fbpx

RV處女:首次露營者以時尚的風格前往山區

我們作出了保留:兩個夜晚,在高聳的山脈和芬芳的松樹庇護下的和平與孤獨。 我們想要一張帶全套衛浴設施的特大床,小廚房,用餐區,電視,陰涼的露台和加熱座椅。 禮拜三,我們帶輪的豪華酒店客房在周三捲起到我們的前門 戶外活動。 主人,來自Vannish Rentals的Keren,帶著一頭閃亮的23英尺到達,2018年改裝了她的130磅/ 59千克紐芬蘭狗的Mercedes RoadTrek貨車和Sherlock。

她告訴我:“我真的是因為福爾摩斯而買了這輛房車。” “沒有多少酒店會養大狗,我想開車去探索北美。 然後,我發現了有關Outdoorsy的信息,從那時起,我就一直在租借他們的麵包車。 你回來的時候我去度假。”

自2014年加拿大人Jen Young和她的丈夫Jeff Cavins創立Outdoorsy以來,該公司在競爭中領先於競爭對手,成為唯一的全球RV(休閒車)租賃公司。 它在14個國家/地區,4,800個城市中運營,並且還在不斷增長。 在新的共享經濟中,對於像Keren這樣的所有者來說,租用他們每年僅使用大約兩週的度假單元是很有意義的。 房客熱衷於嘗試RV的生活方式,我們對此也感到好奇。

我們的第一套休閑房車-照片Debra Smith

我們的第一套房車租賃–照片Debra Smith

提前學習曲線

首先,我們必須熟悉我們的新家外之家。 Keren花了大約一個小時從頭到尾檢查了貨車的所有細節。 從如何設置餐桌到與露營地電源連接,都有大量的細節需要接受,但可人卻想到了一切。 她向我們提供了她自己的用戶手冊,其中包含許多大圖片和箭頭。 作為“傻瓜房車”的指南,當我們在路易斯湖中成立時,這將是無價之寶。

貨車上擺滿了床上用品,廚房用具,清潔用品,露營椅,甚至還有斧頭。 嚴格清潔,從門把手到餐具的每個表面都經過了清洗和消毒,以符合Outdoorsy的Covid-19政策。 在Keren所說的那段時間,“這是a麵杖,以防萬一,您想知道,要烘烤任何東西”,我的信息超載。 對於第一次RV'er來說,那是一座太遙遠的橋樑。 另外,如果可能的話,我無意烹飪任何東西。 這是一個假期,對嗎?

我們帶輪子的戶外之家-圖片Debra Smith

我們帶輪子的戶外之家–圖片Debra Smith

下一站–美味

狂熱的露營者和廚師,不要評判我。 我很肯定,鑑於我們房車中的感應爐和微波爐,您可以準備一些美味的東西。 但是,我沒有您的技能,因此我們選擇利用許多可用的外帶選項。 但是背後的人 公園釀酒廠我們的外帶菜單很天才,當我們穿過班夫時,我們進行了快速的非接觸式接機,然後在日落時到達兩傑克湖。 我們在岸邊放了一張桌子,我們打開了可回收的盒子,找到嫩嫩的肋骨,煮熟至完美,西蘭花細嫩的青花菜刺痛,配以胡椒粉,肉排骨和金雞,以甜味燒烤醬調味。 從仍然溫暖的自製S'more巧克力中滑出手指,我們跳回RV,前往路易斯湖。

第一夜抖動

就在小雨開始落下時,我們到達了營地。 按照我們經過反複檢查的Keren指南,我們能夠連接到岸電,即所謂的岸電,並打開室內照明燈和地板供暖系統。 第一晚沒有發生火災。 並非所有營地都有火坑,由於大流行,營地的容量已減少一半,這使營地變得安靜。 經過對床單的打鬧,我們設法整理了床鋪,找到了閱讀燈,並從Park Distillery的應召雞尾酒菜單中分享了一個睡帽。 我很高興看到公園的洗手間設施一塵不染。 目前所有公園的淋浴間均已關閉,但我們帶輪的小套房設有室內和室外熱水淋浴。

是的,我想從班夫的Park Distillery那裡得到更多-圖片Debra Smith

是的,我想從班夫的Park Distillery那裡得到更多–照片Debra Smith

正當我們準備關掉燈時,RV汽車警報器開始以最大音量發出聲音。 瘋狂搜索隨後出現的密鑰。 貨車先關閉,然後再打開,然後再次啟動警報。 Keren已就運動傳感器向我們發出警告,但經過幾次嘗試才能找到並關閉它。 一旦我們知道它在哪裡,一切就好了,除了我們想向所有其他露營者道歉。 這樣的小事情使我們意識到,要了解車輛及其選擇,長期租賃是必經之路。

在河上,穿過樹林

第二天早上,在確保一切安全之後,我們開車去了 路易斯湖夏季纜車。 這是一個美麗而平靜的早晨,所以我們決定乘開放式升降椅。 我們在松樹上的空氣中滑行至2101米(6893英尺)的終點站,經過湍急的溪流和開闊的草地。 當地的灰熊一定已經決定在今年年初開張,或者也許我們來不及了,但是,不幸的是,儘管這是一個很好的觀察,但我們卻沒有看到一個成熟的水牛漿果被砍倒的喜悅。領土。 但是從觀景台上,我們可以看到落基山脈南北四十公里處鋸齒狀山峰的全景,下面還有路易斯湖,像藍寶石一樣閃閃發光。 在山腰上轉彎的步道使懷特霍恩小酒館的露台享有更美麗的景色。 我們不想離開,但還有更多值得探索的地方。

帕克釀酒廠(Park Distillery)在岸上即時野餐-圖片Debra Smith

帕克釀酒廠(Park Distillery)在岸上即時野餐–圖片Debra Smith

艾伯塔省湖泊排名前十

我們從加入Rose Maunder 探索班夫之旅 就在我們的營地外面 我們的第一站是莫蘭特曲線,以著名攝影師尼古拉斯·莫蘭特(Nicholas Morant)的名字命名,他的作品出現在1950年代和60年代的加拿大紙幣上。 這條河是乳白色的,前一天晚上從雨水中流出了粉紅色的花崗岩,很容易想像通過這種方式的許多CPR發動機的汽笛聲。

我們跌入路易斯湖,在湖邊漫步了一會。 羅斯引述湯姆·威爾遜(Tom Wilson),他是第一個參觀路易斯湖的登山嚮導,“上帝是我的法官,所以我在所有探索中從未見過如此無與倫比的景象”。 在路上徘徊的許多人可能會同意。 有一個工作日,那裡很熱鬧。

您將看到的冰a湖最好的不擁擠景觀-圖片Debra Smith

您將看到的冰a湖最佳,空曠的景觀-圖片Debra Smith

羅斯說:“正如您所料,這些天我們的旅行主要是加拿大人。” “儘管我喜歡向其他國家的人們展示我們的風景,但是榮幸地向加拿大人介紹他們的後院。 我喜歡他們第一次見到湖水時下巴掉下來的方式。” 我的下顎確實落在了我們的下一站,冰Mor湖。 儘管我已經在艾伯塔省生活了多年,但這還是我第一次來到這個神奇的地方。 羅斯帶領我們到達了岩石堆的頂部,岩石是數百年前湖中創造出這種綠松石寶石的滑梯。 這是另外一個標誌性的莫蘭特觀點,被十峰谷環繞,曾經出現在二十美元鈔票的背面。 沒有指南,我們是否有可能找到一個停車位值得懷疑,更不用說看到這個奇妙的景色了。

另一本關於火的日誌

傍晚時分,我們在線上從路易斯湖滑雪勝地(Lake Louise Ski Resort)的餐廳訂購晚餐 熊的書房熏房。 幾分鐘之內,我們的司機就趕到了,而Bear和Flower Farms則拉了豬肉,而Bear's Den Maplewood煙熏切碎的牛ket三明治則直接送到了我們的露營地。 他們拿一瓶已經在冰箱裡冷凍的葡萄酒進行得很順利。

停在班夫的Farm&Fire是完成工作的好方法-照片Debra Smith

停在班夫的Farm&Fire是完成工作的好方法–照片Debra Smith

儘管有一些潮濕的柴火,最終還是起了火,我們在滿月的光下烘烤了我們的房車體驗。 假設我們正在convert依。 早上打破營地是輕而易舉的事,主要是把事情放回原處。

我們最後一站是在班夫加油 農場與火 搭配經典早餐和黃油狀的水果煎餅。 他們的新外賣菜單正在準備中,準備在滑雪季節推出。

還有幾個秋天的周末可以享受。 路易斯湖夏季纜車於20月XNUMX日關閉 滑雪季節開始後,他們的外帶菜單將開始。 有時間看到Discover Banff Tours的幼蟲發光並參觀許多其他地方。

路易斯湖貢多拉湖的景色令人嘆為觀止-圖片Debra Smith

路易斯湖貢多拉湖的景色令人嘆為觀止–圖片Debra Smith

COVID注意事項:

加拿大公園 建議您盡可能在一周內參觀班夫國家公園。 由於COVID-19,停車位有限,請考慮乘坐 漫遊 直接從班夫過境或導遊。 加拿大公園網站上的信息 承擔安全 和其他野生動植物保護計劃。

根據艾伯塔省重新啟動戰略的第二階段,艾伯塔省人可以在省內任何地方旅行。 在旅行之前,請查看艾伯塔省政府的網站頁面,網址為 艾伯塔省的冠狀病毒信息艾伯塔衛生服務 網站進行更新。 並且不要放棄對Covid-19的警惕。 即使在路上也要繼續保持距離,經常洗手,並戴口罩保護自己和他人。

請注意,班夫鎮有一個 臨時面具條例 要求在所有封閉的公共區域和室外行人專用區使用非醫用口罩。

這位作家是他的客人 班夫路易斯湖旅遊 和合作夥伴 這個故事中提到的。 一如既往,她的意見是她自己的。 有關此行的更多照片,請在Instagram上關注她 @ Where.To.Lady

儘管我們盡最大努力為您提供準確的信息,但所有活動詳情都可能會有所更改。 請聯繫該設施以免失望。

註冊電子郵件更新

發表評論

您的電子郵件地址將不會被發表。 必填字段標 *

由於COVID-19,旅行已不再是過去。 建議遵守物理距離要求,確保經常洗手,並且在無法保持距離的情況下在室內戴口罩。 看到 www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories 更多的細節。

fbpx

RV Virgins: First Time Campers Head for the Mountains in Style

Our reservations were made: two nights of peace and solitude sheltered by towering mountains and fragrant pines. We’d enjoy a king-size bed with full en suite, a kitchenette, dining area, TV, shaded patio, and heated seats. Our luxury hotel room on wheels rolled up to our front door mid-week, courtesy of Outdoorsy. The owner, Keren from Vannish Rentals, arrived with a shiny 23 foot, 2018 converted Mercedes RoadTrek van and Sherlock, her 130 pound/59 kg Newfoundland dog.

“I bought the RV because of Sherlock, really”, she told me. “There aren’t many hotels that will take large dogs, and I wanted to drive around and explore North America. Then I found out about Outdoorsy, and I’ve been renting my van through them ever since. I’ll take my vacation when you get back.”

Since 2014 when Canadian Jen Young and her husband Jeff Cavins started Outdoorsy, the company has raced ahead of the competition, becoming the only global RV (recreational vehicle) rental company. It operates in 14 countries, 4,800 cities and counting. In the new sharing economy, it makes perfect sense for owners like Keren to rent out vacation units that they were only using about two weeks a year. Renters are keen to try out the RV lifestyle, and we were curious about it too.

Our first rental RV home - photo Debra Smith

Our first rental RV home – photo Debra Smith

Learning Curve Ahead

First, we had to get acquainted with our new home away from home. Keren spent about an hour going over all the details of the van from top to taillights. There was an amazing amount of detail to take in, from how to set up the dining table to connecting with campground power, but Keren had thought of everything. She presented us with her own user’s manual with lots of big pictures and arrows. As an “RVs for Dummies” guide, it would be invaluable when we set up in Lake Louise.

The van was fully stocked with bedding, kitchen utensils, cleaning supplies, camping chairs, and even an axe. It was scrupulously clean, and every surface from door handles to dishes had been washed and disinfected to comply with Outdoorsy’s Covid-19 policies. Around the time that Keren said, “And here’s a rolling pin, in case you want to, you know, bake anything”, I reached information overload. That was a bridge too far for a first time RV’er. Plus, I had no intention of cooking anything, if possible. This was a vacation, right?

Our Outdoorsy home on wheels - photo Debra Smith

Our Outdoorsy home on wheels – photo Debra Smith

Next Stop – Deliciousness

Avid campers and cooks, do not judge me. I’m positive that given the induction burner and microwave in our RV, you could prepare something delicious. I, however, am not blessed with your skills so we chose to take advantage of the many take out options available. But the people behind Park Distillery’s take out menu are genius, and as we swung through Banff, we made a quick contactless pick-up before arriving at Two Jack Lake at sunset. We had a table by the shore all to ourselves, and we opened our recyclable boxes to find tender prime rib, cooked to perfection, thin green stalks of broccolini tingling with pepper flakes, meaty ribs and golden chicken basted in a sweet BBQ sauce. Licking the chocolate off our fingers from a still-warm house-made S’more, we hopped back into the RV and headed for Lake Louise.

First Night Jitters

We arrived at our campsite just as a light rain started to fall. Following Keren’s guide, which we checked and double-checked, we were able to connect to shore power, as it’s called, and turn on the interior lights and the in-floor heating. A fire wasn’t in the cards for the first night. Not all campsites have fire pits, and the campgrounds are at half-capacity due to the pandemic, which made for a tranquil campground. After a slapstick struggle with the fitted sheet, we managed to make up the bed, find the reading lights and share a nightcap from Park Distillery’s cocktails on-call menu. I was pleased to see that the park’s washroom facilities were spotless. The showers at all parks are currently closed, but our little suite on wheels had both an interior and exterior hot water shower.

Yes, I'd love s'more from Park Distillery in Banff - photo Debra Smith

Yes, I’d love s’more from Park Distillery in Banff – photo Debra Smith

Just as we were ready to turn out the lights, the RV car alarm started bleating at maximum volume. A frantic search for keys ensued. The van was turned off, then on, then the alarm started up again. Keren had warned us about the motion sensor, but it took a couple of tries to find it and turn it off. Once we knew where it was, all was well, except that we wanted to apologize to all the other campers. Little things like this made us realize that longer-term rentals are the way to go, to get to know the vehicle and its options.

Over the River and Through the Woods

The next morning, after making sure everything was secure, we drove up to the Lake Louise Summer Gondola. It was a beautiful calm morning, so we decided to take the open chair lift. We glided through the piney air up to the 2101 meter (6893 ft) terminal past rushing streams and open meadows. The local grizzlies must have decided to turn in early this year, or maybe we were too late in the day, but, unfortunately, we didn’t have the pleasure of seeing one chomping down on ripe buffalo berries, even though this is prime viewing territory. But from the Observation Deck, we could see the panorama of the Rockies jagged peaks for forty kilometres north and south, and there was Lake Louise below, shining like a sapphire. A switchback walk on the mountainside led to more beautiful views from the Whitehorn Bistro patio. We didn’t want to leave, but there was more to explore.

Instant picnic by the shore courtesy of Park Distillery - photo Debra Smith

Instant picnic by the shore courtesy of Park Distillery – photo Debra Smith

Alberta Lakes with Top Billing

We joined Rose Maunder from Discover Banff Tours just outside our campground. Our first stop was Morant’s Curve, named for the famous photographer, Nicholas Morant, whose work appeared on Canadian banknotes in the 1950s and ’60s. The river was milky with silty granite runoff from the rain the night before, and it was easy to imagine the train whistles of the many CPR engines that had passed this way.

We dropped into Lake Louise for a short lakeside stroll. Rose quoted Tom Wilson, the first mountain guide to see Lake Louise, “As God is my judge, I never in all my explorations saw such a matchless scene”. The many people lingering on the trail would probably have agreed. For a weekday, it was bustling.

The best uncrowded view of Moraine Lake you'll ever see- photo Debra Smith

The best, uncrowded view of Moraine Lake you’ll ever see- photo Debra Smith

“Our tours are mainly Canadians these days, as you would expect”, Rose said. “Although I enjoy showing our landscapes to people from other countries, it’s a privilege to introduce Canadians to their backyard. I love the way their jaws drop when they first see the lake.” My jaw indeed dropped at our next stop, Moraine Lake. Even though I’ve lived in Alberta for years, this was my first visit to this magical place. Rose led us to the top of the rockpile, the slide that created this turquoise gem of a lake centuries ago. This is another iconic Morant viewpoint, ringed by the Valley of the Ten Peaks, that used to be featured on the back of twenty-dollar bills. Without a guide, it’s doubtful that we could have found a place to park, let alone see this fantastic view.

Another Log on the Fire

As evening fell, we went online to order dinner from Lake Louise Ski Resort’s Bear’s Den Smokehouse. Our driver arrived within minutes with The Bear and the Flower Farms pulled pork and Bear’s Den Maplewood smoked chopped brisket sandwiches delivered right to our camping spot. They went well with a bottle of wine that had been chilling in the fridge.

Stopping at Farm & Fire in Banff was a fine way to finish - photo Debra Smith

Stopping at Farm & Fire in Banff was a fine way to finish – photo Debra Smith

Despite some damp firewood, a fire was eventually made, and we toasted our RV experience by the light of the full moon. Let’s say we’re converts. Breaking camp in the morning was a breeze and mostly a matter of putting things back where they belonged.

We made one last stop to fuel up in Banff at Farm & Fire with a classic breakfast and buttery fruit-topped pancakes. Their new take-out menu is in the works and will be ready to roll out for ski season.

There are still a few fall weekends left to enjoy. The Lake Louise Summer Gondola closes on September 20th, and their take out menu will start once skiing season opens. There’s time to see the larches glow and visit many other locations with Discover Banff Tours.

Lake Louise Gondola views are breathtaking - photo Debra Smith

Lake Louise Gondola views are breathtaking – photo Debra Smith

 

COVID Considerations:

Parks Canada recommends you visit Banff National Park during the week if possible. Parking is limited due to COVID-19 so consider taking ROAM transit directly from Banff or a guided tour. The Parks Canada website has information on bear safety and other wildlife conservation initiatives.

Albertans can travel anywhere within the province under Stage 2 of Alberta’s relaunch strategy. Before travelling, check the Alberta government’s website page on Coronavirus info for Albertans and the Alberta Health Services website for updates. And don’t drop your guard against Covid-19. Continue to observe physical distancing even on the trail, wash your hands frequently, and wear a mask to protect yourself and others.

Please note that The Town of Banff has a Temporary Mask Bylaw requiring the use of non-medical masks in all enclosed public areas and the outdoor pedestrian zone.

The writer was a guest of Banff Lake Louise Tourism and the partners mentioned in this story. As always, her opinions are her own. For more photos of this trip, follow her on Instagram @Where.To.Lady

Here are some more articles we think you'll like!

Although we do our best to provide you with accurate information, all event details are subject to change. Please contact the facility to avoid disappointment.

Sign Up for Email Updates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Due to COVID-19, travelling is not what it used to be. It is advisable to adhere to physical distancing requirements, ensure frequent hand washing, and wear a mask indoors when maintaining distances is not possible. See www.travel.gc.ca/travelling/advisories for more details.