fbpx

英格蘭康沃爾郡的10大驚人家庭活動

從黎明開始 英國鐵路旅行英格蘭的康沃爾郡(Cornwall)有著猛烈的大西洋浪潮,肥美的田野和險峻的懸崖峭壁,為城市和郊區居民提供了新鮮的空氣。

康沃爾郡最受歡迎的旅遊勝地之一的紐奎(Newquay)(無論好壞)都不僅是衝浪聖地,而且還是年輕人與一群朋友放頭髮的好地方。

Fistral海灘,Helen Earley攝

在康沃爾郡紐奎的美麗Fistral海灘

紐奎(Newquay)作為聚會之鄉的名聲有時似乎被其最重要的資源之一-國際機場所平衡。 這意味著康沃爾郡曾經是開車或乘火車“距倫敦5小時車程”的城市,現在可以輕鬆地從英國和歐洲的許多地區到達。

因為我丈夫的家人住在美麗的康沃爾郡,所以我們每兩年訪問一次,每次都去發現新地方。 最近,在康沃爾郡尋求新的家庭活動時,我們發現了一些有趣的加拿大大西洋人聯繫!

這是英格蘭康沃爾郡的12項精彩家庭活動。

1.學會在Fistral海灘上沖浪

康沃爾郡的家庭活動,康沃爾郡的家庭樂趣英格蘭紐基衝浪學校家庭課

我們學會了在紐基一家人衝浪!

衝浪是康沃爾最喜歡的家庭活動之一。 作為常客,我們總是盡力騰出一些時間。

2016年,我的小女兒學會了在 衝浪保護區。 四年後,我終於鼓起勇氣,緊緊地穿上潛水衣,嘗試自己的體驗, Fistral海灘衝浪學校.

我們認為,世界上沒有比Fistral Beach更好的嘗試浪潮的地方,但我們並不是唯一的人– 波浪項目 是一家位於康沃爾郡的慈善機構,該組織首次將易受傷害的青少年帶入網上沖浪-通過衝浪療法改變生活。

2.吃一個康沃爾餡餅-但是要當心那些海鷗!

康沃爾的家庭娛樂活動在紐基(Newquay)吃康沃爾餡餅

露西(Lucy)咬碎了一種新奇的東西–康沃爾郡海邊小鎮紐奎(Newquay)的釀餡餅

康沃爾郡的美食家永遠不會失望-奶油茶,美味的新鮮海鮮,濃烈的蘋果酒和鋒利的奶酪的故鄉。 但最重要的是,您不能不品嚐合適的康沃爾餡餅(帶有“討厭”的押韻)而離開康沃爾郡–一種折疊的餡餅,它是由酥脆的酥皮製成,傳統上填充有牛肉,土豆,蘿蔔和洋蔥,少許鹽和胡椒粉。

在XNUMX月的最後一周前往康沃爾, 康沃爾餡餅錦標賽 –慶祝這一標誌性康沃爾美食的一周。

康沃爾郡的康沃爾餡餅家庭娛樂

警告:如果您在戶外用餐,請提防飢餓的海鷗。 他們也喜歡餡餅-他們喜歡從遊客的手中將它們搶奪出來。 這是我第一次訪問康沃爾時發生的事情,當時我靠在護欄上,俯瞰海灘,那是一隻進取的海鷗俯衝而下,偷走了我的餡餅! 我差點生氣哭了。

注意:這是一個 簡單的康沃爾餡餅食譜 你可以在家做!

3.探索Poldark和Doc Martin的電視位置

英國康沃爾郡的家庭娛樂之路通往以撒港的路,是虛構的小鎮波特溫的所在地,在BBC系列劇《 Doc Martin》中有特色

英國廣播公司(BBC)系列中,通往虛構的小鎮波特溫(Portwenn)所在地以撒(Port Isaac)的道路,Doc Martin /照片:Adam Gibbard

在過去的二十年中,康沃爾的流行受到現代文化的推動。 首先,有電視廚師,名人廚師里克·斯坦(Rick Stein)在帕茲托,法爾茅斯,Porthleven和Fistral海灘開設餐廳,而他厚臉皮的同行傑米·奧利弗(Jamie Oliver)則在15歲開設了餐廳和慈善機構,該餐廳於2019年關閉。

在戲劇方面,令人上癮的歷史劇系列 Poldark 還有輕鬆喜劇系列 外科醫生馬丁 吸引了來自英格蘭和北美的對位置感興趣的追隨者。 如果您是Poldark的粉絲,Visit Cornwall列出了 家庭友好型Poldark散步。 要參觀虛構的小鎮波特溫,只需前往 以撒港.

4.在Boardmasters衝浪,滑冰和音樂節上放鬆一下

建議在某些銀行假日週末避免家庭旅行,這可能是其中之一……除非您和您的青少年準備參加大型派對! 董事會負責人 是英國最令人難以置信的音樂節之一,恰逢重要的男女式和12歲以下衝浪比賽。 音樂節還設有帶熱水浴缸和香檳的健康區,按摩,空中瑜伽和健身咖啡廳。

5.在紐基動物園和特倫斯花園度過一天

獅子,企鵝和猴子–天哪! 紐基動物園 是康沃爾郡最受歡迎的遊客景點之一,坐落於13英畝的亞熱帶花園中,距離市中心僅幾步之遙。 進入動物園將支持“野生星球基金會”-一個教育,科學和保護慈善機構。 紐奎動物園最喜歡的生物? 企鵝!

停留片刻,享受該地區的其他景點:特蘭斯花園(Trenance Gardens)(完美的便便!), 紐奎水上世界休閒中心,一個帶有迷你球場的網球俱樂部,每小時向遊客收取租金(包括球拍和球!),並且具有挑戰性 混凝土波浪 室外滑板公園(門票:免費!)。

休閒中心旁邊是一個夢幻般的遊樂場,還有一個較小的帶門的幼兒遊樂場。 迷你高爾夫球場; 一條小規矩的鐵路,整天圍著嘟嘟車兜風(目前的門票:每次乘車4美元),當然還有一個冰淇淋亭。

6.在一家歷史悠久的酒店品嚐奶油茶

斯威格斯巫婆岬角酒店

圖片來源:Headland酒店/圖片:Steggles

奶油茶是烤餅,果醬和凝結的奶油(濃稠的幾乎糊糊的奶油,上面有一層硬皮),配上一壺茶。

事實是,您幾乎可以在康沃爾的任何地方買到奶油茶,但我們最喜歡的景點是 岬角酒店,俯瞰Fistral海灘。 岬角本身俱有迷人的歷史。 在兩次戰爭中都被用作軍事醫院,據說它出沒了-當然是使它成為拍攝1990年代的尼古拉斯·羅格(Nicolas Roeg)電影《女巫》的理想地點之一。

奶油茶的另一個好地方(如上圖所示)的位置略遜一些: 蒸汽中, 啤酒和豆咖啡店 在紐基的Great Western酒店。 豪華程度略低-但更靠近市中心……非常美味!

7. Porthcurno的Minack劇院的戲劇(和紐芬蘭的聯繫)

米納克劇院

米納克劇院/照片:參觀康沃爾

距天涯海角約6英里-英格蘭最西風的地方是Porthcurno,最著名的是 米納克劇院 –從1930年代開始使用的懸崖峭壁上雕刻的戶外表演空間,其風景與表演本身一樣引人注目。

Porthcurno也有著深厚的軍事歷史。 曾經是第一條海底電報電纜和海底通信站的基地,也是第一條跨大西洋無線信號的所在地,該信號由馬可尼(Marconi)於1901年發送到紐芬蘭的聖約翰(John Hill)。

8.參觀聖艾夫斯的泰特美術館-另一個與紐芬蘭的聯繫!

泰特·聖艾夫斯一家人

泰特美術館,聖艾夫斯/攝影:海倫·厄利(Helen Earley)

聖艾夫斯比康沃爾更有地中海風味。 漫步在狹窄的鵝卵石小路,小排屋和擁抱白色沙灘海岸線的漁民小屋裡,您可能會覺得自己已經抵達了遙遠的希臘小島。

對我們來說 泰特美術館展示著著名的聖艾夫斯藝術學院的現代藝術,是康沃爾郡最有價值的家庭活動之一。

泰特·艾夫斯(Altered Wallis)在泰特·艾夫斯(Tate S. Ives)的《拉布拉多遠航》(1935-6)

阿爾弗雷德·瓦利斯(Alfred Wallis)的“拉布拉多之旅”(1935-6):與紐芬蘭的聯繫!/圖片:海倫·厄利

我們最喜歡的聖艾夫斯藝術家之一是阿爾弗雷德·瓦利斯(Alfred Wallis),他是一位康沃爾郡的漁夫,由一群欣賞他天真的風格的年輕藝術家帶入藝術運動。

對於我們的家庭來說,他的畫讓人想起加拿大海上民間藝術。

在一次免費的博物館之旅(包括入場費)中,我們發現瓦利斯在他年輕的時候就曾經去過紐芬蘭,這可以解釋上圖名為“拉布拉多之旅”的那幅畫中的冰山。 另一個令人著迷的連接!

泰特·聖艾夫斯

現代藝術是如此令人尷尬!/圖:Helen Earley

9.坐火車去拉帕谷遊樂園

英格蘭康沃爾郡的家庭活動:拉帕谷遊樂園的火車

拉帕谷遊樂園/照片:Helen Earley

康沃爾郡最甜蜜的家庭活動之一是一日遊 拉帕谷 –迷人的小型鐵路網絡和冒險公園,坐落在35英畝的康沃爾林地中。 從紐奎(Newquay)乘坐出租車,或沿著蜿蜒曲折的道路行駛,到達一個真正只有當地人才知道的神奇地方。 蒸汽火車,電動火車,迷你高爾夫球,碰碰車,蹦床和數英畝的場地可供玩耍,這使拉帕谷成為家庭度假的理想之選。

當地提示:拉帕谷的現場餐廳提供優質,健康的康沃爾食品,葡萄酒和啤酒。

10.在伊甸園項目中探索美好的新世界

伊甸園項目的生物群系,康沃爾郡的家庭活動,Helen Earley攝

康沃爾伊甸園項目的太空時間看似生物群落/照片:Helen Earley

第一次訪問伊甸園項目時,您的下巴會掉下來,然後對自己說:“哇? 這個地方如何存在?” 現代化的基礎設施-比生活中要大的兩個幾何形狀的生物群落,都坐落在一個深谷中,該山谷曾經是一個瓷器採石場,如今風景佈滿茂盛的綠色植物-看上去就像是1960年的《星際迷航》中的場景。

在生物群落內部,正在開展重要的研究。 伊甸園項目不僅是一個家庭景點,而且是一個教育性慈善機構-一個學習,飲食和探索的地方。 在聖奧斯特爾附近,您應該提早到達,併計劃整日住宿。

訪問康沃爾

作為目的地,康沃爾郡強烈推薦給任何熱愛人跡罕至的家庭。 如果您仔細計劃(請記住:應該避免在某些人滿為患的“銀行假期”週末),那麼您的家人將會得到美麗的風景,迷人的海灘,世界一流的美術館,令人jaw目結舌的花園,充滿活力的活動以及許多其他活動。吃和喝的美味。

一張紙條…

我們於2019年與家人一起訪問了康沃爾,這段時間旅行安全。 對於我們那裡的家人–以及對康沃爾本身–我們愛你……我們迫不及待地想再次見到你。 X

這裡有一些我們認為你會喜歡的文章!

儘管我們盡最大努力為您提供準確的信息,但所有活動詳情都可能會有所更改。 請聯繫該設施以免失望。

註冊電子郵件更新

發表評論

您的電子郵件地址將不會被發表。 必填字段標 *

由於COVID-19,加拿大政府擁有正式的全球旅行諮詢服務:
避免在加拿大以外進行不必要的旅行,直到另行通知。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 更多的細節。

fbpx

10 Amazing Family Activities in Cornwall, England

Since the dawn of British rail travel, England’s county of Cornwall – with fierce Atlantic waves, lusty fields, and breathtakingly perilous cliffs – has provided a breath of fresh air for city and suburb-dwellers.

Newquay (pronounced New-Key), one of Cornwall’s most popular destinations,  has become known – for better or worse – as not only a mecca for surfing but a place for young people to let their hair down with a group of friends.

Fistral beach photo by Helen Earley

Beautiful Fistral Beach in Newquay, Cornwall

Newquay’s sometimes-seedy reputation as a party town is balanced by one of its most essential resources – an international airport. This means that Cornwall, once “5 hours from London” by car or train, is now easily accessible from many parts of the UK and Europe.

Because my husband’s family lives in beautiful Cornwall, we visit every two years, and each time, discover new places. Recently, on a quest for new family activities in Cornwall, we found some interesting Atlantic Canadian connections!

Here are 12 fantastic family activities in Cornwall, England.

1. Learn to surf on Fistral Beach

Family Activities in Cornwall, Family fun in Cornwall England Newquay surf school family lessons

We learned to surf as a family in Newquay!

Surfing is one of our favourite family activities in Cornwall. As regular visitors, we always try to make some time for the waves.

In 2016, my young daughter learned to surf at Surf Sanctuary. Four years later, I finally drummed up the courage to squeeze into a wetsuit and try the experience myself, with Fistral Beach Surf School.

In our view, there is no better place in the world to try and catch a wave than Fistral Beach, but we’re not the only ones – The Wave Project is a Cornwall-based charity that brings vulnerable teens into surfing for the first time – changing lives through surf therapy.

2. Eat a Cornish pasty – but watch out for those seagulls!

Family Fun in Cornwall eating a cornish pasty in Newquay

Lucy bites down on a novelty – stuffed pasty in the seaside town of Newquay, Cornwall

Foodies will never be disappointed in Cornwall – home to the cream tea, delicious fresh seafood, strong ciders and sharp cheeses. But above all, you can’t leave Cornwall without tasting a proper Cornish Pasty (rhymes with ‘nasty’)– a folded pie, made from shortcrust pastry traditionally filled with beef, potato, turnip and onion, a little bit of salt and pepper.

Head to Cornwall during the last week of February for the Cornish Pasty Championships – a week that celebrates this iconic Cornish treat.

Cornish pasties Family Fun in Cornwall

Warning: if you are eating your pasty al-fresco, be on guard for hungry seagulls. They love pasties too – and they adore snatching them out of unsuspecting tourists’ hands. This happened to me on my first ever visit to Cornwall, as I was leaning on a guard rail, overlooking a beach, when an aggressive seagull swooped down and stole my pasty! I nearly cried with anger.

Note: here is an easy Cornish Pasty recipe that you can make at home!

3. Explore TV locations for Poldark and Doc Martin

Family Fun in Cornwall The road to Port Isaac, the location of the fictional town of Portwenn, featured in the BBC series, Doc Martin

The road to Port Isaac, the location of the fictional town of Portwenn, featured in the BBC series, Doc Martin/photo: Adam Gibbard

Over the past two decades, Cornwall’s popularity has been boosted by modern culture. First, there are the TV chefs, with celebrity chef Rick Stein opening restaurants in Padstow, Falmouth, Porthleven and Fistral Beach, and his cheeky counterpart Jamie Oliver opening the restaurant and charity, 15, which closed in 2019.

On the dramatic side, both the addictive historical drama series, Poldark and the lighthearted comedy series, Doc Martin have attracted location-curious followers from both England and North America. If you’re a fan of Poldark, Visit Cornwall has a list of Family Friendly Poldark walks.  To visit the fictional town of Portwenn, just head to Port Isaac.

4. Chill out at the Boardmasters Surf, Skate and Music Festival

There are some bank holiday weekends that families are advised to avoid, and this might be one of them… unless you and your teenagers are up for a BIG party! Boardmasters is one of the UK’s most incredible music festivals, coinciding with important men’s women’s and under-12 surf competitions.  The festival also has a well-being section with hot tubs and champagne, massage, aerial yoga, and a wellness café.

5. Spend a Day at Newquay Zoo and Trenance Gardens

Lions, Penguins and Monkeys – Oh my! Newquay Zoo is one of Cornwall’s most popular visitor attractions, set in 13 acres of sub-tropical gardens, just a few steps from the town centre.  Admission to the zoo supports the Wild Planet Trust – an education, scientific and conservation charity. Our favourite creatures at Newquay Zoo? The Penguins!

Stick around for a while to enjoy the area’s other attractions: Trenance Gardens (perfect for poo-sticks!), Newquay Waterworld Leisure Centre, a tennis club with mini-courts that have an hourly rental for visitors (rackets and balls included!), and the challenging Concrete Waves outdoor skate park (admission: free!).

Next to the leisure centre, there is a fantastic playground, with a smaller gated playground for toddlers; a mini-golf course;  a small gauge railway which toot-toots around in a circle all day (current admission: $4 per ride), and of course – an ice-cream kiosk.

6. Savour a cream tea at a historic hotel

The Witches Headland hotel Steggles

Photo credit: Headland Hotel/photo: Steggles

A cream tea is scones, jam and clotted cream (a thick, almost gooey cream with a crusty top), served with a pot of tea.

The fact is, you can get a cream tea almost anywhere in Cornwall, but our favourite spot is The Headland Hotel, overlooking Fistral Beach. The Headland itself has a fascinating history. Used as a military hospital during both wars, it is said to be haunted – surely one of the aspects that made it a perfect location for the filming of the 1990’s Nicolas Roeg film, The Witches.

Another great place for a cream tea (pictured above) is a slightly less grand location: Steam, the Brewer and Bean coffee shop at the Great Western Hotel in Newquay. Slightly less posh – but nearer to the town centre…and very delicious!

7. Drama (and a Newfoundland connection) at the Minack Theatre in Porthcurno

The Minack Theatre

The Minack Theatre/photo: Visit Cornwall

About 6 miles away from Land’s End – the most westerly point of England is  Porthcurno, best known for the Minack Theatre – an outdoor performance space carved out of the cliff, which has been in use since the 1930’s, with scenery as dramatic as the performances themselves.

Porthcurno also has a deep military history. Once the base for the first undersea telegraph cables, and a submarine communications station, it was also the location of the first trans-Atlantic wireless signal, sent by Marconi to Signal Hill in St. John’s Newfoundland in 1901.

8. Visit the Tate Gallery at St. Ives – and another Newfoundland connection!

Tate St. Ives family fun

The Tate, St. Ives/photo: Helen Earley

St. Ives feels more Mediterranean than Cornish. Strolling through the narrow cobbled lanes and small row houses and fisherman’s huts hugging the white sand coastline, you might feel like you have arrived on a distant Greek Island.

For us, the Tate Gallery, which showcases modern art from the famous St. Ives school of artists, is one of the most valuable family activities in Cornwall.

Voyage to Labrador' (1935-6) by Alfred Wallis at the Tate S. Ives A photo by Alfred Wallis: A Newfoundland connection, photo: Helen Earley

‘Voyage to Labrador’ (1935-6) by Alfred Wallis: A Newfoundland connection!/photo: Helen Earley

One of our favourite St. Ives artists is Alfred Wallis – a Cornish fisherman who was brought into the art movement by a group of younger artists who admired his naive style.

For our family, his paintings are reminiscent of Maritime Canadian folk art.

On a free museum tour (included with admission), we discovered that in his youth as a fisherman, Wallis did visit Newfoundland, which could explain the icebergs depicted in the painting shown above, entitled ‘Voyage to Labrador.’ Another fascinating connection!

Tate St. Ives

Modern art is SO embarrassing!/photo: Helen Earley

9. Ride the train to Lappa Valley amusement park

Family Activities in Cornwall, England: The train at Lappa Valley Amusment Park

Lappa Valley Amusement Park/photo: Helen Earley

One of the sweetest family activities in Cornwall is a day trip to Lappa Valley – an enchanting small-gauge railway network and adventure park, set in 35 acres of Cornish woodland. Take a taxi from Newquay, or follow the signs through the very twisty roads, and arrive in a magical place that truly, only the locals know. Steam trains, electric trains, mini-golf, bumper cars, a trampoline, and acres and acres of fields to play in makes Lappa Valley the ideal location for a family day out.

Local Tip: the on-site restaurant at Lappa Valley has superb, healthy Cornish food, wine and beer.

10. Explore a brave new world at the Eden Project

The biomes at the Eden Project, Family Activities in Cornwall photo by Helen Earley

Space-aged seeming biomes at the Eden Project, Cornwall/photo: Helen Earley

On your first visit to the Eden Project,  your jaw will drop, and you say to yourself, “whaaat? How does this place exist?” The modern infrastructure – two larger than life geometrically shaped biomes, set in a deep valley that once housed a china clay quarry, the landscape now brimming with lush greenery – looks like something out of a 1960’s Star Trek set.

Inside the biodomes, there is crucial research happening. The Eden project is not only a family attraction but also an educational charity – a place to learn, eat and explore. Near St. Austell, you should arrive early, and plan to stay all day.

Visit Cornwall

As a destination, Cornwall is highly recommend it for any family that loves to go off the beaten track. If you plan carefully (remember: there are some overcrowded “bank holiday” weekends you should avoid), your family will be rewarded with beautiful scenery, stunning beaches, world-class art galleries, jaw-dropping gardens, energizing activities – and plenty of scrumptious things to eat and drink.

A note…

We visited Cornwall with our family in 2019, during a time that was safe for travel. To our family there – and to Cornwall itself – we love you…and we can’t wait to see you again soon. x

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.