼·汉密尔顿·巴里(Joan Hamilton Barry)的最新著作非常适合家庭

在电视上,您可以跟上两个最新的寻宝者:里克(Rick)和马蒂·拉吉娜(Marty Lagina),这两个美国富裕的兄弟与 历史频道 记录在橡树岛上对宝藏的持续追求。 根据传说,在找到宝藏之前,有七个人必须死去寻找宝藏。 已经有六人死亡。 人们不得不怀疑拉吉纳兄弟是否在玩火。 橡树岛的诅咒 目前处于第三季; 今年夏天(2016年),他们将回到岛屿拍摄第四季。

橡树岛上的橡树岛兄弟之谜

拉吉纳兄弟©Prometheus Entertainment保留所有权利

虽然橡树岛是私人拥有的,但您可以徒步探索它 橡树岛之友 –一个由志愿者组成的协会,提供2小时的“漫步神秘者”之旅。 导游每人仅需$ 15.00(5岁以下的儿童免费),其中包括参观新博物馆。 如果您是一位真正的发烧友,您甚至只需10.00美元即可购买橡树岛协会之友的会员资格!

对于那些希望在公众视野之外讨论其理论的人,有时可以通过预约的方式进行私人旅行 橡树岛之旅,拥有该岛大部分地区的私人团体。

橡树岛之旅探索奥克岛之谜的朋友们

与橡树岛之友漫步神秘之旅/照片:, 橡树岛Facebook的朋友们

附近还有其他地方,可提供线索和信息。 Atlantica Oak Island Resort度假村内的一个很小的博物馆拥有一些有趣的照片和该岛的典范。 第二个解释中心位于 切斯特火车站,这是位于风景如画的切斯特航海城镇的游客信息中心,距离20分钟路程。

在新斯科舍省的南海岸寻宝寻宝岛橡树岛博物馆

Atlantica酒店内的小型“橡树岛博物馆”。

在写作的时候, 新斯科舍博物馆 哈利法克斯的自然历史博物馆也展出了他们的橡树岛珍藏。 这个小型展览展示了多年来在橡树岛(Oak Island)上收集的各种文物,以及一些原始地图,包括由寻宝者罗伯特·雷斯塔尔(Robert Restall)绘制的地图,就在他于1965年不幸去世前几天。该藏品还展示了米克玛克文物和两枚西班牙硬币,就像拉吉娜兄弟在其中一场演出中发现的一样。 (作为一项现实核查,博物馆的神话掩体人员告诉我们,17世纪硬币是新斯科舍省沿海地区的常见考古发现)。

回到橡树岛(Oak Island),就有机会与亚特兰大(Atlantica)户外探险中心的经理“户外爱德(Outdoor Ed)”在岛上划皮艇或划桨板。 使用Ed,您可以近距离观察到史密斯湾的谜团:经过专家认可的人工海滩是精心设计的洪水隧道诱杀装置的一部分。

史密斯湾橡树岛马洪湾新斯科舍奥克岛的奥秘

史密斯湾/照片:OakIslandTreasure.co.uk

橡树岛可以从Atlantica橡树岛度假村的大多数地方看到,尽管这个名字很奇特,但实际上它是一个相当实惠的,悠闲的,非常适合家庭的酒店。

什么时候 我们在三月2016住在Atlantica Oak岛,我请当地居民和经理安吉拉斯蒂夫斯告诉我 真相 关于橡树岛(Oak Island),她的回答很有趣:“我相信那里有某种特殊的行动。 这不正常。 对我来说,这就是为什么他们来到马洪湾365个岛屿中的这个小岛的原因。” 在我们随后的谈话中,她肯定了我家人已经知道的事情:“故事中有财富”。

在新斯科舍省南海岸寻宝

单击 查看更多 了解我们在3月2016的Atlantica Oak Island度过的乐趣

从常规的海景房到价格昂贵的海滨小木屋,亚特兰大酒店提供多种住宿选择,从那里您可以近距离接触到岛屿。 如果您在2016年夏季访问,则可以通过预订 诅咒海湾神秘之旅 通过 东海岸Glamping,它在苹果园建立了一个豪华营地,离岸边仅几步之遥。

或者,如果您是水手,则在码头停泊,并与橡树岛人群共进晚餐!

橡树岛新斯科舍Glamping

东海岸Glamping 提供特殊的“诅咒湾神秘之旅”套餐

无论您是窥视者,水手还是普通的酒店住客,在温暖的夏日夜晚,您和孩子们都可以围着篝火围着篝火,聆听酒店工作人员讲的橡树岛的故事,而您则在篝火旁烧烤岛屿本身的阴影。 无论您是否找到宝藏,故事中确实都有宝藏。

在新斯科舍省南海岸寻宝

还在好奇吗? 爸爸妈妈的进一步阅读:

寻宝:奥克岛的奥秘=
一篇文章的副本,印在1965上,引发了橡树岛最近的一波兴趣
(大卫·麦克唐纳(David MacDonald):《读者文摘》经典,1965年首次出版来自The Rotarian,1965)

死亡在金银岛上=
对Restall一家人的生活和岛上的悲剧的悲剧叙述
(渥太华公民,10月29th,1965)

The Mystery of Oak Island: Treasure Hunting on Nova Scotia’s South Shore

Treasure Hunting on Nova Scotia's South Shore

Treasure, with Oak Island in the background

“Look Mum, I think I found something!” My daughter solemnly holds up the remnants of an iron grate that she has found during our walk along the marina at the Atlantica Oak Island Resort and Conference Centre, a family hotel overlooking the famous Oak Island just outside Nova Scotia’s Mahone Bay. Her “rare find” is probably a barbecue pit cover, or an old sewer grate, but her imagination has taken hold: “Do you think it might be part of the treasure?”

For families with young children, the mystery of Oak Island is a fun and accessible puzzle that can be explored during a visit to Nova Scotia’s South Shore. Although your children can’t actually go digging for treasure on Oak Island (nor would you ever wish them to, seeing as there’s a curse attached!), there are plenty of ways to immerse yourself in one of the greatest Canadian treasure hunts of all time. Perhaps your family will notice a salient artifact or clue amongst the evidence – something all the other treasure hunters haven’t noticed!

The Mystery of Oak Island Atlantica Hotel

The Atlantica Oak Island Resort and Marina (Oceanfront chalets in foreground)

In all started in 1795, when a boy named Daniel McGinnis was exploring near his home on Oak Island, and came across a curious depression in the ground. When he and his friends dug deeper, they uncovered layers and layers of dirt, logs and coconut fibre stacked up as platforms inside the shaft. They were convinced they had found pirate treasure – not an unlikely prospect, since this was shortly after the Golden Age of Piracy in Nova Scotia.

The Mystery of Oak Island

Oak Island, seen by Google Maps, May 2016

Since that first summer, the treasure hunt has never stopped, and the questions have grown. Why were oaks trees planted on an island where oaks do not usually grow? What is the purpose of the long shaft known as “the money pit”? Who built the elaborate booby-trap that fills the tunnel with seawater every time a hunter digs?  How did coconut fibre find its way deep inside this man-made pit, when the nearest coconut trees are two thousand kilometres away?

Theories abound as to what lies beneath, range from pirate gold, the Holy Grail, or even William Shakespeare’s folios! There have been countless books written about the subject over the years.

One of the best books for kids is Oak Island and the Search for Buried Treasure by Joan-Hamilton Barry: a simple, clearly written book with excellent photos and graphics that will have your children’s imagination racing in anticipation of their visit to the South Shore.

The Mystery of Oak Island great books for kids

Joan Hamilton Barry’s recent book is excellent for families

On TV, you can catch up with the two most recent treasure hunters: Rick and Marty Lagina, two wealthy American brothers who have teamed up with the History Channel to document the continued quest for treasure on Oak Island. According to legend, seven people must die in search of the treasure before it is found. Six people have died already. One has to wonder if the Lagina brothers are playing with fire. The Curse of Oak Island is currently in its third season; this summer (2016), they’ll be back on the island filming season four.

The Mystery of Oak Island Brothers on Oak Island

The Lagina Brothers ©Prometheus Entertainment all rights reserved

Although Oak Island is privately owned, you can explore it by foot with the Friends of Oak Island – a society of volunteers that offers a 2-hour long “Walk  the Myster” tour. The guided tours are only $15.00 each (kids under 5 are free), and include a visit to a new museum. If you are a true enthusiast, you can even buy a membership to the Friends of Oak Island Society for only $10.00!

For those who wish to discuss their theories outside the public eye, private tours are sometimes available by appointment through Oak Island Tours, the private group that owns most of the Island.

Friends of Oak Island Tour Group exploring The Mystery of Oak Island

Walk the Mystery Tour with Friends of Oak Island/Photo:, Friends of Oak Island Facebook

There are other nearby places which offer clues and information. A very small museum inside the Atlantica Oak Island Resort boasts some interesting photos and a good model of the island. A second interpretive centre can be found at the Chester Train Station, a visitor information centre in the picturesque sailing town of Chester, about 20 minutes away.

Treasure Hunting on Nova Scotia's South Shore The Oak Island Museum

The small ‘Oak Island Museum’ inside the Atlantica Hotel.

At the time of writing, the Nova Scotia Museum also had their collection of Oak Island treasures on display at the Museum of Natural History in Halifax. This small exhibit shows a variety of artifacts collected on Oak Island over the years, and some original maps, including one drawn by treasure hunter, Robert Restall, only days before his tragic death in 1965. The collection also displays Mi’kmaq artifacts and a couple of Spanish coins, exactly like the ones the Lagina brothers found in one of the episodes of their show. (As a reality check, the myth de-bunking staff at the museum inform us that 17th century coins are a common archeological find in coastal Nova Scotia).

Back at Oak Island, there’s the chance to kayak or paddle board around the Island with “Outdoor Ed”, the manager of the Atlantica’s Outdoor Adventure Centre. With Ed, you can view up-close the enigma that is Smith’s cove: a manmade beach that experts agree was built as part of the elaborate flood-tunnel booby trap.

Smith's Cove Oak Island Mahone Bay Nova Scotia The Mystery of Oak Island

Smith’s Cove/Photo: OakIslandTreasure.co.uk

Oak Island can be seen from most places in the Atlantica Oak Island Resort, which despite the fancy name, is actually a reasonably affordable, laid back, very family-friendly hotel.

When we stayed at the Atlantica Oak Island in March 2016, I asked local resident and manager, Angela Steeves to tell me the truth about Oak Island, and her reply was interesting:  “I  believe there was some sort of peculiar action there. It wasn’t normal. For me, the mystery is why they came to this one little island out of 365 islands in Mahone Bay”.  Later in our conversation, she affirms what my family already knows:  “There is treasure in the story”.

Treasure Hunting on Nova Scotia's South Shore

Click here to read about our fun stay at the Atlantica Oak Island in March 2016

There are plenty of options for accommodation at the Atlantica, from a regular room with a sea view, to a (pricier) seafront chalet, from which the Island is almost close enough to touch. If you visit in the summer of 2016, you can combine mystery with outdoor luxury by booking a Cursed Coves Mystery Tour through East Coast Glamping, which has erected a luxury campground in an apple orchard, just steps away from the shore.

Or, if you’re a sailor, moor up at the marina and join the Oak Island crowd for dinner!

Oak Island Nova Scotia Glamping

East Coast Glamping offers Special ‘Cursed Cove Mystery Tour’ packages

Whether you’re a glamper, a sailor or a regular hotel guest, on warm summer evenings, you and the kids can gather around the campfire to hear the stories of Oak Island, told by hotel staff, while you roast s’mores in the shadow of the island itself. Whether you find treasure or not, there is indeed treasure in the story.

Treasure Hunting on Nova Scotia's South Shore

Still Curious? Further Reading for Moms and Dads:

Treasure Hunt: The Mystery of Oak Island
A copy of an article, printed in 1965, which sparked the recent wave of interest in Oak Island
(By David MacDonald: A Reader’s Digest Classic, originally published 1965From The Rotarian, 1965)

Death on Treasure Island
A tragic account of the Restall family’s life, and tragedy on the Island
(The Ottawa Citizen, October 29th, 1965)

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates