fbpx

租用帐篷(并享用新鲜龙虾!)在位于新斯科舍Digby的鲸鱼营地

鲸鱼露营标题

风景从迪格比驱车前往 新斯科舍省布里尔岛 提供令人难以置信的郁郁葱葱的夏日 它的黑暗树木略微让人想起德国巴伐利亚州厚厚的童话森林,这可能部分解释了为什么新斯科舍省的这一部分如此受德国和其他欧洲游客的欢迎。 即使对于当地人来说,这也是令人叹为观止的,特别是在阳光明媚的日子。

鲸湾营地

Digby脖子,新斯科舍省

沿着这条路线大约一半的地方是Whale Cove Campground:一个历史悠久的私人露营地,拥有一位新主人Tina Frost。 蒂娜和她的家人已经开发了一些令人惊叹的服务,包括租赁帐篷服务,只需$ 46,家庭迎接专业的帐篷,配有床垫,床上用品,塑料餐具,露营炉,便携式火坑(以后更多关于这个和折叠椅子。 如果露营地当天不太忙,床甚至可以为您充气。 你要带的只是食物。



在迷人的意义上,这不是Glamping。 帐篷和野营用品就像你在家里的东西:Sears,Canadian Tire和Dollar Store的简单耐用的东西。 自从去年夏天购买10帐篷以来,蒂娜说他们见过这么多不同类型的露营者:从一个想要第一次露营的家庭,到一个在暴雨期间浸泡自己帐篷的夫妇,需要一个干燥的地方过夜......给整个棒球队租用了每一个帐篷!

鲸湾营地Digby NS

Rent-a-Tent at Whale Cove,Nova Scotia

你应该带些什么食物? 好吧,我推荐一些黄油,一些软卷和一桶凉拌卷心菜。 那是因为如果你住在鲸鱼湾,你可能会以露营地的价格直接从船上吃新鲜的龙虾。 那是对的 - 新鲜的龙虾! 蒂娜的丈夫是龙虾渔夫,所以蒂娜在露营地办公室旁边的一个房间里有一个特殊的小龙虾磅,配有一个水箱和秤。 最好的部分是,购买龙虾后,Tina会借给你锅做饭,加上餐具,围兜,甚至是一个方便的餐垫,告诉你如何吃龙虾。 如果你是初学者,Tina或她的女儿Tamara(他将冬季作为龙虾船上的第一个伴侣度过)会告诉你。 是的,这家人知道龙虾!

鲸鱼海湾龙虾

鲸鱼露营地的新鲜龙虾

想知道在哪里煮龙虾? 你可以在鲸湾便携式火坑上做到这一点! 这是前露营地所有者的创造,它只是一个用螺栓固定在旧割草机底部的洗衣机滚筒......它完全是天才。 我们将龙虾放在木火上的锅中蒸熟,它很美味,之后我们在它上面煮熟的s'mores。 拥有便携式火坑有许多优点,但蒂娜的解释是最好的:“如果你结交朋友,想要去他们的营地,那么你可以随身携带”!

露营鲸鱼湾火坑

鲸湾营地便携式火坑

Whale Cove还有许多其他美食,包括一个带免费茶水和咖啡的小型室内社交房,美丽的全新家庭浴室(您将会忘记您正在露营!),提供护理服务,保姆服务,超级小操场以及即使是一个小博物馆!

鲸湾博物馆和游乐场

游乐场,社交室和博物馆

最后,如果你很幸运,你可能会遇到邻居:斯坦利斯坦顿和他的宠物鹿,按钮......他们认为他是一只狗! 几年前,斯坦利从5的一个粘性末端(他已经失去了他的母亲并被一个捕食者拖过马路)救出了按钮,并得到了独特的许可支持。 希望野生动物协会,把鹿当成自己的宠物。

按钮现在随处可见,斯坦利在他的面包车背后,喜欢在鲸湾的游客。 蒂娜和她的家人甚至在Buttons的办公室里保存了一包Twizzlers; 红甘草是他的最爱。 最近,斯坦利得到了一条真正的狗莫莉,以保持巴顿公司,他们三人像一个吊舱里的三个小豌豆一样四处走动,他们也一样友善。

斯坦利斯坦顿按钮

鲸湾的所有露营者都向斯坦利,巴顿和莫莉致敬

所以,如果你想要一个非常简单的野营体验,并且有一些温暖,美妙,美味和略带古怪的海滨招待,留在新斯科舍Digby Neck的鲸湾营地。 你几乎不得不收拾东西,这将是一个永远不会忘记的经历!

鲸鱼湾露营地详情:
地点: 50 Whale Cove Rd,Digby Neck,NS B0V 1E0
网站: http://www.whalecovecampground.com
Facebook账号: https://www.facebook.com/whalecovecampground
邮箱: tfrost@whalecovecampground.com
电话: (902)834-2025

海伦Earley是一位哈利法克斯的作家。

她和她的家人是新斯科舍省Digby Neck的鲸湾露营地的客人。

这里有一些我们认为你会喜欢的文章!

尽管我们尽最大努力为您提供准确的信息,但所有活动的详细信息都可能发生变化。 请联系设施以避免失望。

注册电子邮件更新

由于COVID-19,加拿大政府拥有正式的全球旅行咨询服务:
避免在加拿大以外进行不必要的旅行,直到另行通知。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 以获得更多细节。

Rent-a-Tent (and Enjoy Fresh Lobster!) at Whale Cove Campground in Digby, Nova Scotia

Whale Cove Camping Title

The scenic drive from Digby to Brier Island, Nova Scotia offers incredible, lush summer views. Its dark trees are slightly reminiscent of the thick fairy-tale forests of Bavaria in Germany, which may explain in part  why this part of Nova Scotia is so popular with German and other European tourists. Even for locals, it is breathtaking, especially on a sunny day.

Whale Cove Campground

Digby Neck, Nova Scotia

Roughly halfway along the route is Whale Cove Campground: a long-established private campground with a new owner, Tina Frost. Tina and her family have developed some amazing services, including a rent-a-tent service where for only $46, families are greeted with an expertly erected tent, complete with mattresses, bedding, plastic tableware, a camp stove, portable fire pit (more about this later) and fold-up chairs. If the campground isn’t too busy that day, the beds may even be inflated and made for you.  All you have to bring is food.

This isn’t Glamping, in the glamorous sense. The tent and camping supplies are just like the stuff you have at home: simple, durable stuff from Sears, Canadian Tire and the Dollar Store. Since their purchase of 10 tents last summer, Tina says that they have seen so many different kinds of campers: from a family who wanted to try camping for the first time, to a couple who soaked all their own tent during a rainstorm and needed a dry place to spend the night…to an entire baseball team who rented every single tent!

Whale Cove Campground Digby NS

Rent-a-Tent at Whale Cove, Nova Scotia

And what food should you bring? Well, I recommend some butter, a few soft rolls and a tub of coleslaw. That’s because if you stay at Whale Cove, you’ll probably be having  fresh lobster for supper, straight off the boat, at campground prices. That’s right- fresh lobster! Tina’s husband is a Lobster Fisherman, and so Tina has a special little lobster pound in a room next to the campground office, complete with a tank and weighing scales. The best part is, with the purchase of your lobster, Tina will lend you the pot to cook it in, plus utensils, bibs, and even a handy placemat showing you how to eat Lobster. If you are a first-timer, Tina or her daughter Tamara (who spends the winter season as a First Mate on a Lobster boat) will talk you through it. Yup, this family knows lobster!

whale cove digby lobster

Fresh Lobster at Whale Cove Campground

Wondering where to cook live lobster? You can do it on a Whale Cove Portable Fire Pit!  A creation of the former campground owner, it is simply a washing machine drum bolted to the bottom of  an old lawnmower… and it is totally genius. We steamed our lobster in a pot over a wood fire, and it was delicious, as were the s’mores we cooked on it afterwards.  There are many advantages to having a portable fire pit, but Tina’s explanation is the best:  “If you make friends, and want to visit their campsite, then you can take your fire with you”!

Camping Whale Cove Fire Pit

Whale Cove Campground Portable Fire Pit

There are many other delights at Whale Cove including a small indoor social room with free tea and coffee, gorgeous new family bathrooms (you will forget you are camping!), a dog-sitting service, a babysitting service, a super little playground, and even a small museum!

Whale Cove Museum and Playground

Playground, Social Room and Museum

And finally, if you are lucky, you may get to meet the neighbours: Stanley Stanton and his pet deer, Buttons…who thinks he is a dog! Stanley rescued Buttons from a sticky end (he had lost his mother and was being dragged across the road by a predator) about 5 years ago, and with the unique permission support of the Hope for Wildlife Society, brought the deer up as his own pet.

Buttons now travels everywhere with Stanley in the back of his minivan, and loves visiting campers at Whale Cove. Tina and her family even keep a pack of Twizzlers in the office for Buttons; red liquorice is his favourite. Recently, Stanley got a real dog, Molly, to keep Buttons company, and the three of them travel around like three little peas in a pod, and they are just as friendly as can be.

Stanley Stanton Buttons

All the campers at Whale Cove saying Hello to Stanley, Buttons and Molly

So, if you want a really easy camping experience, complete with some warm, wonderful, delicious and slightly quirky Maritime hospitality, stay at Whale Cove Campground in Digby Neck, Nova Scotia. You will hardly have to pack a thing, and it will be an experience you’ll never forget!

Whale Cove Campground Details:
Location: 50 Whale Cove Rd, Digby Neck, NS B0V 1E0
Website: http://www.whalecovecampground.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/whalecovecampground
Email: tfrost@whalecovecampground.com
Phone:  (902) 834-2025

Helen Earley is a Halifax-based writer.

She and her family were guests of Whale Cove Campground, Digby Neck, Nova Scotia.

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *