当我们向上滚到萨斯卡通西北5公里处的Wanuskewin Heritage Park时,天空一片混乱。 东方有一团黑云,空气异常潮湿,我的气象网络应用程序告诉我,夜间气温将为4度。 凭空想像力我不是一个露营者,而且,诚然,在帐篷里度过一整夜的前景并不会让我在最美好的日子里兴奋,而是随着我们的前进,雨水开始下垂,一种逼近恐惧的感觉笼罩着我。 如果没有加拿大轮胎露营区的现代舒适感,土著人民可以这样生活数千年,那么我就可以自己训练一晚。

Wanuskewin Tipi Sleepover我的忧虑被我孩子们的激动所激化,这些孩子们正在朝着四条巨大的小辫子走到道路上几百米处的浅cou cou里。 我注意到,当我们把我们的东西安置在我们过夜的住所里时,在帐篷的顶部有一个大洞,我默默地感谢上帝,至少寒冷的气温对蚊子是不好客的。

Wanuskewin Tipi Sleepover在薄雾笼罩的夜晚,在扑朔迷离的篝火旁迅速吃了一顿饭后,我们前往解说中心与我们面面俱到的向导Zach见面。 通过将我们指引到解释性中心入口外的一个地点,他在这里停留并讲述了Wanuskewin的故事,为美好的夜晚奠定了美好的舞台。 Cree for'与自己和平相处瓦纳斯文(ᐋᐧᓇᐢᑫᐃᐧᐣ),具有历史意义,可以追溯到大约6000年。



Opimihaw Creek Valley地区是19考古挖掘地点的所在地,从中可以确定大平原上几乎每个预先接触的文化群体都在此期间访问了该地区。 扎克指出了解释中心的高峰,并告诉我们,我们所站立的地面数千年来一直是一个令人难以置信的场景的舞台。 在勇敢的平原人民的聪明情节的指导下,成群的水牛被踩在我脚下的地球上,从悬崖上踩到了他所指出的点之外的某些死亡。 他们的肉会提供营养,他们的皮用于掩蔽,他们的骨头被雕刻以制造工具和武器。 站在一个停车场和Gortex夹克中最先进的解说中心之间,这个愿景让我停下来。 我对我面前经历的最初恐惧逐渐消失,让位于我在时间和空间上的小小的令人难以置信的羞辱感。

Wanuskewin Tipi Sleepover当我们开始傍晚的第一个活动–药物漫步时,这种情绪只会加剧。 扎克(Zach)带我们去了瓦努斯克温(Wanuskewin)可以说是最重要的考古遗址。 他告诉我们,药轮是围绕较小中央石棺的大块岩石环,是举行礼仪活动的公共聚会场所,象征着健康的智力,情感,身体和精神层面的结合。 当我们继续前进时,这让我印象深刻的是,这种具有如此丰富的历史和文化意义的风景是多么令人失望。 几乎没有证据表明这里发生了数千年的生活(和垂死)。 在对该地区的药用植物进行了一次引人入胜的游览之后,我们发现自己身处悬崖峭壁的底部,那里有成千上万的野牛(即使不是成千上万的野牛)在数千年中丧生。 陡峭的绿色植物几乎无法区分悬崖本身。 扎克(Zach)告诉我们,树叶的这种变化是由于这里散发出的珍贵血液量所致。 在几米外的地方,他指着一个空旷的地方,部落人民将在这里处理巨兽的最后一部分。 肉眼只有绿草。

Wanuskewin Tipi Sleepover我们的步行路程回到解释中心,在那里我的孩子们在扎克(Zach)精巧的指导下架起了帐篷,并通过玩一些传统游戏来跟进。 当我看着他们挥舞着铁环(想想杯子和球)并玩着刺激性的掠食者和猎物游戏时,雨水顺着我们身后的窗户滴下,我很感激元素带来的短暂喘息。 我们在晚上的活动结束时会用一种称为bannock的传统大面包点心和一杯(不是传统的)热巧克力来结束。 我们可以用流水刷牙并在上分钟的洗手间休息一下,然后再去我们的帐篷喝上一夜,从而享受一天的最后一天的豪华生活。

Wanuskewin Tipi Sleepover露营者之间几乎没有人来访,因为此时正下着大雨,没有火,只有落日的余光很小。 这并不能阻止我的孩子的精神,他们在睡袋里吵闹地咯咯地笑着,幸运的是,它们整夜保持干燥。 当他们漂流时,我会告诉他们一些故事,并听着他们睡袋沙沙的声音逐渐减少并最终停止。 然后,我享受着只有大自然才能赋予的那种宁静-清新,开放,而在这一夜,只有轻轻一点点的雨水在画布上敲打,才能打破它。 在夜晚的凉爽空气中,我让我的思绪徘徊在过去的时光中,在这样的结构下,家庭families缩在一起,在恒星,空气和地球的坚韧不拔下,以及像这样的时刻的永恒。

Wanuskewin Tipi Sleepover

图片来源:信用:萨斯喀彻温省旅游局/ Kevin Hogarth摄影

随着特别感谢 旅游萨斯喀彻温省, Wanuskewin遗产公园以及梦幻般的扎克为我们的家人永远不会忘记的体验。 欲了解更多关于tipi宿醉的信息,请访问 www.wanuskewin.com/discover/tipi-sleepovers/.

Humility, Imagination and the Elements–Spending a Night in a Tipi at Wanuskewin

As we roll up to Wanuskewin Heritage Park 5km northwest of Saskatoon, the skies are moody. There’s a foreboding black cloud to the east, the air is uncharacteristically damp, and my Weather Network app tells me it will be 4 degrees overnight. I’m not a camper by any stretch of the imagination, and, admittedly, the prospect of spending the night in a tipi is not one that excites me on the best of days, but as we gather our gear and the rain starts to fall, a feeling approaching dread comes over me. If indigenous peoples could live this way for thousands of years, sans the modern comforts of the Canadian Tire camping section, surely I can do it for one night, I coach myself.

Wanuskewin Tipi SleepoverMy apprehension is tempered by the palpable excitement of my kids who are quite literally whooping their way down the path towards four enormous tipis tucked cosily into a shallow coulee a couple of hundred metres from the road. I note as we settle our things into our overnight abode that there is a gaping hole in the top of the tipi and I silently thank God that at least the cold temperatures will be inhospitable to mosquitoes.

Wanuskewin Tipi SleepoverAfter a quick bite to eat around a fledgeling campfire that smoulders and smokes against the misty evening, we head up to the interpretive centre to meet our fresh-faced guide, Zach. He sets the stage beautifully for an evening filled with wonder by directing us to a point just outside the entrance to the interpretive centre where he stops and tells us the story of Wanuskewin. Cree for ‘being at peace with oneself,’  wânaskêwin (ᐋᐧᓇᐢᑫᐃᐧᐣ), as a place of historical significance, dates back an estimated 6000 years.



The Opimihaw Creek Valley region is home to 19 archaeological dig sites, evidence from which it can be determined that virtually every pre-contact cultural group in the Great Plains visited the area during this time. Zach points over the peaks of the interpretive centre and informs us that the ground on which we are standing would for thousands of years have been the stage for an incredible scene. Herds of buffalo, directed by the clever plots of the brave plains people, were stampeded over the earth beneath our feet and off the cliff to certain death just beyond the points he indicated. Their flesh would provide nourishment, their hides were used to make shelter, and their bones were carved to create tools and weapons. Standing there between a parking lot and a state-of-the-art interpretive centre in a Gortex jacket, this vision gives me pause. My initial dread of the experience in front of me falls away giving way to an incredibly humbling feeling of the smallness of my place in time and space.

Wanuskewin Tipi SleepoverThis sentiment only intensifies as we embark on our first activity of the evening–a medicine walk. Zach takes us to Wanuskewin’s arguably most significant archaeological site. The medicine wheel, a ring of sizable rocks surrounding a smaller central stone cairn, he tells us, served as a communal gathering place for ceremonial activities and symbolises the union of the intellectual, emotional, physical and spiritual dimensions of health. As we walk on, it strikes me just how unassuming this landscape of such rich historical and cultural significance is. There is little, if any, evidence of the powerful facets of the thousands of years of living (and dying) that took place here. After a fascinating tour of medicinal plants native to the area, we find ourselves at the bottom of the very cliff where hundreds if not thousands of bison perished over millennia. The cliff itself is barely distinguishable through the suddenly very dense greenery. Zach tells us that this change in foliage is due to the volumes of precious blood that were shed here. A few metres away he points to a clearing where tribal peoples would have processed every last part of the enormous beasts. To the naked eye, there is only green grass.

Wanuskewin Tipi SleepoverOur walk ends back at the interpretive centre where my kids erect a tipi under Zach’s skilful tutelage and follow it up by playing a few traditional games. As I watch them spearing a hoop (think cup and ball) and playing a rousing game of predator and prey, rain trickles down the windows behind us, and I am guiltily grateful for the brief respite from the elements. We conclude our evening’s activities with a snack of a traditional flatbread known as bannock and a cup of (not-so-traditional) hot chocolate. We enjoy the last of our day’s luxuries by brushing our teeth with running water and having a last-minute toilet break before making our way to our tipis for a night’s sleep.

Wanuskewin Tipi SleepoverThere is little visiting amongst campers because by this time it is raining quite heavily and, without a fire, there is only what little light remains from the falling sun. This does nothing to deter the spirits of my kids who giggle and shuffle around noisily in their sleeping bags which, thankfully, will stay dry all night. As they drift off, I tell them a few stories and listen as the rustle of their sleeping bags lessens and finally stops. Then I enjoy the kind of silence that only nature can bestow–fresh, open and, on this night, broken only by the gentle tip tapping of the rain on the canvas. In the cool night air, I let my mind wander to times past, to families huddled together under structures just like this one, to the steadfastness of the stars, the air, and the earth, and the timelessness of moments just like this one.

Wanuskewin Tipi Sleepover

Photo Credit: Credit: Tourism Saskatchewan/Kevin Hogarth Photography

With special thanks to Tourism Saskatchewan, Wanuskewin Heritage Park, and the fantastic Zach for an experience our family will never forget. For more information on tipi sleepovers, visit www.wanuskewin.com/discover/tipi-sleepovers/.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *