fbpx

在英格兰的夜间列车 - 一个大气的家庭冒险

尽管多年来许多威胁取消或限制服务,但英国仍有两列卧铺列车。 最近的两次翻新都表明这些奇妙的铁路旅程将留在这里。

帕丁顿在晚上

帕丁顿车站/图片: 海伦·Earley

英国最着名的通宵列车服务是 加里东睡梦者,尤斯顿站和苏格兰之间的通宵服务。 尽管伦敦与格拉斯哥和爱丁堡之间航班频繁, 本文由Independent.co.uk撰写 解释了为什么许多商务和休闲旅客仍然喜欢乘火车去。 舒适的床,可靠的时间表和放松的时间都是避开机场和走上赛道的理由。

喀里多尼亚卧铺新俱乐部客房配有一张双人床/图片: www.sleeper.scot

第二个通宵列车服务称为夜间里维埃拉,在伦敦帕丁顿和康沃尔彭赞斯之间运行。 它由火车公司Great Western Railway(GWR)运营,最近被选为 10浪漫卧铺列车之一仍然存在 由Telegraph.co.uk。

GWR夜里维拉服务从康沃尔到帕丁顿卧铺火车的照片,由Helen Earley拍摄

GWR Night Riviera新近装修的小木屋/照片: 海伦·Earley

这是我们家人所熟知的一条路线,因为我们在访问康沃尔郡的公婆后经常使用它。 火车通过帕丁顿提供前往希思罗机场的良好连接,在我们泪流满面的告别之后,缓慢而坎坷的旅程也提供了一个欢迎的几个小时的减压和反映在“无人的土地”。


抛开悲伤的告别,乘坐夜间列车有一些奇妙的奢华,当使用一辆夜车时这是一个经济实惠的选择 英国铁路通票.

GWR提供的舒适套件质量上乘。 在我们最近的旅程中,每个双层床上的一个绿色小盒子里放着一块棉质面巾(如果你是本地的话,就是“法兰绒”),再加上当地出产的肥皂和润唇膏,并注入精油。

舒适套件,从Cornwall到帕丁顿卧铺火车的GWR Night Riviera服务,由Helen Earley拍摄

GWR Night Riviera的舒适套件/ photo: 海伦·Earley

虽然小木屋非常紧凑(每个小屋可容纳两个人,但有些房间可以加入以创建一个套房),但每个小木屋都很舒适。 需要注意的是,尽管5下的孩子可以自由行动,但是如果你不是小精灵,那么试图挤进4岁的孩子是不可能的。 建议每个人,甚至是小孩,都有自己的铺位。 (是的,我从经验中发言)。

夜间里维埃拉新装修的双层床比较干净和现代,与他们逐渐取代的老旧的1980紫色单元相比。 照明和温度控制器位于手臂触及范围内; 上铺的梯子是一个整齐的摆动,而不是一个庞大的夹子。 水槽在不使用时被覆盖以转化为方便的桌子。

第一次从康沃尔到帕丁顿卧铺火车的Great Western Night Riviera服务,由Helen Earley拍摄

舒适的现代铺位(但不是两个!)/照片: 海伦·Earley

来自康沃尔的火车在天亮之前抵达帕丁顿,但乘客可以留在船上,睡到大约7时。 火车服务员敲门舱门标志着唤醒时间。

敲门声伴随着早餐,前一晚订购:带培根三明治的茶或咖啡。

培根bap和一壶茶,从康沃尔到帕丁顿卧铺火车的第一次大西部夜间里维埃拉服务,由Helen Earley拍摄

唤醒敲击伴随着热早餐/照片: 海伦·Earley

这次旅程中最神奇的一个方面就是,当伦敦的其他人几乎还在床上时,这个人静静地到达帕丁顿。 一阵紧挨着混凝土和鸽子fl he声的脚后跟听起来就像是一天晚些时候,成千上万的乘客的喧嚣变得沉闷的吼声。

即使周围没有人站的温度和气味也是不同的,而且光线是神奇的。 伦敦在其最奇怪的。

帕丁顿车站一大早,Helen Earley的照片

空车站的灯光和声音是神奇的/照片: 海伦·Earley

GWR卧铺乘客可进入头等舱休息室,该休息室供应咖啡,茶,水果和小吃。 休息室还有一个放置行李的地方,或使用笔记本电脑。 对于连接希思罗机场的客人,希思罗机场快线或希思罗机场快线只有几个平台。

在欧洲或英国的任何家庭冒险应该包括至少一晚的睡眠列车。 除了作为一种在城市之间转移的高效和经济实惠的方式之外,夜间列车是儿童永远不会忘记的神奇的大气体验。

ACP铁路

Helen Earley是一位以哈利法克斯为基地的旅行作家。
她在Britrail flexipass的帮助下旅行 ACP 运输(国际).

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
2条评论
  1. 2020年2月25日
    • 2020年2月25日

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Taking the Night Train in England – An Atmospheric Family Adventure

Despite many threats to cancel or restrict services over the years, two sleeper trains remain in Britain. Recent refurbishments to both suggest that these marvellous rail journeys are here to stay.

Paddington at Night

Paddington Station/Photo: Helen Earley

The best-known overnight train service in Britain is the Caledonian Sleeper, an overnight service between Euston station and Scotland. Despite frequent flights between London and both Glasgow and Edinburgh, this article by the Independent.co.uk explains why many business and leisure travellers still prefer to go by rail. Comfortable beds, reliable schedules and time to relax are all reasons for avoiding the airport, and taking to the tracks.

The new Club room on the Caledonian sleeper comes with a double bed/Photo: www.sleeper.scot

The second overnight train service is called the Night Riviera, running between London Paddington and Penzance, Cornwall. Operated by the train company Great Western Railway (GWR), it was recently chosen as one of 10 romantic sleeper trains that still survive by the Telegraph.co.uk.

Bunks on the GWR Night Riviera Service from Cornwall to Paddington Sleeper Train, photo by Helen Earley

The newly refurbished cabins on the GWR Night Riviera/photo: Helen Earley

This is a route our family knows well since we frequently use it after visiting my in-laws in Cornwall. The train provides an excellent link to Heathrow airport via Paddington, and the slow, bumpy journey also provides a welcome few hours to decompress and reflect in “no man’s land”, after our tearful goodbyes.

Sad farewells aside, there’s something wonderfully luxurious about taking a night train, which is an affordable choice when using a Britrail Pass.

The amenity kits provided by GWR are high quality. On our recent journey, a small green box on each bunk contained a cotton facecloth (“flannel”, if you’re local), plus locally sourced soap and lip balm infused with essential oils.

amenity kit, GWR Night Riviera Service from Cornwall to Paddington Sleeper Train, photo by Helen Earley

The amenity kit on the GWR Night Riviera/photo: Helen Earley

Although the cabins are compact (each cabin houses two people, but some rooms can be joined to create a suite), each bunk is comfortable. One caution is that although children under 5 travel free, trying to squeeze into a bunk with your 4-year-old is impossible, unless you are elfin-size. It’s recommended that everyone, even children, get their own bunk. (Yes, I speak from experience).

The newly refurbished bunks on the Night Riviera are clean and modern, compared to the ageing 1980’s purple units they are gradually replacing. Lighting and temperature controls are located at arm’s reach; the ladder for the top bunk is a neat swing-out, rather than a bulky clip-on. The sink, when not in use, is covered to transform into a handy table.

First Great Western Night Riviera Service from Cornwall to Paddington Sleeper Train, photo by Helen Earley

Comfortable modern bunks (but not for two!)/photo: Helen Earley

The train from Cornwall arrives in Paddington before the crack of dawn, but passengers are permitted to stay on board, asleep until about 7 o’ clock. A knock on the cabin door by the train attendant signals wake-up time.

The knock is accompanied by a breakfast, ordered the night before: tea or coffee with a bacon sandwich.

bacon bap and pot of tea on the First Great Western Night Riviera Service from Cornwall to Paddington Sleeper Train, photo by Helen Earley

The wake-up knock is accompanied by a hot breakfast/ photo: Helen Earley

One of the most magical aspects of the journey is this quiet arrival at Paddington when nearly everyone else in London is still in bed. The sound of a single set of heels clacking on the concrete and pigeons fluttering is about all you’ll hear compared to later in the day when the din of thousands of commuters becomes a dull roar.

Even the temperature and smell of the station is different when there is no one around – and the light is magical. London at its strangest.

Paddington Station early in the morning, photo by Helen Earley

The lights and sounds of an empty station are magical/ photo: Helen Earley

GWR sleeper passengers are given access to the First Class lounge, which serves coffee, tea, fruit and light snacks. The lounge also has a place to store luggage, or use your laptop. For those connecting to Heathrow, the Heathrow Express or the Heathrow Connect is only a few platforms away.

Any family adventure in Europe or Great Britain should include at least one night on a sleeper train. Besides being an efficient and affordable way to move between cities, the night train is a magical, atmospheric experience that children will never forget.

ACP rail

Helen Earley is a Halifax-based travel writer. 
She travelled using the Britrail flexipass with assistance from  ACP Rail International


Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
  1. February 6, 2018
    • February 6, 2018

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *