加拿大的荒地历史悠久! 我们从牛仔开始,回到第一民族的历史,一直回到恐龙时代。

在阳光下的崎岖景观 写在石头省立公园,我们的导游会绕过一张1924年的黑脚怪(Pikuni)一位名叫Bird Rattle的老人刻蚀了一幅岩画,以纪念他到这个特殊地方旅行的旅程。 我们的小组将照片传递给作者,并通过创作我们目前站在旁边的作品的摄影证据进入故事中。


图像是对原件的扫描,用塑料层压以防止数百个感兴趣手指的磨损。 照片本身被封存在一个档案的某个地方,受温度和湿度的环境控制,并免受害虫侵害。 他创作的岩画以及他的祖先在数百年前雕刻的那些岩画,每个参观者都可以看到。 即使它们被元素所风化,并被涂鸦破坏,我也很佩服他们的复原力和我们在这些年后解释和解释的故事,即使照片变质。

这些是写在石头上的最早的岩画,是在枪炮和马匹抵达大草原之前的一些日期,如圆形盾牌所证明的。 这些盾牌在枪支出现后就不再使用,因为它们不再提供足够的保护。

这些是写在石头上的最早的岩画,是在枪炮和马匹抵达大草原之前的一些日期,如圆形盾牌所证明的。 这些盾牌在枪支出现后就不再使用,因为它们不再提供足够的保护。

阿尔伯塔省东南部的加拿大荒地历史悠久,源自阿尔伯塔省历史上的每一个时代。 对于我们的巡演,我们从牛仔队开始 医学帽子展览和牛仔,在石头上写的省立公园里回顾了原住民的历史,一直追溯到恐龙省级公园里的恐龙时代。 在旅行中,有很多次我太着迷于停止和拍照的工作,依靠笔记本上的涂鸦来帮助我记住我们所看到和学习​​的一切。 这让我想到了我通常几乎连续拍摄并且很少(几乎从未)打印的数字图像。 2016年印刷的照片在100年内会像1916年印刷的照片一样稀有珍贵吗?

化石猎人在恐龙省立公园的足迹

化石猎人在恐龙省立公园的足迹

在游客中心安静的开放时间 恐龙省级公园,我四岁的健美人向翻译人员解释说,我们看到的恐龙图片“只是来自一个人的图画,而不是来自电话的图片。”她点了点头,解释了他冗长的解释,让我爱她不会割伤他关闭,并提供他需要的信息来填补空白。 后来我们漫步在视听显示器上,其中几个显示器完全失灵或失灵。 我和道歉指南聊了聊他们工作的时候,这些显示器非常棒,非读者可以非常方便地使用,但技术意味着问题并不总是很快得到解决。 “老式”的文字和图片显示器绝对有优势!

研究表明,如果通过镜头查看图像,人们不太可能将图像提交到长期记忆中。 我如此渴望将其数字化并记录下来的记忆比留在我心中的记忆更不可能留在我身边。 我在尝试将内容存储到存储器中时会仔细考虑,希望以后放下相机并集中精力时,可以更好地利用它们。

后来,当我站在大门口时,我试图再次提起这个事实,巧妙地与其他摄影师争夺最佳位置,在Medicine Hat Stampede和展览中捕捉野兽和牛仔的动作镜头,我意识到我没有合适的设备和气质,成为一名运动摄影师。 在一阵沮丧中,我删除了我可怕的照片,并安慰自己说我无论如何都是一个单词女孩。

这些可爱的男孩在竞技场上拉着马车; Medicine Hat拥有世界上最大的圆锥形帐篷Saamis Teepeee; 我们在Mediciine Hat Lodge酒店房间的水上乐园景观

这些可爱的男孩在竞技场上拉着马车; Medicine Hat拥有世界上最大的圆锥形帐篷Saamis Teepee; 我们在Medicine Hat Lodge酒店的房间里看到水上乐园的景色

当你去:

梅迪辛哈特是访问加拿大荒地的理想基地,可轻松前往石碑上写(不到2小时车程)和恐龙省立公园(1.5小时)。 的 梅迪辛哈特旅馆 大约和家人一样友好,有两个不太可怕的滑水道和一个宽敞的热自助早餐包括在房间里。 中央球场外面有一个小型运动场,这是一个安全的地方,可以放出一些蒸汽。 有用的提示:尽管俯瞰水上公园的房间整洁,但如果您在10下午游泳池关闭之前有孩子睡觉,那可能会有点吵闹和分心。 远离水上乐园的房间可能是更好的选择。

这家酒店有很好的餐馆,步行距离内有更多的餐厅,但是你可以很好地把开车过河 瘦瘦的烟熏房。 外卖餐会在海滩上举行美味的野餐 Echodale地区公园.

我们在Stampede and Exhibition(北美最古老的牛仔竞技场)期间击中了Medicine Hat,作为一个以前从未见过牛仔竞技场的人,很有趣。 我的城市孩子最喜欢的是看门狗,以及交易会上的摊贩。 还有一个中途之路,我们要巧妙地避免,因为我们在两个星期内去过三场博览会,而我们的皮夹却感觉车票很紧。 牛仔竞技比赛将于26年29月2017日至XNUMX日进行。

在石头省立公园进行写作非常适合与隐形眼镜亲密接触!

在石头省立公园进行写作非常适合与隐形眼镜亲密接触!

进入艾伯塔省立公园并不需要像我们的国家公园那样需要付费通行证,这使得它们成为了很多人。 参观需要支付额外费用,并且您可以提前预定您的位置,因为它们很快就会填满。 在恐龙省立公园,你可以自己漫步,但是一次旅程会带你到一些化石热点,真的,这就是为什么你在那里!

要查看《在石省立公园写作》中的岩画,您必须进行带导游的游览。 该遗址是受保护的国家历史遗址,除非有指南,否则不向公众开放。 有一些不同的旅行选择。 我的建议是在一天中早些时候选择,因为它会变热! 花一些时间在不祥之物上奔波,留下美好的回忆! 也许拍几张照片……。

Picturing the Past in the Canadian Badlands

The Canadian Badlands are rich in history! We start with cowboys, back in First Nations history, all the way back to the time of dinosaurs.

Under the sun on the rugged landscape in Writing-on- Stone Provincial Park, our guide passes around a copy of a photo from 1924 of a Blackfoot (Pikuni) elder called Bird Rattle, etching a petroglyph that commemorates the journey he took to this special place. Our group passes the photo around, drawn farther into the story by the photographic evidence of the artist creating the work we are presently standing beside.


The image is a scan of the original, laminated in plastic to prevent the wear and tear from hundreds of interested fingers. The photo itself is locked away in an archive somewhere, environmentally controlled for temperature and humidity and protected from vermin. The petroglyph he created, and the ones his ancestors carved hundreds of years ago are there for every tour participant to see. Even though they are weathered by the elements and vandalized by graffiti, I admire their resilience and the stories we are left to decipher and interpret all these years later, even as the photos deteriorate.

These are some of the earliest petroglyphs at Writing on Stone, dated from before the time guns and horses arrived on the Prairies, as evidenced by the circular shields. These shields fell out of use after the advent of guns as they no longer offered adequate protection.

These are some of the earliest petroglyphs at Writing on Stone, dated from before the time guns and horses arrived on the Prairies, as evidenced by the circular shields. These shields fell out of use after the advent of guns as they no longer offered adequate protection.

The Canadian Badlands in South East Alberta are rich in history from every era of Alberta’s past. For our tour, we start with cowboys at the Medicine Hat Exhibition and Stampede, working back through First Nations history at Writing-on-Stone Provincial Park, all the way back millions of years to the time of dinosaurs at Dinosaur Provincial Park. There are many times in our trip that I get too caught up in what we are doing to stop and take pictures, relying on the scribbles in my notebook to help me remember all we are seeing and learning.  It makes me think about the digital images I usually snap almost constantly and rarely [pretty much never] print. Will printed photographs from 2016 be as rare and precious in 100 years as photographs from 1916 are now?

Fossil hunters on the trail in Dinosaur Provincial Park

Fossil hunters on the trail in Dinosaur Provincial Park

In the quiet opening hours at the Visitor Centre at Dinosaur Provincial Park, my chatty four year old explains to the interpreter that the pictures we are looking at of dinosaurs are “just drawings from a person, not pictures from a phone.” She nods along with his lengthy explanation, making me love her for not cutting him off, and supplying the information he needs to fill in the blanks. Later we wander through the audio-visual displays, several which are glitchy or out of order completely. I chat with the apologetic guide about how when they are working, the displays are excellent and wonderfully accessible to non-readers, but the technology means problems aren’t always quickly solved. “Old-fashioned” displays of words and pictures definitely have advantages!

Research indicates that people are less likely to commit an image to long term memory if it was viewed through a lens. The memories I am so eager to digitize and record are less likely to stay with me than the ones I carry in my heart. I ponder this as I try committing things to memory, hoping I will be better able to draw on them later if I put down my camera and concentrate.

Later, I try to bring this fact again to mind as I stand at the gate, subtly jockeying with other photographers for the best position to snap the action shots of broncos and cowboys at the Medicine Hat Stampede and Exhibition, I realize I have neither the right equipment nor temperament to be a sports photographer. In a pique of frustration, I delete my terrible photos and comfort myself that I am a word girl anyway.

These sweet boys pulled the wagon at the rodeo; Medicine Hat is home to the largest teepee in the world, the Saamis Teepeee; our view of the waterpark from our room at the Mediciine Hat Lodge

These sweet boys pulled the wagon at the rodeo; Medicine Hat is home to the largest teepee in the world, the Saamis Teepee; our view of the waterpark from our room at the Medicine Hat Lodge

When you go:

Medicine Hat is a great base of operations for a visit to the Canadian Badlands, with easy access to both Writing-on-Stone (<2 hour drive) and Dinosaur Provincial Parks (1.5 hours). The Medicine Hat Lodge is about as family friendly as they come, with two not-too-scary waterslides and an expansive hot breakfast buffet included with the room. There is a small play yard outside in the centre court that was a safe place to blow off some steam. Helpful hint: Although the rooms overlooking the water park are neat, if you have kids with a bedtime before the pool closes at 10 pm, it can be a bit noisy and distracting. A room further away from the waterpark might be a better bet.

The hotel has good restaurants and there are more within walking distance, but you would do well to take the drive across the river to Skinny’s Smokehouse. A take away meal would make a lovely picnic on the beach at Echodale Regional Park.

We hit Medicine Hat during the Stampede and Exhibition (one of the oldest rodeos in North America), and as someone who had never seen a rodeo before, it was interesting to see. The big draw for my city kids was the show dogs, and weirdly, the vendors at the trade fair. There is also a midway, which we deftly avoided, as we had been to three fairs in two weeks and our pocketbooks were feeling the pinch of ride tickets.  The rodeo runs July 26-29, 2017.

Writing on Stone Provincial Park is great for getting up close and personal with the hoodoos!

Writing on Stone Provincial Park is great for getting up close and personal with the hoodoos!

Access to Alberta Provincial Parks don’t require a paid pass the way our National Parks do, which make them a great deal. The tours are an additional charge, and you would do well to book your spot ahead of time, as they fill up quickly. At Dinosaur Provincial Park you can wander the trails on your own, but a tour will take you to some fossil hotspots, and really, that’s why you’re there!

To see the petroglyphs in Writing on Stone Provincial Park, you must take a guided tour. The site is a protected National Historic site and not open to the general public unless with a guide. There are a few different tours to choose from. My advice is choose one earlier in the day as it can get hot! Spend some time scrambling on the hoodoos and make some wonderful memories! And maybe snap a few pics….

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates