fbpx

一个孩子的梦想:火车站酒店,以及新斯科舍省Tatamagouche迷人的村庄

Train_Station_Inn_wide自上次列车驶过以来,这一直是30年 Tatamagouche,新斯科舍省。 从那时起,曾经计划拆除的旧车站已经变成了加拿大最独特的酒店之一, 火车站酒店在这里,客舱和棚车提供舒适,独特的住宿,精致的餐车提供午餐和晚餐,采用当地美食,如大黄,蕨菜,生菜和食用花卉,每天采摘新鲜。 附近有一个古怪的农夫市场,精品博物馆和当地的精酿啤酒厂,为年轻人和老年人提供有趣,简单的活动。


这是一个度假家庭的梦想 - 也是梦想的顶点 - 并且是对其主人Jimmy LeFresne的热爱,他在5的年龄时知道有一天,他将成为Tatamagouche的站长。

Jimmy Le Fresne,塔塔马古什火车站酒店的站长。 新斯科舍省。 Helen Earley的照片

Stationmaster Jimmy LeFresne打出一张令人难以置信的铁路车票,让他两岁的客人/照片感到高兴:照片:Helen Earley

“当我五点的时候,车站关闭了。 我站在这里[在平台上],当时我告诉站长, 我要去买这个电台“。

这是在1960,但LeFresne直到十四年后才在1974上兑现了他的承诺,当时CN以500.00的价格将他卖给了他。 “我是18。 他告诉我们,所有的朋友都买车,我买了一个火车站。 出售的一个条件是,由于责任原因,LeFresne在火车完全停止通行之前不得使用火车站。 “我认为这将是几个月的问题”,他回忆说,“但这只是几年”。 在1986,最后一班火车经过,LeFresne能够开始创造他的梦想。

位于新斯科舍Tatamagouche的火车站酒店的Stationmaster's Suite套房

驻站长办公室的一间卧室的站长,主站内的3卧室套房/照片:Helen Earley

LeFresne每天仍然来到车站,经常穿制服。 虽然他声称在他的企业管理方面已经退居二线(“我只穿制服并倒咖啡”),但他一直在场,迎接客人,支持餐厅和礼品店的工作人员,进行小型维修。 永远不会闲着,每一个刻意敲击钉子或调整相框都是爱的姿态,就像一个照顾老朋友的人一样。

火车站酒店,Tatamagouche Nova Scotia,照片由Helen Earley提供

火车站酒店/照片:Helen Earley

我们的小车酒店房间 - 8轿车和箱车之一 - 是一个儿童的幻想,有两间卧室,一个小浴室和淋浴,以及当时#cNUMX仍然在服务时的原始圆顶(发音为coop-oh-lahs)。 圆顶没有经过整修:座椅仍在旋转; 一个甚至有一个安全带。 我近三岁的男孩花了很多年的时间爬上去,大喊“我是火车司机! 我是一名火车司机!“,而我的79575岁女儿认为她的冲天炉是她和她的Shopkins系列的私人游乐场所。 每间客房都是独一无二的,按照酒店标准价格非常合理,起价为每晚7起,不含早餐。

火车站酒店,Tatamagouche Nova Scotia,照片由Helen Earley提供

在火车站客栈的Caboose number 9 /照片:Helen Earley

晚餐时,我女儿和我在餐车#7209享受特别的女孩之夜。 “卡博特”以1928为基础,以殖民地汽车开始,在全国范围内运送新移民和战争新娘。 码头21。 我先从美味的啤酒和切达干酪汤开始,用当地的“塔塔啤酒”制成 Tatmagouche酿造公司。 尽管菜单提供了当地的葡萄酒,但我选择了一种可靠的澳大利亚霞多丽,与当天的特色美味搭配:cajun古铜鲑鱼配大黄蜜饯,配以公爵夫人土豆。 它新鲜,美味,绝对是一流的。

在亚历山德拉汽车,加拿大新斯科舍省塔塔马古什火车站酒店的美食

新鲜的当地美食/照片:Helen Earley

我的女儿从Junior Conductor的菜单中订购了工程师的Mac n'Cheese。 这是一个完美的大小服务,与健康crudités和dip服务。 意大利面是我们不认识的形状,而且因为今晚我们是美食家,所以我们请有用的服务员告诉我们意大利面是什么。 “Radaitori”,她骄傲地说,“酱汁是自制的”。 我们后来发现,我们的知识丰富的服务器已与厨师结婚:完美的配对!

工程师Mac n'奶酪在加拿大新斯科舍Tatamagouche火车站酒店

工程师的Mac和奶酪/照片:Helen Earley

但是Tatamagouche不仅仅是一个停止镇的城镇。 距离Train Station Inn酒店仅有两步之遥,家庭可以租一辆Surrey Bike骑自行车探险 记住冒险。 踏板动力四轮车是探索Trans Canada Trail的完美方式,价格合理,价格为25.00小时,包括头盔,两个水域和两个零食。

请记住冒险,Quad自行车出租,新斯科舍Tatamagouche

萨里在Remember Adventures自行车出租:照片: 记住冒险

2016中的新功能是 Tatamagouche公路列车当地人已经昵称为“Tatanooga-choo-choo”。 这种公路列车是加拿大的第一种公路列车,不仅为游客设计,而且还为村里的老年人提供可持续的,预定的交通方式,他们很难出去自己购物(道路的正式名称)火车是“The Foodland Express”)。 在夏季,火车每隔30分钟从Foodland杂货店出发,带着游客和当地人一起在Tatamagouche周围进行有趣的随上随下旅行。 票价是捐赠。

Tatamagouche公路列车,在加拿大首次使用Tatamagouche Nova Scotia,由TRT FB页面提供

照片:Tatamagouche路火车/Facebook

Train Station Inn酒店距离铁路广场,文化中心和Tatamagouche社交中心仅有几步之遥。 在Creamery广场内, Margaret Fawcie Norrie遗产中心 提供一些小而迷人的永久性展品,包括为孩子们提供实用的黄油制作体验,以及一个专门为当地女巨头设计的房间,Anna Swan,他的身高几乎是8高!

位于新斯科舍省Tatamagouche的Margaret Fawcett遗产中心拥有多个迷人的展品,其中包括一间致力于女巨人Anna Swan

Margaret Fawcett Norrie遗产中心,Tatamagouche /照片:Helen Earley

隔壁是受欢迎和非常繁忙 周六农贸市场。 在我们的访问中,我们将来自Deb's Country Kitchen的美味,油腻的Farmer's早餐,用一些热咖啡冲洗干净。 我的丈夫,一个顽固的泡菜爱好者,发现了一系列果酱和泡菜。 “Gordon's Goodies”由住在哈利法克斯和马拉加什附近的退休人员戈登伍德沃思(Gordon Woodworth)出售,他在自己的花园里尽可能地长大。 我们询问他着名的“甜啤酒泡菜”,他告诉我们一个秘密:“他们是盐水中含有啤酒的面包和黄油泡菜。 当你把啤酒放在里面时,一切都卖得更好“。

Tatamagouche农贸市场2016,包括戈登的酱菜,糖月农场等。Helen Earley的照片

Tatamagouche周六农贸市场/照片:Helen Earley

粮食电梯是在LeFresne和其他社区成员的帮助下从拆除中拯救的另一栋建筑物。 这座气势磅structure,光线充足的建筑拥有几间小型精品店和一间迷人的壁橱大小的书店,可通过荣誉系统接受付款:这是一个轻松阅读旅行的好地方。 沿着步道再行一分钟,然后你回到火车站酒店。

火车站酒店,Tatamagouche,从Creamery广场步行,由Helen Earley拍摄

Tatamagouche的Trans Canada Trail /照片:Helen Earley

Tatamagouche最好的方面之一是许多村庄景点都在步行距离之内。 参观周末的家庭可以轻松地将车停在火车站旅馆的车厢前,然后将车停在那里,也许只需要一次钥匙即可开车到附近温暖的水域。 拉什顿海滩 游泳。 关于Tatamagouche的另一个令人难忘的事情是它的社区精神。 这里的每个人都非常友好,非常放松......而且有点古怪。 Tatamagouche有很多事情要做,但总的来说,这是这个独特的北岸新斯科舍省的个性,值得品味,直到你下次访问。

旅行到Tatamagouche?

火车站客栈: http://www.tatatrainstation.com

Tatamagouche Farmer's Market: http://www.tatamagouchefarmersmarket.ca

奶油广场遗产中心: http://www.creamerysquare.ca

Tatamagouche公路列车: http://www.tatamagoucheroadtrain.ca

出租萨里自行车: http://rememberadventures.ca

Tatamagouche酿造公司: http://tatabrew.com

拉什顿海滩省立公园: 新斯科舍省网站

火车站旅馆的历史: http://www.tatatrainstation.com/history

海伦Earley是一位哈利法克斯的作家。 她是火车站酒店的客人。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
2 条评论
  1. 23年2016月XNUMX日
    • 23年2016月XNUMX日

由于COVID-19,加拿大政府拥有正式的全球旅行咨询服务:
避免在加拿大以外进行不必要的旅行,直到另行通知。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

A Child’s Dream: The Train Station Inn, and The Charming Village of Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia

Train_Station_Inn_wideIt has been 30 years since the last train rolled past Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia. Since then, the old station, once scheduled for demolition, has been transformed into one of Canada’s most unique hotels, The Train Station Inn, where cabooses and boxcars make comfortable, unique accommodation, and a sophisticated dining car offers lunch and dinner, prepared with local delicacies such as rhubarb, fiddleheads, lettuce and edible flowers, picked fresh each day.  Nearby, a quirky Farmer’s market, boutique museum and a local craft brewery offer fun, simple activities for young and old.


It is a vacationing family’s dream – but also the culmination of the dreams – and loving toil- of its owner, Jimmy LeFresne, who at the tender age of 5 knew that one day, he would be the stationmaster at Tatamagouche.

Jimmy Le Fresne, the Station Master at the Train Station Inn Hotel, Tatamagouche. Nova Scotia. Photo by Helen Earley

Stationmaster Jimmy LeFresne punches a make-believe rail ticket, to the delight of his two-year old guest/Photo: Helen Earley

“When I was five, the station closed. I was standing right here [on the platform], and I told the stationmaster at the time, I’m going to buy this station“.

That was in 1960, but LeFresne wasn’t able to make good on his promise until fourteen years later in 1974, when CN sold him the station for $500.00. “I was 18. All my friends were buying cars, and I bought a train station”, he tells us.  A condition of the sale was that, for reasons of liability,  LeFresne wasn’t allowed to use the station until the trains stopped passing by altogether. “I thought it would be a matter of months”, he recalls, “but it was years”. In 1986, the last train passed by, and LeFresne was able to begin creating his dream.

Stationmaster's Suite at the Train Station Inn, Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia

The Stationmaster in one of the bedrooms of The Stationmaster’s Suite, a 3-bedroom suite in the main station/Photo: Helen Earley

LeFresne still comes to the station every day, often in uniform. Although he claims to have taken a back seat in the management of his enterprise (“I just wear the uniform and pour the coffee”), he is a constant presence, greeting guests, supporting staff in the restaurant and gift shop, undertaking small repairs. Never idle, each deliberate tap of a nail or adjustment of a picture frame is loving gesture, like someone who is caring for an old friend.

Train Station Inn, Tatamagouche Nova Scotia, photos by Helen Earley

The Train Station Inn/Photos: Helen Earley

Our caboose hotel room – one of 8 cabooses and boxcars- is a child’s fantasy, with  two bedrooms, a tiny bathroom and shower, and the original cupolas (pronounced coop-oh-lahs) from when caboose # 79575 was still in service. The cupolas are untouched by refurbishment: the seats still spin; one even has a seatbelt. My nearly-three year old boy spends ages climbing up and down and shouting “I’m a train driver! I’m a train driver!”, while my 7-year old daughter considers her cupola a private play space for her and her Shopkins collection. Each room is unique, and all are very reasonably priced by hotel standards, starting at $129.50 per night, not including breakfast.

Train Station Inn, Tatamagouche Nova Scotia, photos by Helen Earley

Caboose number 9 at the Train Station Inn/Photos: Helen Earley

For dinner, my daughter and I enjoy a special girls’ night in the dining car #7209. “The Cabot”, which, built in 1928, began its life as a Colonist Car, transporting new immigrants and war brides across the country from Pier 21.  I start with a delicious beer and cheddar soup, made with local “Tata-brew” from the Tatmagouche Brewing Company. Although the menu offers local wines, I opt for a reliable Australian Chardonnay, which pairs beautifully with the special of the day: cajun bronzed salmon with a rhubarb compote, served with duchess potatoes. It’s fresh, delicious, and definitely first class.

Fine Dining in the Alexandra Car, Train Station Inn Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia, Canada

Fresh, local food/Photos: Helen Earley

My daughter orders the Engineer’s Mac n’ Cheese from the Junior Conductor’s menu. It’s a perfect sized serving, served with healthy crudités and dip. The pasta is shape we don’t recognize, and because tonight we are foodies, we ask the helpful server to tell us what the pasta is. “Radaitori”, she says proudly, “and the sauce is homemade”. We discover later that our knowledgeable server is married to the chef: a perfect pairing!

Engineers Mac n' Cheese at the Train Station Inn, Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia, Canada

The Engineer’s Mac and Cheese/Photo: Helen Earley

But Tatamagouche is more than a whistle-stop town. Two steps away from the Train Station Inn, families can embark on a cycling adventure by renting a Surrey Bike from Remember Adventures. The pedal-powered quadricycles are a perfect way to explore the Trans Canada Trail, and the tariff is reasonable at a price of $25.00 for 2 hours, including helmets, two waters and two snacks.

Remember Adventures, Quad bike rental, Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia

Surrey Bike rental at Remember Adventures: Photo: Remember Adventures

New in 2016 is the Tatamagouche Road Train, which locals have already nicknamed, the “Tatanooga- choo-choo”. This road train is the first of kind in Canada, designed not only for tourists, but also to provide a sustainable, scheduled mode of transport for seniors in the village who struggle to get out to do their own shopping (the official name of the road train is “The Foodland Express”). During the summer months, the train departs every 30 minutes from the Foodland grocery store, taking tourists and locals together on a fun hop-on, hop-off journey around Tatamagouche. The fare is by donation.

Tatamagouche Road Train, the first of its kind in Canada, Tatamagouche Nova Scotia courtesy of TRT FB page

Photo: Tatamagouche Road Train/Facebook

Only moments down the tracks from the Train Station Inn is Creamery Square, the cultural centre and social hub of Tatamagouche. Within Creamery Square, The Margaret Fawcie Norrie Heritage Centre  offers several small but fascinating permanent exhibits including a hands-on butter-making experience for kids and a room dedicated to local giantess, Anna Swan, who stood nearly 8 feet tall!

The Margaret Fawcett Heritage Centre in Tatamagouche , Nova Scotia has several fascinating exhibits including a room dedicated to giantess Anna Swan

Margaret Fawcett Norrie Heritage Centre, Tatamagouche/Photo: Helen Earley

Next door is the popular and very busy Saturday Farmer’s Market. On our visit, we treat ourselves to a delicious, greasy Farmer’s Breakfast from Deb’s Country Kitchen, washed down with some hot coffee.  My husband, a die-hard pickle-aficionado, spots a selection of jams and pickles. “Gordon’s Goodies” are sold by Gordon Woodworth, a retiree who lives between Halifax and nearby Malagash, and grows as much as he can in his own garden. We ask about his famous “Sweet Beer Pickles” and he lets us in on a secret: “They’re bread and butter pickles with beer in the brine. Everything sells better when you put the word beer in it”.

Tatamagouche Farmers Market 2016, including Gordon's Pickles, Sugar Moon Farm etc. photos by Helen Earley

Tatamagouche Saturday Farmers Market/Photos: Helen Earley

The Grain Elevator is another building saved from demolition with the help of LeFresne and other community members. The imposing, light-filled structure hosts a couple of small boutiques and a charming closet-sized bookstore that accepts payment via an honour system: a great place to stock up on light travel-reading. Travel along the trail for another minute, and you’re back at the Train Station Inn.

Train Station Inn, Tatamagouche, the walk from Creamery Square, photo by Helen Earley

The Trans Canada Trail in Tatamagouche/Photo: Helen Earley

One of the best aspects of Tatamagouche is that so many village attractions are within walking distance of each other. Families visiting for a weekend could easily park the car in front of their caboose at the Train Station Inn, and leave it there, picking up the keys perhaps only once to drive to the the warm waters of nearby Rushton Beach for a swim. The other memorable thing about Tatamagouche is its community spirit. Everyone here is ultra-friendly, very relaxed…and just a little bit quirky. Tatamagouche has so much going for it, but overall, it’s this unique North-shore Nova Scotia personality that is to be savoured, until your next visit.

Travelling to Tatamagouche?

Train Station Inn: http://www.tatatrainstation.com

Tatamagouche Farmer’s Market: http://www.tatamagouchefarmersmarket.ca

Creamery Square Heritage Centre:  http://www.creamerysquare.ca

Tatamagouche Road Train:  http://www.tatamagoucheroadtrain.ca 

Surrey Bike Rental: http://rememberadventures.ca

Tatamagouche Brewing Company: http://tatabrew.com

Rushton’s Beach Provincial Park: Nova Scotia.com

History of the Train Station Inn: http://www.tatatrainstation.com/history

Helen Earley is a Halifax-based writer. She was a guest of the Train Station Inn.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
2 Comments
  1. July 23, 2016
    • July 23, 2016