佩吉的小海湾比灯塔还有更多:新斯科舍省南岸的淡季冒险

对于新斯科舍人来说,佩吉湾的风景是我们最骄傲的作品集,也是我们最好的作品之一。 不可否认的是,波光粼粼的花岗岩岩石,黑暗的水和蓝天的调色板是海上的,一个早晨在巨大的冰川巨石上跳跃跳跃,令人振奋。 视季节和天气而定,佩吉湾可以用多种心情中的任何一种来迎接游客:阳光明媚,沉稳而忧郁,蓝色或狂野而狂烈的灰色但总是美丽。

岩石 -  Peggy的海湾比灯塔更多:新斯科舍省南岸的淡季冒险 - 摄影:Helen Earley

佩吉湾的岩石/信用:海伦·厄利

夏天和秋天的每一天,你都可以看到颜色鲜艳的汽车在狭窄的道路上蜿蜒前行, 苏韦斯特 餐厅的停车场,将游轮上的乘客和一日游者的货物洒在岩石上,为灯塔拍照,并体验南岸风带来的令人难以置信的新鲜海滨风情。


有些人会停在Sou'Wester,品尝一碗新鲜的鱼杂烩饭或他们著名的热蒸姜饼蛋糕。 有些人会在礼品店停下来购买纪念品–新斯科舍省的冰箱贴,钥匙圈或T恤……几乎总是以龙虾为主题。 其他人则冒险沿着狭窄的小路回到村庄,那里有更多的看得见的东西,可以吃更多的东西,但是没有 也有 多得多! (严格的规章制度确保佩吉湾的一切都保持小巧而有品味。)

然后该走了。

Helen Earley望向Peggy's Cove村

望着佩吉湾村/信用:海伦·厄利(Helen Earley)

尽管我为如此多的游客惊叹于风景和品尝咸空气而感到自豪,但是当我看到那些观光巴士和小型货车在灯塔上仅呆了两个小时后便转过身拐回哈利法克斯时,我感到自己站着最高的巨石和喊叫声:“等等! 回来。 请留下来!”

作为当地人,我知道佩吉湾(Peggy's Cove)不仅有灯塔。

今年,在旅游旺季的肩膀上,我和我10岁的女儿决定在佩吉湾(Peggy's Cove)过夜(距离我们位于哈利法克斯的家仅40分钟路程),以我们自己的节奏来体验它的魅力。 我们在 Oceanstone  –以婚礼,务虚会,家庭度假和像我们这样的简单海滨度假胜地而闻名的平房胜地。

The Pines,Oceanstone Resort  -  Peggy's Cove,摄影:Helen Earley

The Pines,Oceanstone Resort / credit:Helen Earley

Oceanstone全年开放,提供多种淡季特色菜。 其 Hygge套餐 包括一瓶新斯科舍省葡萄酒,巧克力和s'mores套装,蜡烛,两双舒适的袜子和壁炉,准备好等待您的到来。 大自然爱好者可以选择 风暴手表套餐:4冷冻工艺啤酒,奶酪和两人熟食盘,以及延迟退房。

Oceanstone Resort度假酒店 - 现代小屋装饰,由Helen Earley拍摄

Oceanstone Resort / credit:Helen Earley

从哈利法克斯(Halifax)沿着103高速公路快速行驶之后,我和露西(Lucy)在坦塔隆(Tantallon)停下来为我们的平房厨房准备一些食物和一些小吃。 当我1980年代在Tantallon初中上学时,这里几乎什么都没有-只是一个小的农贸市场,后来是一家药店。 现在,除了少数著名的精品店,还有数不清的吃饭,购物和加油的地方。

其中,我们最喜欢的地方是 奥的斯和克莱门汀的,一个独立的书和咖啡店(舒适的椅子和后面的Playmobil游戏桌),和 Delish Fine Foods –英国主题的熟食店和咖啡馆,出售可口的英式热香肠卷。 沿着佩吉的海湾路几分钟就到了 白帆面包店,我们喜欢的另一个地方。

佩吉湾比灯塔还要多:海洋石度假村是新斯科舍省南岸淡季旅游的理想基地

White Sails Bakery / credit:Helen Earley

鲜亮的White Sails配以鲜美的新鲜出炉的面包和零食,烟熏肉三明治,汤和咸派,是当地人的最爱-但仅在五月至十月期间季节性开放。 我们无法抵御速溶咖啡和粘稠的肉桂面包,这使我们无法按时办理入住手续,但我提醒自己:我们正在休息!

白帆面包店,佩吉的小海湾

白帆面包店,佩吉湾

我们的下一个转移路线是佩吉湾军团(Peggy's Cove Legion), 佩吉湾艺术节 巡回演唱会工作室巡回演出的一部分,这是一个常规活动,在佩吉的科夫路的任何地方都可以看到小型的艺术展览,标语,标志和旗帜指示着这种艺术展览。 在军团大厦,我们欣赏一些迷人的当地民间艺术,以及一系列令人惊叹的大自然照片 黛比马拉达克。

隐蔽的地毯艺术 -  Peggy的海湾比灯塔更多:Oceanstone Resort是新斯科舍省南岸淡季旅行的理想基地 - 摄影:Helen Earley

佩吉湾艺术节/信贷:海伦·厄利(Helen Earley)

从黛比购买一些明信片后,我们检查了我们的小屋, 松树,这是迷人的,超过两个宽敞。 楼下设有现代化的开放式起居区,设备齐全的厨房,折叠沙发床,柴炉和厨房的桌子。 厨房外的小浴室功能齐全,干净而可爱。 楼上,开放式屋顶下有两张床。

海洋石的松树小屋,Peggy的海湾 - 摄影:Helen Earley  - 楼上,两间卧室休息在一个开放式梁屋顶下。

在楼上,两间卧室在一个开放式屋顶下休息/信用:Helen Earley

办理登机手续时,露西收到一张特别的纸:寻宝清单,这是她下午的重点。 我们徒步走了Oceanstone的私家海滩-距离我们的小木屋只有几秒钟路程-检查清单上的一项任务:将脚趾浸入海洋。

佩吉湾比灯塔还要多:海洋石度假村是新斯科舍省南岸淡季旅游的理想基地

在海洋中蘸一个脚趾/信用:Helen Earley

勾选所有框框后,我们的下一站是Peggy's Cove,在岩石上快速爬升。 在途中,我们经过入口 瑞士航空纪念馆。 作为前航空公司的机组人员,我总是向229年2月1998日从纽约飞往日内瓦的航班坠毁在佩吉湾的水域中的XNUMX名乘客和机组人员进行简短的祈祷。 –灯塔–让来访的家庭成员和平悲伤。 在海湾的另一边,还有第二个更大的地方 贝斯沃特海滩,短途游船或一个小时的车程。

在灯塔的另一边(前往多佛)是 波莉湾 –尽管完全没有标记,但被视为哈利法克斯风景最美的步道之一。 哈利法克斯小径 是计划这个和附近其他冒险的最佳网站。

最后,我们到达佩吉湾(Peggy's Cove)本身,花一些时间攀登并在岩石上跳跃,探索小潮池,并找到适合母女自拍照的理想场所。

Lucy Barker和Helen Earley在Peggy的Cove灯塔,哈利法克斯新斯科舍

完美的自拍照–远离水边/信用:Helen Earley

值得一提的是,自拍的理想地点是尽可能远离水的边缘。 许多游客被卷入佩吉湾的海中后丧生。 到处都有警告标志,但似乎没人明白。 如果您太靠近边缘,则相当于在飓风期间站在悬崖边上。 这些波可以杀死。 他们这样做。 作为当地人,我们知道永远不要踩到黑色(潮湿)的岩石,永远不要背对着波浪。

Peggy的海湾比灯塔更多:警告标志小心黑色的岩石

很多游客都没有完全注意到这些警告/信用:Helen Earley

新鲜空气让我们感到饥饿,我们找到了解决方案 大黄,这是一家共享Oceanstone财产的餐厅,距离我们的小屋只有几步之遥。 在2018年赢得了南岸最佳餐厅 新斯科舍省餐厅奖, 大黄以其美味的鱼杂,神话般的早午餐(尝试龙虾鸡蛋班尼)和巧克力甜点而闻名。 尽管装潢低调,用餐时杂乱无章(蜡烛被点燃),但气氛和着装要求却很随意。 星期五晚上有现场音乐表演,并有特殊活动,例如全年的电影之夜。

Peggy's Cove的Rhubarb餐厅,Helen Earley拍摄的照片

大黄餐厅/信用:Helen Earley

我们的用餐开始时为我提供美味的当地白葡萄酒,为Lucy提供当地酿造的根啤酒苏打水,以及配有软黄油的免费温热酪乳饼干。 鱼杂烩是一种丰满的美味,其次是香脆的黑线鳕配上健康的鹰嘴豆沙拉。 一切都很新鲜,友好的工作人员自信地服务。

大黄餐厅的酒杯,照片来源:Helen Earley

大黄餐厅/信用:Helen Earley

塞满the,我们撤退到小屋。 我点燃了火,应露西的要求,拉出沙发床,抱起来看电影。 到了深夜,将困倦的身体拉到楼上舒适的床上很费力,但是一旦我们到了那里,我们就象原木一样睡觉。

海洋石,Peggy's Cove / Helen Earley的大量吸水

佩吉湾(Peggy's Cove)的海洋石(Oceanstone)上的大量水润乳胶//信用:Helen Earley

第二天清晨亮丽,回到佩吉湾(Peggy's Cove)在岩石上爬上另一个攀登,然后在Sou'Wester餐厅配上一杯新鲜的咖啡和一块蒸姜饼。 姜饼和鱼杂烩已经有50多年的历史了,并且可以搭配生奶油,冰淇淋或柠檬酱。 浓郁柠檬酱中的秘密成分? 稀柠檬酥皮派馅。 嘘……。不要告诉任何人!

在Peggy's Cove,带有秘制柠檬酱的蒸姜饼/信用:Helen_Earley

秘制柠檬酱蒸姜饼/信用:Helen Earley

我们短暂的母女之旅使我们精神焕发,并且比以往任何时候在海边生活都要幸运。 在我看来,新斯科舍省的游客应该在佩吉湾(Peggy's Cove)停留的时间比拍照的时间更长。 借用我们的一个新斯科舍省旅游业的口号,“海里有很多东西。”

Helen Earley的照片是Peggy's Cove,而不是灯塔

佩吉湾灯塔/信贷:海伦·厄利

 

佩吉湾度假的旅行提示

  • 在Tantallon停留,享用汽油,小吃,饮料或最后一分钟的药品/洗浴用品
  • 如果是夏天,请带上泳装。 Oceanstone度假村有一个小的沙滩私人海滩
  • 如果您看到标有“艺术”的标牌,请停下来探索! 该地区有很多才华横溢的艺术家
  • 提前计划在波利湾远足
  • 不要冒险靠近水的边缘,尤其是在海浪很高时。
  • 使用黑色(湿)岩石作为不能站立的指示。

 

Helen和Lucy是Oceanstone Resort的客人

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新
2条评论
  1. 18年2019月XNUMX日
    • 18年2019月XNUMX日

由于COVID-19,旅行已不再是过去。 建议遵守物理距离要求,确保经常洗手,并且在无法保持距离的情况下在室内戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

There’s More to Peggy’s Cove Than a Lighthouse: Off-Season Adventures on Nova Scotia’s South Shore

For  Nova Scotians, the landscape at Peggy’s Cove is our proudest portfolio, one of our best works. The palette of sparkling granite rocks, dark water and blue sky is undeniably Maritime, a morning spent leaping and bounding over the gigantic glacial boulders, exhilarating. Depending on the season and the weather, Peggy’s Cove can greet the visitor in any one of its many moods: sunny, calm and blue or wild and blustery grey… but always beautiful.

Rocks - There's More to Peggy's Cove Than a Lighthouse: Off-Season Adventures on Nova Scotia's South Shore - photo by Helen Earley

Peggy’s Cove rocks/credit: Helen Earley

Every day of the summer and into the autumn, you can see brightly painted motorcoaches winding their way up the narrow road that leads to the Sou’Wester restaurant’s parking lot, spilling their cargo of cruise ship passengers and day-trippers onto the rocks to take photographs of the lighthouse and experience those incredible fresh seaside sensations that the South Shore wind can bring.

Some will stop into the Sou’Wester to sample a bowl of fresh fish chowder or their famous hot steamed gingerbread cake. Some will pause at the gift shop to buy a souvenir – a Nova Scotia fridge magnet, keyring or t-shirt…almost always lobster-themed. Others will venture back down the narrow road into the village, where there is more to see, more to eat… but not too much more! (Strict bylaws ensure that everything at Peggy’s Cove stays small and tasteful.)

And then it’s time to go.

Looking toward the village of Peggy's Cove by Helen Earley

Looking toward the village of Peggy’s Cove/credit: Helen Earley

Although I feel proud that so many visitors come to marvel at the scenery and taste the salt air, when I see those tour buses and minivans turn the corner to head back to Halifax after only two hours at the lighthouse, I feel like standing on the highest boulder and shouting: “WAIT! Come back. Please stay!”

As a local, I know there’s much more to Peggy’s Cove than the lighthouse.

This year, on the shoulder of the tourist season, my 10-year daughter and I decided to spend a night at Peggy’s Cove – only 40 minutes away from our home in Halifax  – to experience its charms at our own pace. We booked a cottage at the Oceanstone  – a cottage resort that is well-known for weddings, retreats, family vacations, and simple seaside getaways like ours.

The Pines, Oceanstone Resort - Peggy's Cove, photo by Helen Earley

The Pines, Oceanstone Resort/credit: Helen Earley

Open year-round, the Oceanstone offers several low-season specials. Their Hygge Package includes a bottle of Nova Scotia Wine, chocolates and s’mores kit, a candle, two pairs of cosy socks, and a log fire, ready and waiting for your arrival. Nature-lovers can opt for the Storm Watch Package: 4 chilled craft beers, cheese and charcuterie plate for two, and a late check-out.

The Oceanstone Resort - modern cottage decor, photo by Helen Earley

The Oceanstone Resort/credit: Helen Earley

After a quick journey up the 103 highway from Halifax, Lucy and I stop at Tantallon for some provisions and a few snacks for our cottage kitchen. When I went to school at Tantallon Junior High in the 1980s, there was virtually nothing here – just a small farm market and later, a drugstore. Now there are countless places to eat, shop and get gas, in addition to a few notable boutique stores.

Of these, our favourites places to linger are Otis and Clementine’s, an independent book and coffee shop (with comfy chairs and a Playmobil play table in the back), and Delish Fine Foods – a British-themed deli and cafe which sells deliciously British-tasting hot sausage rolls.  A few minutes down Peggy’s Cove Road is White Sails Bakery, another place we love.

There's More to Peggy's Cove Than a Lighthouse: The Oceanstone Resort is a great base for off-season travels on Nova Scotia's South Shore

White Sails Bakery/credit: Helen Earley

With delicious fresh-baked bread and treats, smoked meat sandwiches, soups and savoury pies, the brightly painted White Sails is a local favourite – but only open seasonally, from May to October. We can’t resist a quick coffee and gooey cinnamon bun, which makes us slightly late for our intended check-in, but I remind myself: we’re on a break!

White Sails Bakery, Peggy's Cove

White Sails Bakery, Peggy’s Cove

Our next diversion is the Peggy’s Cove Legion, where members of the Peggy’s Cove Festival of Arts are holding an exhibition as part of their Studio Tour, a regular event where small art exhibitions can be found absolutely everywhere along the Peggy’s Cove Road, indicated by placards, signs and flags. At the Legion, we admire some charming local folk art, as well as a collection of stunning nature photographs by Debbie Malaidack.

Hooked rug art - There's More to Peggy's Cove Than a Lighthouse: The Oceanstone Resort is a great base for off-season travels on Nova Scotia's South Shore - photo by Helen Earley

Peggy’s Cove Festival of the Arts/credit: Helen Earley

After buying a few postcards from Debbie, we check into our cottage, The Pines, which is charming, and more than roomy for two. Downstairs, a modern open-plan living area includes a full kitchen, a pull-out sofa bed, a wood stove and a kitchen table. A small bathroom off the kitchen is functional, clean and cute. Upstairs, there are two beds under an open beam roof.

The Pines Cottage at the Oceanstone, Peggy's Cove - photo by Helen Earley - Upstairs, two bedrooms rest under an open beam roof.

Upstairs, two bedrooms rest under an open beam roof/credit: Helen Earley

On check-in, Lucy receives a special sheet of paper: a treasure hunt checklist which becomes the highlight of her afternoon. We set off on foot Oceanstone’s private beach – a few seconds from our cottage – to check off one of the tasks on the list: to dip your toe in the ocean.

There's More to Peggy's Cove Than a Lighthouse: The Oceanstone Resort is a great base for off-season travels on Nova Scotia's South Shore

Dipping one toe in the ocean/credit: Helen Earley

As soon as we have ticked all the boxes, our next stop is Peggy’s Cove for a quick clamber on the rocks. On the way, we pass the entrance to the Swissair Memorial Site. As former airline crew, I always say a brief prayer for the 229 passengers and crew whose flight from New York to Geneva crashed into the waters at Peggy’s Cove, on September 2nd, 1998. Intentionally, the memorial was set apart from the main tourist attraction – the lighthouse – to allow visiting family members to grieve peacefully. There is a second, larger site on the other side of the cove, near Bayswater beach, a short boat ride, or an hour’s drive away.

On the other side of the lighthouse (heading toward Dover) is Polly’s Cove – a hiking trail that, although it is completely unmarked, is considered one of the most scenic trails in Halifax. Halifax Trails is the best website to plan this and other nearby adventures.

Finally, we reach Peggy’s Cove itself and spend some time clambering and leaping across the rocks, exploring small tide pools… and finding the perfect spot for mother-daughter selfies.

Lucy Barker and Helen Earley at Peggy's Cove Lighthouse, Halifax Nova Scotia

The perfect selfie – far away from the water’s edge/credit: Helen Earley

It’s important to mention that the ideal spot for a selfie is as far away from the water’s edge as possible. Many tourists have died after being swept into the sea at Peggy’s Cove. There are warning signs everywhere, but no one seems to understand. If you step too close to the edge, it’s the equivalent of standing on the side of a cliff during a hurricane. These waves can kill. And they do. As locals, we know never to step on the black (wet) rocks, and never to turn our backs on a wave.

There's More to Peggy's Cove Than a Lighthouse: Warning sign Be careful on the black rocks

Many tourists do not fully heed these warnings/credit: Helen Earley

The fresh air makes us hungry, and we find the solution at Rhubarb, a restaurant that shares the Oceanstone property, steps from our cottage. Having won Best Restaurant on the South Shore in the 2018 Nova Scotia Restaurant Awards, Rhubarb is known for its delicious fish chowder, fabulous brunches (try the lobster eggs benny), and chocolatey desserts.  Although the décor murmurs fine-dining (candles are lit), the atmosphere and dress code says casual. On Friday nights there is live music, with special events such as movie nights throughout the year.

Rhubarb restaurant in Peggy's Cove, photo by Helen Earley

Rhubarb restaurant/credit: Helen Earley

Our meal begins with a delicious local white wine for me, locally brewed root beer soda for Lucy, and complimentary warm buttermilk biscuits served with soft butter. The fish chowder is a chunky full-of goodness hit, followed by crispy haddock served with a healthy chickpea salad. Everything is fresh, served confidently by friendly staff.

Rhubarb restaurant wine glass, photo credit: Helen Earley

Rhubarb restaurant/credit: Helen Earley

Stuffed to the gills, we retreat to our cottage. I light the fire, and at Lucy’s request, pull out the sofa bed and cuddle up to watch a movie. At the end of the night, it’s a struggle to pull our sleepy bodies to the comfortable beds upstairs, but once we’re there, we sleep like logs.

Plenty of hygge at the Oceanstone, Peggy's Cove/credit: Helen Earley

Plenty of hygge at the Oceanstone, Peggy’s Cove/credit: Helen Earley

Bright and early the next morning, it’s back to Peggy’s Cove for another clamber on the rocks, topped off with a fresh coffee and a piece of steamed gingerbread at the Sou’Wester restaurant. The gingerbread, along with the fish chowder, has been on the menu for 50 years and is served with a choice of whipped cream, ice cream or lemon sauce. The secret ingredient in the tangy lemon sauce? Diluted lemon meringue pie filling. Shhh….don’t tell anyone!

At Peggy's Cove, steamed gingerbread with secret lemon sauce/credit:Helen_Earley

Steamed gingerbread with secret lemon sauce/credit: Helen Earley

Our brief mother-daughter getaway left us refreshed, and feeling luckier than ever to live by the sea. It also made me even more adamant in my view that visitors to Nova Scotia should try to stay at Peggy’s Cove for longer than a photo op. To borrow one of our old Tourism Nova Scotia slogans, “there’s so much to sea.”

There's more to Peggy's Cove than the Lighthouse, photo by Helen Earley

Peggy’s Cove Lighthouse/credit: Helen Earley

 

Travel Tips for a Peggy’s Cove Getaway

  • Stop in Tantallon for gas, snacks, drinks or last-minute medicine/toiletries
  • If it’s summer, bring your swimsuit. There is a small, sandy private beach at the Oceanstone resort
  • If you see a sign that says ‘Art’, stop and explore! The region has many talented artists
  • Plan ahead to hike the trails at Polly’s Cove
  • Do not venture too close to the water’s edge, especially when the waves are high.
  • Use the black (wet) rocks as an indicator of where NOT to stand.

 

Helen and Lucy were guests of the Oceanstone Resort

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates
2 Comments
  1. March 18, 2019
    • March 18, 2019

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *