Ripley信不信由你萎缩的头和隐藏的秘密! 在爱德华王子岛的卡文迪什

RIpley的外观信不信由你! 在Cavendish的Odditorium,PEI显示机器人和熊

里普利的信不信由你! 卡文迪什,PEI的Odditorium /照片:Helen Earley

我们朝圣 爱德华王子岛 每年从新斯科舍省,高中的老朋友,加上我们各自的丈夫和孩子。 我们的使命:尽可能多地花时间在沙滩上和彼此之间,敬酒s'mores,回忆旧时光。 我们都同意海滩比游乐园好,但今年孩子们不会停止谈论: 里普利的信不信由你! 由你奇闻盛典。 孩子们一直沉迷于流行的里普利的信不信由你! 这一年都是书籍,他们只需看看里普利的IRL(现实生活中)。

爱沙尼亚卡文迪什海滩的沙堡

卡文迪什海滩/照片:Helen Earley

这就是我们如何找到自己,沙子在我们的头发,泳衣仍然潮湿的美丽的棕色沙滩和浴温水 卡文迪什海滩,盯着用咖啡豆制作的Ellen Degeneres的大型生活肖像,柏林墙上的四块混凝土,以及关于加纳葬礼仪式的视频 - 只是选择了我们将看到的许多奇怪和奇妙的怪异。下一个45分钟。

开始:里普利的信不信由你! 卡通

罗伯特里普利是一个漫画家,他的第一个运动主题是信不信由你! 1918中的卡通......但作为一个喜欢冒险的精神,他无法忍受他的书桌。 在1922,创意探险家,就像当时的许多特权男人一样,穿上了他的狩猎头盔,开始了环球旅行,带回了一个充满异国故事的杂志和纪念品:包括如萎缩的血腥物品的古怪物品人头。


他收集的奇怪和事实将告知里普利的漫画,每一部都有两三个“令人难以置信”的事实。 Ripley声称,他的漫画中记载的每一个事实都可以证明。 在1923,Ripley聘请了一名全职研究员来帮助他实现这一承诺。

里普利的概念非常受欢迎,第一个信不信由你! 这本书在1929上发表 - 比26多年前出版的第一本吉尼斯世界纪录大全更早出版。

在1949去世后,Ripley的品牌继续印刷和电视。 在2004中,Ripley的出版成立,产生了流行的Ripley's Believe It or Not! 集体书籍。 这些是我的小孩吞食的书。

卡通地带 - 世界上持续时间最长的动画片 - 一直延续至今,作为一个辛迪加,雇用一名漫画家和一名研究员。

RIpley的信不信由你! 爱德华王子岛卡文迪什的Odditorium

A 里普利的漫画 来自22nd August 2019。 你是否知道甲壳虫乐队中没有一个成员可以读或写音乐......或者打喷嚏每小时可以达到100里程?

里普利的Odditoriums

但是里普利还有比卡通更多的东西。 里普利必须找到一种方法来存储和展示他的宝藏 - 所以他创造了自己的展览空间。 第一个里普利的Odditorium - 比爱德华王子岛卡文迪什的这个更大更宏伟 - 在芝加哥世界博览会的1933开幕。

当年世界公平的主题是“进步的世纪”,但在现代科技展览中,据说许多参观者同样,如果没有被流行娱乐所吸引,如里普利的展示。

醉酒的狐狸和朋友在里普利的信不信由你! Cavendish PEI的Odditorium

醉酒的狐狸和朋友在里普利的信不信由你! Odditorium / photo:Helen Earley

当我走遍爱德华王子岛的Odditorium时,我感到非常震惊 - 这是全球30之一的“博物馆”之一(尽管有超过100其他景点,包括Ripley's Aquariums等地方 多伦多 美特尔海滩)里普利在理解是什么让我们打勾时超前了。

好奇的是人性,里普利很清楚这一点。

事实上,从5岁到45岁,在爱德华王子岛这个阳光明媚的日子里,我们的家庭团体对动物标本动物,视错觉,有趣的事实和自然异常的展品感到高兴。 我们嘲笑囚犯制作的工艺品; 我们惊叹世界上最高,最小,最胖的。 我们着迷,娱乐和完全迷上了。

那些头怎么样?

在里普利的标志信不信由你!

Ripley Bel Bel Bel Bel Bel Bel Bel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

但是在Odditorium周围的旅行让我感到不舒服,而不是因为我的拖鞋里的沙子

通过在大象脚上制作的盒子和这个命运多world的世界最高人物(他在22时代去世)的雕像,我是偷窥吗? 好奇心在什么时候穿过体面的线条?

那些萎缩的脑袋呢? 卡文迪什Odditorium只有一个:一个黑色皮革娃娃大小的头骨,头发附着,据称是厄瓜多尔Jivaro部落的部落战争的产物。

如今,这些文物的展示将被称为文化盗窃。 根据2019的一篇文章 艺术报每月一次的国际印刷出版物,英国皮特河博物馆,也收藏了一系列缩小的头像,称为tsantsas,承认他们的收购可能“涉及收集者的暴力和犯罪行为,他们正在回应博物馆的胃口。 “根据英国政府的指导,博物馆正在重新考虑将人体遗骸纳入展览中。

同样, 最近美国史密森尼频道的视频 他们发现,他们收藏的一些缩小的头部经过DNA测试并证明是不真实的,由部落创造,只是为了“满足维多利亚州对病态古玩的需求”。

里普利的秘密是什么?

凭借我脑海中那个小小的,修剪过的头骨的形象,我转向一个大框架中的东西:一张原创的Ripley卡通片,日期为星期日,四月1st,1934,显示了一个非常惊人的事实:“在她的下一次航行中 - 带着朝圣者后,五月花号从非洲带来了一批奴隶。“

海报声称五月花是海伦·厄利的奴隶船照片

海报声称五月花是一艘奴隶船/照片:Helen Earley

着名的五月花号作为奴隶船? 当我回到家时,我检查了谷歌,没有什么可说的 - 谷歌知道一切,不是吗?

巧合的是,两周前,我曾参观过英国普利茅斯市,那里恰好是399多年前,五月花号航行于其最具历史意义的旅程中。 我检查了笔记。 在一个致力于五月花的博物馆中,没有关于五月花号作为奴隶船的记录。

海报声称五月花成为Helen Earley的奴隶船照片

声称五月花成为奴隶船/照片的海报细节:海伦厄利

里普利能否掌握真相 - 这一事实在1934被忽视或隐藏? 回到白天,敢于玷污五月花故事的人,即使里普利的研究人员已挖出泥土,并将其发布在卡通片中 - 卡通片现在位于爱德华王子岛卡文迪什的一个小型音乐厅的墙上。

拿破仑·波拿巴(Napoleon Bonaparte)说,“历史是一套商定的谎言。”

独特的体验

经理Karen Stewart曾在Ripley's工作过23年,并表示每位访客的体验都不同,她是对的。 在我短暂的访问期间,我以我没想到的方式感到震惊,惊讶和着迷。

我惊讶于我的五岁儿子在单向系统中跑得多快,并且很失望地得知,一旦你通过单向系统的展品,你就不能再回来了。 我也对价格感到惊讶。 作为一个“双重游戏”(包括相邻的蜡像馆),Odditorium之旅花费了超过$ 80.00的五口之家 - 这是一小时左右的娱乐消费。

但总的来说,我被认为是经验的价值所在。 尽管这些奇怪的文物已经在卡文迪什的同一个地方停留了四分之一世纪,但我觉得它是一个探险家,发现了一些新东西。 结合现代研究的帮助(谢谢你,谷歌!),我肯定学到了一些新东西。

和孩子们? 嗯,孩子们喜欢奇怪的事情,不是吗? 他们认为Ripley的Odditorium非常棒 - 就像书本一样好,几乎和海滩一样好。


海伦·Earley 是一位哈利法克斯的作家。 她的家人是里普利的信不信由你! 没有审查或批准这篇文章。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标 *

Shrunken Heads and Hidden Secrets at Ripley’s Believe It or Not! in Cavendish, Prince Edward Island

Exterior of RIpley's Believe it or Not! Odditorium in Cavendish, PEI showing robot and bear

Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Odditorium in Cavendish, PEI/photo: Helen Earley

We make the pilgrimage to Prince Edward Island from Nova Scotia every year, old friends from high school, plus our respective husbands and kids. Our mission: to spend as much time as possible on the beach and with each other, toasting s’mores, reminiscing about old times. We all agree that beaches are better than amusement parks, but this year there is one thing the children won’t stop talking about: Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Odditorium. The children have been obsessed with popular Ripley’s Believe It or Not! books all year, and they just have to check out Ripley’s IRL (In Real Life).

Sandcastle at Cavendish Beach, PEI

Cavendish Beach/ photo: Helen Earley

And this is how we find ourselves, sand in our hair, bathing suits still damp from the beautiful brown sand and bath-temperature water at Cavendish Beach, staring at a larger than life portrait of Ellen Degeneres made from coffee beans, four hunks of concrete from the Berlin Wall, and a video about funeral rites in Ghana – just a selection of the many weird and wonderful oddities that we will see over the next 45 minutes.

The Beginning: Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Cartoons

Robert Ripley was a cartoonist, and made his first sport-themed Believe It or Not! cartoon in 1918…but as an adventurous spirit, there was no way he could stay bound to his desk. In 1922, the creative explorer, like many privileged men at the time, donned his safari helmet and embarked on a trip around the globe, bringing back a journal full of tales from foreign lands, and souvenirs: oddities that included such gory items as shrunken human heads.


The oddities and facts he collected would inform Ripley’s cartoons, each one featuring two or three “unbelievable” facts. Every fact documented in his cartoons, claimed Ripley, could be proven. In 1923, Ripley hired a full-time researcher to assist him with this promise.

Ripley’s concept was insanely popular, and the first Believe It or Not! book was published in 1929 – much earlier than the first Guinness Book of World Records published 26 years later, in 1955.

After his death in 1949, the Ripley’s brand continued in print and television. In 2004, Ripley’s publishing was formed, producing the popular Ripley’s Believe It or Not! books en masse. These are the books my kids devour.

The cartoon strip – the longest continually running cartoon in the world – continues to this day as a syndicate, employing a single cartoonist, and a single researcher.

RIpley's Believe it or Not! Odditorium in Cavendish , PEI

A Ripley’s cartoon from 22nd August 2019. Did you know that not a single member of the Beatles could read or write music… or that a sneeze can travel up to 100 miles an hour?

Ripley’s Odditoriums

But there was more to Ripley than cartoons. Ripley had to find a way to store and display his treasures – so he created his own exhibition space. The first Ripley’s Odditorium – much larger and grander than this one in Cavendish, Prince Edward Island – was opened in 1933 at the World’s Fair in Chicago.

The world’s fair theme that year was “A Century of Progress,” but amidst the modern technological exhibits, it is said that many visitors were equally, if not enraptured by popular entertainment, like the Ripley’s display.

Drunken fox and friends at Ripley's Believe it or Not! Odditorium in Cavendish PEI

Drunken fox and friends at Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Odditorium/photo: Helen Earley

It strikes me, as I walk through the Odditorium in Prince Edward Island – one of 30 such “museums” worldwide (although there are over 100 other attractions including Ripley’s Aquariums in places such as Toronto and Myrtle Beach) that Ripley was ahead of his time in understanding what makes us tick.

It’s human nature to be curious, and Ripley knew this well.

Indeed, from 5 years old to 45 years old, our family group on this sunny day in Prince Edward Island is delighted by the exhibits of taxidermy animals, optical illusions, fun facts and aberrations of nature. We gawk at crafts made by prisoners; we marvel at the world’s tallest, smallest, and fattest. We are fascinated, entertained and utterly hooked.

What About Those Heads?

sign at Ripley's Believe it or Not!

The sign for the shrunken Heads at Ripley’s Believe it or Not!/photo: Helen Earley

But the trip around the Odditorium made me uncomfortable, and not because of the sand in my flip flops

By ogling at boxes made from elephant’s feet and statues of the ill-fated world’s tallest man (he died at the age of 22), was I being voyeuristic? At what point does curiosity cross the line of decency?

And what about those shrunken heads? The Cavendish Odditorium has one only: a single black leathery doll-sized skull, hair attached, allegedly a product of tribal warfare by the Jivaro tribe in Ecuador.

These days, the display of such artifacts would be called cultural thievery. According to a 2019 article by The Art Newspaper, a monthly international print publication, The Pitt Rivers Museum in the United Kingdom, which also holds a collection of shrunken heads, called tsantsas, admitted that their acquisition probably “involved violent and criminal behaviour by collectors who were responding to the appetites of museums.” According to guidance from the UK government, the museum is reconsidering their inclusion of human remains in the exhibit.

Likewise, a recent video by the US-based Smithsonian channel revealed that some of the shrunken heads in their collection were DNA tested and proved inauthentic, created by tribes only to “satisfy the Victorian demand for morbid curios.”

Does Ripley’s Hold a Secret?

With the image of the small, prune-like skull in my mind, I move on to something in a large frame: an original Ripley’ cartoon, dated Sunday, April 1st, 1934, displaying quite an astonishing fact: “On her next voyage – after bringing the Pilgrims, the Mayflower brought a cargo of slaves from Africa.”

Poster claiming that the Mayflower was a slave ship photo by Helen Earley

A poster claiming that the Mayflower was a slave ship/photo: Helen Earley

The famous Mayflower as a slave ship? When I returned home, I checked Google, which had nothing to say –and Google knows everything, doesn’t it?

Coincidentally, two weeks earlier, I had visited the city of Plymouth, England, where, exactly 399 years ago, the Mayflower sailed on its most historic journey. I checked my notes. In a museum dedicated to the Mayflower, there was no record of the Mayflower being a slave ship.

Poster claiming that the Mayflower became a slave ship photo by Helen Earley

Detail of poster claiming that the Mayflower became a slave ship/ photo: Helen Earley

Could Ripley have held the truth – a truth that in 1934 was either ignored or concealed? Back in the day, who would dare to tarnish the Mayflower story, even if Ripley’s researcher had dug up the dirt, and published it in a cartoon – a cartoon that now sits framed on the wall of a small Odditorium in Cavendish, Prince Edward Island.

As Napoleon Bonaparte said, “History is a set of lies agreed upon.”

A Unique Experience

Manager Karen Stewart has worked at Ripley’s for 23 years and says that the experience is different for every visitor, and she’s right. During my short visit, I was shocked, surprised and captivated in ways I didn’t expect.

I was astonished at how quickly my five-year son old raced through the one-way system and disappointed to learn that once you go through the one-way system of exhibits, you can’t go back a second time. I was also surprised at the price. As a “Double Play” (with the adjacent wax museum included) a trip to the Odditorium cost a family of five over $80.00 – that’s a fair chunk of cash for an hour or so of entertainment.

But overall, I was taken with how valuable the experience was. Despite these weird artifacts having been in the same location at Cavendish for a quarter of a century, I felt like an explorer, discovering something new. Combined with the help of modern research (thank you, Google!), I definitely learned a few new things.

And the kids? Well, kids love strange things, don’t they? They thought Ripley’s Odditorium was totally awesome  – just as good as the books, and almost as good as the beach.


Helen Earley is a Halifax-based writer. Her family was a guest of Ripley’s Believe It or Not! which did not review or approve this article.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *