fbpx

小房子出租是布雷顿角玛格莉港的一大度假乐趣

在彼此之间待了近六个月的时间后,您是否梦想着为家人提供一个宽敞,豪华的度假屋? 缩小尺寸怎么样? 这就是我们暑假从数千平方英尺的生活空间搬到布雷顿角岛的微型房屋租赁中的数百平方英尺的生活时所做的事情。

当然,我们与房主(她是我的姐姐)“相处”,但是租一间小房子的新颖性正是我们这个夏天家庭所需要的。

Cabot Trail Tiny House度假屋照片Leah Whitehead

我们已经参观了内部,所以我知道我们所得到的一些东西。 我小心翼翼地注视着阁楼的高度,想象着我最小的艾莉,在半夜从孩子们的阁楼到成年阁楼的跋涉,设想衣服散落在任何地方,但都耸了耸肩,把所有人都堆放在车上然后驶向前往布雷顿角; 自COVID首次出现以来,我们的第一次大西洋泡沫郊游。

Tiny Houses直接位于布雷顿角Belle Cote的Cabot小径上。 您可以在 tinyhousevacations.ca 并选择您要在那儿预订的小房子(有“红房子”和“船屋”)。 每间Tiny House房屋均建在拖车甲板上,外部尺寸为8.5'X 22',并配有通往成人阁楼的螺旋形楼梯和通往儿童阁楼的双层床式梯子。 我们住在以室内装饰命名的船屋。

我们年龄较小的孩子(3岁和5岁)家里有双层床,所以我有足够的信心相信他们俩都可以在“孩子的阁楼”中的双人床上睡觉,而我和丈夫将处于螺旋式上升的顶端大床的楼梯。 从我们的床上,我可以清楚地看到整个空间,虽然“微小”是对我下面的东西的准确描述,但我没有感到局促或幽闭恐怖。 尽管我们不能站在阁楼上,但我们有充足的空间可以完全坐在床上。

与帐篷露营不同,帐篷露营是我们另一个家庭中的最爱,我们的厕所配有可冲水的马桶和淋浴设施,可帮助我们管理在较小空间内的个人卫生!

由于空间有限,厨房非常实用。 照片莉亚·怀特海

厨房很实用。 丙烷炉灶,微波炉可作为对流烤箱和公寓大小的冰箱兼用。 就我们的目的而言,这是完美的-我们利用炉灶面和微波炉剩下的食物。 橱柜很多,所以看起来并不混乱。

船屋里有一个地道的小房子柴火炉。 天气太温暖了,我们无法使用它,但是如果我们需要额外的保暖,可以使用一篮子木头。 以我的经验,木炉可能很复杂,所以我不会足够勇于尝试–幸好还有一个简单的丙烷加热器! 它还为那些温暖的夏夜配备了空调。

当我们弯腰准备住第一个晚上时,我们打开了空调,因为靠近天花板的睡眠确实使它有点窒息。 我闭上了眼睛,四小时的开车让我精疲力尽,我希望睡眠会变得轻松。 取而代之的是,我发现听到的任何吱吱声都使我的眼睛睁开。 “艾莉要过来吗?” 我在黑暗中向我的丈夫詹姆斯发出嘶嘶声。 我们俩都听了。

“没有。” 詹姆斯回答。

声音很小 “现在呢?”

似乎我对我们家里的双层床和小房子的阁楼床之间的高度差异有些担心。 最终,我开始入睡,直到我们最小的孩子爬到床上才被早上6点左右吵醒。 她安全地做到了,我不必担心。

孩子们喜欢高架床。 照片莉亚·怀特海

由于他们无论如何都不能站在阁楼上,所以我认为所有的修整都将在主层进行。 任何文明的人都会去洗手间,拉开滑动的谷仓门(一个巨大的空间保护器),在他们身后关上门,以便穿衣服。 我们的孩子还有其他不太温和的计划。 为了赶紧去海滩,他们在起居区的中央脱下衣服,留下一堆裤子,裤子和衬衫。 一次将孩子们驱逐到浴室去改变,这有助于确保小房子的内部不会变成脏衣服和随意鞋子的丛林。 幸运的是,折叠桌末端靠近入口处有一个小角落,是孩子们过夜袋的绝佳空间。

有了这个有用的策略,我们可以以一种有趣的方式使用空间。 孩子们喜欢从阁楼到阁楼的新颖性(学习如何小心地将脚踩在成年阁楼的壁架上,到达第一级楼梯–这是冒险的全部内容!),厨房非常宽敞,带有两个定义的柜台空间和一个双水槽。

詹姆斯坐在客厅沙发上的笔记本电脑上完成了他的一些工作,孩子们并没有要求一次看电视(即使墙上有一台诱人且不太小的49英寸电视)。 我认为户外活动的可能性帮助我们生存了,不,所有这些都使我们充满活力。

起居空间和用于浴室的节省空间的滑动谷仓门。 照片莉亚·怀特海

天气很好,外面有一个小甲板,我们可以坐在阿迪朗达克椅子上,扩大我们的领土,或者一旦孩子们睡着了,再喝一杯酒。 孩子们可以在附近的海滩上玩耍,他们可以冒险去附近海滩玩耍,还可以进入野生蓝莓灌木丛和篝火坑,享受夜间娱乐。

海滩是多岩石的,所以水鞋是有益的。 该物业的计划是建立一个码头,人们可以在那里划皮艇和游泳。 的 玛格丽港附近的海滩,在酒店两侧的4公里之内是令人难以置信的沙滩。

在玛格丽河汇入大海的海滩上。 照片莉亚·怀特海

在玛格丽河与海港汇合的海滩上。 照片莉亚·怀特海

这次经历给我们大家带来了每个家庭度假后的美丽疲惫,我们感到,虽然我们住在一间小房子里,但毫无疑问,我们在小天堂里住了几天。

准备好您的小房子假期了吗?

您可以预订这些小房子以在 tinyhousevacations.ca。 在发布之时,大西洋省份处于“泡沫”中,从加拿大大西洋以外地区进入新斯科舍省的每个人都必须自我隔离14天,否则必须停留少于14天。 想要查询更多的信息: https://novascotia.ca/coronavirus/travel/

在附近的城镇(距离酒店有20分钟的路程)可以提供食物,但是与布雷顿角上的许多小镇一样,所有餐馆,商店和杂货店都在下午6点关闭,因此您必须确保拥有当晚所需的一切。

如果您担心小孩和睡眠安排,那么红房子可能更适合。 在红楼包括的主楼层再有一个睡眠空间真是太好了

我们辩论过让Aly在客厅的沙发上睡觉,但我认为她不想错过顶级双层床的新颖性。

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公开。 必填 *

由于使用了COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

fbpx

Tiny House Rental Is Big Vacation Fun on Margaree Harbour, Cape Breton

Are you dreaming of an expansive, luxurious vacation home for your family after spending nearly six months in each other’s space? How about downsizing? That’s just what we did when we went from a few thousand square feet of living down to a couple of hundred square feet in a Tiny House Rental on Cape Breton Island for our summer vacation.

Sure, we had an ‘in’ with the owner (she’s my sister), but the novelty of renting a tiny house was just what our family needed this summer.

Cabot Trail Tiny House Vacation Rentals Photo Leah Whitehead

We had toured the inside already, so I knew something of what we were getting. I eyed the height of the lofts cautiously, imagined my youngest, Aly, making the trek from the kids’ loft to the adult loft in the middle of the night, envisioned clothes strewn EVERYWHERE but shrugged it off, piled everyone into the car and headed off to Cape Breton; our first Atlantic Bubble outing since COVID first crossed our minds.

The Tiny Houses are located directly on the Cabot Trail in Belle Cote, Cape Breton. You can book at tinyhousevacations.ca and choose which tiny house you want to book there (there is a “Red House” and a “Boat House”).  Each Tiny House is built on a trailer deck and the exterior measures 8.5’ X 22’ and comes with a spiral staircase leading up to the adult loft and a bunk bed style ladder leading up to the kids’ loft. We stayed in the Boat House, named for its interior decor.

Our younger kids (3 and 5) have bunk beds at home so I was reasonably confident they’d all be able to sleep in the double bed in the “kids’ loft” while my husband and I would be at the top of the spiral staircase in the queen bed. From our bed, I had a clear view of the entire space and while “tiny” is an accurate description of what was below me, I didn’t feel cramped or claustrophobic.  We had headroom to sit up fully in the bed although we couldn’t stand in the loft.

Unlike tent camping, which is another family favourite of ours, we had a flushable toilet and a full shower in our bathroom, which helped us manage the personal hygiene of staying in a smaller space as well!

The kitchen is very functional given the limited space. Photo Leah Whitehead

The kitchen is very functional. There is a propane stovetop, a microwave that doubles as a convection oven and apartment-sized fridge. For our purposes, it was perfect – we made use of the cooktop and the microwave for leftovers. There were lots of cupboards, so it didn’t seem cluttered.

There is an authentic tiny house wood stove in the Boat House. The weather was too warm for us to use it, but there was a basket of wood available if we needed added warmth. In my experience, woodstoves can be complicated so I wouldn’t have been brave enough to try it – thankfully there is also a simple propane heater! It is also equipped with Air Conditioning for those warm summer nights.

As we hunkered down for our first night, we turned the A/C on as sleeping that close to the ceiling did make it a little stifling. I closed my eyes, exhausted from the four-hour drive, and I expected sleep to come easy. Instead, I found my eyes snapping open at any creak I heard. “Is Aly coming over?” I hissed to my husband James in the darkness. We both listened.

“No.” James replied.

Little sound. “What about now?”

It seems I was a little more nervous about the height difference between our bunk beds at home and the tiny house loft beds than I thought. Eventually, I drifted off to sleep, only to be woken up around 6 am by our youngest crawling into our bed. She made it safely, and I needn’t have worried.

The kids loved the loft bed. Photo Leah Whitehead

Since they could not stand in the loft anyway, I thought all the dressing would happen on the main floor. Any civilized person would go to the bathroom, pull the sliding barn door (an enormous space saver) closed behind them to get dressed. Our children had other, less modest plans. In their hurry to get to the beach, they’d strip down in the middle of the living area, leaving a trail of undies, pants and shirts in their wake. Shooing the children into the bathroom one at a time to change helped ensure that the inside of the tiny house didn’t become a jungle of dirty clothes and random shoes. And fortunately, there was a little nook at the end of the folding table near the entrance that served as an excellent space for the kids’ overnight bags.

With this helpful strategy in place, we could use the space in a fun way. The kids loved the novelty of going from loft to loft (learning how to carefully put their feet down over the ledge of the adult loft to reach the first stair – all part of the adventure!), the kitchen was surprisingly spacious with two defined counter spaces and a double sink.

James got some of his work done on his laptop sitting on the living room couch, and the kids didn’t ask once to watch tv (even though there was a tantalizing and not-so-tiny 49-inch T.V. on the wall). I think the outdoor possibilities helped us survive, no, THRIVE in it all.

Living space and a space-saving sliding barn door for the bathroom. Photo Leah Whitehead

The weather cooperated, and there was a little deck outside where we could sit in Adirondack chairs to enlarge our territory even more and or have a little glass of wine once the kids were asleep. The kids had play options outside with the nearby beach they could venture to, accessible wild blueberry bushes and a campfire pit for nighttime fun.

The beach is rocky, so water shoes are beneficial. The plan for the property is to build a dock where people can launch kayaks and swim. The beaches around Margaree harbour, within 4 km on either side of the property are incredible, sandy beaches.

At the beach where the Margaree River meets the sea. Photo Leah Whitehead

At the beach where the Margaree River meets the harbour. Photo Leah Whitehead

The experience left us all with the beautiful exhaustion that should follow every family vacation, and we felt that, while we had stayed in a tiny house, we had undoubtedly lived large for a few days in our little haven.

Ready for Your Tiny House Holiday?

You can book these tiny houses for a getaway at tinyhousevacations.ca. At the time of publication, the Atlantic provinces are in a ‘bubble’, and everyone who travels from outside Atlantic Canada into Nova Scotia must self-isolate for 14 days, or the duration of their stay if it’s less than 14 days. For more information: https://novascotia.ca/coronavirus/travel/

Provisions are available in the nearby town (20 minutes away) but as with many small towns on Cape Breton, all the restaurants, shops and grocery stores shut down at 6 pm, so you have to make sure you have everything you need for the night.

If you are worried about little kids and sleeping arrangements, the Red House might be a better fit. It would have been nice to have one more sleep space on the main floor which the Red House includes

We debated getting Aly to sleep on the couch in the living room, but I don’t think she wanted to miss out on the novelty of the top bunk.

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.